Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > Whistler CR90 Laser Radar Detector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hope they post this review
Pros: No pros. Dont waste your money on these Whistler models. I gave it 5 eggs because I am afraid they will NOT post my review. I have two whistler predecessors and both were junk.
Cons: These are no good. If you are going to invest in a radar detector then do yourself a favor and go top of the line, Either Passport 9500ix or the Belkin or Valentine model. Research them online. They cost a bit more, but when it comes to radar detectors - you get what you pay for. And believe me, tickets, court costs and time will add up to cost you MORE than the cost of a good radar detector. And remember, you dont have to be a reckless driver or speed demon. 5 to 10 above the posted speed limit can get you a ticket. And yes a coworker of mine got nailed going 10 mph above the posted speed limit and it cost him 10.00 dollars for every mile above the posted speed limit. Total cost to him was 100.00 In my case, total cost to me was about 500.00 and that was when I owned the Whistler. Now I have the Passport 9500 which marks the location of false alarms, warns you of red light locations and known speed traps, and can be updated via subscription. There also an app which allows your phone to talk to other drivers and locate speed traps ahead of time.
Other Thoughts: I had the 2 of the predecessors and they failed to pickup New Jersey State Troopers radar gun, So I got nailed on the Jersey Turnpike. And they have been other instances where they picked up a signal at the last minute. Now if I was speeding, I would have gotten nailed.
Reviewed By:Ken,10/21/2014 6:54:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra XRS 9745 15 Band Ultra Performance Digital Radar/Laser Detector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 The cobra product is not working
Pros: The delivery was on time
Cons: The product failed so many times to detect radar or lazer light. I emaild to the seller, and they wrote me 10 days ago that they will send me the return sticker and i can send the product back. And they havent done that. Thanks for your so called "service".
Reviewed By:N/A,10/8/2014 1:37:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-130 Radar/Laser Detector with Super-Bright Icon Display

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Puzzling
Pros: Nice size; Fit securely to windshield.
Cons: Worked fine for 3 days, then went out. Fuse appeared to be blown, so I replaced it. Long story, short...it blew 5 consecutive fuses, one right after the other. Each time I plugged it back in, the fuse would blow.
Other Thoughts: The manufacturer told me this was unusual, so maybe I just had a bad one.
Reviewed By:DB3,9/30/2014 1:37:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Escort Inc. > Escort Passport iQ Radar / Laser Detector w/ GPS Function

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Medicore Compromise
Pros: Combined GPS and radar/laser detector.

Traffic light cameras, etc updated periodically.
Cons: Unreadable screen. If you can find another combination GPS/radar detector get it, the display is essentially useless in daylight. At night it's fine.Since the screen can't be seen it's impossible to press any buttons. Starts up in an even less readable dim night mode.

No voice control so ya gotta see the buttons.

No traffic.

Slow satellite acquisition.

(Lots of "no's")
Weak windshield mount. So heavy it must rest on the dashboard and the windshield mount just stabilizes it.

Map is out of date and no upgrades are available.

Poor radar signal filters -- constant beeping for noting. Par for Escort though.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I retained this unit is it's the only combination of GPS and radar detection I'm aware of. Comparison to a Garmin Nuvi and Valentine 1 is embarrassing. But I don't have room for these two in my small Honda S2000.
Reviewed By:Chuck S.,8/7/2014 3:32:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-540 Cordless Radar Detector with Digital Compass

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 radar detector
Pros: great detector for all bands, came with rechargeable batteries and car charger...........love it
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2014 4:08:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-130 Radar/Laser Detector with Super-Bright Icon Display

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works fine
Pros: I got this detector because it was cheap and had good reviews. It works fine and satisfies my curiosity about radar signals (intersections, speed signs, cops).
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I was just curious about where radar was in use in my town, and I drive by a sign that says "your speed is ..." every day so I figured I would get a cheap detector. It sees the radar from the speed sign from a long way off, and also sees radar at one intersection in town (?). I like being able to see when radar is in use.
Reviewed By:deltaFoxtrot,6/16/2014 6:29:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra XRS 9745 15 Band Ultra Performance Digital Radar/Laser Detector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for the price
Pros: Low false alarm rate
multiple options can be set
auto mute
Cons: Windows mount would not lock in. I did not want to send it back for that issue, so I just wrapped some tape around the mount and kept it from falling out..
Other Thoughts: I'm sure you can get a better detector, but not sure you can for this price.
Reviewed By:Tommyt,5/25/2014 5:55:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Escort Inc. > Escort Passport 9500ix GPS Enabled Laser / Radar Detector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent seller
Pros: Excellent seller. Item as described. Good price.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2014 11:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > Whistler PRO-68SE Laser / Radar Detector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Strong but annoying
Pros: Tons of features, high customization, radar type read out, numeric signal strength, loud, and bright readouts.Strong receptivity, dash mat, and direct power cord option.
Cons: A little bulky and heavy. Too heavy for the flimsy windshield suction cup. But comes with a nice dash-mat option and direct wire to power source. Loud and bright. Strong receptivity!! Makes you wonder what people are doing being those gated walls to generate those types of security signals.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very very good buy. Wont find better for the same price
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 3:49:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-130 Radar/Laser Detector with Super-Bright Icon Display

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What a disappointment
Pros: None
Cons: It didn't make any sound when I drove near a speed sign. When I saw the speed sign, it didn't make ANY sound. At the time the speed sign displayed my speed, it started to made a "beep", and that was all.......It was also silent when there was a cop with the gun speed on the road. When I was in his ranged, it started to made a "beep" again, and it was TOO late.
Reviewed By:G.N,4/6/2014 12:05:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau