Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Ambir > Ambir PS667-AS 48bit CIS Simplex 600 dpi A6 ID Card Scanner with AmbirScan

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exactly what we needed!
Pros: Installed easily and quickly. Makes seamless work of scanning insurance cards at the front desk of a medical office.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 9:31:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Brother > Brother DS-720D 48 bit int./ 24 bit ext. (color) 16 bit int./ 8 bit ext. (monochrome) Dual CIS Mobile Up to 600 x 600 dpi (Optical) Up to 1200 x 1200 dpi (Interpolated) Scanner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Can duo front and back scanning
Cons: Can only feed 1 sheet at a time.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/17/2014 11:27:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > PenPower > PenPower WorldCard Pro Business card scanner for Mac/Win (WCUPRO1EN)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: It's pretty good, Don't read everything, but help a lot with the data entry. Easy to install, easy to use, easy to modify.
Cons: Can't install the software on more the one PC
Reviewed By:Backstage PC,10/13/2014 8:45:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very handy and unobtrusive
Pros: I use this for scanning receipts at work for expense reporting and for scanning spec sheet supplied by vendors. It will scan those annoying super long receipts that are becoming so commonplace now; 3 feet of paper for purchasing 2 items...seriously!?!

I tried other brands and found out they maxed out at 14 inches; those got returned less than an hour after un-boxing. Admin assistant in my department showed me her NEAT scanner and I decided to give it a try.

I really like the small size, doesn't clutter up my desk.
Cons: The software was a little annoying on the install...fill this out, fill that out, online activation; UGH! I really miss the days of simply installing the software, not having to fill anything out and using the widget right away.

Constantly pushing the cloud storage is ANNOYING. My company likes to keep its network very secure; cloud storage is a big no-no. The constant pestering to use NEAT'S cloud system is bothersome.
Other Thoughts: The NEAT scanner's software package is a database system (!) and does not just simply scan and drop your images into a folder (although it will if you specifically tell it to). This took a bit of getting used to. Took me a couple hours of tinkering but I think I got it figured out. The auto populating for record keeping is so-so, it gets about 85% of the data fields right, a bit of editing is needed after but not that big of a deal (considering the price). The database is nice for searching scanned docs.

Cool product with decent software suite.

RECOMMENDED
Reviewed By:JR,10/1/2014 10:56:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Software is horrible
Pros: Nice Scans
Cons: Everytime I use this product the company finds a new way to irritate me.
Other Thoughts: I have the previous model of this scanner though it uses the same software package. It might be OK if you live in the software such as a bookkeeper. Otherwise the supplied software is too slow and buggy. Unlike any other scanner I have ever used they do NOT provide a standalone driver, you have to install the whole package. I thought this would be a good product to take to tradeshows for scanning business cards and various pieces of printed literature. Not possible as there is not driver for the computer in the booth so it's not possible to scan with any computer but mine. If I use my computer I cannot do anything else. I have a Samsung Series Nine with a core i7 processor and 8GB yet this product can make my laptop beg for mercy. Also no way to export to RTF or other common formats. This thing lives for the database and it's that or image or pdf. If you have casual scanning needs do not consider this product.
Reviewed By:quielo,10/1/2014 6:13:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Fujitsu > Fujitsu ScanSnap SV600 Contactless Scanner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressive...
Pros: - Small Footprint (Can put it anywhere!)
- Quality of Scans!
- Adobe Acrobat XI Standard Included (This will cost you $200 alone)
Cons: Not many, but could use some tweaks to the Software and Surface Mat.

The Software is impressive overall, but it seems to have this "Apply to all" aspect to it. For instance I was scanning a Magazine publication and it assumed the one page rotation. Well, rather then letting me turn that one page it wanted to apply the rotate to them all. There was a workaround for it, but coudl have been made simpler.

With the Mat, the area is large, you can scan multiple items or as I am using for a Magazine or Book, and the detection is fantastic, but the Mat is Black and if there is a page with Black on the Corners / Edges, then it falls short. I would recommend stopping at a craft store and picking up a couple pieces of the Fluorescent Green Foam Matting. Will cost you only a couple bucks, but will make the edge detection MUCH easier.
Other Thoughts: NewEgg has this for almost $200 cheaper then most other sites. I have worked with Fujitsu Scanner at work for years and they are built for Quality and Volume. I had been looking for a Book / Magazine Scanning solution for some time, but did not want to spend $3000 on one. This fit the bill!
Reviewed By:Scott Sliwinski,7/15/2014 7:38:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Hewlett-Packard > HP X4000 Wireless Mouse

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Customer Service is very helpful
Pros: Need some help with the product and the customer service answered my question and I have my item shipped next day I ordered.
Cons: Not much
Reviewed By:N/A,5/27/2014 3:13:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > NeatReceipts Mobile Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Research it for yourself
Pros: Small, light weight, does good for what it is. Good for backing up thermal paper receipts that fade and are unreadable. You know, like the ones you need for warranties.
Cons: I do have to say, the software is a love hate thing. The database is great but it can be a pain with the stuff that's not really needed. IMO
Other Thoughts: Please read reviews from actual owners, and ignore the other non-owners. they shouldn't be allowed to leave reviews of any kind.

