Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco SPA 525G2 5-Line IP Phone with Color Display, PoE, 802.11g, Bluetooth, Mobile Link

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Phone
Pros: HD sound quality, nice vibrant display, on-board menu is very easy to navigate, I love how I can choose my own picture for the wallpaper and screen saver and I also love how I can add two of my own ring tones by either using the USB stick or by going into the UI, USB camera and PoE (Power Over Ethernet). One other great feature is the MP3. I love to listen to music while I am in my upstairs office (I have a 16 room home). I also have this phone on my night stand with another USB stick with soft calming music to listen to while I am drifting off to sleep and much more.
Cons: There is only one thing I would have changed and that is listening to music thru the speaker using either a cell phone or MP3 by a 3.5mm cord so the USB could always be available for the camera.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this phone since Cisco allows us to add our own wallpaper, create our own screen savers, listen to music using a USB stick, add two of your favorite songs as ringtones. Excellent HD voice & video quality. And since these IP PBX SIP phones are for my home, DND (Do Not Disturb) is my best friend since I have 2 daughters and 3 son's so I am not always disturbed by them paging me thru the phones or their friends. Nor can they get thru by calling or using the intercom features. I have been using RingCentral since they began offering SIP phones and they began selling the SPA525G2's.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/23/2016 12:47:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not good at all
Pros: Initially when I connected this unit and set it up I was very happy with it. I was testing it because the sound quality on my magic jack was getting bad and I was experiencing dropped calls and sound breaking up. After setting it up the sound quality was amazingly good. So good that I forwarded my M.J. number to it and used it exclusively.
Cons: After a couple of weeks the sound quality stayed really good, but it would break up a lot. This was a problem with either Obihai or Google voice, not M.J. since I was initiated the calls not receiving a forwarded call. Some of the people I was talking to would tell me entire sentences were getting dropped so they could not understand anything I was saying. I reset the unit, but the result was the same so now it is a paper weight.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/3/2016 7:36:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > SNOM TECHNOLOGY > snom SNO-PA1 PA1 Public Announcement System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Disappointing
Pros: Metal Construction
Cons: Configured first day as advertised, upon installation, unit became completely inoperable. Visited website for support, dialog via forum only. Found many problems registered, no responses back from other inquiries. Poor manuals, support & product.
Reviewed By:Lee S.,9/2/2016 5:29:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This little Google Voice Phone adapter box is awesome !
Pros: It's easy to hookup and setup. I can hook a regular telephone up to the OBi200 and use my Google Voice number to make and receive phone calls. The quality is amazing and I run my business with this little box. Simply Amazing. This is the best Telecom product that I have ever bought. I'm going to get a very nice Plantronics wireless headset with dialpad to use with this box. You never have to use your computer to make or receive calls unless you want to.
Cons: There are no cons whatsoever.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this device for anyone that wants to use their Google Voice Phone number and account like a conventional telephone with a regular phone.
Reviewed By:George C.,8/30/2016 10:58:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still works today!
Pros: -using it with VOIP.MS (had to setup myself, but works great)
-tons of features and customization
-voice quality is great, nothing to complain about
Cons: -might be too hard for the average joe to setup
Reviewed By:Calvin L.,8/24/2016 3:06:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great and Easy Setup
Pros: 8-20-16 Update:

I have had this for almost 2 years and find it to work well for the most part. It isn't perfect and sometimes the voice quality is not great, other times it may drop your call midstream, especially one that you have been talking for a while. It is unknown if there is some Ooma limitation built in to throttle things back after so many minutes or if it is Cox messing around with me since they sell their own phone service for a hefty price and Ooma runs counter to their interests. Hard to tell which one may be the issue, perhaps it is a joint effort.

Most of the time the Ooma works perfectly, but not always like a land line does, but the trade off is you only are paying a few bucks a month in taxes and fees. For me it works well enough to not want to revert back to a land line and those much higher charges, plus most everyone has a cell phone as well.

Concerning having to supply a credit card to get it activated initially, that was used for paying the monthly tax/fee charge as I decided not to keep the additional services after the initial 30 day trial. It isn't a big deal and it would probably cost them more to bill you each month for $3.82.

Overall it works well, but doesn't achieve the 100% reliability of the old land line phone, however the occasional minor inconvenience is offset by saving hundreds every year.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Got this on sale and went onto their website and was able to activate it and choose a new phone number, as I wasn't in love with my old number enough to pay 40 bucks to port it. It took a while for it to perform a firmware update, but once it finished it connected up and call quality has been excellent. My broadband (Cox) is theoretically rated at 50 Mbs but never hits anywhere near that but there haven't been any problems with streaming a movie, having a couple of PC's connected, and using the phone so I didn't have to go in and play around with the QOS and allocate extra bandwidth for the phone.

