Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Camp Furniture > Grand Trunk > The Grand Trunk Single Parachute Nylon Hammock, Navy/Light Blue

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Hammock a little pricey
Pros: The hammock itself is well built, lightweight but carries a 400lbs ratings for parachute material which is good, stitching appears high quality, The heavy duty shoelace material used to tie around a tree seems strong, lots of extra material to wrap yourself up inside the hammock. Packs neatly inside the pocket provided that is stitched to the edge about at the halfway point.
Cons: The hooks that are provided are garbage I took them off and threw them away immediately (note they are standard for parachute hammocks, I just don't like them), will probably work for you, but I personally hate that type of cheap hook/carabiner. It is the type that snags on everything when it you open up the gate. I switched them both out for heavy duty aluminum climbing carabiners with smooth opening gates with no sharp edges. (The ones that are provided have sharp edges posing a threat to the integrity of the parachute material and the cheesy rope that is provided.
The rope used to tie the parachute hammock together is kind of cheap, probably strong enough to warrant the rating, but will not hold up over time due to the soft and somewhat sloppy sheath of the rope itself. I will be changing out that particular rope for stronger legit kermantle climbing rope or doubled up paracord. The reason for this is durability over time, the outer material for both the ropes I listed are abrasion resistant, and will stand up over time.
The price for this hammock was $50 if I remember correctly, if it wasn't for the 400 lbs rating and having a money I had to spend at newegg.com I don't think I would have spent that much for a parachute hammock, they typically run between $10-$20 range with the same cheap rope and hardware. I purchased two other parachute hammocks for my wife and daughter each of those carried a 300lbs rating, and were $15-$19 depending on the color (on a different website named after a jungle/rainforest in South America)
Other Thoughts: Overall, I am glad I purchased this hammock, I already had the parts to replace the cheap plated hooks and the soft rope that snags on everything so I wasn't waiting for anything before I could use it. Paracord is really cheap, and the beefy aluminum carabiner hook upgrade is well worth it, both in practical usage and to lighten the load. That said, if you don't need the 400 lbs rating, there are much cheaper options. But if you are a big boy, or want company in your hammock this 400 lbs rated hammock is the way to go. The total size all folded up is a little smaller than half a loaf of bread, making it easy to pack away and very lightweight once you swap out the steel carabiner for rated aluminum carabiners. (Please note, not all carabiners are rated, if it says Not for use for Climbing, don't use it for anything loadbearing ie. the hammock)
Reviewed By:Hoofhearted,6/6/2014 12:21:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > Aosom > Outsunny Deluxe Folding Military-Style Camping Cot (Dark Green)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sturdy enough, easy to hide
Pros: Arrived quick after Thanksgiving. Light but sturdy build. Not indestructible though as you can bend it when folding away for storage so be mindful of this. That aside it assembles quickly and easily. Once carefully planted I feel secure sleeping on it. I had to as our bed was being replaced and enjoyed it for about a week with no problems.
Cons: None. Not indestructible but strong enough for most needs.
Other Thoughts: I weigh about 180lbs and I'm 5'9". It's comfortable for what it is.
Reviewed By:jnewegger23,12/23/2013 10:32:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > Aosom > Outsunny Deluxe Folding Camping Cot w/ Carrying Bag (Green)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor quality
Pros: Easy to fold (why I bought it)
Cons: Broke upon first use, one of the pegs stripped.
Uncomfortable (and I can sleep on just about anything)
Too narrow
Other Thoughts: I weigh 150 pounds, I should not have caused a peg to pop... I was able to use tie wraps as a temp fix, but could not sleep on it anyway. I camp a lot, normally sleep on the hard ground and don't mind it, but had slept on a cot before and it was better, not this thing, it will make your back sore, and you are unable to move or roll over as it is too narrow.
Reviewed By:Jon,12/22/2013 6:41:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > GUIDE GEAR > GG PORTABLE FOLDING HAMMOCK

