Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > P3 International > P3 P4490 Kill A Watt(r) Edge Energy Monitor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works OK, but...
Pros: Reads power draw, voltage, and calculates how much power it has used in a given time and can tell you what it cost (assuming you program your energy rate cost into it).
Cons: After a power outage, it turns itself off and does not turn back on until you hit the power button on top.
Other Thoughts: I got this to monitor how much power my servers were taking so I could be sure to pay all of that each electric bill (didn't want my roommates splitting that cost with me and make them mad). I have a UPS plugged into it for back up power. When the power goes out, the unit turns off (as expected due to no power), and my UPS runs the equipment. However, once the power returns, the unit does NOT restore power to the UPS, which causes my UPS to completely die and turn off power to all connected equipment. I have to manually go and turn power back on to this device and all of my servers. That is a dumb design, once power is restored it should just start delivering power to the connected equipment by default, and if you want to use the energy saving feature you should have to enable that manually, not the other way around. I can disable all energy saving features, but when the power goes out and the unit turns off, it looses all settings I program into it and returns to factory defaults (power savings on, does not restore power to connected equipment till I manually hit the power button).

I have had 3 power failures now, all three had similar results. The first two I got VERY lucky. The first one I was asleep, didn't even knew the power went out. Got up to get some water and heard the battery backup beeping. Power was out for only 5 minutes according to another UPS I have, but the server battery backup reported no power for 40 minutes! The battery was very close to dieing. The second time I was sitting at my desk when it happened and I watched it when the power came back. The unit turned on, but did not restore power to the equipment until I hit the power button on top.

I need something that has no power saving features but a detachable screen (the outlet is behind a server rack and is hard to see where it is). I put the screen part in the rack on top of my router so I can see it from the front of the rack. The fact that it came with power saving features was no big deal, or so I thought. I have since unplugged this unit and just have the UPS directly into the wall. I will have to work something out with my roommates because I am NOT using this device for my servers any more.

DL;DR - Works fine for simple appliances. Not good for computers or anything you want to turn back ON automatically after a power outage.
Reviewed By:Hikyuuri,8/20/2014 3:05:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Martin Yale > Martin Yale P7200 RapidFold

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Timer Saver!
Pros: Saves our small non-profit company a massive amount of time! Easy setup, easy to operate!
Cons: It doesn't make my coffee...
Reviewed By:Grim Tech,5/28/2014 1:30:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Shenzhen Light Source Lighting Co., Ltd. > Fashion Mini Portable Jewelry LCD Pocket Digital GRAM Scale 1000g x 0.1g

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Undecided
Pros: It has all the functions I need it to have, it worked right out of the box, and it appears to be functioning as of the last time I used it.
Cons: The first time I used it, I was unable to get it to register the weight of what I was trying to weigh. It didn't matter what unit of weight I selected, once I put the little bowl I was using on it and tared it, it never registered anything else and I know the bowl did not exceed its maximum weighing ability, I specifically chose it for weighing. Also, the instructions did not explain what all the units of weight were, I had to look some of them up, it would have been nice if it had contained an explanation. The last time I used it (yesterday) it performed perfectly, so I don't know if it was user error, or ignorance or if there was a problem with the scale. I am holding out hopes that it was the former.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2014 12:48:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Saga > SAGA 160 LB X 0.1 s DIGITAL POSTAL SCALE for SHIPPING WEIGHT POSTAGE W/AC 76 KG, FREE SHIPPING!

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not good
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Will not read any weight under 5 oz. First Class mail starts at 3 oz! Bad!
Reads only whole ounces, does not read less than 1 oz example 3.5 oz would read 3 oz on this machine. Bad for First Class Mail!
Cheap, "China" plasticky build.
Other Thoughts: "You get what you pay for" aptly describes my experience with scales with detachable faces.

