Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech PM1115UW 1 Port USB Wireless N Network Print Server with 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port - 802.11 b/g/n USB 2.0 RJ45 (10/100 Ethernet) Wireless Ethernet 1 - USB A (4 pin) Female 1 - RJ-45 Female 1 - Wireless N (IEEE 802.11n)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PM1115UW
Pros: This little jem is fast, efficient, and easy to set up once you know what you're doing. Had to RMA/exchange the first one - but it turns out that there was nothing wrong with it. It was my own fault in not knowing it had it's own program accessible by directly connecting my Mac to the PM1115UW via CAT5 cable and setting the Mac IP address to 192.168.0.20 so that it would be on the same subnet as the server default IP of 192.168.0.10. At that point - using Safari browser on the Mac - I accessed the print server configuration page and set the server IP address to one that was on the same subnet as my network (192.168.1.108), saved the settings, and from there I was able to install the printer driver and all was good to go. Unit has worked like a charm ever-since.
Cons: Just one - I had to online-chat with their tech support several times before getting the hang of knowing how to reconfigure the server's IP address. Didn't even need to use the setup CD for my Mac to do this.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, just had to go through a learning curve because of my own lack of knowledge about how my LAN (router and other devices on the network) interacted.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,11/9/2014 4:55:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GPSU21 1-Port Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Excellent print server. I have been using for almost 2 yrs with my HP 1320 Laserjet printer. Print server is connected to a wi-fi access point that connects to a router.

About a year ago, the print server suddenly stopped working. Racked my brain for about a week prior to hitting Google. Even reformatted PC as i thought my settings had changed.

Problem resolution - I set the print server to use a static IP about a year ago. No issues since. "Quick" set up is easy, but it'll come back to haunt. Do yourself a favor. Static IP.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/26/2014 8:42:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > Hewlett-Packard > HP J3263G#ABA Jetdirect 300x Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works for its purpose
Pros: Stable print server when it is configured properly. Interfaces well with HP laserjets, Tally line printers and Datamax and Zebra label printers.
Cons: Web interface is java based which is really difficult to use because it does not load properly. Loads initial menu but java applet sections do not load, thus requires a hard reset or factory reload of the device. Internet Explorer seems to work the best with Java 1.6u30.
Other Thoughts: Deployed about 100 of these and older devices which have been online for more than three years are not accessible through port 80. they continue to work on port 9100 for print jobs, but the admin page is not available at all.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/12/2014 10:51:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-MFP1 1-Port Wireless N Multi-Function Print Server 802.11b/g/n, RJ45 USB 2.0 Type-A

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't Do It!
Pros: not a single one
Cons: This is the tiniest piece of frustration you will ever have. Hangs printer, 'looses' printer, needs to be re-connected to the router regularly. Total piece of junk.
Other Thoughts: I just want to print from several computers in the house to a laser printer. Occasionally it worked - usually it has me uninstalling and re-installing the software & device. I am back @ newegg to shop for a wireless print server (finally!) and noticed this is still being sold - I had to add my thoughts.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear about your experiences with the TEW-MFP1. If anyone has these types of issues we would urge them to contact us so we can troubleshoot and resolve the problems. If it was a hardware issue with the unit we would be more than happy to honor the warranty on the unit and issue an RMA.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:don't_buy_this,10/3/2014 10:28:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > Lantronix > Lantronix XPS1002FC-01-S xPrintServer - Office Edition RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with no setup
Pros: It works with no setup at all. Or should I say, "Just Works".
Cons: All the printers on our network ended up being named "HP LaserJet 4050". It took a bit of work to rename them with meaningful names. I wish it used RDNS for names (although I understand that people with just 2 or 3 printers and no RDNS will find these names ok).
Other Thoughts: To install you just connect to a power source and the network. There is no login/web configuration required. The device scans the local network segment for printers and configures itself on each power cycle. You can configure it manually - just visit "http://xprintserver.local" in your browser. Nice that you don't have to readjust the network settings on your computer. I am not a MAC person, but on one of our MAC systems all the printers that the xprintserver finds show up on the "nearby" list of printers, with no setup required on the MAC itself. On others it seems as if you need to visit SystemPreferencesHardware|AddPrinter to install any of the printers. I suppose it depends on the version of IOS.

The included documentation covers printing from Windows also, but that seems pointless - it requires downloading Bonjour, in addition to the regular Windows add printer sequence.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 1:54:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO N300 Wireless USB 2.0 Print Server - LPV4-U2-300S

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 They work!
Pros: Works out of the box; Good tech support!
Cons: None that I know of
Other Thoughts: I tried several brands of print servers to be used with label printers in a warehouse application. The buffalo was the only brand that I could get to work properly
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2014 10:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS310U MFP and Storage Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had to return
Pros: None
Cons: It requires the installation PC to run. It's not a print "SERVER".
My point is not to have to run my PC otherwise I could hook up the printer to the PC for that! It's useless.
No direct TCP/IP install like the Linksys print server.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2014 11:05:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > STARTECH > StarTech PM1115U Print Server RJ45 USB 2.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with USB after my HP P4515 internal card died.
Pros: I wanted to use it on a mixed peer-to-peer network of Windows 7 and 8.1 computers. It works perfect for me. I choose this one because it appeared to be the newest newegg had. While the IOGEAR GPSU21 had the most reviews, it also appeared to be the most ancient.
Cons: It comes with a weird default IP address of 192.168.2.2. After following the included instructions and changing it, using the brower-based configuration interface it worked perfectly. (Of course it's NOT Bi-Directional, forget about using it with a scanner/MFP.)
Other Thoughts: (MARIO M. gave detailed instructions in these reviews on 5/25/14) I used a network cable plugged directly into my laptop that had only accessed the network via WiFi, so I could skip down to about step #5.
I did not touch the install CD that came with it, I used the brower-based configuration interface. This method is not for the networking faint of heart, IF you don't know networking, caveat emptor, I can't vouch for the install CD.

Based on other reviews it got a lot of bad press. I don't know how many got bad hardware, but I expect some threw in the towel because they couldn't figure out the networking, with the weird default IP address.
Reviewed By:Paul NH,8/19/2014 1:47:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-PS110P Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Quickly fixed customer that had been using a unreliable shared printer connection to a high speed impact printer. Reliability now solid.
Cons: price
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 8:20:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Network Print Servers > D-Link > D-Link DP-301P+ Fast Ethernet Print Server RJ45 Parallel Port with Centronics connector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 D-Link Does it Again
Pros: This little unit is all about making an OKI printer stay on line for a little longer and this does the Job Well.
When plugged into a Cisco SG 100D-08, Switch it only took a few minutes to have that 'Old Dog' - Hunt again.
Cons: None at all
Other Thoughts: Great Piece of equipment and worth 2 Huntin Dogs.
Reviewed By:Train,8/5/2014 9:57:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.