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 replacing for next year
Pros: Have used this constantly this summer, so comfortable. Can carry it anywhere.
Cons: Lots of the seams on the hammock and the carrying bag are giving out. Its still useable, but Ill be buying something else for next years use.
Other Thoughts: I have a friend who has one that looks exactly like mine, but has a different brand on the bag. His is several years old, and still going strong. So maybe I got unlucky.
Reviewed By:Wyrd,11/3/2013 12:51:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > TOMOTOP > Flints Metal Match Fire Starter Gas Oil Permanent Outdoor Camping Lighter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap price, cheap product
Pros: It does create spark
Cons: The metal striker top broke on the 4th strike and had to glue it back on, after I put lighter fluid into the container, it ruined the plastic threading and the striker wouldn't screw tight anymore. Also the striker lit once and burned the wick fibers up, so only able to use it to make sparks after the first use.
Other Thoughts: Don't expect it to last very long.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2013 5:40:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > GUIDE GEAR > GG PORTABLE FOLDING HAMMOCK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad Purchase
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Ripped on the seam in the middle, was giving as a gift big let down. I will re-review after I know how they are going to resolve the problem.
Reviewed By:Norsk,6/5/2013 8:10:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > Water Sports LLC > STREAM MACHINE 750 24"

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 amazing
Pros: Shoots strong blast of water about 40 feet (with practice it probably can shoot further than this)

Simple - not much to go wrong

Quick reloading
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This might be the first time someone has bought a water gun for the reason I bought mine - for a traditional Native American ceremonial roundhouse.

No, it's not for water fights or for any ceremonial purpose. It's for fire prevention. From years of keeping large, hot fires going inside the roundhouse, the ceiling's support beams are at risk of catching fire. It almost happened last summer. We don't have any running water at the roundhouse and a conventional fire extinguisher couldn't reach the problem area without the person operating it stepping into a very large, extremely hot fire.

Originally I was going to buy a traditional Super Soaker type water gun, but they all share a common problem: they need to be reloaded when they run out of water. This could be catastrophic in a fire. Then I discovered the Stream Machine. It's the perfect solution.

I've owned it for about a year and have only used it a few times, for testing, so I can't attest to its durability, but its operation is impressive I don't expect it to reach the 70 feet the manufacturer claims, but mine sends a very powerful stream of water about forty feet effortlessly. That's more than enough for me.

The big advantage of the Stream Machine for me is that if one of those high beams does catch fire, as long as I have a container of water handy, I can keep reloading the Stream Machine, with each reload taking just seconds.

Judging from other reviews, the main risk to the Stream Machine's durability is when sand gets mixed in with the water. This shouldn't be a problem for my situation. It will be kept handy for emergency use in the roundhouse, but will never go anywhere near a beach or river (unless I decide to take it out and have some fun with it someday!).
Reviewed By:DigitalDragon,4/24/2013 1:00:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > Texsport > Texsport Padre Island Hammock 90 In. X 48 In.

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 comfortable hammock
Pros: somewhat high knowledge of hammocks I guess
formerly of the Hammock District on Third
nice stretch, with a solid oak spreader bar, and a large metal hanging ring
fast delivery 1 day early
Cons: it's not Mary Ann's Hammocks. The nice thing about that place is Mary Ann gets in the hammock with you.
Reviewed By:crdshrk,3/23/2013 5:32:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > Motorola > MR355R NiMH 2 PK

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Range, Mild Reliability
Pros: These radios have an incredible range, and when used properly transmit with fantastic clarity.
The emergency call function, as well as the animal signal calls are both useful and enteratining
The radios are easy to use and ergonomic, as well as just looking pretty good
Cons: Unfortunatley these radios are not quite as water resistant as one would think, however the largest concern that i have had with them is that in extremely cold conditions, below ten degrees, the radios quickly lose function. You can still hear other people over your radio, but your mic and call buttons are rendered useless. So you cannot transmit signals or noise of any kind until the radio warms up suitably.
Other Thoughts: If you are not planning on using as ski walkies, then these will be perfect! Otherwise, find some that are rated for more water resistance and cold weather insulation.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/7/2013 12:23:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Camp Furniture > GUIDE GEAR > GG ZERO GRAVITY LOUNGER

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: very comfortable, easily folds away, super fast shipping. large enough for an adult and a small child to sit together.
Also has an integrated pillow which is nice. quality built too even though it is made in china, but what isnt now days.
Cons: made in china, a little heavy
Reviewed By:N/A,3/7/2013 9:16:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau