Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Electronics for Kids > GPCT > Star Master Projector Lamp Planetarium LED (Light Blue)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Starry night projector
Pros: Nice little toy for a child's bedroom, can see no other astronomical use, it lights up the ceiling with stars and moon. The varying colors of the projections make for a soothing bedtime display. Would recommend it for any age small child.
Cons: So far I have no cons for this device.
Reviewed By:jnradd,2/16/2014 1:48:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > GPCT > Star Master Projector Lamp Planetarium LED (Light Blue)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Disappointing
Pros: none
Cons: very cheap, out of focus on any height you have it in dark, no brightness control.very CHEAP !
Other Thoughts: Worth about $1.
Reviewed By:sightsandsounds,2/15/2014 10:55:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > None > Zipit Z2 Wireless Instant Messenger

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice little device
Pros: It is a small battery powered device that runs linux. Pretty awesome in my book. It has not aged well, due to the 32mb ram and 333 mhz cpu, but it is still nice.

It is tiny. you can easily fit it in your pocket and go.

I installed Debian with the ROX desktop on it, and it runs OK. Can play movies, if low enough bitrate via mplayer. Cmus (C*) is a great music player for it. It can also play GBC/GB/NES games. The built in wifi means you can use it as a small web browser, as well as update it quite easily. You can also use it as a nice pentest device. Just turn it on, drop it off, then pick it up later. Can do arp poisoning, but no monitor mode for wifi. Over all, it is a pretty cool deivce.

The only device I have seen that comes close to the portability of this that runs a full linux desktop is the OpenPandora which is over 500$, granted it is also much much better.

It is also good if you want to look like a hipster geek with a tiny laptop.
Cons: Small battery, and not fast. Buying an android phone would be more useful for most people, as you can do just about everything on that, it will run faster, last longer, can have video out, as well as having much more usable apps. The only reason this would be "better" is it has a full linux system, where as android just has the kernel.

It has a sideways screen. It uses a LMS283GF05 which is designed for portrait mode, and the Z2 has it in landscape. As this is an older screen, viewing from the side cause it to look "weird", usable, but weird. the color's are slightly off, and if you flip it to the side everything looks better.

No usb, or ext of of any kind with out moding, either the device, or making an adaptor. This makes using it as a full laptop kinda hard. The only IO in the device is the SD card you boot from, and wifi. So hard to get stuff on/off while it is running.

It is also old, which means you can no longer use it as a SMS machine, as the service is turned off. You can't do much of anything without installing linux. Once you install linux, you can do email2sms, but that isn't worth the trouble for most people.

Makes you look like a hipster geek with a tiny laptop.
Other Thoughts: If you want a small device that is portable to hack upon, want to try messing with linux without worrying about KOing it, want a little throw away laptop to give to a kid to mess with (great for this IMO, teaches the kid about computers way more then most, goes well with a RasPi), or want to look like a hipster geek with a tiny laptop (always amazed people when I popped it out and started using it) then this is the thing for you. Other wise, it might be best to get an android device.

If you think this device sounds cool, but don't need the portableness, I would rec the GK80​2. It is an android stick, that can also run linux, has a TF card in place of NAND, so you can brick it (though this does mean that it has a bit slower loading, depending on your TF), quadcore 1.2ghz arm, and 1gb of ram. So it is leagues ahead of the Zipit, just not portable.
Reviewed By:Theredbaron,1/31/2014 1:21:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > GPCT > Star Master Projector Lamp Planetarium LED (Light Blue)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: nothing
Cons: Cheaply made..not worth 3 dollars let alone 13
Reviewed By:N/A,1/13/2014 9:20:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > World Tech Toys > World Tech Toys Lights & Sounds Electric Train Set

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Electirc Train Set
Pros: it is a great set for $15 train set, it has great train sound and lights.
Cons: It made cheap but it is worth the price.
Other Thoughts: I will recommend this set for that price.
Reviewed By:hello-motto,12/3/2013 7:21:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > World Tech Toys > World Tech Toys Lights & Sounds Electric Train Set

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cute train.. if it was all there
Pros: for $13.. I bought two.. thinking I could combine them into a longer train using the spare track for a larger layout. to fit under my tree.
.
Wanted a smaller train for under the Christmas tree.
I have a large. one.... tried of it.. ..This looked like a winner for the price.. I have big HO layouts.. I wanted a simple, battery operated train
Cons: Cute train.. BUT it is NOT as advertised...It is missing the passenger car. The box shows the layout as in the Newegg webpage.. but, the actual train has an engine, boxcar and tank car and the track.....NO other cars . for a total of three. If that is an issue for you...then don't get it.. .
Other Thoughts: Did "NEWEGG" ever look at the actual product before selling it?. maybe not.... as it was only... $13 bucks.. .

Did not bother to call the Company.. Why?
.They know what they are selling

Will experiment to use the 2 trains to have at double train layout under the tree.. All is not lost..

Also will have to "weight" the cars... to light as they fall off the track.. same issue with HO cars.. work in progress
Reviewed By:N/A,11/20/2013 4:19:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > Woodland Scenics > Woodland Scenics Hot Wire Foam Cutter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible product
Pros: None
Cons: I bought this in March of 2013 and tried it in April. The wire broke immediately after barely cutting any foam. The wire doesn't seem to heat much and requires constant pressure on the trigger to generate even that. Do not buy it.
Reviewed By:Al,5/18/2013 2:36:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > Satechi > Satechi Swift Bluetooth Portable Speaker System for MP3 Players, iPhone, Android Phones, and iPad

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Cheap and pretty good! (with some qualifications)
Pros: Loud.
Easily pairs.
30 feet distance is doable.
Sounds pretty good, actually.
Cheap.
No detectable lag with videos.
Volume adjusts via the paired device.
Cons: Can only pair to one thing - turn off bluetooth and re-pair to another device each time, if you use more than one.
Rechargeable battery means you need a charger - can't just toss in a couple AAs. (and it uses mini-USB, which was great a year ago but now all my stuff is micro-USB)
Gets lonely and beeps incessantly if its paired device vanishes.
I've forgotten how to pair it, and good luck finding a PDF of the manual online.
Mono (obviously, I hope)
Other Thoughts: Overall - this is exactly what I wanted. Connect it to the iPad so I don't have to cup my hand around the back, and everyone in the room can hear what it's playing. Sounds pretty good, and light on the wallet. A+ would wish for it again.
Reviewed By:thereverend,2/4/2013 6:07:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > GPCT > Star Master Projector Lamp Planetarium LED (Light Blue)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a good item
Pros: None
Cons: Poor quality and worked for about 3 seconds. Would not recommend this item to anyone. Cheap feeling and quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2012 8:57:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Electronics for Kids > GPCT > Star Master Projector Lamp Planetarium LED (Light Blue)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Eh...
Pros: Price
Cons: Flimsy piece of junk, but for $7.99 I wasn't expecting much.

Warning sticker says "never touch sides" ... Item arrived with finger prints and scratches all over the sides.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/13/2012 10:11:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau