Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Induction Cookers > Rosewill > Rosewill 1800-Watt Induction Cooker Cooktop with Stainless Steel Pot RHAI-13001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works good.
Pros: It looks real good. Easy to use. Instructions of use are good. Cooks as expected.
Most of my pots and pans work with it.
Came with it's own pan.
Cons: none so far.
Other Thoughts: 1st one was lost or stolen in transit. Even though shipping company did nothing to remedy the loss. One call to Newegg and they sent out another within a week.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 6:10:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > Sunpentown > Supentown SR-964TS 1300W Induction Cooktop, Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Larger than expected, but ever so versatile
Pros: Works as expected and consumes little energy compared to my gas range. Fairly accurate temperature controls allow this device to turn your steel pots and pans into slow cookers or deep-friers just make sure you have a glass lid if you are planning to fry anything. Now that I'm used to it, I don't seem to use my gas range anymore.
Cons: There is a bit of learning curve, but I don't think it is too steep. Beware that not all pots/pans will work with an induction cooktop. If you have a nice set of aluminum cookware you are planning to use, you will be disappointed. I tested the bottoms of my cookware with a magnet before buying. I have since bought new cookware (unrelated to the use of this product...just wanted new) and made sure it was stainless steel first.
Other Thoughts: Love it. Imagine I would have loved any induction cooktop available compared to my gas range that would scorch food on the lowest setting. I cook everything in this. Well, I guess there is no baking being done, but you get the idea.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/20/2015 11:39:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > TATUNG > TATUNG TICT-1502MW Portable Induction Cooktop with Stainless Steel Pot (Latest version)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Learning inductive cooking
Pros: Fast heat, Leaves kitchen area cooler than electric range, uses less electrical power than conventional electric, cool cooking surface, easy clean up. I really like this Tatung inductive cook top, however my wife is reluctant to try new things but is trying to understand induction cooking. I think she will like it better the more she use it.
Cons: As others have mentioned the manual leaves a lot to be desired. As far as the numbers 1-9 mean in watts used and temperature there is a web site that gives that information.
http://www.tatungusa.com/download/manual_418109371708565_tict-1502mu.pdf
Go to the bottom of the page to see what the settings mean. Hopefully Tatung will post more information on the internet.
Other Thoughts: As with anything new there is a learning curve and this product is no exception. If people have a question there is the internet to help with many different search engines, I prefer google. Before people complain about this or any thing else, look and you will more than likely find the answer on the internet simply by using a search engine, another good place to learn inductive cooking and how to use this appliance is youtube.
Reviewed By:CardinalBB,5/21/2015 4:28:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > TATUNG > TATUNG TICT-1500W Induction Cook Top with Stainless Steel Pot

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken Quickly
Pros: None
Cons: Slow heating, easy to broken
Reviewed By:creditisimportant,5/20/2015 4:06:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > Rosewill > Rosewill 1800-Watt Induction Cooker Cooktop with Stainless Steel Pot RHAI-13001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am back with a 1 1.2 year user review
Pros: OK, I'm back. My original review was written on 02/28/14 and it has been the “Top Favorable Review”, so now I have been using 2 of the Rosewill induction units for almost 1 ½ years. I usually use the 'TIMER” and when you learn your TIMER and TEMPERATURE settings you don't have to worry about burning pots. Yes I have burnt some pots when I was in a hurry and forgot to turn the “TIMER” on. The pots and pans have turned RED from the high heat. The units shut-down, cooled off and they are still working beautifully. Cleanup is a breeze, just a damp rag or sponge on the crystal cooktop and it is like new.

I actually have given up using my electric coil range, I haven't used it in a 1 ½ years.

I did have one small problem with the old style pots, the rivets that attach the handles rusted and the handles came off but I still use them.

I have also used a 16 plus quart stock pot and the unit did the job.

My bigest problem now is that I cook to much. Glad I got these units, they are great.............
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Well made and an excellent product..........
Reviewed By:Joseph A.,4/28/2015 12:14:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > Tayama > Tayama Digital Black Induction Cooktop 1500 Watts SM-16A3 With Cooking Pot

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 junk
Pros: When it worked, it seemed fine. Heats up quickly, and efficiently.
Cons: I tested it 2-3 times (boiled some water with the supplied pan, as well as with a stainless kettle). Then didn't use it for a few weeks. Now it doesn't turn on. With pan, or without, the circuitry seems broken - the unit doesn't turn on at all. I'm baffled to how something can break so quickly, without hardly any use.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/27/2015 1:01:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > Sunpentown > Sunpentown SR-964TB Induction Cooktop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works ok
Pros: Cheaper in price. The lower wattage of 1300 is ok compared to the 1500 watt models.
Cons: I did not have an official magnetic induction pot and was mashing grain for beer with a big stainless non magnetic many gallon pot using a 2" x 6" piece of RA2205 nickel steel that is magnetic in the pot to warm the mash. I could not depend on the tempertue setting which went from 140 then 160 and I wanted 150. I set at 120, then set to 160 till till the mash reached 150F then turn back to 120 so I would not burn the mash as I thought 140 would add heat too many times. mashing is work but it really is not the fault of this stovetop and was easier than a conventional electric range top.
Other Thoughts: I would like to try a real induction pot but for mashing I know steady temps matter and for food it does not.
Reviewed By:RichaEcke2,4/26/2015 3:21:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > Tayama > Tayama Digital Black Induction Cooktop 1500 Watts SM-16A3 With Cooking Pot

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed after two uses
Pros: looks nice
Cons: Fan is noise. It failed after two uses
Reviewed By:N/A,3/28/2015 7:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > TATUNG > TATUNG TICT-1502MW Portable Induction Cooktop with Stainless Steel Pot (Latest version)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good burner, cheap pot
Pros: Induction is amazing. Using the standard 84% formula (84% efficiency -- that is, 84% of the energy used by the burner is converted directly into heat -- unlike ~40% for gas and ~79% for resistive/coil electric burners), at 1.5kw, this is roughly equivalent to a 10,000BTU gas burner. Boil some water in a cast iron or high-quality induction-ready stainless steel pot and you'll see what I mean.

Induction is famous for near-instantaneous responses to the throttles, and this burner is no exception. Press the button and you'll see the water go from a boil to a simmer in less than a second (unless you're using cast iron, but if you're using cast iron you should be familiar with the heat reserve capabilities).

The burner is clearly marked on what the various settings mean, so you can judge what you're doing without having to refer to the flawed manual, but more on the manual later. The controls are pretty obvious and intuitive, so once you get going with it you should have no real problems.

The burner has a "suitability detector", which basically means if you power it on with nothing on it, use non-magnetic cookware, or remove the pan while the burner is turned on you'll hear a few beeps and the burner will shut off. This prevents a lot of wasted electricity but can be very frustrating if you put the wrong pan on by accident.

The overheat protection works perfectly, though it can be an annoyance if you're trying to use an interface disc to use non-ferrous pans on it. See "Other Thoughts" below for, well, other thoughts.
Cons: First off, the manual is useless. Also, if you're going to be boiling for more than two hours, be aware that mine shut off at the two-hour mark without warning. That may be because I haven't used the timer feature. See other thoughts for more information. That's half a star gone right there.

Second, the pan that's included is cheap with a capital add-on-item. It works. It's works pretty well, actually, though having to wipe down the pan with vinegar to clean up the impurities that get expelled with every use is a bit of a pain. Mine arrived with a broken handle, though it's held up to the use I've put it through. Just keep in mind the pan is a little more fragile than you might like. Take care of it and it'll work for quite a while, but what do you expect for free?

Next on the hit parade is the fact that the temperature control isn't very granular -- nor is the power output, but that's easier to use for general cooking, so I hardly use the temperature setting versus steady power output. I realize that with only 9 levels it's hard to get exactly what you want, but we're talking a powerful piece of electronics generally priced well under a hundred bucks. Some compromises had to be made. Speaking of compromises, some of the temperature outputs just don't make sense unless you remember this is primarily a Chinese product, and therefore these are conversions from Celcius. Doesn't make them more appropriate to an American mindset, but it does excuse them. Also keep in mind that the 212F setting will keep your water simmering, but certainly not at a hard boil. Between the lack of absolute granularity and weird-ish temperature levels, it's just off enough for my needs to finish knocking off that fifth star.

The actual area of heat output is about 6" across, which means cast iron suffers from a large hot-spot in the middle unless you move the pan around while pre-heating it.

So, some cons that I don't think are big enough to matter, but things you should be aware of. First off, stainless steel pans (I haven't seen too much of this with cast iron) make a weird vibrating noise while using this burner, though it's usually just while warming up or if the power level changes dramatically (like going from a 4 to a 9, which is 1100w more juice). It's not a hum, it's not a crackle, but somewhere in between. It can be unnerving if you're not used to it. Next is the fact that the cooling fan runs for a while after the burner is turned off. It's not loud, but it is noticeable, and this might make some people unhappy. Finally, the blinking H. That stands for Hot and it means the surface of the burner has absorbed enough heat from the cookware to be anywhere from warm to hot to the touch. It could be hot enough to burn unprotected skin, so be careful if you just took the pan off.
Other Thoughts: Induction is amazing, as I said above. It's insanely fast, incredibly precise, and responds instantaneously to changes in input. However, it does have it's problems. Arguably the biggest is the fact that unless you're shelling out for super high-end equipment you can only use cast iron, forged iron, carbon steel, and certain grades of stainless steel on it. That's the one you need to worry about buying this burner.

I've had mine since the Black Friday 2014 sale, and I've used it heavily for everything from boiling water to add humidity to the air (very dry in NNY in January) to cooking bacon and eggs. For the most part I've used cast iron and the included pot, having only recently purchased a commercial-grade stainless steel pan at [warehouse club] to use on it as well, and I've found performance to be excellent. I was given an aluminum "whirley pop" popcorn popper a couple years ago and fell in love with it, so I was hopeful when I bought an interface disc that it would allow me to continue to use it. No such luck. The overheat protection cut in and only allowed a few kernels to pop, while the others burned in their hulls.

I haven't had any of the quality problems (other than the broken handle on my free pot, but that wasn't a dealbreaker for sure) others have reported, but I want to point out that we ARE talking about a mass-produced piece of electronics. Failures are going to happen. There's also the question of if people are using suitable cookware or left their burner outside and it rained or some other issue not specifically the fault of the burner.

One last thing -- I've found that some of my cookware seems almost to "float" on the burner. Since heat is produced by a magnetic field, I wouldn't be surprised if what I'm experiencing is the pan actually lifting microscopically above the surface of the burner on said magnetic field, allowing it to move at the slightest touch. Usually if this occurs I can turn the pan slightly and it'll offer some resistance to movement again, so it's not troublesome, merely interesting.
Reviewed By:furbearingmammal,3/21/2015 12:03:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Induction Cookers > TATUNG > TATUNG TICT-1502MU Portable Induction Cooktop with Stainless Steel Pot (Latest Version)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Intro To Induction Cooking
Pros: Very fast and efficient.
Reactive (versus resistive) load is good for generators or solar inverters and eases the strain and mileage you get.
Heats 10 ounces of tea to 120 degrees F in about 45 seconds.
You can move it anywhere in kitchen to make more space or take it with you, very light.
Cons: Manual is somewhat lacking as has been stated but there is a cooking temperature scale on their website. Fan is indeed somewhat loud but acceptable.
Other Thoughts: Several members of our household use this several times daily. It is quick and easy learn the different settings and once learned you get exactly what you expect. Power levels 1-4 duty cycle (turn on and off) to achieve lower powers but then again so does an electric stove. This is a great introduction to induction cooking towards making a decision about a full range top. Remember that the standard outlet is limited to 1500 watts or so but we can still cook a very large pot with a lid. The larger models that use 250 volts can achieve 3600 watts like a regular large burner. Recommended for the price, thanks NewEgg!
Reviewed By:N/A,3/21/2015 11:30:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.