Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FAD704DWD 70-Pint Dehumidifier, White

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible Experience
Pros: None worth mentioning.
Cons: NEVER BUY A FRIGIDAIRE / ELECTROLUX PRODUCT – THEY DO NOT HONOR THEIR WARRANTY!!!
I bought the Frigidaire FAD704DWD dehumidifier from A in September largely based on the numerous positive reviews online. So I’m rather surprised and extremely disappointed to now be writing this 1 star review, which would frankly be zero stars if that was possible. The unit arrived in a damaged box that looked like it had already been opened and then stapled back together. The unit itself wasn’t visually damaged, so I set it up in our finished basement (with a hose to the drain) and let it do its thing. A few weeks to a month later, while it was running I could hear a very high pitched whine. It ultimately got to the point where it was audible and bothersome from all the way across the house. I stupidly didn’t jump right on it and return it to A before their 30 day window was up, so had to go the route of contacting Frigidaire. This was a many hours long nightmare on the phone just to get through to a human. When I finally did, the lady was helpful. I explained the problem, and she said that I would get a call back in the next day or two with instructions to take it to Lowe’s or somewhere like that to get it changed out. That was fine with me. So when I got the call back from Frigidaire/Electrolux I was dumbfounded by what I heard. This lady, who wasn’t polite at all, said that my request was denied as dehumidifiers are designed for hot and humid climates and are seasonal devices so they aren’t processing any claims during the “cold and dry winter months”. (I live in Indiana, and it definitely hasn’t been dry… or very cold in the time since I bought the unit, and it has never been operated outside of the guidelines set forth in the use & care manual.) I am truly stupefied by this response from Frigidaire/Electrolux. To me it smells of trying to keep warranty claims off the books until the New Year or something like that. This is a brand new dehumidifier that is clearly faulty and they won’t replace or repair it. Well, actually, she said that if I call back in the spring when it isn’t a “winter month” then they would re-consider the case, and I should just go by another one in the mean time. Really???!!!! This sort of customer service from a company as long-standing as Electrolux is beyond inexcusable. My family will never buy another Frigidaire-Electrolux product, ever! And in the mean time I’m still out $223 for something that doesn’t work. Don’t make the same mistake I made; go with another brand.
Reviewed By:MTMLG,12/5/2014 1:28:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product arrived unusable
Pros: None yet, see cons
Cons: As with other reviews, the box arrived with a large dent and rip in it. The difference with my product was that the unit itself sustained some serious damage. The power cord was ripped with bare copper wire exposed. The unit is made of a heavy plastic material, and there was a corner that had the plastic ripped (It appears that this box was seriously abused during the shipping process) . There was also a scratch on it.

Needless to say, I did not plug this unit it to try it.
Other Thoughts: Repairing the wire may not be a hard task, but looking at the damage to the outside of the unit and judging by the force it took to take gouges out of the hard plastic, I imagine the insides of the unit are damaged.

I requested a replacement. Newegg's return process is a breeze so far.
Reviewed By:Owen,9/23/2014 4:19:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No good luck for me
Pros: This unit works great, when it works.
Cons: The unit we have stop working less than 2 month.
We have to pay $33 shipping for a replacement unit.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 2:09:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Could use some improvements
Pros: It does remove a lot of moisture. Compressor is pretty quiet.
Cons: Fan, though advertised as quiet, is no more quiet than others I have used. The bucket fills almost to the rim and is very difficult to remove without spills. The humidity setting is almost meaningless- the unit tends to run almost continuously regardless of the setting. The compressor may eventually shut down at some level far below the setting (maybe from overheating) but the fan, instead of running for a few more minutes will run for hours, or possibly never stop until the bucket is full..
Other Thoughts: This is my third small dehumidifier, other two were also made by Soleus (China) but marketed by other brands. Neither of the other two had an especially impressive lifetime- beig about 4-5 years under moderate use. This unit is excellent at removing moisture but much inferior to the others in usability and other functions. The documentation is very poor. The timer might work, but it is essentially impossible to figure out how to set it. If the unit would actually honor the humidity percentage settings it would be at least 4-star.
Reviewed By:Jackhappens,9/9/2014 6:54:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Soleus International > Soleus Air TDA70E 70 Pint Dehumidifier, 24 Hour Timer and Hose Connector for Continuous Drain, New

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not impressed
Pros: Nice controls. Looks good.
Cons: It never got the humidity below 63% running on the 55% living room mode. Blowing HOT air out. Not warm, very hot, so much so the room became uncomfortable.

Not quiet at all. As loud as my previous unit.
Other Thoughts: I unplugged it and put the old one back. Not sure what I'm going to do with it, "hope" it's not working as intended. Will contact someone for advice.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/8/2014 4:48:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 D70BP - Powerful, effective dehumidifier with many features
Pros: Very well built, attractive looks, easy to use, does its job really well.
Quickly reduced relative humidity (RH) in my 15'x10'x10' living room from 55% - 60% to low 40s, and below 40% within an hour (Note: RH above 55% starts to become a risk factor for mold).
It's rated at 70 pints per day for moisture removal, with the capacity also rated as 70 pints, but I had to empty it more than once per day when running it continuously.

Features are quite extensive, and include the following:

- LEDs on top of unit indicate room temperature and current RH, the latter briefly showing the desired RH when you set it via up/down buttons.

- Timer can be set from 1-24 hours for automatic shutdown - default is to run continuously until target RH is reached or until the large internal water receptacle is full.

- Water receptacle is easy to remove without spillage and has a built-in carrying handle. When full, it beeps to alert you, and shuts the unit off.

- There are also two external drainage methods: one via an internal pump using a 15' hose, the other via gravity feed using a short, wide hose to a lower drain point. If you have a nearby drain, either will save you the inconvenience of manually emptying the receptacle.

- Pre-installed casters are very handy as this model weighs fifty pounds due to its hefty internal components.

- Two fan speeds, low and high (noise at both speeds is also a Con though).

- When the target RH is reached or shortly after, the unit shuts itself off. It will turn on again after RH is 5 or so points above target. In my opinion the delay is about right so that on/off is not cycling too frequently.

- Easy to remove and clean air filter
Cons: Fan noise - Both fan settings are loud, much louder than my HEPA air filter at its highest setting. In addition, the low setting on my unit causes some kind of whine. I believe it is caused by the air flow through the vents on top since if I disrupt it (without blocking the vents) with my hand it disappears. Because of this, the high setting, though louder, is less annoying.

Due to the way dehumidifiers work, it naturally produces heat - enough to raise my room temperature five degrees or more, to around 80F at time of writing. This may not be a problem for everyone, of course.

Plastic protective cover on control panel is starting to bubble up very slightly around the buttons after two weeks use. Apart from that, the unit is attractive and sturdy.

Drainage pump has a 15' limit on height/distance between unit and drain location.
Other Thoughts: Due to its noise, the D70BP is best suited for use in an unoccupied room, eg. if you have a damp cellar, or want to dehumidify a bedroom during the day. Or any room when you are out for work, etc.. As another reviewer mentioned, it would be nice to have an extra low fan setting that could lessen the noise to an acceptable level.
It's incredibly effective though, and I was surprised how much moisture it sucked out of my living room in just a few hours.

I tested all three drain methods. The internal bucket filled up in 6-8 hours in my somewhat drafty apartment, in a fairly humid area. The gravity drainage was least convenient, as the unit has to be higher than the drain with the somewhat short hose running horizontally or downward, with no upward incline. I tested the drain pump method by draping the 15' hose over a shower curtain rail in my bathroom and it worked as expected. The drain pump noise was quite acceptable and low, especially compared to the fans.
If you don't have a convenient drain, you could use a large external bucket, but there's a risk of overflow. I would stick with the internal receptacle in this case.

I measured power usage with my Kill-A-Watt meter, and it averaged around 650-685 watts on either fan setting (the drain pump added maybe 5-10 watts, if my meter is to be trusted). So it's costly to run 24/7 - not unexpected due to its powerful motor.

In terms of build quality, looks, and functionality, the D70BP is a great product and easily worth 5 eggs. I'm deducting an egg only because it's too loud to use while I'm in the same room.
Reviewed By:Peter L.,9/5/2014 5:31:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Haier America Trading > Haier HM70EP 70 Pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Drain Pump

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Haier Dehumidifier
Pros: Easy to setup and operate. Removes humidity in my basement completely. Bought it for $179.00. No shipping cost. Quick delivery.
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:xmayoman,8/31/2014 7:41:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's a Beast!
Pros: This unit was rather well packed, and seems to have taken a beating without any damage! This is rather impressive on its own. It's heavy, and the box got pretty banged up but the unit is in perfect condition! Pushing and tugging on some parts, including the wheels, does give me some confidence to this build quality. The floating mechanism seems to be simple yet reliable – I was just surprised to see the floater actually being Styrofoam but there's nothing wrong with that. On the back you can easily find the specifications of the unit, and even right behind the water bucket you can find its electronic schematics. 7.5A max @ 115V only in case you were wondering – it'll run up your energy bill more than the computer you're using to read this review, but it's better than a full A/C unit! Use of this dehumidifier is very easy in every way. The indicators are easy, it has a beeping alarm for full bucket, the hoses are rather obvious to hook up for continuous operation, and it updates rapidly. The air filter is easy to remove clean as well. It included two different hoses and gasket, depending on if you're using the pump or not for continuous draining. The pump advertises 15' of height, which is more than enough to get through a window or even a hole at the corner of the roof. Continuous drip without the pump won't clear the height of a bathtub, but should work well to drain onto a patio, out the front door, or shower stall. And this thing works pretty dang quick too. It definitely out-performs the dehumidifier it's replacing!
Cons: Well, as you figured, it's heavy. It's pretty cumbersome to move around. It does have small wheels which work great on wood and tile, but terrible on carpet. I find its low setting to be rather loud, and the frequency at which it turns on and turns off can be distracting. There's no way we can listen to TV at a comfortable volume with this guy running in the same room. It comes with hoses, but there's no where to really store them, and I'm sure they'll get lost as time goes by – there's not even a good way to wrap up the power cord when I'm done with it. I would also prefer the plug to have a 90° turn so it would fit behind furniture snug against the wall. The performance of this thing, even on low setting, comes at a cost: the air it blows out definitely warms up the room as quickly as it takes out the humidity (it also has a definite “warm” smell on first use too). I would have loved for this thing to have an ultra-low operating setting to reduce noise and the amount of times it turns on/off.
Other Thoughts: The flat top makes me want to put things on it, which is a big no-no. Its square shape also makes me want to tuck it snugly between a wall and bookshelf, but also a no-no. It seems to increase the temperature of a room by 1°F for every 2% of humidity it removes. This would be great in the winter when the A/C doesn't kick on due to not being hot enough, but it's rather unpleasant to use in the summer.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2014 5:31:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Excalibur > Excalibur 3900B 9 Tray Deluxe Dehydrator Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's FABULOUS!!!
Pros: HUGE CAPACITY! love the poly trays, makes packaging so much easier (just roll and the veggies pip of and you can pour straight into your container)
Cons: A little noisy. It's just because of the fan, but if you can stand a furnace, refrigerator, or deep freezer, you'll adjust.
Other Thoughts: I haven't gotten the fruit roll up sheets, and I don't plan to. I figure I can do most of my intended work with parchment paper. I got this because this year's garden harvest just exceeds my older models capacity. I plan to use both in tandem to get things done quickly. The other beautiful aspects - curing meats + adjustable shelving (can remove a tray if the one below needs more space).
Reviewed By:abssinth,8/28/2014 11:47:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Dehumidifiers > Friedrich > Friedrich D70BP 70 Pint Dehumidifier, Built-in Drain Pump

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Friedrich's For the Win
Pros: Build quality is better than average.
Set from 30% up on humidity control, Shows temperature plus what the humidity is after you set it.
All digital controls and easy read outs.
washable filter on air intake.
Bucket holds a little over 2 gallons.
includes a 15 foot clear hose for easy draining with built in pump.
Packaged well with easy to read and understand instructions.
Already installed rollers for easy moving.
Cons: Would like a little stronger pump.
Other Thoughts: I live within two miles of the Mississippi river so is very humid in the summer here. I have an older Kenmore with dials in the basement which works decent for its age. I started with this upstairs using the bucket. In two days on low with humidity set to 50% I had to empty the bucket 5 times. My air conditioner is always set to 73 as the wife has to stay cool. In the first 4 hours of operation she adjusted the AC up to 76 and she said it felt colder than it did now with the Friedrich's running at 76 than without it on 73. After two days I was planning on putting it down the basement but she talked me out of it. I emptied the Kenmore 3 times on low with humidity dial set in middle. With it sleek look and the quietness of the unit I don't think she will ever let me put it down the basement now. I have now set the hose up for draining so no more buckets. I plumbed it in to the dishwasher drain and I turned the humidity up to 55% to see if it made a huge difference in the way the AC unit cools. We now keep the AC on 75 so I am saving money there. I figure I will break even on the electric cost and my upstairs is much drier now. When I plumbed in the drain I had to go up about 2 inches after 5 foot then back down to the drain. I was worried it wouldn't be able to go up that slight rise but it did. My idea spot would of took it up about 8 inches but it wouldn't push the water up that incline. If I tried that with my Kenmore even by an inch the water wouldn't drain. I am impressed by this humidifier. When you pick it up it is heavy and that tells you a lot about the build quality. This brand name wasn't known to me but now I see how it is built and works I would feel comfortable buying anything with Friedrich on it period. It is actually quieter than my name brand Kenmore. All I have to say is if this company doesn't take over the market in a short time I would be very surprised.
I didn't have any reason to call support so I cant tell you if it is good or bad but the quality speaks for itself.
Reviewed By:Phillip W.,8/21/2014 5:55:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.