Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Automation > Dakota Alert > Dakota Alert 3000 Wireless Vehicle Detection Kit, PIR Motion Sensor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great per original design*
Pros: Needed to replace a cheaper "electro-magnetic-sensor" alert that suddenly went crazy. This one has multi-sensor multi-tone capability and customizable frequencies. Might try adding something to the power relay. False alarms are gone!
Cons: Out of the box, the unit was severely disappointing. I attempted to install the sensor where the previous one had been but to no avail. Our long driveway up a hill was proving to be an obstacle for the radio range. At one point I had pretty much "line of sight" no more than 150 yards and the transmission would still not always be picked up by the base unit.
***See other thoughts.***
Other Thoughts: The unit is supposedly named "3000" for a 3000 ft. range however this was definitely NOT the case. For some reason the Hi/Lo function of the transmitter was disabled. The only jumper pins on the board (using a motherboard-like jumper) were for Low range operation. The Hi range pin was CLIPPED so the jumper could not be set for Hi at all. This was very much the reason for the insanity I experienced trying to make it reach the base. Fortunately I removed the jumper and was able to permanently solder the Hi setting on the BACKSIDE of the circuit board and the original range was restored. I was able to place the unit way down the driveway where intended for maximum notification time. I don't know the reason for cutting the pin and handicapping the range. The included manual was a bit hazy on the subject as well as the mfr. website. I discovered this problem after seeing a blog about extending the antenna and range. Internet said something about regulations, I don't care. Set the transmitter and receiver toggles to a non-default and you'll probably be OK. Taking one EGG back for the confusion and subsequent insanity trying to make it work.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 8:03:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Smart Plug with lots of remote features
Pros: - Setup initially was a bit tricky but turned out very straightforward once you update the firmware
- The app allows you to switch any device on and off using the app, it also monitors power usage daily graphically and registers plug temperature
- Once you have registered via mydlink you can access the Smart plug from any mobile device using the app
- Reasonably priced
- Great for turning on/off lights, Christmas trees and outside lighting, I actually plan to use mine to turn on/off my fish tank’s light daily at set times simulating daylight while I’m away next week
Cons: - The Smart Plug came with outdated firmware which needed to be updated in order for it to connect.
- App software is a bit on the slow side when loading or updating between screens
- You are constantly reminded to log into mydlink, a bit of a pain but turned out to be useful after registration.
Other Thoughts: Newegg box arrived within two days and was packaged well as always.
The D-Link DSP-W215 retail box on the front displays a picture of the unit and clearly lets the prospective buyer know you are getting Wi-Wi SMART PLUG..
On the back of the box it gives you an overview of the functionality of the Smart Plug, where it plugs in and also the app you can download to control the plug and also monitor power usage. The app can be downloaded for both Apple and Android devices.
On the right side of the box it shows it shows what you need to make use of the smart plug. Off course you need a power outlet as well as an existing wireless network, those two are the minimum. The unit connects on the 2.4 Ghs WiFi frequency. It also lists what you get inside the box.
On the letf side of the box you get a couple of visuals on the product, its use and also the app you can download to run on your mobile device.
The retail box contains the Smart Plug unit, a quick reference card (looks like a credit card) and the standard D-Link GPL Code. The install guide (card) has on the front three steps how to connect to the unit and how to configure it. The back of the card has the particular unit’s Wi-Fi SSID name, and a pin code you will need to connect to the device.
The Smart Plud itself is about 3.5” long, 2.5” wide and 1.25” deep. It has a LED light on the right side, a on/off button on the front middle that lights up when the unit is turned on. On the left side is a WPS push button for easy connection to your home Wi-Fi network

Set up was initially trick, I used my tablet (Android) and could not get it connected. I then tried my Android and after that it became pretty straight forward. This is what you need to do:
- Plug in the Smart Plug into any open power outlet, wait until the LED on the right side blinks orange, it starts of as a solid red so wait a minute or so.
- If you want you can then push the WPS button on your router and then push the WPS button on the side of the Smart Plug until it flashes green, once connected it will turn to a solid green
- You can also establish connection to your router using the app software. Download the “mydlink Wi-Fi Smart Plug” from the app store, install and run the software. If you have already connected the smart plug to your home Wi-Fi network your device should see it. Now my tablet did not and I had to push a firmware update using my mobile phone to the smart plug before I could connect.
- In any event the connection setup via app is pretty straight forward. Once connected it will allow you to do a bunch of things, give the plug a name, change on/off schedules as well as see the plugs temperature and how much power you have used, you get a nice daily chart to see the usage. You can change the on and off times using a 24hr slider, you can set that daily.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/7/2014 4:56:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product, terrible configuration
Pros: After the install is complete, the application to configure the smart plug works as intended. It has a few preset modes, of course all of which can be modified.