The dial tone is weird, but it makes and receives calls like the old POTS with no drops or people unable to hear you. Not sending out almost 40 bucks a month is a big plus. I am using my same old Panasonic wireless phone that I have had for some time and everything works the same as when it was connected to a land line. There are a lot of options for how you might want to have the Ooma set up, but I just went with the basics.

Getting it activated was a breeze and just had to fill in the information, set up an ID/Password, and provide my address which is needed for the e911 and also for the credit card that you need to keep on file. I can only hope that they value my privacy and identity as much as I do.
Cons: None to report at this time.
Other Thoughts: I debated going with something less expensive to try VOIP out but systems like BasicTalk seem have a number of detractors and although the unit only costs 10 bucks it has a recurring charge of 10 bucks monthly so the upfront cost of the Ooma ends up being about a year's worth of subscription to BasicTalk, but after that you're not paying anything except the taxes and fees which you also would be paying with BasicTalk.

A number of folks have reported that their BasicTalk units died an early death and didn't always work well and dropped calls. There are many factors around your broadband provider and service that can affect performance so it is hard to tell sometimes.

So far so good, and if the unit holds up for several years then it will be great. The premium service offers some nice features, but I don't know if I want to keep it as I only need the basics and like the idea of not paying a monthly charge for things that I don't really care very much if I have them or not. Ooma for personal use isn't unlimited use, but at 5000 minutes a month it is pretty close (> 83 hours).

Unit runs only mildly warm, certainly much less heat than many modems or routers and hopefully this will contribute to a long lifespan.
Reviewed By:David E.,8/20/2016 10:34:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Grandstream > Grandstream HT503 HandyTone 503 ATA/IAD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Takes a while to configure
Pros: Just sits there and runs
Cons: No manual and no install wizard. Do your research and work out how to configure this unit and it will do the trick. But don't expect it to be handed to you on a plate
Reviewed By:Jason E.,8/16/2016 1:38:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > SNOM TECHNOLOGY > snom SNO-PA1 PA1 Public Announcement System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product failure - Zero technical support from SNOM
Pros: theoretically good. practically - a waste
Cons: Unit is not easy to set up at all. Once we got it working, it worked OK; tended to reboot itself. It was connected to a Cat6 Box POE. One year later - no output to speakers. Tried three different speakers and jack adapters. Unit powered on, was visible in the network, but no speaker output. Unit was wall mounted and not moved. Made numerous attempts for support from SNOM - NO RESPONSE.
Other Thoughts: DEFINITELY DO NOT RECOMMEND
Reviewed By:Nathan G.,7/27/2016 9:59:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product wont work after 1 year, you have to pay yearly extended service fee to make it work.
Pros: Stupid Description from Newegg: no where mentioned that you have to pay yearly Hardware Warranty and Premium Technical Support
Cons: Below is the message you will get it after 1 year.
Other Thoughts: Your device may have outdated, old software which no longer complies with Google Voice security requirements.

The latest software, available through your OBiTALK account, will ensure that you can continue using Google Voice on your OBi securely. To get the latest software, please make sure your device is within its one-year warranty and support entitlement or that you have paid for extended support. Obihai support entitles you to the latest software for your OBi with automatic software updates as well as expert advice from Obihai's support team.

OBi customers may also visit: www.obitalk.com/info/support for more information including access to the OBiTALK forum.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 8:59:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Reliability issues
Pros: -Price
- Free calls
- Fax support
Cons: - Unreliable
- Breaks right after warranty.
Other Thoughts: The OBI devices are great while they last which is usually a little over the year right after your warranty expires. First I had OBI100 at I loved it... Free phone with Google Voice what can be better? I loved it so much I recommended it to my friends and they bought it and installed it as well. Then suddenly after about 15 month it stopped working (red blinking light). Followed instruction to recover it, no luck. Contacted support - "sorry your warranty expired and you didn't buy extended warranty for $10". Well, it's ok, I thought, probably got a lemon and also it was time to upgrade anyways, since OBI100 stopped supporting Google Voice and I needed a fax functionality. I spend another $50 and got this OBI200 one for home another is for our vacation home. Guess what, one stopped working after 18 months and another lost dial-tone on its 12th month, so I'm hopping to get some warranty support/replacement for one (although not hopeful :( ). And BTW, my friend's device also no longer functional, but he decided to just cut the cord and is using his mobile phone. Because I need fax, and unfortunately no other affordable options available for Google Voice, I'm going to have to spend another $50 :( and this time probably spend another $10 for extended support, because I don't trust this device in the long run :(((
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2016 12:49:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.