Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 (M9L75A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very capable quality printer on a budget
Pros: • The color touch screen has a very intuitive menu, and is very responsive with only a delicate tap.
• Wi-Fi direct allows you to connect ad-hoc style directly to the printer to print a document. Very clever and handy.
• Also supports NFC, so you can quickly connect a mobile device to the printer. Worked flawlessly on my Android 5.1.1 device.
• Print quality for documents is excellent – sharp and bold text, charts and diagrams look professional. On photo printing, images have good detail and color contrast and saturation, and look great on photo paper.
• Legal size scanning bed and paper tray is a major plus.
• Automatic duplexing, so double-sided scanning and printing is super easy.
• Scan a document to a network location via software on a local PC. But, also see cons below.
• Basic Windows driver download (63MB) available from support.hp.com is an option if you don’t want the bloatware that comes preloaded on the disc.
• HP cartridge protection prevents a cartridge from being used in another printer.
• HP app available for windows 8, 8.1, 10 lets you scan, print, manage printer and order supplies.
• Some HP apps are available through the touchscreen, and new ones are added for download periodically. My favorite is Google Drive, which allows scanning and printing directly to/from your Google cloud storage.
• There is an option to secure a print job with pin/passcode, which requires you to sign up for HP JetAdvantage Private print, which is a cloud app that will hold the document until you sign in with an account on the printer to retrieve the document. You’ll also need the JetAdvantage driver installed on the PC you wish to print from.
Cons: • Too big to sit on a desk.
• Windows 7 has no native driver support for this printer. You’ll need either the disc, or download from support.hp.com. Windows 10 was a different story, though.
• From a USB device, can only print image files. Cannot print any other type of document from thumb drive.
• Cannot scan directly to a network share, either through FTP or SMB/CIFS (Windows share), or any other file protocol. Must use a local PC with share location access and HP software to sort of proxy the printer to the network share.
• Beware that third-party ink cartridges may possibly not work in this printer after HP made a recent maneuver locking out non-HP cartridges through firmware on OfficeJet Pro printers!
Other Thoughts: Overall, I found the OfficeJet Pro 8720 to be a very capable small office / home multi-functional printer. It’s a huge upgrade from the Photosmart D110 I’ve been using for the past couple of years. I would recommend this printer for home and small business applications.

Thanks to Newegg.com and HP for providing the review sample!

If you found my product review helpful in your search, please check Yes below. Thanks!
Reviewed By:William F.,9/24/2016 7:51:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 (M9L75A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best HP printer I've ever had!
Pros: This is a nice printer that has a lot of options. It prints in good quality and rather quickly as well.
The look of the printer is pretty good, see other section for further comments.
The paper feeders, and catching areas work very well. I haven't had any issues with it grabbing multiple pages when putting in multiple pages to scan from the feeder.
No pages fall on the floor after being printed which is nice compared to some other printers.
The two Sided printing works as expected. You can install the HP software and set it up to scan to your PC directly from the touchscreen menu on the printer.
One of the other benefits I noticed compared to my older printer is that when printing something in color, it still uses black ink for the some of the black text vs using color. Example: using blue for text that should be black. This will help with color ink consumption vs my other product.
The installation of the ink cartridges is easy, no issues, and no mess.
The printer is a little noisy when it prints, but there is an option to choose quiet printing but at a slower speed.
The scanner works well. However the DPI options are a little lower than some printers.
The paper tray works well and you can fit legal size paper if you need to.
The wireless settings work well. I have seen other HP printers that had issues with keeping connection to the wireless and would have to be turned off and on again to print to them, I have NOT experienced that issue with this printer so far which is great.
You can also connect this printer to the phone line for fax capabilities and it works well. I was able to successfully send and receive a fax.
It also has ports to hard-wire it to your network, as well as a direct USB port if you want to connect it directly to a router or PC.
So far this is a really great printer and other than a few comments below I would recommend the printer if you are looking for a fully functional multi-function printer.
Cons: This printer is a little large and takes up a bit of space. If you are looking for something small and compact, this may not be it.

One other comment on the HP is you won't likely find any aftermarket printer ink cartridges for these. If you commonly use aftermarket and lower end ink refills, you may not be able to get those for this printer.
Other Thoughts: Personally the aesthetics of the printer are not my preference. I don't love the white of the printer and would prefer black, but it's ok as functionality generally wins. I don't care for the look of the printer in the front menu area.. just seems like it sticks out a bit, but functionally it works well.

