Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer SPH-DA120 AppRadio 4 Smartphone Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unstable and support is unbelievably inconvenient for anyone who actually works.
Pros: The only plus is that you can mimic your iPhone onto the radio, however not all apps will work with this radio. But if it doesn't consistently work what's the use?
Cons: I would highly recommend staying away from this product. Firstly support from Pioneer is convenient for them, not you as a customer. If you work a 9-5pm job, take a day off to waste your time with their support. Now getting to the product itself, its completely unstable. I've been thru 2 iPhones since purchasing this unit and still the radio will shut down on its own. Sound will or will not work depending on how it decides to work that day. This is all within 8 months of owning the product. STAY AWAY!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2016 11:00:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Power Acoustik > Power Acoustik PD-724HB 7" Flip Out LCD Screen w/Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product. no problems!
Pros: All of the wires come labeled for whats what.
ease of installation.
is single din.
has a built in fan to keep cool.
plays movies really clear and looks really nice.
i have the choice to have the screen out or not.
adjustable angle for the screen from 90 to 60 deggre
Cons: when direct sun hits the screen it may become hard to see the screen.
comes out a bit slow every once in a while.
Other Thoughts: I Have not use the back up camera.
installation can be time consuming if your doing it by yourself so make sure you have a friend to help u.
Reviewed By:Alejandro R.,5/19/2016 6:55:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer MVH-X370BT Digital media receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best affordable Bluetooth radios out there!
Pros: - Phone connects quickly once it's paired with the radio. - I used to have an older JVC head-unit (must be 4 or 5 years old at this point) that took forever to connect with a phone.

- Picks up playing right where you left off. - My JVC did NOT have this feature; let's say your playing a song on your phone through the radio via Bluetooth, you get to where you're going and shut your vehicle off. Come back some time later and start the car back up and the Pioneer MVH-X370BT continues playing the song you were just listening to!

- Easy to install. - If you've EVER installed a car stereo before, nothing has changed.

- Good call quality. - My wife says that with my old radio... it definitely SOUNDED like I was using the hands-free Bluetooth in the car (lots of background noise), but with the Pioneer MVH-X370BT she says she can't tell whether I'm using the phone normally against my face or on the hands-free Bluetooth.

- Removable head-unit face plate. - Good anti-theft feature.

- HD radio capable! - Not everyone may hear the difference, but there was a noticeable difference to me... when listening to an HD station, it sounded more like CD quality rather than "radio" quality. Plus, you get the track info if the station broadcasts that data.

- Awesome sound. - ANY after-market radio will instantly sound better than the stock radio, but this Pioneer sounds GREAT!
Cons: - No CD. There IS a model in the same family as this radio that has a CD player, but it's $20 to $40 more expensive just to have the CD playing capability. I was on the fence about purchasing this radio when I had learned that it lacked a CD player... but ultimately I'm glad I got the MVH-X370BT. I stream the majority of my music and only listened to CD's if I didn't have a data connection.

- Menu's can be a little confusing. - They're not the easiest to navigate, but they get the job done. Given enough time, you'll eventually find what you're looking for.

- Can't display the time and track info at the same time. - You can cycle through a bunch of info: for instance the current frequency of the radio station you are listening to, the track info (if they are broadcasting the HD radio data) or the time, BUT you can't do a combination of any of those options. Not a huge deal... the dash on my car has a clock, but it might be annoying if you vehicle relies on the radio to display the clock.

- Screen color cannot be customized. - Again, not a huge deal... I don't mind the electric blue screen color. If you want a Pioneer radio that you can match the color to the rest of the stuff on your dash... there's one for that, but it'll easily cost you $50 to $100 more. In my mind, not worth it to pay the extra... but thought it was worth mentioning.

- Does not auto-dim. - This was sort of a surprise to me... most radio's I've ever had, have always auto dimmed when you put the vehicles lights on. This one has 2 options: a. Manual dimmer. You hold down one of the buttons on the head-unit for a few seconds and the screen dims. b. Schedule dimmer. You set times of day when you want the screen to "auto" dim; start at / end at. I tried the second option of just setting a schedule from 6 pm to 6 am, however one particularly bright evening, the screen ran it's "auto" dim according to the schedule I programmed and I could NOT see the screen at all. I then switched back to the manual dimmer. Again, if you NEED to have the radio dim by itself whenever you put your lights on... there's a Pioneer model for that... but it'll cost you some more $$$.
Other Thoughts: This came recommended via the Wirecutter as "The Best Bluetooth Car Stereo Receiver".
Reviewed By:Sean B.,5/2/2016 10:20:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > BOSS Audio 612UA Digital media receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not so much
Pros: USB and SD work ok.
Cons: The radio reception is horrid. I have purchased two different BOSS head units and the reception on both is abysmal. This one is on its way back for a refund.
The clock is not mentioned in the user manual. I have found instructions to set it on the internet by other users, but they did not work on this one. The clock is only visible for about 2 seconds.
The preset stations all set to the first in memory after a couple of days.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this item. Unless all your favorite FM station are withing a couple of blocks... or the SD and USB playback is all that is desired. The bad FM reception happened on two head units that I purchased. I will not purchase BOSS again.
Reviewed By:Joel C.,4/24/2016 3:10:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer FH-X720BT CD Receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent replacement radio for my 2004 Chevy Tahoe
Pros: Sounds great with factory Bose speakers. EASY to install after purchasing installation kit from local Wally World store. Make sure you get the antennae kit too. Remote control is nice too, easy to use. Hooks up with blue tooth to Iphone 5 for handsfree. Very nice to use Siri to with radio to voice text or listen to test messages over radio, and radio shows names of incoming calls. Also... looks great with the ability to change the color of the screen.
Cons: Nothing so far...
Other Thoughts: I recommend to anyone who wants to replace your factory radio or just have a more up to date radio with some nice features.
Reviewed By:Ricky P.,4/21/2016 9:58:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > Boss Audio 625UAB Digital Media Receiver w/ Bluetooth

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buy something else
Pros: - Cheap for a Bluetooth radio. I had no idea how much using the add-on Bluetooth adapter was annoying me until I finally removed it - I have a whole new appreciation for my vehicle.

- I basically only use Bluetooth so I can't say much about the rest of the radio. Once I tuned a local station and it worked.

- Remembers that I had selected the Bluetooth device. My clock stays set, unlike the other reviewer, though it has randomly decided to reset a couple times.

- Reconnects Bluetooth automatically sometimes.
Cons: - Does not power on consistently. About 1 in 10 starts it will remain powered off, even though the circuit has power. I have to turn off the car and open the door (to kill the circuit), then the radio will power up on the next start - even removing the front panel and pushing the reset button, which normally stops the radio, does not resolve the issue. This seems somehow related to powering on 'too quickly', as if I leave the key in 'run' for a second or two before 'start' I see the problem more rarely. The radio is wired correctly, this is just a random issue that is apparently fairly common (see reviews on other sites).

- Bluetooth skips rarely but at random. Honestly this is just a minor annoyance, but it seems related to temperature, which is a bit scary going in to summer.

- Clock in Bluetooth mode requires pressing the "DISP" key, and then is only on for a few seconds. This is especially annoying because the Bluetooth screen does not display track info, just "A2DP" - at least a clock is vaguely useful.

- Bright blue light in the middle of my dash at night == really annoying. No brightness levels or alternative colors, and I think the LED positioning was chosen for maximum visibility but without thought to utility. Which brings me to...

- Completely illegible buttons, even with the backlight. Also, the panel is mirror-finish, so if you are in a little bit of sun you can't read the LCD. Amusingly I can now see this even in the professional picture, but it's much worse in person.

- AVRCP does not seem to work, after the initial connection the buttons stop working. This could be different players on my phone stealing the events, but in practice it means all my interactions with audio happen on the phone not the radio. Unfortunately, even though my phone is my exclusive audio interface, this radio...

