Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPRB08XCM 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Great Update to an Already Solid Model
Pros: Very High Efficiency model, New quieter Speed, No draining needed, Eco-Friendly refrigerant
Cons: Single-hose unit (will add to time to cool down), Vents only adjust one direction.
Other Thoughts: A little insight on this model: this model is the replacement for the outgoing 7,000 BTU CPRB07XC7. That unit had the same shell/case, but offered only two speeds, consumed 800w, had an Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of only 8.75, and used R-22 (which has been phased out because of its tendency to damage the ozone layer). It was sold under the "Commercial Cool" brand name.

Fast forward a few years and we have the current model HPRB08XCM. Although they look almost identical, Haier made major improvements under the shell. The current model uses only 700 watts, giving it an EER of 11.4, rivaling the efficiency of some Energy Star window units. In addition to being very energy efficient, the current model also offers 3 speeds (an additional slower speed to reduce noise at night. The previous two speeds were the medium and high settings.) and also uses environmentally-friendly R-410 instead of the old R-22.

Because of these updates, you'll notice that some of the limitations of previous portable air conditioners won't apply here. This is a relatively quiet (on low) high-efficiency model that pulls less electricity than some 8,000 BTU window units. Having said that, it is still a single-hose unit, SO IT WILL TAKE LONGER to cool down a room than a window unit. However, IT WILL do it as long as you are using it for a room of the rated size.

My recommendation is to get the room to the temperature you want at night and use the unit to MAINTAIN that temperature through the day. Portables are great when used that way.

I highly recommend this unit; it's a great upgrade to the previous 7,000 BTU unit (which won awards because of its innovative looks and performance when it was initially released years ago).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/14/2016 8:32:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Honeywell > Honeywell MN10CES Portable Air Conditioner, 10,000 BTU Cooling, LED Display, Single Hose (Black-Silver)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Life Saver
Pros: Received just in time after a long move over several states, the weather was much warmer than expected and no air in the house. We looked all over and AC's were sold out, came to Newegg, found what we wanted and ordered 2. Easy to install and works great!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May purchase a third one
Reviewed By:Paul D.,9/11/2016 9:24:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier CPF12XCL-LB 12,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Follow up on Haier 12,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner 2014 review update! for 2016
Pros: the air Conditioner has a good quality rebuild!!!
Run time for the 3-years I had it is estimated at 219,060 hours ( 95% time Accuracy! )
AC Compressor still works!
Cons: You need to Carefully take the outer Casing shell off to clean the Condenser core ( there is no Dust filter to keep it clean )
It is Difficult to Clean the Condenser core ( the coolant tubes are in the way )
After 3-Years my Condenser Cooling fan stop working ( Secondary Critical Component )
Other Thoughts: I still give it a 5 star/egg because it is still in repairable condition in my opinion the only time I deem it unrepairable is when the compressor & Coolant system is Broken ( hard for an Average person to fix on their own & too Expensive to have repaired professionally )
Reviewed By:BRIAN M.,9/10/2016 8:36:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > LG Electronics > LG LW1216ER 12,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Window Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good price performance
Pros: I needed it to replace a Friedrich 12000 BTU 18 years old, Almost 1/3 of the other brand price , and works fabulous, dB at 34 average , just TV noise is dB 38 av. both dB 38 av.
Cons: No one significant, until now.
Other Thoughts: Easy to install, just unpack install,maybe adjust the size of the box , is smaller than the original Friedrich original, 1 1/2 inches in every side and 1/2 in height, using insulating foam sealant you fix yourself, like me first time I ever did that, and save $80 installation.
Reviewed By:Roberto M.,9/4/2016 7:23:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 5000 BTU Manual Compact Window Air Conditioner CLW-15C1A-G09AC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Cools my room pretty well
Cons: Sounds like a rocket ship.
Reviewed By:Rocky H.,9/4/2016 7:23:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPRB08XCM 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not a bad little unit.
Pros: Easy to set up.
Takes up very little space.
Keeps the room comfortable on hot days (read other)
Cons: Inefficient versus a window mounted AC unit or an external exchange portable unit.
Doesn't provide enough foam to seal the window.
Other Thoughts: If you need a portable AC unit but can't afford the cost of many others, this is a great option. While it is rather inefficient (which I knew going into the purchase), if used correctly you can achieve decent results. The best way to use this is to run the unit in the room BEFORE the room gets hot, the unit does a good job at maintaining the room temp but once the room gets hot and it's hot outside, the unit is going to struggle to bring the room temp down. People in other reviews have recommended getting a dual hose (external exchange) unit as they are more efficient, but if anyone looking at this is like me, they don't have $500 for an AC unit. A few people also complained about the unit not outputting cold air, which could be caused by a feature that threw me off. When this unit drops about 2 degrees below the set point, it doesn't turn completely off, it only shuts the compressor off and continues to run the fan and if the unit is turned on when the room is at or below the set point the compressor won't come on, only the fan. Once the temp goes 1 degree above set point, the compressor will kick in. This is part of normal operation, though the manual doesn't seem to state that anywhere, however do read the instructions as many of the complaints in the reviews stem from users not reading the operations manual thoroughly and not getting the expected result.
Reviewed By:Thomas C.,9/1/2016 12:08:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPRB08XCM 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great product easy setup and easy to use
Pros: I love my little air conditioner it doesn't necessary make the room frigid cold but make's my room very comfortable and bearable because of the high humidity and heat I am thankful for my purchase
Cons: the con for this air conditioner is that it doesn't cool the whole house but a medium size room
Reviewed By:michael o.,8/30/2016 5:05:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 12000 BTU Digital Compact Window Air Conditioner CLYW-35C1A-L09AC

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Fantastic Value, but buyer beware...
Pros: This air conditioner works very well. It can cool down a room very quickly even without having your fan set on a higher setting. I let it run in my living room on low for about ten minutes with two house fan blowing and it was pretty close to having central air again. It also acts as a dehumidifier, has an energy saving function, and a timer to shut your air off. Amazing functionality for a great price that's for sure!
Cons: This ac unit is huge, it wasn't easy to move nor was it to install - it's a two person job no matter who you are. It certainly didn't help that the unit came to my house in a beat-up and barely functional box. For an ac unit that was close to 120 lbs I can see how it might've been difficult to ship, but that certainly doesn't excuse Newegg or UPS for doing such a poor job getting it out to my house in one piece. Luckily, my unit didn't suffer any major damage, although I wasn't able to install the top bracket very well due to the top of the unit being dented. I was still able to mount the top bracket enough to install both side skirts although not without issue or the aid of another person. The outside casing of the unit was dented badly enough that it made installing some of the small screws impossible, but luckily I was able to make it work.

ONE IMPORTANT DETAIL THAT SHOULD NOT GO UNNOTICED ARE THE INSTRUCTIONS THAT CAME WITH THE UNIT. They have to be one of the most asinine things that I've ever seen. The instructions were very vague but basically what the instructions tell you to do is take apart your entire ac unit; which involves removing the front part of your ac (where I happened to noticed more damage) and pulling out the entire chassis of the unit. The purpose of this I'm assuming is so that it can be easier to mount your unit by eliminating the weight of having to hold it in your window while you install it. I found that doing this made things a lot more difficult because you run the risk of breaking the filter frame - if it isn't already damaged, the vent adjustment rod, or the wires that run into the front panel that turns your air conditioner on. Messing with the wires is not worth the trouble because it takes a lot of force to unplug them from the front panel. Those thin wires could easily fray if you're not careful. You would also need to find a flat surface close by to set down the chassis of the ac. Other than it might not be ideal depending on where you are putting your air conditioner, you still have to put the chassis back into the unit in which case you better hope that you installed the shell sturdy enough so that your air conditioner doesn't drop out of your window when you slide it back in. You can thank the vague instructions if that does happen.

I highly suggest doing things another way you think instead of looking at the instructions. It will work in your favor. I promise.
Other Thoughts: I don't know if I can say I would recommend this product given the glaring problems I had with shipment of the unit and the awful instruction manual. I'd say if you're desperate to get an air conditioner and you have somebody to help you out, there are certainly worse things you can spend your money on than an air conditioner that could easily cool down half of your home.
Reviewed By:Drew D.,8/30/2016 3:18:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Frigidaire > Frigidaire A/C FFRA0511R1 5000 BTU, 2 Speed Rotary Window Air Conditioner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Inexpensive and basic
Pros: It was not expensive, but it works well. Cools a small room quickly and efficiently. Very small/compact and lightweight. Simple to install.
Cons: You get no bells or whistles. At all. It has low and high cool, low and high fan (does anyone actually ever use that?) and off. No digital readout, no energy saver*, nothing fancy. Of course, for the price I was not expecting it.

*where the unit shuts off instead of going to fan without compressor.
Reviewed By:David N.,8/30/2016 2:31:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > LG Electronics > LG LP1414GXR 14,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great!
Pros: Keeps the room cold. Previous unit, also at 14,000 btu, could barely keep the room below 80 degrees in the afternoon. This unit keeps the room below 70 degrees all the time. It also evaporates condensation through the hot air exhaust so I don't have to worry about leakage.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: The exhaust hose is larger than typical.
The cover for the cold air opens automatically, but the angle is not adjustable.
Reviewed By:Aung M.,8/29/2016 10:55:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.