Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Photosmart 5520 Up to 23 ppm Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality Wireless Thermal Inkjet MFC / All-In-One Color Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad
Pros: Looks pretty. Says wireless or USB adaptable.
Cons: Never worked. Called but they were too busy to help because of Christmas season. Finally, sent e-mail to replace but no invoice and did not have box. Says 3 month warranty but Mfg. says out of warranty because it was refurbished. 2 MONTHS OLD. Better Business Bureau is the only answer because passing the buck seems to be the name of the game with HP products.
Other Thoughts: First it was not the right ink cartridges. Then, it still will not read cartridges. I have never had a problem with any printer and ink. This one; you have special ink to start out. then you have to purchase new ink. Why sell inkjet printers if you know nothing about ink. I have spent 3 days on the phone in total time but still have this non working printer since day one. If it would of ever worked; I would of told you so. Not even a test page printed. They advertise on my facebook page but not any more. The first product that I purchased that never worked. HP not good and fair warning.
Reviewed By:Bubba Hopper,2/25/2015 6:15:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet OJP6830 Up to 18 ppm Black Print Speed 600 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality 1 x USB 2.0; 1 x Host USB; 1 x Ethernet; 1 x Wireless 802.11 b/g/n; 1 x RJ-11 fax Thermal Inkjet MFC / All-In-One Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good printer; good price
Pros: Wireless networking worked like a charm. I just plugged it in and hooked it up to my wireless network and all my computers were able to see it and install the printer drivers with out issue. Even the scanner works well. Also separate color tanks, so I only replace ink I need.
Cons: Takes a while to "wake up" but HPs are always like that.
Other Thoughts: I like that I can print from the other side of the house.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/23/2015 4:41:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J870DW Wireless Color Multifunction Inkjet Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great! Perfect for the price!
Pros: Had extremely fast shipping, and hook-up was super easy and fast. Does everything I need plus more. Pictures look good. The print speeds are the best I've seen for a color inkjet of this price. Would strongly recommend.
Cons: Really everything is as expected and with the price its not really a con, but I would have liked a plate on the bottom of the printer for protection and to reduce friction depending on surface the printer sets. The plastic sharp edges and plastic gears to adjust paper tray catch on certain surfaces.
Other Thoughts: A great buy!
Reviewed By:UberB,2/22/2015 11:22:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP 8610 Up to 19 ppm (ISO) Up to 31 ppm (Draft) Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality HP Thermal Inkjet MFP Color Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HP 8610
Pros: This Printer is fantastic! Very quiet, easy to setup and it looks good too. Purchased as an all around home printer it does just that, service the whole home, it's wireless and no one has asked me to print something for them yet! It aligned the cartridges automatically!
Cons: I didn't have a phone jack where I initially wanted to put it for the fax to work and I don't fax enough to warrant the cost of a dedicated fax line haha!
Other Thoughts: I printed some photos on plain paper, just a little more I could have framed them!
Reviewed By:LJB3,2/22/2015 8:14:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Envy 4500 ISO speeds: Up to 6 ppm Black Print Speed 4800 x 1200 dpi Color Print Quality WiFi 802.11n HP Thermal Inkjet MFC / All-In-One Color Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Linux Support and 2400 DPI 8.5x11" Scanning
Pros: I will admit that the main reason that I purchased this printer was due to the scanner contained within this unit. It's capable of scanning at 1200 DPI (2400 DPI software-enhanced) which makes this exceptionally vital for high quality scanning of documents. I simply opened Simple Scan, adjusted preferences to 1200 DPI, hit scan and within a minute or two it had scanned a document in such high quality that you can't tell the difference between the original and the scanned version after printing the scanned document.

It also works amazingly well with Linux and the GNOME Desktop Environment, which automatically added/configured the printer as soon as I plugged it in without needing to install any additional drivers. That's one of the things that I love about Linux in regards to printers: plug it in and it just works -- especially HP printers. Toss out that driver CD into the trash if you're using Linux because it's not needed.
Cons: The only thing I dislike about the unit is that it's not a CISS printer and it requires the usage of tri-color ink cartridges. CISS printers are far more economical than either laser or cartridge inkjets as they feature ink tanks on the side that can be refilled with ink bottles without needing to open the printer up to replace a costly cartridge which adds electronic waste to the environment. As a result, I'll give it 4 stars instead of 5. It's great, but it's not perfect.
Reviewed By:mmstick,2/22/2015 11:13:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon USA > Canon PIXMA iP110 Wireless Mobile Inkjet Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Handy but Hard
Pros: Handy little Printer, has good quality photo and document output
Cons: Very difficult to set up. Went to YouTube for guide, listened to it a dozen time, just would not connect and could not find the printer. Followed directions over and over, finally after many days of retry, it just worked! Magic? not sure.
Other Thoughts: Almost sent it back, but I am very tenacious. Final thought, --It should not be that hard to set up.
Reviewed By:gadgetgal66,2/22/2015 8:54:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon USA > Canon PIXMA MX922 Wireless Color Multifunction Inkjet Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great Printer/Terrible Software
Pros: Great Printer
Cons: Scanning software very cumbersome, and not at all flexible.
Other Thoughts: Great printer, and I love that it's airprint compatible. But..... the scanning software is aweful. The software for the older MX880 was far better.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 1:56:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon USA > Canon PIXMA MX922 Wireless Color Multifunction Inkjet Printer

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Overall good but average...
Pros: I've always been a fan of Canon's products. Set up is simple for USB or on your network. Instructions are fairly well laid out, and if you've had a PC for awhile and can run the basics, you shouldn't have any troubles. Some of the software that it comes with is quite handy, others are not. Everything is on a CD. 30 page ADF is nice, and it will duplex scan, print and collate, although it's a bit slow when it flips the paper over to scan the other side. It's an all-in-one. I didn't use the fax feature, but I have an MX850 at home and it works great, easy to use and set up as well. The super high resolution scanning and printing allows OUTSTANDING photos, and there's a separate, upper cassette tray solely for photo prints, i.e. 4x6, 5x7, and looks like a wallet or square size of some sort. I didn't use that very often, but when I did it was great. Powers up pretty quick. You can scan to a PC or directly to email, which was also handy. It will easily pick up other PC's on the network, just install the drivers. Flatbed scanner works and functions as advertised, and all features are available for it that are there for the ADF, with the exception of duplex scanning, of course. There's a lot of self-maintenance features that are kinda cool, and swapping out print cartridges is super easy and quick. Paper cassette tray holds about 1/2 a ream of paper. Lots of print options.

Yes, it's ready to go for your tablet or phone. No special converters or software needed...at least not for Android or Apple products. And, when you print from your phone, it will recognize a photo file vs PDF or other tsxt document and pull from the upper photo tray automatically. I still don't know whether that's a positive or a negative...

I used it for my business and considering it worked hard everyday, it did fairly well. I don't think it was meant for the rigors of business/everyday use from multiple people, but it held in there...for awhile. See cons.
Cons: It is now dead, BER (Beyond Economical Repair) after 20 months or so. It will no longer feed itself paper from the tray...just makes a loud slipping/clicking sound. I took it apart and I think there's a stripped plastic gear in a place where I can only vaguely see with a flashlight. Not worth my time or effort, so I'm upping to a Canon small office printer that can handle a bit more use.

Yes, there are some cons I don't particularly care for, and didn't work well for my situation:

One of the biggest problems for me was the lack of a rear fold-open, vertical paper feed option that my MX850 has. It comes in really handy when you just want to print one or two pages on a different style letter paper, and don't have to empty the lower cassette every time to feed just one sheet...kind of annoying.

Another problem for me was printing on envelopes because again, you have to empty the lower cassette tray and put in your one envelope to print on it. My 850 would drag anything in through the rear tray from any size photo paper to any size envelope.

It does take a bit of time for it to start the first print after power up, or after it's been sitting for hours. And by a bit of time I mean maybe 30-90 seconds. Not hours like some people say on here. Now if you change a cartridge, beware...that time can get into minutes.

The output tray is kind of a joke. There's a little plastic piece that extends out a few inches when you flip the front cover down. You can extend it a bit, but once you acquire 30 or so more pages on it, some of them begin to fall on the floor. Not cool on large documents when you have to go back and find where the heck it's supposed to go.

It's kind of heavy and makes a fairly large footprint, but not an issue for me. Most multi-function printers need extra space for the features they're putting into them.

I feel like I have to be careful opening the top cover when scanning or copying something...It just feels a little flimsy.

Not really a con, but sometimes the ADF feeder would pull 2 pages in at once. Make sure your pages are flat, clean and neatly separated when using it.
Other Thoughts: I think it did ok for what I put it through. As I mentioned, I don't think it's supposed to be used in a busy workplace environment, and I suppose I prematurely wore it out. My 850 at home has been going strong for over 4 years now, and I like it better, and makes just as good of photos and documents. However, I think maybe the 922 would have lasted longer in a home environment with much less use.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/19/2015 7:22:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J650DW Wireless Color Multifunction Inkjet Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great printer, works as advertised.
Pros: - Works as they say.
- Takes cheap ink like a champ.
- Has never given me a problem even with a half heavy workload.
- Borderless printing.
Cons: - Borderless printing takes off about 7-12 pixels off the edges to make it borderless.
- Innobella ink costs $65~ for a 4-pack of XL ink.
Other Thoughts: Great value, especially when on sale. I got it for $91.98, and they like to do sales for around $90~. So grab it when it's good.

Also, the dpi is very suitable for most peoples needs.
Reviewed By:dd089966,2/19/2015 3:13:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Photosmart 7520 Up to 34 ppm Black Print Speed 9600 x 2400 dpi Color Print Quality Wireless InkJet MFC / All-In-One Color Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great - but Very Short Life Span
Pros: Good Speed for home use. Good Quality Print
Cons: Owned over 6 Months and the automatic Document Feed is already not working. HP support is useless unless you purchase a support agreement. This printer was used at home use with very light usage.
Other Thoughts: I would stay away from HP as several Family members have now experienced Problems with a variety of HP printers, unless you wish to have a replacement schedule of a little over 6 months.
Reviewed By:iboughtwhat,2/18/2015 9:39:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.