Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill RKKS-12001 Digital Kitchen Scale

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great scale!
Pros: Lightweight, slim profile makes it easy to store. Display is easy to read. Very glad I purchased this.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:June R.,2/3/2016 12:59:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Smart Weigh > Smart Weigh Digital Pro Pocket Scale with Back-Lit LCD Display

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really nice digital scale for the price!
Pros: - Has lots of surface area for weighing.
- Comes in a clear plastic dish that you can use for tray on top of scale when weighting items that like to roll, as well as a smaller dish that fits over the surface are to protect it when not in use.
- Weighs up to 500 grams and measures down to the 100th's.
- Back-lit display.
Cons: - None!
Other Thoughts: - I would definitely buy this product again, oh wait, I did buy a second one!!
Reviewed By:George H.,1/20/2016 7:02:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Escali > Escali Arti Kitchen Scale Cinnamon

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It was a great product at first.
Pros: Works well, simple interface, easy to use and clean.
Cons: One of my peg stands were broken causing weight inaccuracies, the "tare" button doesn't always choose to work, and when it does the number is usually always set to a negative or positive value.
Other Thoughts: I would reccomend this product only for people who expect to get par quality with average pay. Definitely not a product to buy at $35 or more.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/20/2016 3:02:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill Electronic High Precision "Stain Gauge" Sensor Kitchen Scale, Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Accurate
Pros: - Arrived quickly from Newegg.
- Item was well packed and undamaged.
- Capable of accurate weight measure up to 5 kg (11.1 lbs).
- Multiple weight measure units: grams, ounces, pounds and kilograms.
- This scale has tare function, which allows you to place a container on the scale and then zero out the weight. This way you are able to measure the weight of your loose items or liquid minus the weight of the container.
- The scale can be hanged for stowage.
Cons: - Stainless steel finish seemed smudged/discolored in several spots. I could not get it cleaned up.
- This is a digital scale and you will need to replace 3 x AAA batteries every now and then.
Other Thoughts: Small digital scale like this one is a must for every household. Correct weight measurement is important for cooks who want to follow their favorite cooking recipes. There are other uses for this scale. I use this scale measure the weight of outgoing mail and small FedEx boxes. This allows me to place correct amount of postage. I used this scale for about a month and I am happy with it.
Reviewed By:Pawel K.,1/2/2016 8:26:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill RKKS-12001 Digital Kitchen Scale

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just pull the battery tag and use! Simple, easy ,great product good looking to.
Pros: Does what it is supposed to do.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Recommend this.
Reviewed By:David L.,1/2/2016 9:13:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill RKKS-12001 Digital Kitchen Scale

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Tested with lab calibration weights
Pros: Opening the box, I was surprised at the weight of this scale, and how it has a stainless plate over a solid slab of glass for a platform.

Testing it with a 1.015 kg F2 standard lab calibration weights set, I was surprised that this scale indicated +/-1 gram from 5-1,000 g, more accurate than I expected given the cost (on sale).

I'd almost rate this scale a 4, but for a few too many minor issues noted below.

Out of the box center of platform calibration was pretty good, and needed no adjustment (not possible anyway on this), unlike my higher precision lab scales, but beware of issues noted below.
Cons: That calibration accuracy didn't hold up when tested for linearity around the platform. Using a 350 g object ~30 mm around, one corner indicated the same as with test weights in the center. Its opposite diagonal read +2g. The other two corners read +6 and -6 grams, or a 12 gram potential variation on two diagonal opposite corners based on where the test object is placed.

Notably, the spec's on Rosewill or NewEgg product pages list display resolution, and make no claims of accuracy. Still, degrading by more than a factor of 10 from pretty good center of plate calibration to two corners is disappointing.

There is no apparent or manual listed calibration mode as many scales include.

As spec'd, there's an easy gram-ounce choice, but no pounds-ounces or other modes.

While the stainless over glass plate feels solid, it appears there are edges where the metal is cut out around the display and switches, and at the edges, where liquids or small particles could be trapped and difficult to clean. That might make this scale illegal to use in commercial kitchens, even for cooking (and not just "trade" calibration uses).
Other Thoughts: This scale has a "hold" mode, as hinted on the display at power on, but it's momentary holding the "On/tare" button for a short period, not so long as to turn the scale off, and not retained as hold once the finger is removed.

Unlike many scales, the controls on this are touch sensors in the glass measurement plate, and so do change weighed amount. The "hold" mode operates fast enough that I saw little indication shift.

It'd be nice to have a "stay on" mode, which some digital scales have if some button press mode is used. This one doesn't claim more than 60 seconds on since last operation, and doesn't have an obvious such function either (trying both buttons, long or double presses, etc).

I have other strain gauge based scales with ranges from 1 mg to 136 kg and up to 50,000:1 range, but was missing one in this range. In many respects this is a nice scale, but it does have a few quirks and limits. I would not buy it absent one of NewEgg's deep discount sales, and would seek better position linearity, and common industrial features of count, calibration, and added units choices, for full price on this model.

