Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great in theory, fail in practicality
Pros: + Does not add much bulk (due to removing battery cover)
+ Nice UI Quick access
+ Nice texture and feel in general
+ Circle plastic protector works with a thick glass screen protector
+ Lock/Unlock with flip of cover
+ Increases grip of phone substantially
+ Double tap wakes Circle UI very nice quick status view
Cons: - UI does not notify you with any repeated notification like the LED
- Camera does not work
- Not much in customization
- Clear Circle is leaves smudges easily and looks cheap quality
- No magnetic latch to hold the cover closed as similar designs on other devices
- The circle blocks volume calls, and possibly diminish camera quality
- bezel around the case feels too long and causes snag on clothing such as jean pockets
- Case should have had a hole for the Notification LED
- Cost is too high for such case
- Email status does not work with such things as Gmail, only Asus app?
- Case fails to protect top to middle of top and bottom
Other Thoughts: First impressions, I had mixed feelings when I got the case, I am not much of a fan of flip covers, I always preferred to have a nice screen protector and nice back case. I really liked the feel of the back and the grip that I got from the texture. I took a risk from another retailer before getting the phone, I wanted a nice screen protector and cover. I found screen protector by Anoke Tempered Glass screen Protector 9H 2.5D rounded Edges 0.3mm thickness, it worked great! Price was under $10, it cleans very well, crystal clear unlike the cheap plastic of this cover that I seem to not able to clean it to be crystal clear no matter what I do!

In a case I normally want one to be textured and rubberized; all of my phones have cases that have nice grip around them. Found one that was by Monoy, it is a Super Frosted Shield Hard Case Cover, it snapped on perfect, though it did add to bulk. Now I wish this case would be as the Asus one where I could remove the stock back cover and put a nice rugged one on the back instead.

The Asus case is a great case in theory with great potential. Being that, I feel that its an incomplete product, both on the case and on the software side. Both feel unfinished and leave room for a lot more to be desired. There seems to be a need for a lot of polish to the UI and need for added features or enhancements IMO; such as better support for generic app integration is a must. I would say do not put an email notification if all it functions with is your own app, and not the generic Gmail or Email app from the OS.


Besides that I had to double tap throughout the day to see if I got any msg or missed call, I feel that I and the average user could not live without the notification LED, since it would be a drain on battery to flash the screen, the LED had to have had an opening. My other main issue is the bezel or trim of the case, it is badly done, it is flimsy and the material/fabric will snag on any clothing, you get a drag feeling and I myself have pulled out almost my inside of the jeans pocket! Makes a simple task of talking out your phone from pocket a difficult one!

The case also seems to be in my option more geared to the female gender, I got great compliments from my Wife and Mom, when I asked their opinion on the case.

In conclusion, I would not recommend this case to the average person who places there phone in a pocket, if you do not carry it in your pocket, it might work ok, if you do not mind all the cons. You gain a few features, but any simple screen lock app can add these, but what you lose from the negatives I believe out way the benefits. The cost is high, both my tempered glass screen protector and case were half the price of this case.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/22/2015 1:30:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Interesting Start
Pros: - Provides a nice, functional ‘quick access’ screen.
- Able to use the phone without opening the case when a call comes in. Asus engineering added a “hole” to match the phone’s handset speaker.
- Has a nice texture that prevents accidentally losing grip.
Cons: - No control for mute/unmute within circle (when case is closed during active call). Often critical for conference calls.
- Screen appears to require ‘constant re-adjustment’ in terms of where the display occurs within the circle. Would be awesome if the phone had some means to simply re-adjust itself. (Or if the case were designed in such a fashion as to prevent "moving around").
- Very difficult to remove plastic covering. Had to go back and clean multiple times with a micro-fiber towel and liquid (water) to finally get all of the plastic removed so that it’s “crystal clear”.
- Hinge mechanism allows case to “slide around”. Impacts ability to use and the ability to use the display while closed.
- There should be a battery percentage display on the screen when awakened (with case closed). Recommend including on the screen with email, calls and texts as this would [arguably] be the most commonly viewed screen.
- Unable to access volume keys while case is open. eg: when using this phone with this case, don't expect to be changing the volume much when the case is opened. (VERY frustrating)
- Too many design flaws. A case should "add" to a phone - not detract.
Other Thoughts: - Lacks any sort of belt clip.
- It's "just a case". It unfortunately will do nothing to protect the phone except from "ambient scratching. Exposed areas of the phone can still be scratched.
- Would like to a more "protective" case.