I have an old cheap Neva scale and measures accurately, one US quarter registers 0 lb 0.2 oz. Why can't I get that type of reading today without spending 100's!!
Reviewed By:Big Al,4/24/2014 10:59:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Shenzhen Light Source Lighting Co., Ltd. > Travel Scale 110 lb/50KG Digital Luggage Weight Hook Portable Capacity

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Arrive DOA, never buy stuff from China
Pros: None
Cons: The scale was sent from China direct in a shabby envelope, no packing material. The scale may have been broken due to none packing material.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/18/2014 5:59:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > P3 International > P3 P4490 Kill A Watt(r) Edge Energy Monitor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 must have for DIY systems
Pros: Display is attached by a cord so you don't have to have a sight line to your power outlet.

Continuous updates, easy to use.
Cons: There were no cons, this is now a valued part of my repair kit.
Other Thoughts: Any system I work on now, I measure the watt draw of the power supply as part of my diagnostic routine, and it helps me estimate the power requirements of new systems.
Reviewed By:panopset,4/9/2014 9:04:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > JMT > 1g 1 Gram Calibration Weight Precision Scale For Digital Pocket Balance calibrate test

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1 Gram Test Calibration Precision Weight
Pros: It is exacly what the description is, a 1 gram test weight. It is tiny and comes in a small mail pouch. Almost lost it when I opened the package.
Cons: None so far. It comes from China so shipping took a long time, but I guess that was to be expected.
Other Thoughts: There is a small tiny metal tib on the bottom side of the weight that keeps it from sitting flat. Not a big deal but would of been nice if they could of made it flat on the bottom. Of course I cannot remove this nib because it will affect the weight and it will not be a precision 1 gram standard anymore.
Reviewed By:WiFi Cowboy,3/30/2014 11:24:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Shenzhen Light Source Lighting Co., Ltd. > Hot Mini Electronic Digital Jewelry Balance Pocket Gram Scale 300g x 0.01g

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mini Electronic Digital Pocket Gram Scale
Pros: Easy to use even if you don't read the instructions (or understand them). I am using this scale to check the weight of small parts for my RC Helicopters. Able to check main and tail rotor blade weights and make corrections if needed. The resolution of 0.01 grams is excellent for my needs.
Cons: None over all on the scale. Shipping took a long time but I guess that was to be expected coming from china.
Other Thoughts: All the instructions are on the cover lid for the scale. They are printed well but I don't think they are complete. They talk about calibrating with a 500g weight standard which I find odd because the max weight for this scale is 300g. Non the less it didn't need any calibrations out of the box. I have a 1 gram test weight and the scale is good at that weight stanard. There is a CNT button that is not explained in the instructions and I can't figure out how to use it. I think it is for counting pieces by weight but not certain on this.
Reviewed By:WiFi Cowboy,3/30/2014 11:17:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > Geneva Clock Company > Geneva Clock 3143AT Digital Alarm Clock

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Basic Alarm Clock
Pros: Small design alarm clock, very basic unit. if you're looking for a basic alarm clock with no other features this is the perfect product.
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:N/A,2/25/2014 4:58:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Warehouse & Inventory Supplies > DYMO > DYMO PEL1772059

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality Scale
Pros: I have been using this scale on a regular basis for over a year. It has been very accurate and reliable.

This scale is ideal for measuring items from under 1 oz up to 25 lbs.

Hold function is very useful for weighing over sized items that block the view of the display.

The auto shut-off is also convenient.

The tare function is also a very convenient feature.
Cons: The screen is not back lit.

No AC charger option.
Other Thoughts: I just use this as a stand alone scale. I have not tried connecting it to a computer to try using any of the available software or online printing capabilities.

Some people may not be aware that scales only have ranges of accuracies. A scale that is designed for heavy weighing will not be accurate for very light weight packages. I make a point of this, because I have seen people complain that they couldn't accurately weigh their 3 oz letter using a 250 lb scale. If you are going to need to weigh light and heaving items, then you will need at least two different scales.
Reviewed By:MADPWR,2/15/2014 12:50:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau