Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint Solutions PDS-ST420-VP 600 dpi USB Color Portable Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Has good options as far as color/mono, jpg/pdf, and resolutions of low, medium, or high. Is easy to program the options desired. Scans relatively quickly. Is easy to use. Nice clean and crisp images. Affordable price. Includes a stabilizing pad that can be placed under the scanner to keep it from sliding on slick surfaces. Includes carrying case.
Cons: Must be disconnected from computer to scan, so scans cannot be immediately viewed. Cannot reset defaults to preferred settings. Each time it is powered off, or connected to computer, settings return to factory defaults, requiring settings to be programmed with every use. Only the scanner itself fits comfortably in the carrying case. Case needs to be stretched a little to be able to include stabilizing pad which is difficult and then makes it difficult to remove. There is little room left for the USB cord in the carrying case.
Reviewed By:girlsyk01,3/17/2015 8:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint Solutions PDS-ST470-VP 600 dpi USB Color Portable Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Magic Wand PDS-ST470-VP-BX2
Pros: Scanner works and is intuitive to figure out and operate. Being intuitive to operate was great because I had to scan the manual so i could increase the size enough to read it on my Laptop screen.
The Engineers did a great job. If the Customer support was as good, they would have gotten 5 eggs.
Cons: 1) Manual is tiny with very fine print and hard to read. Also, there is no PDF manual to download from the VuPoint web site. I had to scan the micro manual with the Magic Wand to increase the size enough to read on my laptop.
2) Warranty registration on web site does not exist. Major issue!!

3) The PaperPort 14 download web address that came with the Magic Wand goes to a site run by OfferActive that has a 404 error stating that the web site does not exist. Nuance does not state on the Paperport 14 download offer any expiration date. I am not a Contract Lawyer, but the Contract Lawyers I know would at least roll their eyes over not having an expiration date. Since I did not get a chance to try PaperPort 14, I can not comment on Quality, only the Bait and Switch stunt.
Other Thoughts: VuPoint better get their Customer Support up to the Level of their Engineers who developed the Magic Wand or their Engineers will walk.
Reviewed By:Steve,1/30/2015 5:01:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir DocketPort 687 DP687 48bit CMOS Duplex ID Card 600 dpi Optical Scanner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No duplex printing for x64
Pros: Single-sided scanning is fast, good resoultion.
Cons: Unit is expensive.

Scanner will not work properly for duplex (double-sided) scans in an x64 windows 7 pro OS. Tried included drivers, drivers from manufacturer's website, troubleshooting, alternate PC. Nothing worked - 64-bit drivers appear to only support single-sided scanning.
Other Thoughts: Customer support from Docketport is non-existent. No reply from phone or email contact.
Reviewed By:Aaron,1/29/2015 3:59:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Epson America > Epson Perfection V370 48bit MatrixCCD Photo 4800 dpi Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: This scanner does everything I have even scanned old 110 negatives with it. It is the best scanner I have ever owned.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: If you want a scanner that does it all this is the one.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 3:45:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Visioneer > Visioneer RoadWarrior Lite CIS Sheetfed Portable Scanner – Windows Only

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Product works great but annoying drivers and software
Pros: Excellent quality scanner, very portable, USB powered so you don't need powercord, comes with Nuance OmniPage 18, PaperPort 14, and PDF Converter Professional 7.
Cons: Documentation I received was for wrong model and contains inaccurate information, extremely difficult to work with drivers and software included (not including Nuance software). I have good tech skills and it took me forever to figure out how to use this and even after I did it is still difficult to work with compared to the wonderful software I got with my Canon scanner.
USB powered which causes problems with underpowered USB ports like those on windows tablets.
Other Thoughts: If you don't need to use the default software bundled with this device but instead have your own software then this is an excellent portable scanner.
Reviewed By:James H,1/19/2015 3:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > VuPoint > Vupoint PDS-ST480-VP Magic InstaScan Pro with Color LCD Panel

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Frustration in a box
Pros: Quickly makes unusable scans.
Cons: I thought I'd hit the jackpot with this. I have shoeboxes full of pictures. I used this and made like 200 scans in about a half hour while watching Netflix.

When I opened the files, the first two or three looked OK, then these little vertical stripes started creeping in to each picture. Turns out that any dust gets caught on the scan glass, and they accumulate. You pretty much have to do a full cleaning after each scan to prevent it.
Other Thoughts: I contacted VuPoint, and the only thing they suggested was to 'calibrate' it. That means running through a specially printed card included with the device. It does nothing for the accumulation of the stripes.
Reviewed By:OrionRed,1/16/2015 9:26:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage!!
Pros: Nothing much to say here apart from horrible experience from Neat customer service!! Absolute trash. That's the pros lol
Cons: Customer service is horrible!!! I've e-mailed them three times so far and not a single response!! Thought of returning the product but don't even see that option on their website (Bought it from them directly, I'm thinking that's a mistake). Software is mediocre. There are limitations like can't create new cabinet file for windows (you can create folders), brightness/ contrast change is done per page. So if u have a 100 page document, have fun doing it one page at a time!! No option to tweak them a document at a time or as a "batch". Scanning the documents in color is of poor quality. So i scan them B&W and then tweak the brightness/ contrast to make it legible. Overall not worth it. Look at fujitsu or something else that might have a much better customer service!
Reviewed By:Kevin,1/14/2015 6:43:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts 03271 Portable Scanner and Smart Organization System - PC and Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pathetic Customer Support
Pros: Looks good and scans fast. These two points are of not much use due to the cons!! I tried contacting the Neat customer support to no avail!! These guys simply do NOT reply back at all!! I purchased Neat Desk about two weeks ago.
Cons: Customer service is horrible!!! I've e-mailed them three times so far and not a single response!! Thought of returning the product but don't even see that option on their website (Bought it from them directly, I'm thinking that's a mistake). Software is mediocre. There are limitations like can't create new cabinet file for windows (you can create folders), brightness/ contrast change is done per page. So if u have a 100 page document, have fun doing it one page at a time!! No option to tweak them a document at a time or as a "batch". Scanning the documents in color is of poor quality. So i scan them B&W and then tweak the brightness/ contrast to make it legible. Overall not worth it. Look at fujitsu or something else that might have a much better customer service!
Reviewed By:Kevin,1/14/2015 6:37:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Visioneer > Visioneer RoadWarrior Lite CIS Sheetfed Portable Scanner – Windows Only

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 VRW
Pros: This was the best thing I always looking for my business out from my office as a salesman, and I suggest to all salesmen, specially when you are writing an applications for your clients and they want a copy for themselves, you could scan it and email it to clients, it is awesome, fast and ready.
Cons: There is no Cons about this.
Reviewed By:A T,1/12/2015 1:18:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > I.R.I.S > I.R.I.S IRIScan Book 3 Executive (457889) Up to 900 dpi Wireless Handheld Specialized Scanner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seems like a great idea but it's not.
Pros: Wi-Fi, portable, pouch for storing,
Cons: Can't scan thick books well, not long enough for a horizontal scan, a bit thick to reach the middle of a textbook, doesn't seem like 900dpi,
Other Thoughts: Thought I could put my back at ease by scanning my textbook and transferring to my device. I was wrong. The IRIScan for Android and the Readiris Pro 14 are pretty useless. Not enough functions or editing you can do. Scanning/digitizing apps on smartphones does a better job and has better output than this.
Only time you can really appreciate this device is if you're scanning at most an A4 sheet of paper.

Definitely not recommended if a book or magazine is what you wish to scan.
Reviewed By:Frankie,1/9/2015 1:45:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.