Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Zmodo > ZMODO ZMD-DX-SBL8 8 Channel 960H Security DVR with HDMI and QR-Code Scan & View

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ZMODO DVR, no relation to Quasimodo
Pros: Cost: Low budget entry into DVR
Company has website with setup information
http://kb.zmodo.com/index.php?action=artikel&cat=1&id=294&artlang=en
Remote over the internet monitoring
Cons: None at this price point.
Other Thoughts: Bought this unit to monitor my 84 year old uncle in poor health at his home.
Thanks to Charles P; Nicholas C; Raymond M; Ivan G;and Tracy T; for your comments and suggestions in the Q & A section of the Newegg website for this product....Very informative.......This is the reason I like to shop at Newegg. Also bought low cost indoor camera Item#: N82E16881124262 at Newegg.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2016 12:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Zmodo > Zmodo ZMD-DX-SBL8 8 x BNC 4TB 8CH 960H DVR with HDMI Output and 1TB HDD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product Easy to set up BUT.......
Pros: Easy to set up
Multiple functions for quality recording
Cons: The only con I have is a mouse is required to be used for all setup and functions. My previous Zmodo DVR had a remote to use in place of a mouse. We could change and monitor a single camera in a second as needed. This model does not come with a remote and without the remote you have to use your smartphone or the mouse to bring up a designated camera you wish to monitor. Sometimes it takes you longer to get up and make the change and not able to view it live as it happens.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for not having a remote to change cameras as needed I would say it was an excellent DVR and recommend it.
However without the remote allowing you to monitor a designated camera as needed I would say I would not purchase it again.
Reviewed By:PAUL W.,1/31/2016 1:09:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0401R21SL 4 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD (up to 4TB) 960H H.264 Real Time 30fps Surveillance DVR, QR Code & NAT Remote Access, Mac OSX Compatible

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, easy to use.
Pros: The camera is clear day and night.
Easy to setup.
Cons: Mouse is pretty cheaply made, but you can get a better one for a small price. (Not a deal breaker)
No hard drive is included.
Other Thoughts: I like this system and I would recommend it if you are looking for decent system for a decent price.
Reviewed By:Bernard C.,1/28/2016 2:56:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Plustek > Plustek NX880P-EW3-00HD-000 X880P Standalone 8 Channel NVR Barebone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works in NVIF environment
Pros: Fairly configurable. Does many setup tasks by itself. My cameras were a little different, so I had to add them manually. Has feature for a firmware upload although I didn't see any upgrades on the mfr web site.
Cons: Wish the Java engine ran on a Mac..view and playback features won't function in Safari, Chrome, Firefox on a Mac. It's a Java thing even if you assign Java to 'trust'.

The overall instruction set could have been clearer and more complete. It's more of a checklist. Assumes the user has done all this before.
Other Thoughts: I installed an old spare 1TB HDD that was formatted NTFS and the device went right to work formatting the drive. The drive activity light could be brighter...barely visible in a well lighted room. Although there is a Windows tunneling software that comes with the device, I was able to configure everything in a Mac environment. DVR networking is defaulted to DHCP so you just need to know what IP it's assigned. After that, no problem to point your browser to it.

I ran the Windows tunneling software in Fusion on a Mac so that works fine. I successfully tunneled using Fusion in both Win7 and Win10. The tunneling software is the same display you get with any web browser....so not sure why it's included. Any web browser in a Mac will let you configure, just not monitor and playback. You don't need to tunnel in to view if you plug a monitor into the back. A lo-res 3x3 matrix shows all cameras simultaneously on the monitor if you use one. Monitor display is not configurable, just 'on' or 'off'.

This DVR is recording 24/7 for 7 NVIF cameras and the 1TB drive stores about a week's worth of HD video. The device then starts auto deleting the oldest video to make room for new. It will send a variety of email reports/alerts if configured to do so and if supported by the cameras.
Reviewed By:James H.,12/31/2015 4:44:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely hard to setup and use
Pros: cheaper than the other systems I looked at.
Cons: Literally everything else.
1) The initial setup took hours. I followed the directions in the box precisely. I could not get mydlink to ever recognize this DVR. One of the odd steps was to do a manual firmware upgrade since my firmware version was V1.0. Nobody thought of making this step automatic (its connected to a network after all). So the hacky firmware update had to be done. Even after the update, mydlink would never connect. The only way I could get any connection is the direct login to the IP address of the DVR. Also, the web interface requires Java, which is not a problem normally. The problem is that Java would not start saying the product certificate was revoked. I could not find a new certificate online. I temporarily allowed invalid certificates through the Java console. But this is obviously a worrying problem using this product and far from easy to use. I ended up just using the DVR with my hacked web based access instead of returning it. That turned out to be a mistake.

