Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > FreedomPop > 100% Free Mobile Phone Service w/ Samsung Galaxy S4 Black (Certified pre-owned)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great phone. You would never know it was Certified pre-owned.
Pros: Faster than my previous Galaxy S3. Better design. Fits in my hand better too.
Cons: It wouldn't allow me to download "Samsung Pay". I later found out that the S4 is not compatible. It also keeps trying to download an Android System update. After I install the update, it immediately goes to into an area that offers several options that seem difficult to understand. It doesn't actually update at all. I had to remove the battery in order to reboot the phone. The update notification keeps coming back. I can't get rid of it. Every time I tap on the notification, I have to tap the option that says "later", but the notification stays there. I spoke to FreedomPop. They could not help me.
Other Thoughts: Despite the minor problems, I would definitely recommend this phone (S4).
Reviewed By:RON S.,2/7/2016 4:49:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > FreedomPop > 100% Free Mobile Phone Service w/ Samsung Galaxy S4 (Certified pre-owned)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great phone HORRIBLE service
Pros: Nice phone but BAAAD service.
Cons: Do not get freedompop. WORST decision ever. I bought a samsung galaxy s4 November 27th as a black friday sale online. I think i paid $120 for the phone and that included one months service. The phone never properly worked and calls were dropped, I could barely hear the other person on the line and they always said it sounded liek I was in a tunnel. It was the WORST service ever. I tried to return it adn they would not let me within the 30 day buying period. So then I tried to trouble shoot a thousand times with no help from this company. I had like every upgrade on the phone I could get which they talked me into. Despite calling and emailing a bazillion times they still never helped me.They SUCK to say the least. I had to argue and get nasty with them to get the phone deactivated. DO NOT downgrade the service. COMPLETELY deactivate. I called sprint after I deactivated the phone who told me the phone was unlocked completely to use with ANY carrier. Despite the fact that freedompop told me it was sprint locked and could not be used anywhere else. They totally lied to me about that one. I was able to buy a net10 access code and airtime and keep the current sprint sim card in the phone. I activated my phone. I had to DELETE the freedom pop messaging app for the phone to make and receive calls. Then I downloaded a generic messaging app to get text messages but my phone TOTALLY works now! I can make and receive calls. Calls are crystal clear! My internet/4GLTE is working great when I leave my home(away from wifi access) and I couldn't be happier to be back at net10. It was a learning experience. They actually have GREAT Service. Just make sure you enroll in auto pay because it can be a hassle if you don't! I know that one from experience. They always fix the problem and say what they are going to do but it can be a while to get a hold of someone on the phone with net10. They are GREAT though! And I also had my credit card on file with freedompop cancelled upon cancelling my service. I have heard lots of stories were they charge your account a bunch of times after deactivation so I just went ahead and had it cancelled. Bye bye Freedompop. You suck! Hello Net10..I should have never left- I love you! haha
Reviewed By:Philip C.,2/4/2016 2:21:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > SAMSUNG > Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Centura Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I should have known!
Pros: Newegg!
Cons: The item!
Other Thoughts: Processing speed is virtually non-existent. Any social media app will freeze it up and shut it down. Forget about browsing internet, even with the best internet speeds available this will not load pages. It was dirt cheap which is why I took a chance on it, but certainly should have know what I was going to get.
Reviewed By:Michael D.,1/30/2016 8:33:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > FreedomPop > 100% Free Mobile Phone Service w/ Samsung Galaxy S5 Black -FreedomPop (Certified pre-owned)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Amazing phone while it lasted. Has so many features that it took me a while to figure out most of them.
Pros: Camera is better than an actual camera I bought. I picked up a tripod mount so I can use this to do my YouTube videos instead of the other camera. Functions for everything. It's very modifiable. The android community really took to this phone.
Cons: It kept complaining the battery case wasn't closed when it was. The charge port same deal. The charge port is also kind of funky in the way that it has a weak rubber snap to hold it there and when the cords plugged in it puts extra strain on it. Battery will drain really fast if you don't set the phone up with certain options. Stick with setting a black background and you'll get an extra hour of battery life.
Other Thoughts: update 1/30/2016 phone now gets stuck at freedompop logo. will not boot. Sending it back for a refund