- Does not operate at all without the front panel. I would love the ability to use the radio in Bluetooth mode (maybe with panel removed after initial connection) as that would solve my bright light problem above and maybe keep people from wanting to steal the radio (?).

- Does not automatically reconnect Bluetooth sometimes. Tasker does it using a "Bluetooth Near" profile, but that is definitely a nerd hack.

- Insecure Bluetooth connection, connects with no PIN - thus folks could theoretically connect and start blasting when my phone is disconnected but the radio is in Bluetooth mode. Never happened but it seems like a reasonable prank, if you have a friend with this radio, because the radio also

- Occasionally completely drops a good Bluetooth connection, and then picks it up again a few seconds later.
Other Thoughts: I am now shopping for a replacement radio; on the up side, this unit demonstrated that I really want a built-in Bluetooth solution, and getting all the harness/adapter/cage pieces for this one means I really just need to replace the head now.
Reviewed By:Timothy C.,4/15/2016 6:15:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > Boss Audio BV9364B 6.2" Touchscreen Bluetooth DVD Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Fine sound but buggy software interface that cannot be reflashed
Pros: The sound quality is pretty good. I have this installed on an Eddie Bauer 2002 Explorer and I did not even connect the factory sub (which apparently requires some resistors to drop the 12V signal to 5V). The sound quality is good and when the "loudness" feature is engaged, it is fine for me. Note that I am not a bass-thumping out the car person. Inexpensive -- unit was $100 but all of the wiring, mounting, and steering wheel control module ran my cost up to closer to $200. Plenty of features on the unit including DVD player, 2 micro-SD slots, front and back USB, video input for a camera, and Bluetooth.
Cons: Foremost -- the unit does not keep time accurately if the RDS feature is engaged. I emailed BOSS about this and they confirmed the problem but blame it on the RDS data. Other radios seem to manage but not this one. Furthermore, the calendar day-of-the-week is off by one day. With the date set correctly, Sunday will appear as Monday. The Greeks got calendars right over 2000 years ago, but not his unit. BOSS confirmed that there is no way to reflash to fix these bugs, that is the primary reason for my low rating. Antenna reception does not seem as strong as the factory unit that this replaced.
Other Thoughts: The interface wires are pretty thin, larger than the harness that I used, maybe around 22 gauge.

I did not think that I would use the remote that came with it, but that is easier than using the touchscreen. There is a mode button that cycles through the sound modes. Mode switching seems pretty slow to me, taking 2-3 seconds for each mode.

Although the sound is find, I would not buy another one of these devices based on the poor software and inability to fix software bugs.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/26/2016 10:07:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > Boss Audio 812Uab Double-Din In-Dash Mechless Receiver With Bluetooth(R)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Looks Great, Works Great, and Sounds Great!
Pros: My son and I installed it with no problem in my 2001 Toyota Celica. The wiring harness matched up perfectly with the one I used to connect to the factory connectors. The Bluetooth function was easy to set up and I love being able to answer my cellphone while driving.
Cons: You will need the original Toyota factory radio mount brackets to get a proper fit. The bezel supplied did not fit through the console opening.
Other Thoughts: I am very happy with this receiver.
Reviewed By:Sydney M.,3/23/2016 4:41:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer FH-X720BT CD Receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The bluetooth mic is very clear for the other person. Plus, the stereo made my old toyota highlander speakers sound fantastic. I love that you can choose different colors on the keys and display.
Cons: The Pandora feature does not work very well with my iPhone 6s plus. The display is hard to see on a bright sunny day. Installing the stereo was a breeze but running the wire for the mic is a bit of a pain.
Other Thoughts: I am very satisfied with this product and would buy it again.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/14/2016 4:47:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Power Acoustik > Power Acoustik PCD-42B Double-DIN In-Dash CD/MP3/USB Car Stereo w/ Bluetooth

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Don't buy it ...
Pros: it's worked at least one month.
Cons: after one month no longer display work
please don't buy it ....
i try to do warranty coverage but
we have to pay all shipping cost so it's more than 50 $
it's not worth we can buy another one
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/4/2016 11:08:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.