2) The web based access I was using to the DVR is garbage. Its a non intuitive user interface. When I got used to how this poorly organized web access was organized, it turned out to be very sluggish and buggy to use overall. Clicks take such a variable amount of time to be processed by the hardware that it is totally annoying. Setting up options such as auto recording on event, start recording 30 seconds earlier than even (so I make sure I catch the event as it starts) , and auto delete so the HDD does not fill up, took a while to figure out. Some of the options I tried never actually worked. Start recording 30 seconds early worked only half the time.

3) After a couple months using the DVR it stopped working. Blinking blue light on top and non responsive on the web interface. I figured out that the IP address changed due to router rebooting, which I don't care about. I was able to easily access the new and correct IP address, but the login would fail all the time. I could not think of a better way to get this thing working than to reset the product to factory settings and start the whole init process again. This time I could never get the DVR to respond to the startup wizard after hours of trying.

I just gave up. This product is far too hard to setup, too buggy, not user friendly, and finally broken after a couple months. No more dlink products for me. I wish I returned this a couple months ago. I'm shopping for a better quality system now.
Manufacturer Response:We thank you for the feedback as we really do appreciate it very much and we want to apologize for the issues you are having with our product. Based on the information you have provided, we would like to set up a convenient time for one of our technical support agents to get in contact with you so they may assist you personally. For this to happen you will need to visit the unique link below, which expires in 10 days, and fill out all the required information. Upon completion you should receive a response from one of our agents shortly.

http://supportrequest.dlink.com?id=53e5bdc29df34e5ab5e3e3edec7a057a&token=b550f8514dec4591bd1ed82df1611dd8

We look forward to working with you.

Reviewed By:cynthia g.,12/24/2015 6:51:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-312L 9 Channels NVR with HDMI Output (mydlink technology)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very easy to use, HDMI output great for add on monitor
Pros: easy to add on the hard drive and format for use. searching for compatible dlink cameras was fairly simple. enhance/optimize picture quality is an improvement. I used the 312L to record-on-motion feature and it works nicely...I plugged the hdmi output to my 23" monitor and have it next to my TV so I can monitor the camera's while watching TV. Adding a USB mini keyboard makes it easy to select specific camera to view and to choose features I want. Definitely an improvement over the 4 camera 202 unit.
Cons: my 5009L and 934L did not work with the unit. do know why they can't make them compatible. I will call tech support on this. unit is noisy when writing to the drive.
Other Thoughts: very easy to use the iphone app to view live camera's and playback. I had it for about a month and unit appears very stable and reliable. unit is a little pricey but you do get much more features that a 202L.
Reviewed By:Jerry L.,12/20/2015 7:38:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0401R21SL 4 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD (up to 4TB) 960H H.264 Real Time 30fps Surveillance DVR, QR Code & NAT Remote Access, Mac OSX Compatible

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 the important lies
Pros: Nice picture quality.
Cons: The ad says "Ever find netowrk (note that is misspelled in their ad...I just copied it) configuration and port forwarding depressing...Simply scan the QR code...peace of mind!" Blah, blah, blah...DOESN'T WORK. Scanning the QR code takes you to their web page, that's all. Incomplete instructions, and a very poor English translation of what instructions are available. It's all been hours of frustration.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to try a few hours more (already got 6 in it) to get remote viewing working, and if that doesn't happen (or I go crazy from trying), it's going back. It is NOT as it was advertised to be.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2015 4:49:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst user interface ever
Pros: Well, I got this shipped to me nice and fast. That was good. And it does seem to record, when you can get it set up.
Cons: Where do I start?! First of all, the software to this thing is really difficult to set up. I had to call tech support and it still took us most of an hour to deal with it.

The documentation online will tell you it works with Firefox, Chrome, Internet Explorer, etc. Don't believe it. It works with ONLY Internet Explorer. (No, not even Microsoft Edge.)

Also, getting to an actual screen to deal with settings involves way too many clicks and is not intuitive at all.

Plus, accessing the website to see the feed from this recorder involves clicking on links that my web browsers tell me is insecure and I shouldn't go there...yeah, that's a great thing to tell someone who's insecure enough to be putting up security cameras.

I'm especially disappointed because the D-link camera I bought was a breeze to set up and use, no problems at all. This thing and its dysfunctional interface, however, seems like it should have gone through more testing before being sent out to the world.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/31/2015 10:47:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR16 16 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 16 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Easy to setup compared to older DVR systems.
Guides easy to follow, & helpful online videos.
Had remote viewing access in less then 10 minutes
Extremely small form factor for 16 channels
Cons: Power cable could have been longer but no cons here
Other Thoughts: Great buy for the price
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2015 11:06:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Amcrest > Amcrest NV1104E 1080p 4-Channel POE Network Video Recorder NVR (Black)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works with limited cameras and limited support
Pros: Low cost, easy to connect.
Cons: Not able to connect all ONVIF cameras. Support is limited and need to wait for long wait time. Password is hassle, my password is locked after 5 failed attempts and need to get master password from manufacturer. Foscam or amcrest is not responding.
Other Thoughts: Amcrest or Foscam need to have better support and remove or release the master password.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/21/2015 8:31:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.