I haven't printed enough yet to really be able to comment on how well the ink consumption is and how long they will last, however with what i've printed so far it looks to be pretty decent even with the good quality!
Reviewed By:Zach P.,9/24/2016 11:47:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Brother > Brother MFC-J985DW Work Smart All-in-One with INKvestment Cartridges

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superb value for the money
Pros: Easy to set up. Simple to configure with home LAN (I have mine plugged straight into my router -- assigned it a fixed ip, and was off). Well built. And cost per page is astonishingly low. I've had other MFC printers before, but this is by far the best. Has solid Linux drivers too, which is a *major* plus. Small footprint. Relatively quit (along has the usual repertoire of slightly annoying chimes and bells on startup or shutdown).
Cons: Colors are a bit ...meh. Black and white (meaning, text) is sharp and crisp, but the colors are sort of flat, and appear a bit faded (this would be the only reason I'd dock this product an egg). Time to first page is a bit long, but that might have as much to do with my network setup as anything else.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this product. With my Brother laser printers, there is a niggling hassle of toner being reported as 'low', when in fact there is plenty. But on this Inkjet-based unit, cost of ownership is *very* low.
Reviewed By:Evan C.,9/17/2016 2:01:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Canon > Canon PIXMA MG2924 Wireless Photo All-In-One Inkjet Printer

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great price!
Pros: Economical, works, looks nice.
Cons: Took 3 hours to set up! No USB cable included.
Other Thoughts: I haven't had this all-in-one long enough to know it's reliability. I haven't even used it to scan anything yet. I've only used it to print, which it does fine. Loses an egg for the poor instructions, difficulty in setting up, and no USB cable being included.
Reviewed By:Sam S.,9/14/2016 4:07:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet 4630 (B4L03A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet e-All-in-One Printer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never worked from day 1
Pros: The refurbished model gets no support from HP and after spending numerous hours on LiveChat with them I now have an expensive paper weight.
Cons: This printer did not recognize the cartridges that came with it. It did not work from the beginning and I have had no luck with getting it fixed or replaced by HP. I paid extra for the replacement warranty from Newegg. They told me I had to exhaust every option with HP first before they would do anything else. I am about to find out if the replacement warranty was worth the extra money. The original price of the printer was an absolute waste!
Other Thoughts: I would give 0 eggs if I could.
Reviewed By:Keith W.,9/13/2016 3:57:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Deskjet 1112 4800 x 1200 dpi USB Duplex Thermal Inkjet Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Printer for the price
Pros: Got it on sale for $35. and ink (both cartridges color & black) are about the same price too, which is very good for printer ink.
Only owned this printer for about a month and already on the second fill of ink
Cons: It is a cheap printer so I'm not going to expect much from it, but if I get one year out of it I'm probably doing good
Other Thoughts: Can't give a long term review on this printer yet, but for the short amount of time of ownership, it installed with no issues and works
Reviewed By:Joseph C.,9/11/2016 5:14:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet 4630 ISO: Up to 8.8 ppm Draft: Up to 21 ppm Black Print Speed Up to 4800 x 1200 optimized dpi color (when printing from a computer on selected HP photo papers and 1200 input dpi) Color Print Quality Thermal Inkjet Color Inkjet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good printer, missing parts
Pros: Printer arrived in HP box, with minor shipping wear. Printer was undamaged, included power cord, phone cord but not USB cord (as expected). Removed tape (5 ea), put in ink tanks, added paper and powered up. Wireless setup was easy with screen prompting for details. All in all from un-box to first page out less than 15 minutes.
Cons: When printing - it was making noise, like a buzzing bee. Inspecting unit I discovered it was missing the rubber pads (feet) on the underside of the printer. The adhesive tape was there, the rubber pads were not. Had to use an old mouse pad and cut out replacements to get the noise to stop, and prevent it from scratching desktop.
Other Thoughts: HP Support is not intuitive, you have to email or fill out a form online to verify serial numbers before it will even show a phone number to call. When you enter the printer model number and press search it goes nowhere preventing, me from finding more information, or specs... I can only hope that this was an oversight and I can get the right parts to make this a complete success story. Serial number of unit does not work, HP says invalid, may be what is causing search to fail.

