Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Aposonic > Aposonic A-AHK4-1TB 8 Ch HD 720P AHD DVR, 4 X 720P High-Def Day / Night Weatherproof Cameras with 1TB HDD Surveillance System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great system
Pros: Setup was really easy and everything was plug-n-play. The cameras offer excellent image quality and the software has many options.
A better user manual would be nice, but anything I couldn't figure out on my own was quickly answered by customer support.
SuperLive Pro works great with my phone. Fast, zoomable, easy. Setting up alerts to go to my phone is a great feature. Took a little figuring out to get the settings right for the app though.
Cons: In a perfect world I'd have the cameras set to record only on motion and the alerts triggered only during after-hours. This cannot be done however. Not a big deal but would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Great system, highly recommended.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/27/2015 2:14:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5144B Cube Series 4 CH D1 Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer BEWARE.. Broke 2 times in 16 months
Pros: works great WHEN WORKING
Cons: After 5 months #3 camera input quit working...LaView replaced with a new Cube.....11 months later the power supply on the "motherboard"
quit....the replacement Cube is less than a year old and LaView customer service refused to repair/replace or replace at a reduced cost from retail price.....breaking 2 times in 16 months shows the quality is sorely lacking....
I will never buy an LaView product again !!!!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 4:26:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good cameras, system unreliable at times.
Pros: Very cheap
Easy to setup.
Could be monitor from computer*, and mobile devices (Android & iOS) remotely.
Only one cable per camera.
Cons: Email alert might not work depending on email provider. I could not get Microsoft Outlook or Google Gmail to work.
The system cannot find hard drive at times, or it thinks the hard drive is not formatted. May have to reboot system hard drive to go back online.
Only works with Internet Explorer in Compatibility View, there is not support for Chrome or Firefox.
The software (Zviewer) to access live video and recordings needs work.
Cameras won't refocus if system is reboot in the dark.
Other Thoughts: If you want a reliable system look elsewhere, but you will pay a higher price.
Make sure to open the package and setup the system and test cameras before installing them.
Even thought the system is cheap, I do expect the features included to work as they should.
On a computer you will have to use Zviewer or Internet Explorer since the NVR is not accessible with Chrome nor Firefox.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/25/2015 3:47:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KH944FT4A8 Premium 1080p/720p HD DVR 4 Channel TVI Security System w/ 4 HD 720p Night Vision Outdoor Camera

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good system
Pros: easy to use and set up
low price
feature rich
quality build
Cons: Clearly seeing peoples faces is at best 25 feet with the included 720p cameras.

1080p cameras would be better.
Other Thoughts: Don't forget to buy a hard drive for it!

I went with the WD Purple WD30PURX 3TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 10:50:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl B-A720-162-8-1PTZ 16 Channel 16 Channel HD (AHD) Video Security System with 2 TB HDD, 8 x 720p HD Bullet Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Working well until...
Pros: Wonderful image quality, the ptz moving camera thing was absolutely exactly what we needed to insure loss prevention. The resolution makes the picture absolutely wonderful. You can place videos in a usb drive much easier than freaking cd's. The special camera you can move around was so worth.
Cons: Half of the cameras stopped working a week in...the big one too which is a huge bummer, all connections were right and it just stopped working at all so we really don't know what's up :/ Will try to reconnect and reconfigure soon i messaged their support people and hope to hear from them soon will update as soon as the problem is resolved. You pay 1000$ dollars and you expect a quality item you know? but then it breaks :/
Other Thoughts: sigh
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Mirna,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your Night Owl product. We apologize for the negative experience and would liek to rectify the issue as soon as possible. Can you please contact me directly so we can resolve the issue? NESTES@nightowlsp.com or 561-455-4012

P.S.
Based on the comments regarding the issue you are experiencing it sounds very likely to be a power issue related to one of the included power adapter. We should be able to rectify the issue by replacing the power adapter connected to the included 4 way power splitter.

Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 7:51:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System w/ 1TB HDD and 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Does The Job
Pros: This system does a good job. We wanted a camera system for our home and it does exactly was it says it does. It was easy to install and easy to use. I can view it anywhere on my phone and also on any pc in the house.
Cons: I wish there were more instructions. You can figure out how everything works but I'm old school and would like to have the instructions in front of me on a piece of paper. One thing I don't like about the system is the night time camera operation. The infrared view is somewhat dark and inadvertently becomes pixelated for a few seconds on and off throughout the night.
Other Thoughts: This system does the job for the price. I would recommend the system for anyone on a budget with a little bit of technical knowledge.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/16/2015 5:56:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great system
Pros: Night vision works great, easy to install a 3.5" hard drive, cables are sufficiently long for a medium size house, simple installation as long as you can use a drill. Price was great
Cons: In low light (not too dark not too bright) the mechanical IR cut switches back and forth constantly, although I'm sure all cameras have this issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall for the price this is a great system. Everything works as it should and definitely provides peace of mind since I live with 3 other people, who sometimes forget to lock the doors
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2015 12:23:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl NVR10-441 Full HD1080p Network Video Recorder w/ 1TB HDD & 4 Night Vision 1080p HD Outdoor PoE IP Cameras

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth $600
Pros: It's an IP camera system
1TB HDD
Cons: Picture quality is grainy and/or pixilated
One camera was fuzzy at night
You cannot adjust settings from NIGHT OWLs software
Customer service is horrible
Plugging in a new camera automatically sets to the highest sensitivity level and, if you've set it up for notifying you, will send messages to your phone every 10 - 15 seconds.
Other Thoughts: I contacted customer support for help when setting up this camera system and one person (Robin) asked me for my IP address so I gave it to them, they told me that was the "local IP address" and ended the chat saying the problem is too difficult to help with over their chat program. Never asked if I knew my public IP address (which I did).

If you contact them for help, they are going to ask you for your public IP address and router ADMIN PASSWORD (essentially giving them COMPLETE control of your personal network), at which point I told them no one gets into my network that I don't know and they replied with "I'm sorry, we cannot help you because we can't see what you are seeing".
Manufacturer Response:Good afternoon Nathan,

Thank you for your feedback on our product. We apologize for the negative experience you have with our technical support team. Our standard procedure for networking our customers DVR's is to access the customers network to facilitate / expedite the port-forwarding / networking process.

To address your trouble with picture quality being grainy or pixilated, I’d ask you to make sure your monitor can handle a minimum 1080p HD picture. This is a key factor in image quality projection. One of the key features of Night Owls systems are the Push Notifications. We provide this feature so our customers can have piece of mind knowing that anytime their cameras Motion Sensor feature is activated, they will receive real-time notifications to their smart device. If you do not wish to receive these notifications, you can disable the Push Notifications feature. Once again I apologize for your customer service experience, but you can contact me at 561-265-5272 or email at Charris@Nightowlsp.com. Thank you for being a Night Owl customer.

-Chris
Customer Service Specialist
Charris@Nightowlsp.com
561-265-5272

Reviewed By:N/A,8/7/2015 6:41:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN996P1612A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 16 Channel NVR + 12 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great system for business
Pros: I put cameras in my store and warehouse. The system is the right size for my business. I plan to add two more cameras later outside the front door later but right now 12 cameras are pretty adequate already.

The video quality of the images is satisfying at the 1080p. Compared the other analog systems, the IP is a total whole different thing.
I put full 16 TB hard drive in the nvr so the machine can store video storage at xx30 fps at FHD for about two month. Hopefully the auto-overriding feature can keep the nvr record all the time.
POE switch is built in the recorder and the kit comes with 12 x 100ft cables. The maximum length for a cable is 300ft. The camera POE is really the best invention for those who can utilize the exisiting network switch in the office like us. I also added two more ip cams remotely from the other warehouse. In fact, using IP, you can add cameras from all over the world to your nvr as long as you have access to it.
Cons: The document comes with the unit is simple. For people have internet networking experience, the system is easy to set-up. There are still some fancier functions available but not explained in the documents. I plan to call their local tech support to figure those out.
Other Thoughts: If you want to install a surveillance system for a small business and want to go for IP systems, this product is a very good choice.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 10:00:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDC8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264 Level 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Easy set up. Clear camera images. Great for home or small business use. Good night images at close range.
Cons: Poor cd manual. Got most of my information from online sources
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 9:29:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.