Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Eh... No
Pros: - Worked out of the box
- Light is bright enough, but not great
- Long cord for Solar Panel
Cons: - On/Off Switch must be toggled if you want to charge it, making mounting this light in a secure location, out of reach, impossible unless you like using a ladder to charge it ever 2-3 days
- Was unaware that this was a hands on light, I do not like having to plug it in to charge it
- The light automatically disables when plugged in, so you can't just leave it plugged it
- The steps are silly: Toggle Switch to Off, plug in Solar Panel for 2 days, unplug solar panel, Toggle Switch to On, enjoy light for a few days then repeat, I was hoping for less hands-on. This was not described accurately in the description, in fact, I think it's described as "Maintenance-free" - HAH! Sorry, but I consider constantly having to plug it in and unplug it as maintenance, but that's just me I guess since no reviewer is pointing this out.
Other Thoughts: - It's great if you mount it in arms reach, which makes it acting as a security light silly if the intruder can just flip it off, but if that's all you need then this would be perfect
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit. We apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused.

Usually the On/Off Switch shouldn’t need to be toggled every 2-3 days. It should be left at ON position.
Please kindly check whether the solar panel installed around the sunny area. In addition, please try another set of rechargeable batteries if possible.
If changing the batteries doesn’t help, the product should be defective.

Please kindly contact the Rosewill support team either via phone at 800-575-9885 or via email at rma@rosewill.com so we may assist you with a warranty replacement if defective.
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Brian H.,3/21/2016 7:04:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not reliable, poorly made
Pros: easy to install
long cord provided to mount the solar panel
sensitive motion sensor (could be good or bad) but works well for our short use.
Cons: Feels cheap - ours broke after the first 6 months. The plastic near the mount bracket is too thin and will break over short period of time outside.

poor lighting
poor battery life
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product but if you need something simple to install, low lighting and temporary (will not last long) then buy it. Otherwise invest a bit more for a permanent solution.
Reviewed By:Tung C.,3/4/2016 5:02:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better Than Expected So Far - Update
Pros: Lights worked right out of the box (literally) as it was turned on inside the box. Nice compact design with flexible mounting options and needed hardware. The lights are bright and the wire to the solar panel is quite long. Uses 3 1300maH AA batteries, instead of lower amp cheapos. Easy to install. The light heads and motion sensor have plenty of adjustment. Three months after installation, the lights are still working well, even in the cold of winter.
Cons: It would have been nice to have some cable mounts to attach the wire along the side of the building. Had to drill screw holes through the mounting plate before installation. After heavy rain, one light head took on water. My concern was that the water would freeze and break the light head or damage the LED element. Rosewill replaced the unit (see below).
Other Thoughts: The lights are bright but not blinding. I had been looking for such a light for several years at the right price - this was it. I hope this one works for many years as other reviewers had stated. As a side note, it even comes with clamping hardware so both the light and solar panel can be mounted on top of a fence post. Overall, I was impressed with the quality, length of the wire, and the included hardware.
~
I contacted Rosewill directly about the leaking light head and they arranged a replacement through Newegg, at no cost to me (since the light was obviously defective and only in use for a couple of months). Rosewill has been good to me with standing behind their products (they resolved another defective item problem for me as well). Contact Rosewill directly about defective Rosewill products and, if it is a reasonable complaint, they are likely to provide an acceptable resolution for you.
Reviewed By:William D.,2/9/2016 10:00:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4 years+ of ownership and still going!
Pros: 1xLED bulb per head (about as strong as 200-300 lumen flashlight each head, might not be bright enough for some people)

solar panel recharges included rechargeable batteries during sunlight/daytime hours

portable (can be mounted and used easily in many places because of design)

longevity/reliability at least in my case (These things are completely exposed to the constant rainy weather of the pacific northwest, lights and solar panel)
Cons: only con I have is the charge not lasting multiple days of not being able to charge. No knock on the eggs though because for the price point I am completely satisfied.

(now that i have thought about it, you might be able to find higher mAH batteries to replace the originals with, though I have not done this but may try now!)
Other Thoughts: I bought 3 of these all at once. Since I have bought them, I have only mounted two of them over my two separate garage doors. They have been mounted and used for over 4 years and are still going strong. I bought them at a great price at the time, which is why I had bought 3. All of the features still work such as the motion sensors and photo sensors, as they still only come on at night. Even the rechargeable batteries that have come with it have lasted, as I have never had to touch them again. You do have to realize that they are fully solar, so if you have continuous days of cloud cover, they will not be able to charge. With that being said, I live in western Washington where it can rain daily for hours on end and/or with gray clouds covering us most of the year, or at least it feels that way. The only problems I've had with it not charging is during the winter with the shorter daylight and too much continuous cloud cover. I still like these and rate them highly for the low price I had got them for (on sale). The only reason I am even writing this review is because I was looking through my old orders and saw these. I have been so impressed with them that I just had to write this review for it.

I used a drill to install this, using pilot holes for the plastic anchors.
Reviewed By:Don N.,1/2/2016 9:22:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked properly for a month, then worked only 5% of the time after that.
Pros: Lights are quite bright. The movement of each light independently is a nice feature. Not having to wire the light into the existing electrical wiring makes installation a breeze and having a solar charger ensure the on-board batteries are always charged.
Cons: Mounted this light inside my carport to light up when I arrive home at night so I can easily get to my home door and unlock it. This light stopped working properly after a month or so. It now only works once every 15-20 times that I come home. I'm assuming the motion sensor has gone bad. I can flip the switch off then back on when the lights aren't illuminating which will cause the lights to come on.
Reviewed By:Charles R.,12/30/2015 11:37:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Work ok!
Pros: bright enough on my sidewalk.
Cons: only last for 30+ seconds, not enough to look around.
Other Thoughts: Wish this one has 2 sensors for 2 different directions. I bought 2, but it's not easy to install the 2nd one on the same place. Hope this will last to the next winter.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2015 9:19:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 years and going strong
Pros: inexpensive to begin with, these have lasted far longer than I'd ever have thought possible. It's now over 3 years since Iv'e installed several of these around my property, and they all still work! The rechargeable batteries are even still holding on! In the extremely sunny environment of Las Vegas, I'd have expected the plastic to have become brittle and broken by now
Cons: Build quality isn't that great, but if you can get them put assembled they stay that way! Some of the ones at the front of the house are impossible to aim far enough away from the street and passing cars tend to activate the motion sensor. it's a 50' setback from the curb
Other Thoughts: These have just worked and worked and worked. Pleasantly Surprised
Reviewed By:N/A,11/10/2015 11:42:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-112 - Single Head PIR Motion Sensor Solar Light

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice long lasting light
Pros: I bought this Dec. 2011 and it still works great without any problems.We dont have snow here in Phoenix but it can get in the teens in the winter and over 115 in the summer.It is mounted in my carport and the only maintenance I ever do is wipe the solar panel and the lens with a microfiber cloth.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have no hesitation giving this 5 eggs.
Reviewed By:Gene,4/19/2015 7:24:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > IRC > Ultra Bright 26 Bulb LED Flashlight Worklight

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bright little light
Pros: Super bright, pretty good quality. Definitely better than your average discount store junk from China.
Cons: Eats up batteries pretty quickly (which is somewhat strange for LED's).
Reviewed By:N/A,2/19/2015 9:37:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Spot Lights > Rosewill > Rosewill RSL-113 - Dual Head PIR Solar Motion Sensor Light

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than expected
Pros: It's solar, runs on a rechargable battery, works in single digit temperatures, and has already lasted a couple years in Minnesota weather. It's still going strong. Throws a longer beam than the multiple LED lights!
Cons: Doesn't light up for long but it's not made for that. The lights are not extremely bright, but more like a couple LED flashlights with the CREE bulbs.
Reviewed By:Nate,2/5/2015 2:07:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.