When I first plugged it in to charge it would not get past 99%. I turned it on and let it finish. Over time it seems that the phone has adapted the battery. I had to run a battery repair tool from the play store and it found 6 improper cells. It fixed those and my battery life has been greatly improved. This phone rocks. I'm still learning things about it. Functions as a TV / utility remote control. The wow factor is high with this one. There was even a link to upgrading it to marshmallow the S6 runs but I'm happy with the way it is now. If you want a quality phone this one is for you. Just keep in mind that the extra speed means faster battery drain. I use the standard power saver since it's freedompop. Also opted for the warranty through them. Customer service had it written I had the white model so I called them and told them I have the black. They said it didn't matter. I get fast speeds with LTE and the warranty plan runs me $7 a month. You simply can't beat the service price especially with the features of the phone. I love it.
Reviewed By:Jonathan C.,1/30/2016 2:20:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > Motorola > 100% Free Mobile Phone Service w/ Motorola E 2nd Gen LTE - FreedomPop (Certified pre-owned)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excelent phone for the price!
Pros: great speed, great price!
Cons: service, is a little iffy... but it's free can't really complaint. I pay 3.99 a month for enhanced phone service, I think it helps:)
Other Thoughts: Be sure to go online into your freedompop account and select the features you need and don't need.
Reviewed By:Eduard S.,1/25/2016 7:44:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > Motorola > 100% Free Mobile Phone Service w/ Motorola E 2nd Gen LTE - FreedomPop (Certified pre-owned)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly capable, cheap phone + service!
Pros: -This phone runs everything at a good speed. Its performance is roughly comparable to my iPhone 5, though everything is a bit lower-quality than the 5.
-The phone service really can be $0/month! See the cons for more info on that.
-Activates easily, and you can pick a phone number anywhere you want. Again, see cons.
-The service works on 2G, 3G, LTE, and WiFi. Calls and texts work in airplane mode over wifi!
-The FM radio gets surprisingly good reception using my Apple headphones. Headphones are needed, they serve as the antenna.
-Phone arrived in great shape, 8 or 9 out of 10, in my opinion.
Cons: -FreedomPop requires a credit card for the $0.01 activation fee.
-If you want $0 service, you'll have to give up Voicemail and MMS (pictures and group) texting.
-Voicemail is "enabled" by default. This means people who call you can leave messages for you, regardless of whether you're paying for voicemail. When they do, you'll get a free text from FreedomPop informing they're holding you voicemail hostage, and if you ever want to hear it again, you'll need to follow the handy link and pay for monthly voicemail. Luckily, you can disable voicemail entirely in the online settings. As far as I can tell, the call will just keep ringing when you do this.
-Automatic Top-Up is enabled by default. When you get close to using up all of your free service, FreedomPop will bill you $10 and add that money to your account to pay for any extra service you use beyond the free "limits". Again, you can disable this in the online settings.
-Phone arrived dirty, with glue-like residue that was inconvenient to clean off. Dark scuffs on the edges of the phone wouldn't come off. Unexpected for a refurbished phone.
-Choosing the phone number was a bit of a pain. No numbers were available in my state (WA), so I chose a Beverly Hills number instead.
Other Thoughts: I use my phone with Google Voice. When I learned that Voicemail and MMS were paid FreedomPop extras, I started using my GV number instead. It works perfectly, and does everything! I get texts, pics, calls, voicemails, and all work both over wifi and on FreedomPop's data plan. Also, it's free, as well! So, I'm still at $0/month for phone service, on a very capable cheap phone.

I really like this phone, and the service seems good so far, too. FreedomPop is still a bit tricky with trying to get money out of their $0/month customers, but it isn't too hard to disable their paid services. If voicemail or MMS are something you need, I've had good success with a Google Voice account and their Hangouts Dialer app. I'm sure any other VOIP service will work as well, but I've only tested GV, and can vouch for it being the full package. Keep in mind that any VOIP service will use FreedomPop's data when you're not on wifi, though many services seem to be very efficient, and won't use many MB/minute.
Reviewed By:Jason D.,1/18/2016 5:46:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > HTC America > HTC Desire 816 Quad-Core 1.6 GHz Android v4.4.2 Kit Kat Virgin Mobile Smart Phone

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Less than five because of miscalibrated camera
Pros: • Screen and camera are responsive.
• Processor reasobably fast.
• 100GB of extra Google Drive storage (for two years).
• System updateable through version 6
• Sync Manager software (for PC/Mac) is useful for copying files to/from computer.
Cons: • CAMERA'S IMAGE IS YELLOW-TINTED, MORESO IN BRIGHTER LIGHT. Images require post-processing for color correction, as well as in-app tweaking (i.e., saturation, EV). One reason for buing this phone was its 13MP camera. I don't have a week or two to lose in the return process. Makes me miss the days before online shopping, when I could just go back the store where I'd bought something and swap it out for a non-defective one.
• HTC proprietary software arrogates too much present and demands too much engagement with HTC's "brand."
• Battery's life could be better, but then again, it's powering a 5/5" screen.
Other Thoughts: I had written a detailed, thoughtful, balanced and sometimes humorous review, but my log-in timed-out, thanks to New Egg. So, I'm really annoyed - but you really lose.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2016 8:04:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > LG Mobile > Tracfone LG Power L22C Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bought the phone for my duaghter. She loves the phone
Pros: cost and apps
Cons: tap code to unlock phone
Reviewed By:shawn e.,1/3/2016 6:28:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > FreedomPop > Free Mobile Phone Service with Samsung Victory LTE - FreedomPop (Certified Pre-owned)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: free... can't go wrong, just make sure you go into your account online and setup the features you need/ want . not all the features are free
Cons: slow phone, but you get what you pay for. does everything that I expected to do.
Other Thoughts: you can win extra data for doing all kinds of offers.
Reviewed By:Eduard S.,12/29/2015 11:51:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - No Contract > SAMSUNG > Tracfone Samsung Galaxy Centura Android Cell Phone with Triple Minutes for Life

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth bothering with
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Android 4.0, slow cpu, 512 ram, and tons of bugs and issues. You will be forced to reset this unit many many times through out the day as this units time will constantly get out of sync and require you to reset it. In the course of one day of very light use of checking email I was required to reset it over 5 times due to the time clock getting off. So don't expect to use it as a time piece or alarm.

Many apps will not work with the phone as the OS is 4.0.

Other Thoughts: Because of the limitations of the unit... it is only worth it if you never have used a tablet/smart phone or if you only want to use it for very basic usage, such as talking on the phone and texting... if you want to browse the net with this be warned it will be slow, crash, freeze, and need to be reset many times.

I got this unit for 20 bucks with x3 minutes / text/ data.
So was much more worth it as I mostly use it only for texting and phone calls, but as stated above... if you want to use it for browsing... then get a different phone.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/29/2015 1:29:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.