Also of note, while the NewEgg/Rosewill pictures of this scale are accurate, the listed size appears to be that of the box, not the scale. The scale itself is smaller, around 15 mm thick, and 143 mm wide, 200 mm deep.

Just out of curiosity, since I used testing this new scale to verify calibration on two of my high precision scales at the same time, I pulled out a 2 lb. Pellouze postal scale, and an old Chatillion 25 lb spring scale that was my grandmother's kitchen scale from back when my (deceased) mother was a kid. The former read 0.3 to 0.5 oz high for most of its range. The latter I'd restored a bit around 15 years ago, and while it's nowhere near the precision of these new generation cheap digital scales, it read exactly 2 pounds as closely as can be read, when I placed 910 grams of calibration weights on it.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/1/2015 2:22:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill RKKS-12001 Digital Kitchen Scale

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 do not buy
Pros: $9.99 price and if wanted fancy paper weight this is scale to buy!!!!
Cons: will not weigh anything accurate even if get it to weigh at all.can of soup is 2 grams a bottle of pop said 4grams and that's after trying like 10 times turning off-on.total junk and newegg should stop selling it if they do not want to lose more custormers.i have learned now never to buy anything like this from them again since if I want to return I pay.if I want replacement I pay and 99% chance just be junk again.never again will I buy from newegg stuff like this unless they start paying return shipping charges.
Other Thoughts: don't be fooled by price = it is junk
Reviewed By:N/A,12/1/2015 10:15:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill Electronic High Precision "Stain Gauge" Sensor Kitchen Scale, Silver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well, but ink rubs off buttons
Pros: Works well. I've used it every day for three months now. The hole at the top makes it convenient to hang from a hook and keep it off the countertop when not in use.
Cons: The lettering on the buttons is all gone. Apparently they used a poor quality ink on the buttons (or didn't cure it properly as some silk screening requires). It started rubbing off after about a month and now is almost completely gone. There are only three buttons though. Not sure if this is covered by warranty.
Other Thoughts: Not a con really, more a design issue. One of the buttons lets you select the unit of measure (ounces, pounds, grams, kilograms). With my other digital scale, when I select ounces it will automatically switch to pounds when it exceeds 16 (i.e., 1 pound), and similarly from grams to kilograms. This scale doesn't, it stays in whatever unit of measure you select.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2015 9:34:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill Electronic High Precision "Stain Gauge" Sensor Kitchen Scale, Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Kitchen or Office Addition!
Pros: This Rosewill Kitchen Scale is a great addition to any home or office setting where you want to quickly and accurately measure small items, up to 11 lbs. As the box mentioned, you won't want to measure any commodity that needs to be perfectly accurate, but for anything you want a reasonably accurate measurement, you're in great shape.

+Accurate! My wife was thrilled I got one of these and we started weighing everything in sight. First thing we checked was a small 3lb. weight she uses for workouts...accurate to the hundredth of a lb. We also measured water bottles and box of dry pasta, both accurate to the label stated weight.

+Tare feature. This allows you to "zero out" the scale to negate the weight of the container, that way you can keep measuring weight using the same container without it impacting the weight of what you put into the measuring bowl.

+Nice blue LED illumination - Pictures don't show it well, but there's a nice colorful LED illumination.

+3 AAA batteries - I am not sure how long the batteries last, but they are standard AAA which means I can use rechargeables.

+Sturdy Build quality - The bottom is plastic, the top is a brushed metal finish that isn't super high quality but certainly better than I expected at $15.

+Wall mount hole - the cut-out at the top allows you to hang the scale up on your kitchen wall so its out of the way when yo don't need it.

+Also works great for mailing parcels, thicker envelopes. For tech enthusiasts who sell your older tech, many of you know its hard to get accurate measurements on weighing items. I used to use my bathroom scale and "Tare" myself, weigh once by myself then hold the box and weigh again. Don't need to this anymore!

+Has 4-5 units of measurement, all seemed to be accurate, from Lbs. to grams to ounces.
Cons: -Needs to have feet on flat surface to measure. Not really worth taking points off.
Other Thoughts: My wife was super excited I got one of these. Every kitchen should have one as cooking and especially baking has been boiled down to a science where exact proportions matter. Just look at all these hip bakeries and confectionaries, they'll tell you baking is just chemistry and getting the perfect proportions of ingredients, and the only way you're going to be able to do that is with accurate measurements!

I also love the fact I can use this scale to accurately measure and weigh things I'm mailing. No one likes to go to the Post Office and have to pay additional shipping, or over-estimate and end up paying more than you have to for shipping.

With a scale like this, you can have accurate measurements, even make it a game for kids to guess how much stuff weights!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 10:12:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Timers, Thermometers & Scales > Rosewill > Rosewill RKKS-12001 Digital Kitchen Scale

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect Bike Scale
Pros: Use this to weigh my bike parts and everything! Works fine.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/24/2015 11:04:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.