The thermal sensor is available to monitor from the software. One of the few options you can change in the settings is displaying the temperature in Celsius or Fahrenheit.

Holding the WPS button on the side for 10 seconds will factory reset the device, or a quick press and release will just do a reboot.

The ability to monitor the power usage by devices plugged into it is an incredible bonus. You can drill down the power usage report to just about any configuration to compare.
Cons: Extremely difficult for initial setup. It really makes me wonder why they did not take the time to develop a PC application as well. The convenience of having it on the phone is great, but the initial configuration is painful.

Software is kind of buggy and freezes up from time to time.

The card that comes with the device states you should download the ‘mydlink Wi-Fi Smart Plug’ app, and the instructions from the technical support page say to do this with the ‘mydlink home’. Either way, this is one of the most awful setup’s I’ve ever had to go through.

The device would not connect to my router with a password on it. After opening up the guest network, the device was then able to connect. However the application lost the smart plug from its configuration after the plug rebooted (part of the process).

Once connected, if the device is lost on the dlink smart plug application, you have to go through the painful process of trying to reconfigure from scratch. There is no setting to ‘explore’ the network to add a plug that is already connected to the WiFi network.
Other Thoughts: I cannot imagine a novice to networking/mobile devices will be able to get this setup.

The instructions are as simple as ‘1-2-3’ or so dlink would like you to believe by the card which they have supplies. Simply download the software, launch the app and connect to the plug. Needless to say after an hour of trying, I was unable to do this with my Samsung S4 Phone. I launched the Application on my Android tablet, and we had success… eventually.

I put a splitter on the plug and ran a few different items at the same time without issue.

I do not think this has any surge protection built into the device. Which prevents me from wanting to plug anything with value directly into the plug.
Manufacturer Response:We want to thank you for the review as we greatly value the input and we are sorry to hear you encountered issues with the product. Please be advised that after you connect the product to your router via WPS, you need you will need to connect your mobile device or tablet (that you are currently running the app from) to your wireless router. By doing this, the device will stay connected on the D-Link Smart Plug application. If this does not solve your problem, click on the link below and fill out the form accordingly so of our technical support reps will be able to contact you.

http://supportrequest.dlink.com?id=b5b39920142047f1b3f1b2ec56f4b4a5&token=13b85b5a46234ec7b2baee1760a3b2be

We thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:Agro,7/7/2014 1:17:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F7C027fc WeMo Switch, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy
Pros: The device works relatively well, it works as a switch which turns on and off a receptacle.
Cons: The UI is horrible, and makes this device unusable. not only does it require you to use a smart phone to access, the setup takes several hours to complete successfully. Then your device will suddenly be forgotten after a week or two, or when belkin updates the App. There is no configuration port on the device you have to interface with it through the wifi on your phone, but when the device is 'setup' that wifi is not accessible. So, when you phone loses the device you have to factory reset to get it to work again. It would have made much more sense if they gave the device a web interface to be configured like your router.
Other Thoughts: Belkin has been 'working hard' to fix these problems, but I've had ones of these outlets for 2 years and it never has worked as advertised.
Reviewed By:pengin9,7/7/2014 9:46:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F5Z0340fc WeMo Switch + Motion, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 wifi control
Pros: Easy setup.
small light to show power to plug.
standard plug size.
Cons: Devices are on the bulky side of things.
Your router password can not have special characters.
Other Thoughts: used only with app devices. mini and iphone.
might want to check out belkin site as they have better instructions for setup and others are helping make scripts for them.
Reviewed By:dave303,7/6/2014 6:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F5Z0340fc WeMo Switch + Motion, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 nice devices
Pros: Setup instructions were easy to follow, as long as you understood that you had to connect directly to the unit first (the WeMo network), then connect the unit to your wireless router. Good thing is once you connected to the WeMo network, the rest of the setup was automated. I connected the switch on my first try. The motion sensor, however, failed to connect to my router. It took a couple tries before it connected.

I installed the app on an Android running 4.4.3. The app is very simple to use. Detecting the switch took no time at all. Once again, I had a problem with the motion sensor, which took a few tries before it was detected. I even had to unplug it so it would reconnect to the wireless router. Once the devices were set up on the app, I received a message about a firmware update. It turned out there were two firmware updates. I installed the app on the iOS as well. I opened the app and both units were already there. No need to run the set up again. Even rules that I have created on the Android showed up.

The rules work very well. You can add as many rules as you want and name them what you want. You can set a timer to turn a light on and off, any day any time. You can even set it to turn on and off at sunrise and sunset, which would require the location feature of the device for that to work. You can set a rule to notify you when motion is detected, using a custom message, when to notify you and how often.
Cons: Design is a bit bulky. The motion sensor takes up so much space when plugged into a wall outlet that you can't plug in anything else.

I lose connection a lot on the Android. When I open the app, it doesn't always detect one of the units. I tried rebooting the Android. Updating from version 1.6 to 1.7 did not help either. On the iOS, however, no connection loss whatsoever. In fact, when I "activate" the undetected unit on the iOS, the Android suddenly detects the unit again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think the switch would be very useful for anything you want to remotely turn on and off. The motion sensor, however, I have yet to find a use for.
Reviewed By:CiCi,7/4/2014 7:46:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F5Z0340fc WeMo Switch + Motion, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works good.
Pros: Farly easy to setup. Pretty much plug and play.
It might be very confusing for people who does not understand how Wi-Fi works.
Once WeMo device is plugged in as factory reset condition, it will have it's own SSID and can be connected like AP.
Power consumption of the device is about 1W at most. (Used Kill A Watt to measure)

Once it is setup, it was very stable and never had problem.
Cons: I don't know if it was just me, but both infrared sensor and remote switch was not factory reset. I had to factory reset for them to be recognized by WeMo app.

There is no WeMo app for desktop (PC or MAC). There are some 3rd party solutions, but did not see anything really good at this point.
So, there is not much integration you can do.

Only smart phone access is officially available.
Reviewed By:lambition,6/29/2014 5:03:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F5Z0340fc WeMo Switch + Motion, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nifty, but you'll battle with the app
Pros: Man, this thing is super convenient. Need to turn on the lights but don’t want to leave your warm bed? This is the type of thing for it. Have a window A/C and want to turn it on before you go home? Yep, it has you covered. Curious to see who walks by your kitchen? Sure, why not!

I actually tried all the above as uses for the WeMo Switch, and boy was it fun. My apartment is kind of old, so my living room doesn’t have a overhead light and the apartment as a whole doesn’t have central air. Needless to say, I was excited to get to this set up when it arrived.

Setup was pretty easy, both saw my network no problem. Within a couple minutes they were connected and ready to be connected to the WeMo app. With a few refreshes and reinstalls, the app saw them as well. The first turning on was incredible! It was one of those “Wow, look what technology has for me today” moments.

Basic operation was… basic! Turn on, turn off -- nothing much else to do. I decided to program up some rules to schedule my bedroom A/C to operate around sleeping hours since I don’t want to run it the entire time while I sleep, but I would like to wake up comfortably. I added a shut-off time (12:30), an intermediate period of operation (2:30 - 3:00), and a turn on time (6:50). After I got them all programmed, I went to sleep! I happened to be awake slightly past 12:30 that night, so I knew that worked. When I woke up the next morning, my room was a nice, cool temperature and the A/C was confidently running. What a nice way to start the day!

Also, the IFTTT pairing is really cool. I tried a couple of recipes, but didn’t really find any I liked. Perhaps I’ll create one!

Overall, WeMo switch has made a permanent addition to my lifestyle, and I am considering purchasing another to outfit my other air conditioner.
Cons: While I can speak specifically about the awesomeness of the Switch, the motion sensor left a lot to be desired. It was not at all accurate. After pairing it with IFTTT, I had it follow a recipe that logged all motion to a Google Drive spreadsheet. To say it was overactive would be an understatement. Every 5 to 15 minutes, this thing would pick up activity even with no one or nothing moving in the room. In fact, it was facing a wall at one point and picking up activity. I’m not exactly sure if it’s a motion sensor or a noise detector, but in either case, motion or noise didn’t ever seem to be the trigger. It was entirely random, so I didn’t think it’d be wise to pair for an IFTTT recipe such as automatic lights-on.

I hate the app a lot. Since all interaction with the device seems to be done through the app, this is a big deal. I tested both the iPhone and Android app version, and there is a remarkable different. The iOS version is much snappier, all the app pages load quickly and respond quickly. However, the Android version is unresponsive, prone to disconnection from the devices, and looks like it should be running on an Android 2.2 phone instead of a modern version.

