Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Soldering > General > Antistatic Vacuum Soldering Desoldering Solder Pump Sucker Gun Iron Removal Tool Set

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 you get what you pay for
Pros: None
Cons: dose not work started coming apart on first use
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 9:58:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > General > Blue Desoldering Pump Sucker Solder Iron Removal Vacuum Soldering Remover Tool

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Realy useful!
Pros: To use, press the plunger down, at which point it locks. Then melt the solder joint you would like to remove, using your soldering iron. Finally, press the button on the tool to suck up all the solder on the joint into the body of the tool. This works extremely well, and once you get the hang of it, you can clear solder joints very, very quickly.

I was worried that the seals on the tool would leak, but so far they have been working very well, even after long periods of use.

It has a surprising amount of suction, and is far more convenient than the tool I was using before, which blew the solder away, instead of sucking it up.

Also, when I saw the plastic tip on the device, I was worried that it would be destroyed by the heat of my soldering iron's tip. However, even after hours and hours of use,it has held up very well, with only a few minor deformations, that don't affect performance in the slightest.
Cons: I only have two real complaints. the device comes apart into three pieces, for cleaning. the junction connecting the top piece to the middle piece is a little loose, and though it does not affect suction, it can pop apart during use. However, so far, this has only happened to me once, even after owning it for 2 months.

Secondly, most of the solder that is sucked up solidifies inside the tip, slowly blocking it, and reducing suction and usefulness. Fortunately, the tip is removable, and by pushing a rod of some sort through the tip (I use a hex wrench whose diameter just happens to be the same as the tip) , you can easily force the plug of solder that develops out. You will have to do this around every 30 minutes of continuous use.
Other Thoughts: I really think this product could gain a lot from the inclusion of a tool designed explicitly for cleaning the tip, and forcing out the solder plug, as well as some instructions. but this is realy just nitpicking.
Reviewed By:plasmafire,6/15/2014 8:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > Five Star Inc > 2.5ft 2.0MM Desoldering Copper Braid Solder Remover Spool Flux Wick Wire Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good deal - quick shipping
Pros: Coming from over seas, I expected it to take 10-15 days. It came in under 7 days! It is exactly what I ordered and expected.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:bam,5/30/2014 12:26:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > American Hakko > Hakko FX888D-23BY digital soldering station. Comes with medium pencil, tip & iron holder. Replaces 936-12.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect first Soldering iron.
Pros: Heats up quick!
Keeps its temperature when soldering LED's.
Cons: Im new, I wish it came with more tips for me to mess up.
Other Thoughts: I have been using a $15 soldering pen for years. I have never been satisfied. Whenever I go online to check out tutorials, my favorite teachers all use this one. I feel that I made the correct choice with this soldering station.
Reviewed By:Psyprian,5/25/2014 11:28:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > American Hakko > American Hakko de-soldering kit 808 808-5 808-KIT/P 808-19. This is Hakko's most popular and inexpensive de-soldering tool.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than any other brand
Pros: Carefully designed, well made product-Worked much better than cheapy one. Works as expected. comes with some replacement parts/spares
Cons: none
Reviewed By:bk,5/23/2014 6:09:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > Qin Bo Electronics > 60W Soldering Iron Solder 8 in 1 Tool Kits +Square Iron Stand+rosin+Tweezers

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage, came dented, did not work
Pros: Came with tweezers... I could use those to yank my nose hair out since the product is cheap China made garbage. Could have use my money on something else more productive.
Cons: Received it dented, power plug did not stay in any outlet in my house without someone holding it in while I tried to desolder with it. Did not remove any components when desoldering. Also not sure if it really was a 60w iron that I received as the package did not have the 60w box checked or marked.... I tried to burn a small piece of cardboard with it. It didn't even try to burn through. Couldn't believe it. Probably not even worth returning because it came directly from China which took forever to come.
Other Thoughts: Total fail.
Reviewed By:Pat,4/19/2014 1:12:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > Qin Bo Electronics > 60W Soldering Iron Solder 8 in 1 Tool Kits +Square Iron Stand+rosin+Tweezers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Low-average
Pros: It works!
The stand is actually pretty nice.
Nice tip on the soldering iron.
Cons: -the solder it comes with is junk, don't bother with it..
-Not sure what was in the little cardboard box, I think it was supposed to be flux? It was rock solid and looked like beer..
-The iron takes a very long time to heat up, even for a 60w iron.
-For 20 dollars you can get something way better... the price on this was too good to be true.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/12/2014 9:46:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > Apex Tool Group, LLC > Replacement Housing for D550 Professional Soldering Gun

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Replacement Housing for D550 Professional Soldering Gun
Pros: NONE
Cons: Sold and Shipped by:
Stanios Industrial Supply they are the worse supplier than anybody I have ever seen. Newegg would do themselves justice to get rid of them!!! Had to call Newegg to get
Stanios Industrial Supply to finally ship the item. Took 3 weeks to get it! Probably would not been here yet! Do not use Stanios Industrial Supply for anything!!
Reviewed By:N/A,2/13/2014 2:03:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > American Hakko > Hakko FX888D-23BY digital soldering station. Comes with medium pencil, tip & iron holder. Replaces 936-12.

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hakko FX888D-23BY
Pros: ready to use with in a minute or a little more. feels durable and convenient.
Cons: none yet
Other Thoughts: My first own iron, I Feel its a good investment.
Reviewed By:Mykee,1/31/2014 3:28:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Soldering > Trend Times Toys > Hot Air & Iron SMD Rework Solder Desolder Station Lead Free

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Worked first time out of the box. It is working for what I got it for. The display are large and easy to use.
Cons: Instructions are written by a person that English is not their first language.
The display is only in Celsius but that is not too bad
Reviewed By:Gary,12/29/2013 5:06:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau