Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Keystone > Keystone KSTAW05B 5,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Follow Me LCD Remote Control

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Dissappointed
Pros: Nice Features
Cons: Unit does not cool like I expected it too.
Reviewed By:Kerry M.,7/25/2016 7:03:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 8000 BTU Digital Compact Window Air Conditioner CLYW-23C1A-S09AC

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY THIS AIR CONDITIONER!
Pros: - Price is great!
- It is very small and compact and not too heavy either.
- Dimensions are as follows:
Depth: 15 3/4"
Width: 18 3/4"
Height: 12 1/4" - Not including lip on bottom (~ 1")
- Mom and I can easily lift it together to carry up and down stairs.
- It puts out a LOT of cold air, even on low fan.
- It actually has a DRY (Dehumidifier) button too.
- The remote works from across the room and sitting on the same wall as the unit.
- Has a relatively long cord; although it still does not reach my outlet without a heavy duty surge protector.
Cons: - It has an ~ 1" lip on the bottom of the unit which prevents it from properly fitting in the old style window sill and still align properly with the window when it is brought down on top of it; unless you tilt it inwards which would cause unit to drain indoors damaging the floor and possibly the inside of unit. Even with a 1" thick board in the window sill, it still does not fit properly. We had to stuff towels and foam all around it to prevent loss of cool air.
- Remote control is somewhat confusing. It appears as if the label is for the button below, but it is actually for the button above. Everyone agrees that the layout is very confusing and not very user friendly. The items on the remote aren't grouped separately for ease of understanding. For example all fan buttons in one group and AC in another group. Filter reset, Dry (Dehumidifier), Energy Saver better separated. Also, H-FAN, M-FAN, L-FAN will light up but nothing will come on until you click on COOL or FAN.
- You have to be STANDING directly in front of the unit to feel the cool air that is literally blasting out of it, regardless of where the air flow is directed. Even sitting at the table in front of it, you cannot feel it unless you STAND up. I suppose this may be considered an upside for the elderly or those who have a family member who's always cold.
- The air flow tab was broken off when the item arrived, but rather than paying the postage and the restocking fee and then waiting for it to arrive again; we simply accepted it. We can still move it, just using our fingers instead of the tab.
- Unit is EXTREMELY LOUD! Even in low fan mode! It actually sounds like the compressor is on even when the unit is in fan mode. Hope I'm wrong or my electric bill will be outrageous! If this unit is being considered for someone who is hard of hearing, do not purchase for any room with a TV or Radio in it. It's so loud I find I have to turn up my TV quite loud in order to hear it over this unit. This is a problem as I do have a tenant upstairs. Practice what you preach, if you know what I mean.
- Some minor assembly required.
- New smell is kind of gross at first.
- Screws didn't fit just any Phillips screwdriver. I tried three that fit the screws before I found one that would actually turn it instead of stripping it. The screws for the curtains were very hard to screw in. I tried all 8 of them, same result. I even tried to put screw in first without curtain to insure that the hole was enlarged enough. This didn't really work either. Screws were just very cheesy and poor quality. Had to just work through it.

UPDATE: 7/18/16
This air conditioner does not perform very well on 90 plus degree days with high humidity. As instructed we set our air conditioner at 61 degrees, cool, high and it struggles to maintain even the most basic comfortability at 80 degrees in just our living / dining room. As long as it's not too hot or humid out, it can perform ok I guess; but when it is really hot or humid, it fails miserably. This unit sucks.

I strongly recommend any other air conditioning unit. Now I am stuck with this one. Unfortunately, we didn't have warm or humid enough weather to have discovered this fact quickly enough to have returned it in time.

Don't make the same mistake we did!
Other Thoughts: - I would suggest that others read my detailed comments and make an educated decision for themselves based on the facts.
- I'm sort of on the fence as to whether or not I would purchase this item again. Leaning against it though due mainly to the LOUDNESS of the item.
- I would change everything I've mentioned in Cons; but especially the lip on the bottom, the loudness of the unit and the design of the remote control.
Reviewed By:Shelley A.,7/20/2016 6:24:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FFRL0633Q1 6,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Window Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quiet and works great!
Pros: Works as specified
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Fred C.,7/17/2016 6:57:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 12000 BTU Digital Compact Window Air Conditioner CLYW-35C1A-L09AC

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Texas Summer Equalizer
Pros: Quiet, efficient workhorse
Cons: It wasn't free, nor did it install itself
Other Thoughts: Was kind of worried about having this unit shipped but it arrived in good condition w/no damage as the interior padding did the job required of it. It came w/good instructions and everything necessary for the installation process, though I did use some better/longer screws in parts of the install.

I've had it working for the last month now as our summer has ramped up and it does a great job of cooling roughly 750 sq ft. without having to run continuously. At 1st I was concerned that running in Energy Saver mode wouldn't do the job, though it does and I'm sure it's saving quite a bit of electricity compared to having the fan running all the time as I was at 1st.

Just got my 1st electric bill since the install and it appears It's costing just a bit over $1.00 a day to run this unit with it set on 78/80 even when the temps outside are 100 every afternoon and into the high to mid 90s till nearly midnight.

So far this has been a great unit and met all my needs while doing so economically as well. Long term survival of the unit is hard to predict but it does seem to be well made so I'm hopeful it will be around for years.

I would definitely recommend this unit to anyone needing a window unit A/C.
Reviewed By:Kim S.,7/17/2016 4:40:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Keystone > Keystone KSTAT10-1C 10,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Through the Wall Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 excellent price and ability!
Pros: fits into standard sized wall socket used in apartment buildings.
much better price than name brand models
cheaper on the egg than brick stores
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: these models are prone to dents on the metal shell during transport
carefully inspect the unit before installation
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/15/2016 11:20:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPYD13XCN-P 13,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good!
Pros: Everything is working, thermostat is working, filters are clean, no missing equipment.
Cons: Since it's refurbished, it did come with plenty of scratches, and the window kit was also half broken, but luckily I'm using it in a casement window, so I had to DIY something anyways and it didn't matter. But really it should have been even cheaper simply because another large retailer had a 14000 BTU dual hose for $250, which is already cheaper, and its warranty is a full year unlike this one. Buy at your own risk.
Reviewed By:Bryan C.,7/13/2016 8:52:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPYD13XCN-P 13,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Defective thermostat
Pros: - Cools correctly
- Good price
Cons: - Thermostat is not working properly, so you can't rely on the unit to decide when to cool or not
- The window panels and adapters are cheaply made and hard to install
Other Thoughts: The thermostat problem is known and every single unit has it. It is disappointing that the company would decide to sell refurbs without fixing that problem. However, for half the price, it is still a decent buy.
Reviewed By:Yan V.,7/11/2016 11:35:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPB08XCM-LW 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product!
Pros: I ordered this portable A/C for one room in my house that faces west and burns up in the afternoons. This A/C unit was perfect to keep this room cool. Although re-furbished, it runs like a charm. It was easy to set up. It's been running for almost a month now and no problems.
Cons: None for me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/10/2016 2:40:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPYD13XCN-P 13,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 poor quality product cant believe newegg would sell this
Pros: newegg great with return so far
Cons: did not work right out of box
Thermostat stayed at 95 degree (82 in house)all time so unit never shuts off
had to drain water ever 30 minutes
Other Thoughts: would not reconmend
Reviewed By:charles b.,7/8/2016 7:36:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Keystone > Keystone KSTAW05B 5,000 BTU 115-Volt Window Air Conditioner with Follow Me LCD Remote Control

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 One letter difference in model number but such a big difference in product !!!
Pros: Remote
Easy installation
Cons: Loud
Inefficient
Bad water drainage
Other Thoughts: I bought Keystone KSTAW05A ( letter "a" at the end ) two years ago for my babies. And I was so happy with it - quite, fast cooling and so on. And I decided to buy the same for our bedroom. And I made a mistake. Instead of KSTAW05A model I bought KSTAW05B. And these two units are so different like ground differs from sky. Never-never waste your money. I'm so disappointed.
Reviewed By:Rustam N.,7/5/2016 9:05:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.