I have cache cleared, data cleared, and completely reinstalled the Android app multiple times to get it working. Initially upgrading the firmware was a nightmare, perhaps due to both the devices and the app. It took multiple tries across multiple days to get the Switch upgraded to the current version of the firmware. Now that they’re up to date, the problems haven’t stopped. Currently, the app only will see the devices when I’m connected to my 5 GHz network. When I attempt to access the devices when connected to my 2.4 GHz network or from a mobile network, it doesn’t see them. Even when I look at the devices on my 5 GHz network, they sometimes will freeze, though this seems to happen much less now that both firmwares are upgraded.

Usually the solution is to reset both devices’ network setups and reinstall the app completely. This sucks a lot, since I seem to lose any rules I have set up. It’s very frustrating that the only way to get to these devices is through a phone app, there’s not even a web interface that is accessible (well, kind of).

Also, when checking for solutions to this app problem, I couldn’t help but notice that this device had been previously reverse engineered for access without using the app. I’m less worried about this from a security perspective, as the issue seems to have been patched. However, it’s very clear that it’s possible to control this device without needing a smartphone app, and I don’t enjoy that this feature wasn’t implemented.
Other Thoughts: This may the be the longest I’ve ever spent on reviewing a product, as there were enough complications to get past and new changes throughout the whole time period. It’s a good device, it really is; it provides me a lot of convenience and I really enjoy the potential control it gives me. Actually controlling them is a completely different beast though. If you have an iPhone, great! Enjoy the experience. If you have an Android device, well, good luck! It would be nice to hear back from their Android development team to see why on earth the Android app is so awful.

I’d say buy this at your own risk of dealing with the problems. In the meantime, I’m going to attempt to reclaim my remote access of the devices, and unplug a noisy motion sensor to keep my Google Drive from filling up.
Reviewed By:Gradous,6/28/2014 5:53:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F5Z0340fc WeMo Switch + Motion, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great entry into home automation
Pros: App for both Android & iOS
Software Development Kit provided
Shows other control devices
IFTTT support means endless possibilities
Cons: No security, anyone who has the app can use them
Rather large
No iPad/tablet specific app
App is somewhat buggy
Plugging a lamp in initially required a lot of force
Sensor lights up (drawing attention)
Rules only live on the device that creates them
Other Thoughts: The WeMo remote switch is a great entry into home automation by Belkin. At over $70 it’s a tad pricey, but compared to similar home automation solutions from a few years ago it’s a steal. What really makes this a great device is the app. Belkin provides a free app for both Android & Apple iOS devices which allows you to configure and control the switch. This could be considered a con because if you don’t use either of those devices, this product is useless to you! A Windows app or simple web page to configure, which is standard on most wifi home appliance type devices might have been a nice feature.


The app itself is relatively simple, although initial configuration was a bit buggy. I configured the switch using Android (4.4.2) and the motion sensor using an iPad 3 (iOS 7). I had to actually kill the app in both during configuration in the step between setting up and then actually starting the app to control the device. Once it was all set up, it works great though.


The device itself is a bit large, although it doesn’t block the plug below it, which I can’t say for some similar products. Initially plugging in a simple lamp (with larger common side prong) required quite a bit of force. Other than that the hardware seems good. The LEDs are not terribly bright but I would still cover them up. The blue lights on the sensor are fairly bright and attention getting, which would seem to defeat the purpose if using as a security device. The motion sensor seemed to have a range of about five or six feet in a radius of about 180 degrees. Easily good enough for monitoring an entrance.


Setting up rules was pretty straightforward, although I was surprised to find that rules created only live on the device that created them. If I created a rule on my Android device, it did not propagate to my iPad. The rules still worked on the device, but it means I could only edit that particular rule from my Android. I’m not sure if this is a bug or intended behaviour. I really liked that Belkin lets you rename the devices. So I could call my lamp “Living Room Lamp” and always know what it is. The IFTTT integration worked great and I see that as a huge plus. It really extends the usefulness of the device.


A major ding (and my main reason for subtracting an egg) is the lack of security. If someone gets on your network and has the free app, they have full access to all of your WeMo devices. One might say “well just secure your network!” but I think I should be able to allow friends to get on my network without necessarily letting them access all my home automation.


Overall this is a great device from Belkin and easy way for anyone to get into home automation. It’s compatible with several other Belkin WeMo devices and of course the IFTTT service which makes plenty of room for expansion later. A solid four eggs!
Reviewed By:Chuck C.,6/25/2014 7:12:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > VideoSecu > VideoSecu 150 Feet Video Power Security Camera Cable for CCTV Surveillance DVR System Installation CBV150 C13

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good buy
Pros: Looks as good as the cables that came with my cameras.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,6/23/2014 1:32:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau