Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > SHARKK > SHARKK SP-SKBT83 Rugged / WaterProof IP65 Certified BoomBox Bluetooth Speaker 30h Battery

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just a few steps from Perfect: but well worth the entry price
Pros: Good Sound Quality
Updated / Redesigned Port Flap
Extremely Rugged Construction
All-day practical play
Cons: aptX / Opus support?
Bluetooth Standby function?
Other Thoughts: Let's get the obvious out of the way. This is quite a new product; and this is a near zero day review. Yes: I was provided with a free copy of this item for testing and my fair and honest evaluation.

So here it is. This is arguably a quasi-update to the SP-SK896WTR-GRY; addressing many of the issues I personally had with that particular Bluetooth Speaker. For starters; the inclusion of a power-bank and the resulting beefed up battery life does indeed give the Commando an effective all-day battery life. Setting the volume to ~50% on an Acer One 10 convertible netted a continuous playtime just above ~26 hours.

I do need to state there are some specific issues with standby battery life. Taking a Bluetooth source device out of range, or alternatively simply disabling Bluetooth on a source device, does not appear to trigger a low-power state in the Commando Speaker. Rather, the Commando I have in hand stay(s) in an active scan mode until the unit either reconnects to a source device or is manually power'd down. This is decidedly different behavior from almost every other audio-enabled Bluetooth device I have ever used; and turns what should have been an outstanding battery performance in a manual ~meh.

I also need to cover some potential issues with the usage of the Commando as a power bank. The aforementioned Acer One 10 is my nominal hell-tester for USB power-bank capability. Most of the power-bank's I have tried, and even most USB chargers, cannot provided enough power to do more than generate a message on the One 10 that the device is plugged in... but not charging. The Commando did exhibit slightly different behavior; with the One 10 bouncing back and forth between plugged in and disconnected power states. So for those with modern laptops... this probably isn't the power-bank solution solution you've been looking for. However most Smartphone's should not have any specific issues.

Getting back to improvement's rather than caveats; a major improvement is found in the sound quality and projection. In comparison to it's younger brother the Commando features slightly larger speakers; and apparently an updated bass system. The result is a night and day difference in mid-range and low-end response across a much wider volume range. My opinion if the SP-SK896WTR-GRY was a device that could barely fill a shower stall; the Commando can power a Pool Party.

The quality of sound and response does come with a bit of a caveat. The Commando does not appear to support the aptX codec for Bluetooth transmission; nor does the device appear to support the Ogg Opus format that is available in modern /Linux platforms such as Android. Unfortunately this means that there is a noticeable degradation in general sound quality from FLAC or high-data-rate lossy formats; as well as a generalized degradation at higher volumes across audio sources. However, these degradations were not noticeable when using the AUX input across a variety of High-Quality analog output devices. Namely a Sony Z3 phone, a Via Envy24HT based sound card, a Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, and even a second gen Asus Xonar. So the speakers are being let down quite a bit by the limitations of the standard Bluetooth audio transmission profiles.

Another improvement, at least compared to the SP-SK896WTR-GRY, is a change in the port-cover flap. The Commando's port-cover is held in by a cylindrical strap/prong rather than a flat rectangle strap/prong. In practice this means that the Flap is not aggressively pushing the USB or Speaker cords out of position.

The next massive plus in the unit's favor is the build quality. The short version here is that the Commando actually can take a beating. Now, I will admit there is some specific question as to the actual Weather Proofing of the device. The manual with the device I received notes an IP5 rating; some PR blurbs say IP65; and others suggest IP67. What potential buyers need to know is this: You can drop it into the 12ft deep pool and it'll be perfectly fine. You can use it in the Kitchen. It'll be fine. You can let it drop on your foot; you'll probably need a cast and some crutches; but the Speaker will be fine.

The more important question though is this: Would I spend my own money on purchasing another Shark Commando Speaker?

Yep.

Wouldn't even think twice about it. Within this device's price range... there just isn't anything else I've seen that offers a compelling alternative.
Reviewed By:Jason F.,2/5/2016 2:23:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > SHARKK > SHARKK SK869BT Black BoomBox Portable Bluetooth Wireless Speaker, 18 Hours Playtime

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful little speaker
Pros: Got it for my son at Christmas and he loves it.
Big sound in a small package.
Cons: Little heavy but worth the weight for the playtime you get.
Other Thoughts: Recommend
Reviewed By:David G.,2/4/2016 10:38:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > LG Electronics > LG HBS-730 Black TONE+ Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Headset

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well
Pros: Wireless
Decent battery life
Stable connectivity
Good range
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: More battery life never hurts. I replaced the stock default earbuds which weren't very good of course.
Reviewed By:Jonathan W.,2/2/2016 6:57:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > Accessory Power > GOgroove FlexSMART X2 Bluetooth Wireless FM Transmitter Car Kit with USB Charging, Playback Controls and Hands-Free Calling - Works with Apple, Samsung, HTC and More Smartphones, Tablets, MP3 Players

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: It works very well. It will connect with all devices that are Bluetooth without a problem. The sound quality it awesome.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: This is my second one I bought for my second car the other one is 3 years old and still running like a champ.
Reviewed By:Danielle S.,2/2/2016 4:33:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > Accessory Power > GOgroove BlueSYNC BX Bluetooth Portable Speaker with NFC Technology and Removable Battery, Silver - Works with Apple iPhone 6s, Samsung Galaxy Note 5, Motorola Droid Turbo and More Smartphones

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sound for a small box!
Pros: No dents on the package it was in great condition.
Small but very useful.
Easy to connect to phone with Bluetooth no problems.
Sound comes in clear no static so far.
Cons: no issues so far.
Other Thoughts: I would bring this thing to party's it looks cool and easy to move around.
Reviewed By:Baron H.,2/2/2016 8:44:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > Motorola > Motorola Behind-the-Neck Bluetooth Stereo Headset Black with On Ear Music Controls (S305)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Just what I was looking for
Pros: -Easy to connect to my ipod or kindle fire 7.
-Good sound quality for the price.
-Gives me enough play time to last most of a day.
-Build is sturdy enough to handle careful use
Cons: -Placement of the head band starts to irritate my ears after a few hours, but I have large ears.
-Foam padding on the earphones seems a little thin after 6 months of use.
-The padding is also difficult to clean.
Other Thoughts: -If you are looking for a well priced bluetooth head set for casual music or audio books, this is a pretty good bet.
-If you are an audiophile, you should probably look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/1/2016 9:48:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > SoundBot > SoundBot SB360 25.5W Bluetooth 4.0 Car Kit Hands-Free Wireless Talking & Music Streaming Dongle w/ High-Performance USB Car Charger + Magnetic Mounts + Built-in 3.5mm Aux Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nothing bad to say.
Pros: Does everything that I wanted. Hands free music and phone features with simple setup. I have snow tires and in the rain always had issues with my phone calls. Now the wife and my father who is hard of hearing can hear me just fine. Worth the investment. Also much safer then trying to fish out the phone from your bag or pocket.
Cons: Nothing at this time. Been two months and working great.
Other Thoughts: I would get another but my wife's car comes with bluetooth already. Thinking about maybe one for the house stereo though.
Reviewed By:Patrick C.,2/1/2016 7:19:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > MICRONET > BeatBoom BB3000-BR Black/Red Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker with Built in Speakerphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great - while it worked!
Pros: Sounds great.
Cons: Worked great for 6 months. Then absolutely no sound - not even at power-up/down. Manufacturer's 'warranty' is basically useless. They require that it be send back at your expense, which would be more than the speaker actually cost. Based on their unacceptably poor customer service, I'll avoid any future MicroNet products.
Reviewed By:Scott C.,1/28/2016 10:51:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > Accessory Power > GOgroove FlexSMART X2 Bluetooth Wireless FM Transmitter Car Kit with USB Charging, Playback Controls and Hands-Free Calling - Works with Apple, Samsung, HTC and More Smartphones, Tablets, MP3 Players

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, reliable product. Manufacturer stands by their product
Pros: - Clear sound, easy to operate
- Line in and line out are great options which offer lots of flexibility and added functionality
- Doesn't seem to have the pitch changing issue that seems to occur with some Android devices and BT receivers
- Has been running for 2 years almost every day with no issues
- MFR quickly responded when a part on the base broke (mechanical, not electronics). I'm not sure if it came broken or if I broke it, but they fixed me up quickly.
Cons: - Pairing sound is loud - when you have the volume turned up to listening level, the pairing sound is too loud. But I think this is an issue with many BT receivers
- Sometimes the devices gets in the way of the gear shift, but I wouldn't really fault the product for this, it's more about the location of the outlet really.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/24/2016 3:08:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Headsets & Accessories > SAMSUNG > Samsung Level U Bluetooth Wireless Around the Neck Design Headphones with Microphone, Black Sapphire

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not worth the price
Pros: Sport design.
Cons: Not charger.
Very weak quality connectivity.
Very weak quality sound.
Awful experience.

Other Thoughts: Not worth it the price.
Reviewed By:JOSE N.,1/23/2016 4:21:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.