I got this in a lot of computer stuff from someone getting out of the repair business. I have yet to fully utilize all it's abilities. It's handy for receipts, especially the ones printer on thermal paper that fades and become unreadable. But it's handy for what it's made for. People should realize that this is not a full blown $500 document scanner with a ADF.

For anyone reading reviews, good for you doing your research. To all the people that leave reviews that don't even own the item, but don't like the commercials or advertisement for the item, well they just need to go away. To be polite!
Reviewed By:Scooter,4/25/2014 7:12:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Neat > Neat Desk Desktop Scanner and Digital Filing System - PC (Refurbished)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None! Don't bother buying this scanner it's not worth your time mine was defective as soon as I tried to scan with it. I tried contacting NEAT and I told them what it was doing and the agent was very quick to tell me that they would email me a solution to the problem, I did everything they said in the email and nothing worked. They have very poor customer service the NEAT agent couldn't wait to get rid of me or pass the buck. They act like they don't know a thing about there product, all she said was to reset it,try a different USB port that was it. Good thing Newegg has great customer service and allowed me to return the item and Newegg even paid for the return shipping. I will definitely recommend Newegg. Thank you Newegg great customer service.
Cons: This is not worth wasting your time. Was defective as soon as I tried turning it on. Comes on and has flashing red lights on the front and every time I try scanning the software keeps saying paper jam.
And there's no paper even in the scanner and it says that.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2014 2:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Specialized Scanners > Plustek > Plustek 8200i SE CCD Film Scanner

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great hardware, but...
Pros: Hardware seems solid and well-designed. It weighs about as much as a brick and kind of feels like one with your eyes closed.
Cons: No serious manual comes with it, nor is one available on the Plustek site. Essential information is missing. Example: does one scan with the emulsion side up or down. Not in the "manual." I found it on a printed sheet that came with the film strip holder.

SilverFast 8 is bizarrely designed. I like software whose use is so obvious I only occasionally have to turn to the manual, but especially for someone who is new to fixing up photos, they're likely going to be stumped. I'm a professional photographer who has been using digital (not film) cameras for well over a decade now. It's been that long that I have not even got my film negatives and slides out even to look at. However, I regularly fix up my digital photos so I understand a lot of the terminology and techniques. I can imagine a beginner being totally floored the many dimensions of fixing up available and, if they use it at all, only using a small subset of those options.

I used SilverFast 8 to fix up the first negative I wanted to scan. The software crashed! I won't repeat what I said about the 45 minutes of time I spent on the photo being lost.

I did a little research and discovered VueScan. I downloaded the trial and right away realized that it is a big improvement over SilverFast 8. On top of that, its licensing is much more generous. The normal version is only $39.95 and will probably do for amateurs very nicely. The Pro version is $79.95 and offers lifetime updating, creating RAW files, and several other features including IT8 color calibration, which will essentially turn your 8200i SE into an 8200i Ai.

NewEgg's price for the Plustek 8200i SE is very reasonable, but if I were you I'd figure in the extra $39.95 or $79.95. I'd say go for the more spendy version of VueScan or you may end up wishing you had.

You can download a serious user guide for VueScan, The VueScan Bible: Everything You Need to Know for Perfect Scanning, on Kindle for $10.49. I'd figure that in as well.
Other Thoughts: Reasonably-priced support for negative/slide scanning is waning. The top-o-the-line scanners are from Nikon and they are going for $2000 on up to about $7000. The Plustek OpticFilm line is the best you're going to do under $2000. Remember, film deteriorates over time, so now is the time to get going on scanning your favorite images as digital files. Why not all of them? Because no digital scanner is fast, especially if you're using the dust/scratch removal technology. Even without it, if you are paying attention and adjusting some of the parameters and scanning the photos in at maximum side and as TIFF or RAW photos with dust/scratch removal, you'll be lucky to get off with much less than a half hour per frame. I have ab out 20,000 images on film, so I won't live long enough to scan them all in if I also want a life away from the scanner. Its forcing me to be selective about which shots to digitize, and that's probably good.
Reviewed By:Unseen,4/5/2014 9:49:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau