Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR 64GB Flash Voyager GS USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel CMFVYGS3B-64GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 FAST FAST FAST did I mention its FAST!!!
Pros: Build Quality: Extremely high. The ZInc alloy housing its beautiful, and strong.

Speed: High End Performance, one of the fastest USB drives you can own. It like having a SSD in your Pocket.

Warranty: 5 Years

LED light: Green LED lets you know when drive is being used.
Cons: I personally found no cons with product. It is a great Drive, it out performs the vast majority of drives out there.
The only drives that out preform it are the also from Corsair the larger capacities GS's, as well at the Corsair GTX line.

I
Other Thoughts: Received this USB Drive for review. It is an outstanding product.
All Programs used to benchmark this drive identify it as:

Serial Number: 070853A4F5CA7550
Model: Corsair Voyager GS
Vendor: CORSAIR
Product: VOYAGER_GS
Revision: 000A
File system: FAT32
Size: 61051 MB
Read speed: 275.67 MB/s
Write speed: 165.74 MB/s

When you feel the product its extremely solid. It has weight, but i have never used a USB drive so well made before.

It out performs the vast majority of USB drives out there, only being eclipsed by the larger Capacity 128/256+ GS models, and the GTX line.

This drive performed out standing. The first thing I did was copy a windows 10 tech preview to the drive. For a large 4 GB file, it wrote at 160 MB/s according to windows. Copying or reading off the drive was registered 260 MB/S according to Windows.

I then ran the drive with the www.usbflashspeed.com .This site has a free utility that benchmarks your drive at various tests large files all the way to many many small 2k writes to test the USB drive at all size/speed metrics. This site also stores a database to allow you to see how the drive performs versus other drives tested by the site.

At the time of this writing 4/22/15 this drive scored the highest of all 64GB capacity drives tested on the site. It also tested extremely well versus larger drives now popping up in the top 10 in all sizes.

For a link to to verify the speeds of this drive here it the link from the drives test www.usbflashspeed.com/96493
The report shows all files sizes transfer speeds.

I next tested the Drive in HDtune. It scored a sustained read of 250MB/s +, with an access time of 0.3 ms. Again great scores.

This drive out performs mechanical hard drives, the majority of USB 3.0 memory sticks on the market. The quality and craftsmanship are leap and bounds above what most people have are used to in a USB drive. This is like carrying a SSD in your pocket.
All this backed by a 5 year warranty by a company with great customer support. There's a reason they give such great warranties, they make great products and stand by them.

I cant say enough good things about this product. Until using this I used use any old USB 3.0 stick, after seeing the difference in speed, I will never go back.

The only thing you could do better then a Corsair GS, is buy a Corsair GTX which has a SSD memory controller and almost double the speed.
Reviewed By:John,4/27/2015 1:10:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR Voyager Slider 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Model CMFSL3B-32GB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Doesn't FIT, too wide on MacbookPro
Pros: Speed is OK.
Cons: Too wide!! You have to unplug all nearby connectors just to plug it into any MacbookPro (2010/2011/2012...), which means unpluging the external monitor and all USB devices just to use this key without an extension cable.
Other Thoughts: There isn't much excuse for a major company like Corsair to overlook something as simple as, "can you plug the USB key into any MacbookPro?" Flash drives sole purpose is to be readily interchangeable between computers, so design should make it as flexible as possible. This drive is only "Partially" Mac compatible and a warning should be highlighted.
Reviewed By:RD,4/27/2015 12:50:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR 128GB Flash Voyager GTX USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel CMFVYGTX3B-128GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Say goodbye to slow USB drives
Pros: - Solid construction
- More than 10x write speed vs my “normal” USB 3.0 flash drive
- More than 2.5x read speed vs my “normal” USB 3.0 flash drive
- 128GB capacity. 256GB also available.
- Five year warranty
Cons: - Wasn’t quite able to hit advertised speeds (Windows 7 or 8.1), but not too far off
- 1 inch width (approx.) might be cramped for some setups
- Paint on lettering starting to wear after a couple of days (minor gripe)
- Pricey, but you are paying for performance
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts:

The Corsair 128GB Flash Voyager GTX is an excellent portable drive. It is much faster than traditional flash drives in both read and write performance. Construction is also top notch. It has a very solid look and feel. It is much larger than a traditional flash drive. It has a blue LED that lights up when plugged in, and it flashes when there is activity. The light isn’t too bright or obnoxious either. If you have any doubts about its longevity, Corsair’s 5 year warranty should put your mind at ease.

The width of the unit (1 inch or so) might cause a problem for some people if used in a system where there isn’t a lot of clearance between USB ports. However, I tested this drive in two systems and did not have an issue in either one.

During benchmarking, I wasn’t able to hit the advertised Read / Write speeds of 450(R) /360 (W) MB per sec. Performance was also slightly slower in Windows 7 compared to Windows 8.1:

Windows 7 Enterprise (i7 3770, 16GB RAM):
Atto Max Read: 330 MB/sec
Atto Max Write: 265 MB/sec

Windows 8.1 Pro (i7 4820K, 16GB RAM):
Atto Max Read: 373 MB/sec
Atto Max Write: 317 MB/sec

Because of the speed difference between the two systems, I am not deducting an egg for not being able to hit the advertised speeds. It’s clear that the OS and/or system configuration plays a role in what speeds you will get.

For comparison’s sake, my traditional Corsair Flash Voyager GO 32GB drive benched at 144MB/s (max read) and only 20MB/s (max write). The Flash Voyager GTX easily crushes those speeds.

For a more real-world example, it took over 2 minutes to copy a 4.19GB ISO file to my traditional 32GB Flash Voyager GO drive. That same file took only 35 seconds to copy to the 128GB Flash Voyager GTX. Read speeds were also improved. It took 30 seconds to read that same file from the Voyager GO drive, but under 15 seconds on the Voyager GTX. This was on the Windows 7 system, so it would likely be even faster on the Windows 8.1 system.

Note: the drive is formatted as FAT32 out of the box. To copy files > 4GB to it in Windows, you need to format it as NTFS. Once you do that, you will need a third party tool to get it back to FAT32 (I used GParted Live CD).

Conclusion: this drive is amazing. Although I am a little disappointed I couldn’t hit the advertised speeds, I am still extremely impressed, and it will be very difficult to go back to the slower speeds of traditional flash drives after using this. If you’re just copying office docs, it is probably overkill, but for more heavy duty tasks such as multimedia streaming, copying large amounts of files, or hosting an OS, you will definitely appreciate the increased speed. Corsair’s brand reputation and five year warranty solidify this drive’s awesomeness.
Reviewed By:Mwall23,4/27/2015 11:41:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR 128GB Flash Voyager GTX USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel CMFVYGTX3B-128GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, bombproof, usb3-ssd (CMFVGTX3B-128GB))
Pros: Compared to a flash drive, this unit is very fast, with a very high capacity. Internally, it is an ssd rather than a typical flash drive. This new model ("GTX3B" rather than "GTX3") has a more solid case: no red trim, and no plastic (other than a window for the LED). It is an extremely durable block of cast aluminum. I think I could drive my truck over it without doing any damage.
Cons: While this drive slips easily into your pocket, it is enough larger than a typical thumb drive so that it might cause usb crowding on some equipment. That is easily cured by using a short dongle, or usb extension cord. Of course, if this ssd had been packaged as an external hard drive, you would be using a usb cord anyway. So I like having the option, most of the time, of plugging it directly in to the usb port.

Note that if you do use a dongle, you won't get usb3 speeds unless it is a usb3 dongle. I have lots of usb2 dongles lying around, and they work fine. But if I was going to use one regularly, I'd go out an buy a usb3 version, which has more conductors and will deliver full usb3 speed.

This drive is noticeably heavy in your hand, probably because of the bomb-proof casing. I would have thought it had something to do with the internals, but the cap is heavy too. Unlike the earlier configuration, the 3B model got does not have a place to mount the cap -- which I don't want to lose, because it is an awesome cap.
Other Thoughts: On my computers (all running Windows 7 on ssd system drives) this drive performs much faster than any thumb drive I own. To get its maximum performance, however, you need to be sure that (i) the port is usb3, (ii) any hub or dongle is usb3, and (iii) the OS supports UASP -- usb-attached scsi protocol. Windows 8.1 has it; Windows 7 does not (so I can't test its true speed). I expect this drive to perform even faster when I upgrade to Windows 10 later this year, which will have UASP support built-in.

For those of you who run operating systems from thumb drives, this drive should give you performance close to that of an internal ssd. It comes formatted FAT32, with no bloatware.
Reviewed By:BMan,4/27/2015 10:07:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > SanDisk > SanDisk Extreme 64GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive Model SDCZ80-064G-G46

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fastest USB Drive
Pros: This drive is FAST. What took my old USB 2.0 drive to do in 30 minutes, this drive does in under 1 minute. Design is durable and I like that the retractable mechanism means that there is no cap to lose. I was worried that it wouldn't fit into some tight spots, but I have yet to be unable to plug it in anywhere.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: If you want speed, this is without question THE drive to get.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 9:39:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Team Group > Team F108 16GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive (Golden) Model TG016GF108N3

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast but unreliable
Pros: Fast and well priced. Small.
Cons: Too many failures. Support unresponsive.
Other Thoughts: I've owned maybe 20 of these. Lately there have been a rash of early failures. Devices suddenly indicate they're not formatted. Can be re-formatted but fail soon after.
Reviewed By:zoltan the gypsy,4/27/2015 8:27:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR 64GB Flash Voyager GS USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel CMFVYGS3B-64GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yes, it's VERY fast, under the right conditions.
Pros: There is little to say about the packaging and shipping of the Corsair Voyager GS flash drive, as it’s quite compact and not exactly prone to possible mishandling damage as most other computer components very much are. Suffice to say it arrived rather quickly, within a few days, as nearly everything I have ever ordered from Newegg has been shipped.

I had not realized this was a rather hefty drive, not only in storage capacity, but in actual physical dimensions as well. It also has a bit of weight to it compared to every other flash drive I’ve ever owned or used. Obviously that has quite a lot to do with its Zinc Alloy housing versus many other drives being constructed of mostly plastic. The flip away metal protective covers on some drives pale in comparison to the “armored plating” feel of this drive. I have no worries about this drive breaking any time soon. I haven’t run over it yet, but I almost want to just to see if it will withstand the pressure. None of my other drives could and I won’t even bother putting them through that test!

Speed of the drive is directly related to how it’s connected, and what it is communicating with. I ran quite a few tests to find the best overall combination.

1. Front USB 2.0 port on my Antec 1200 case to a NAS on my Gigabit home network.

2. Front USB 2.0 port on my Antec 1200 case to a USB 3.0 external drive connected to a USB 3.0 port on the NAS on my Gigabit home network.

3. Front USB 2.0 port on my Antec 1200 case to a USB 3.0 external drive connected to a USB 3.0 port on the back of same case (a Seagate P3 to be exact).

4. Front USB 2.0 port on my Antec 1200 case to the Intel 730 SSD on a SATA III connection which is my current boot drive.

5. Rear USB 3.0 port on my Antec 1200 case to the Intel 730 SSD on a SATA III connection which is my current boot drive.

6. Both front USB 2.0 ports, one the Corsair USB 3.0 drive, the other an Adata USB 3.0 drive.

Which transfer was the fastest? Correct, it’s #5. This actually blew me away, until I actually calculated the real speed over what Windows 7 x64 Ultimate was claiming (the calculated speeds were still impressive nonetheless. When transferring an 11GB mov
Cons: The housing has one potential drawback. It’s size. While it will easily fit in the front USB ports on all the PCs I work on or have at home, such is not the case when attempting to utilize some of the rear USB 3.0 ports on some computers, as in some laptop docking stations, especially if all or most of the other USB ports are already in use! This isn’t exactly a huge problem, as it’s often easy to simply remove one or more USB devices occupying those USB ports, troubleshooting actually necessitates that very action. If it was just a little narrower however, this wouldn’t even be an issue. Most people probably won’t have any problem, as I do not when using the drive on my own systems at home. When using it in the field, it may be at one time or another, if only being an annoyance making room for it to fit.
Other Thoughts: Quadruple tests to usbflashspeed.com recorded consistent write speeds of 165 MB/s and read speeds of 275 MB/s, give or take up to a single MB/s on either one.

The USB 3.0 to USB 3.0 via motherboard ports come in second, and the motherboard port to gigabit networked USB 3.0 limited by the network bandwidth, topping out at ~100 MB/s though average was around 95 MB/s, then the USB 2.0 to anything limited by the paltry 480 Mb/s speed of the USB 2.0 port itself.

So, keep that in mind when reading reviews of this drive, (or any USB 3.0 drive for that matter), you will NOT attain manufacturer claimed specs if you’re connected to, and writing to, or from certain drives depending on HOW both drives are connected! In reading some reviews on any and all drives over the years, it seems some people forget that critical factor.