Waiting on call back / email response from HP to get this taken care of.
Reviewed By:Charles H.,9/10/2016 9:44:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 (M9L75A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Printer So Far
Pros: Just got mine today and it only took a few minutes to set up on Windows 10. I had a little trouble with streaks in photo prints but called HP support and resolved the problem quickly. Text quality is exceptional and much better than my Epson WF-4630. It is a little different in that you can't place a piece of photo paper on top of a stack of regular paper in the tray to print a photo. You have to remove all regular paper and put the single piece of photo paper in the tray. Photo quality is then very good. I had two Epson WF-4630 printers and the print heads failed after about a year. I hope this one does better. I am also trying the InstantInk program which looks pretty good from a cost standpoint and the printer actually contacts HP and orders the ink automatically . . . . pretty slick! The only negative was that it was difficult to figure out where to call for support.
Cons: Pretty hard to figure out where to call for support
Reviewed By:Robert A.,9/8/2016 9:25:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP OfficeJet Pro 8720 (M9L75A#B1H) Duplex 4800 dpi x 1200 dpi wireless/USB color Inkjet MFC Printer

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better Than I Thought
Pros: Today I will start with a disclaimer, I really like HP and have always liked HP and after this product review I still like HP. It is the best out of all the printer brands in my opinion. Let's start with my favorite HP software and the most overlooked Web Jetadmin. This software comes with every HP printer. The way you get to it is super easy. You open an Internet Explorer window and enter the IP address of the printer, for example 192.168.1.234. You can obtain your IP address by printing out your configuration page. Back to Web Jetadmin, in this interface you can set advanced features like setting up ring counts for the Fax, seeing the ink levels, my favorite while managing any printer because I can see the cycle count and see when I need to install a new maintenance kit. It has too many features to list in this review but if you get this printer or have any other HP printer please explore it. In just a short amount of time you will see it is the best printer tool out there and it comes free with all HP printers.

The print quality that came from this printer is incredible, I compared to my HP LaserJet M452nw that I paid $400 for. The two printers' color print outs on pictures and my commercial product are so very close it really shocked me. The only real difference was that the Inkjet has one shade lighter color. The crispness and the sharpness were both the same. The edges of both printouts look the same.

The color Touch Screen is very nice and its of a higher quality than most. You don't have to mash hard on the screen for the printer to accept your selection. A soft light touch is all you need. The brightness was just right and the screen was large enough to do my work easily. Sometimes HP gets a little cheap on the touch screens in this case they did not.

The setup was easy - you plug the printer in, you install the disk software on your machine and follow the steps. You have two options: the easy wizard and the advanced link to my printer option. If your new to setting up printers please use the wizard. If you need to set a static IP and want to setup the Wi-Fi and set the passwords and access points you need to use the advanced or the Web Jetadmin. The only thing that I really disliked about this printer setup was locating the security PIN to connect the Wi-Fi. This will be covered in detail in my cons.
Cons: The Wi-Fi setup requires you to locate the "PIN" so you can connect your computer to the printer safely. I had to really dig in the printer settings to find the PIN. The instructions said that the PIN would be located in the documentation or on the printer itself, it was not and I really had to go looking for it. I thought if I printed out the configuration page it would be there, it was not. I found it in the wireless settings section on the printer. HP, if your reading this, please fix this and include the PIN with the documentation.

The last con I have is the cost of HP ink.
Other Thoughts: This Inkjet printer is just as good as the M452nw LaserJet at half the price how can you go wrong?
Reviewed By:william r.,9/5/2016 10:33:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Inkjet Printers > Hewlett-Packard > HP Officejet 4630 ISO: Up to 8.8 ppm Draft: Up to 21 ppm Black Print Speed Up to 4800 x 1200 optimized dpi color (when printing from a computer on selected HP photo papers and 1200 input dpi) Color Print Quality Thermal Inkjet Color Inkjet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Need printer and got one!
Pros: Easy and quick to set up and install
Cons: Issue with black ink provided with the printer (ink appeared to be used previously) - had to purchase new black ink cartridge to get it to print in black correctly
Other Thoughts: If purchasing remanufactured printer products, I would recommend if you have issues with the printer not printing correctly and after following the manufacturer's steps before returning the item, try to replace the ink supplied to see if it resolved the issue. I would also recommend that when selling the product to include new ink cartridges instead of used cartridges.
Reviewed By:Rudolph J.,9/4/2016 3:16:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.