*All drives but the Adata were formatted NTFS, the Adata 3.0 USB flash drive was formatted FAT32.
Reviewed By:Circlestrafe,4/26/2015 10:48:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Corsair > CORSAIR 64GB Flash Voyager GS USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel CMFVYGS3B-64GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Corsair Voyager GS series sets new bar for flash drive performance and quality
Pros: - Corsair Voyager GS 64 GB Flash Drive arrived very quickly from NewEgg. Item was well packed and arrived undamaged.
- Voyager GS casing is made of solid metal. Item feels very sturdy and quite heavy. I doubt it would break if you accidentally drop it or step on it. The flash drive is able to withstand shock of up to 40 G’s
- Corsair stands behind this product with 5 year warranty.
- The flash drive is formatted with exFAT right out of the box for maximum compatibly with various operating systems. It works right out of the box with Mac OS or Windows (also Linux).
- The flash drive is blissfully devoid of any “bloatware” software.
- Corsair rates the flash drive at Max Sequential Read rate of up to 295MB/s and Max Sequential Write rate of up to 170MB/s.
- I tested the flash drive on my MAC (MBPr with Yosemite). I used rsync command to move files and obtain speed statistics. Here are the transfer speed results:
*** It took 9 seconds to transfer 1 GB movie to the flash drive from MAC (94 MB/s)
*** It took 6 seconds to transfer 1 GB movie to MAC from flash drive (130 MB/S)
*** It took 39 seconds to transfer a 3.95 GB folder from MAC to the flash drive (100 MB/s).
*** It took 28 seconds to transfer a 3.95 GB folder from the flash drive to MAC (134 MS/s).
*** It took 3 min 42 seconds to transfer 22.3 GB BluRay movie from MAC to the flash drive (94 MB/s).
*** It took 2 min 45 seconds to transfer 22.3 GB BluRay movie from the flash drive to MAC (128 MS/s).

- I also tested the flash drive on my PC (Win 8.1 Pro) with these results:
*** It took 24 seconds to transfer a 3.68 GB folder from PC to the flash drive (161 MB/s).
*** It took 14 seconds to transfer a 3.68 GB folder from the flash drive to PC (260 MS/s).
*** It took 2 min 15 seconds to transfer 22.3 GB BluRay movie from PC to the flash drive (160 MB/s).
*** It took 1 min 40 seconds to transfer 22.3 GB BluRay movie from the flash drive to PC (210 MS/s).
- Blue LED light is only on and flashing during the data transfer.
Cons: - Flash drive get a little warm with use.
- Due to the width of this device, it might not work well with some recessed USB ports.
Other Thoughts: - Without a doubt Corsair Voyager GS series sets new bar for flash drive performance and quality of build. It literally takes seconds to transfer entire DVD to and from this flash drive. It literally takes about 2 minutes to transfer content of entire BluRay movie to and from this flash drive. I experienced no errors or disconnects during my testing.
- If you use flash drives to transfer and carry files on regular basis, you will appreciate the speed of this device.
- The device might be slightly heavier and bigger that many other flash drives. However, it seems to be able to withstand more abuse than other drives due to its solid metal construction. I feel I can trust this flash drive with storing some of my important data. In the end, I am really impressed with the write/read speeds at which this flash drive operates. I have no qualms about recommending this flash drives to other users.
Reviewed By:MrTichy,4/26/2015 1:56:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston DataTraveler SE9 G2 16GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive (Metal casing)Model DTSE9G2/16GB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Flash Drive
Pros: Very reliable, fast and rugged 16 GB flash drive. I still have one of the older USB 2.0 16 GB drives and it has been found in the washing machine twice with no failure or errors what so ever and still works just like it came out of the box. I bought three of these new USB 3.0 16 GB for extra storage and they are faster than the USB 2.0.
Cons: None that I know of.
Reviewed By:JON,4/26/2015 11:09:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > USB Flash Drives > ADATA > ADATA C103 64GB Retractable USB 3.0 Flash DriveModel AC103-64G-RBK

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Huge Capacity, Super Fast
Pros: 64GB capacity
Fast transfer speeds, thanks to USB 3.0
Cons: None of which I'm aware at this point
Other Thoughts: The only opportunity I've had to use it so far, was to put video evidence of several thefts on it, to turn over to the police as evidence in prosecuting a couple of thieves. Considering how slowly the justice system can proceed sometimes, it may be obsolete by the time I get it back. Transferring the video to the drive went exceptionally quickly, though!
Reviewed By:Michael S.,4/26/2015 7:47:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.