While this case is a good "first attempt" at a case for this phone, it falls short in many aspects. Unfortunately, until the phone becomes more main stream (hopefully it will), there will be limited options for a case.

Rating of 3 eggs is because a case was actually created for the phone to be available at time of phone release. If the case hadn't been released at the same time the phone was released - I would have deducted 1-2 eggs, as any case that is released *after* the phone is released should not have some of the design flaws of this case.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 1:48:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > i-Blason > Galaxy S6 Armband, SUPCASE Easy Fitting Sport Running Armband with Premium Flexible Case Combo for Samsung Galaxy S6 (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent Armband
Pros: Good, thick strap and easy to adjust the length to fit most arm sizes. Strap stays secure with a large Velcro patch.
Cons: The phone wobbles a bit while running. I suspect mostly due to the fact that it is a larger phone and has a large surface area. The case that holds the phone may hold it better if the "loopholes" that you run the armband strap through were placed a little wider apart. Not sure how realistic this solution is but it seems worth suggesting.
Other Thoughts: This is about the highest I would consider paying for this armband. Personally I would think a fairer price would be around $12-15 as there is nothing super spectacular about this armband.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2015 12:58:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 not the most ideal but has potential
Pros: The flip cover feels durable, not flimsy. The material is rough, great for keeping it from slipping off your hand. Very interesting design concept for a phone cover. The phone cover is "interactive". When you close the cover, a circular viewing screen pops up inside of the round window. You can view time, date, and a count of missed calls, emails, and text messages. Swiping the screen left or right will give you other screens, temperature, upcoming events for the day, flashlight mode, camera mode which allows you to take a picture right from that screen. There's also a screen that allows you to toggle airplane mode, sound, and adjust the position of the viewing screen inside the window. The toggle will only work if your phone isn't locked. Otherwise, it will ask you to open the cover and unlock the security screen.

When you have music playing, you will get another screen with pause, next song, and previous song buttons. Swiping up will show you all the albums in your library along with their coverart.

Swiping along the outer rim of the viewing screen will give you all the screens that are available to you, giving you quicker access to whichever screen you want to see. A green color bar wraps around the viewing screen, which shows the battery usage. At 100% battery, the color bar wraps around the entire viewing screen. At 25% battery, the color bar only wraps around 1/4 of the viewing screen. When battery is low, the color bar changes to red.

The screens can be somewhat customized by going to Settings, Asus Customized Settings, Asus Cover Settings. The cover feature can be enabled or disabled, you can enable or disable any of the 7 apps available on the screen and adjust their order. The sleep time of the cover can also be adjusted here.
Cons: When in camera mode, it doesn't recognize that you're looking through the viewfinder. So the display will go to sleep if you're not tapping or swiping the screen. If you're like me and take a while to line things up for a picture, you may want to set the sleep timer to a longer duration.

I also had a hard time figuring out how to turn the display back on. No matter how much or where I tapped or swiped, sometimes it turned on, sometimes it didn't. Apparently, it takes two taps on the screen to turn it on. Not very intuitive if this is your first interactive flip cover.

The flip cover makes it a bit awkward when you have to fold the cover back to talk on the phone. The cover also blocks the volume control, which makes it very inconvenient when on the phone.

This is not my ideal case as it doesn't cover the sides of the phone, which aside from the screen, are areas that need most protection in my opinion. I also don't like that the phone must be attached to the cover itself, and because of its awkwardness, I can't remove the cover to talk on the phone.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the case is decent if you're not worried about the sides of the phone (especially the edges) wearing over time. The features are very cleverly designed but it needs a bit of tweaking for it to be great.
Reviewed By:CiCi,5/20/2015 6:49:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: -texture has a nice grip/feel to it
-locks/unlocks phone by flipping cover
-can easily select what you want to control
Cons: -can't control Spotify
-If playing a downloaded podcast, it only shows the minutes of the final hour. If the podcast you're listening to is 2 hours 42 minutes, and you're at 1 hour 30 minutes in it'll display you're at 30 minutes of a 42 minute podcast. It's a minor flaw, but I like to know how much time I have left and I'm stuck opening my case occasionally to check.
Other Thoughts: This case is a great concept but I'm hoping Asus updates their phone so it'll allow control of more than just the "play music" app so those using Spotify/Pandora can control their music too. I like the case but due to not being able to control Spotify, I need to leave the case open while in my car so I can skip tracks. My phone doesn't fit good in a car mount (at least my iOttie mount) because the case interferes with the mount seating properly on the phone when the cover's open.
There's a couple mentions of wireless charging with this case, I'm not sure what they mean by that but I have a couple QI wireless chargers and I don't get any indication of my phone charging when set on either of my chargers. If you're looking to add QI charging to your ZenFone, I'd do more research before assuming this will add it to your device. I see it has been mentioned more than once so maybe it requires a special/better charger than I have? Regardless, look into it more before purchasing for that reason. While it's possible my phone's defective or my chargers aren't compatible, my research says this case does not add wireless charging.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 9:37:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It covers the screen, protects very little, and costs way too much.
Pros: It fits the Zenfone 2 very well and gives it a rubbery, textured back that helps improve the grip substantially.

The circle 'cutout' gives you access to some helpful widgets, which can be swiped sideways, customized (at least the clock design can be changed), as well as 'dialed' by spinning your finger around the circle's edge.
Cons: Practically no protection for the phone whatsoever. A slightly bulkier back, and that's it. No side protection, very little screen protection. It's obviously called a "cover" for a reason - that's all it is.

And it's very expensive. Ho lee overpriced cover, Batman! Even at a lower price ($10-20) this would be an incredibly hard sell.
Other Thoughts: I honestly don't know who this product caters to and why they'd buy it.

If you want to protect a phone, you buy a good case - either an Otterbox Commuter or Defender, a Griffin Survivor, or if you're looking for 'cheap yet good enough', a Caselogic 2-piece case.

If you want to quickly check your Zenfone 2, you double tap to wake and check your widgets and then throw it back in your pocket (and you don't really need a circle cutout to do that).

Again, I don't know who this is catered to, nor do I know why they (or anyone) would purchase it. Not at this price. VERY hard sell. It's unfortunate to see such a well designed phone (other than the power button) paired up with such a flimsy, overpriced "cover". I would have rather seen Asus come up with a nice case for protection without adding too much bulk for the same price (or less); as it is, I'm hoping for Otterbox or Griffin to come out with one now.
Reviewed By:zero2dash,5/19/2015 8:23:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not quite what I expected
Pros: + Case cover can take on some serious scratches with no noticeable visual effect

...that's it
Cons: - Plastic circular window scratches easily, hard to clean and finger prints and smear galore

- Plastic window does not sit flush to the phone screen; very noticeable gap

- Looks and feels cheap

- Flap doesn't stay closed - not like other (better) flip cases I have used in the past
Other Thoughts: In all honesty I was expecting something a little bit more than what this ended up being. Everything about this flip case rings 'cheap' and the very noticeable gap between the plastic circular window and the phone screen made this flip case extremely annoying to use. For example, you can't just double-tap the plastic window and expect the phone to wake like if you had done so lightly to the phone screen itself, you have to apply much force to push the plastic window to the phone screen about 1mm or so each and every time you want to interact through the window. "Glove Mode" doesn't make this situation better by any means.

The gap is a deal-breaker for me as I went back to the original phone back cover. The takeaway here is to steer clear of this product and look for something better.
Reviewed By:mayne171,5/19/2015 8:14:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > Spigen > Spigen Neo Hybrid Champagne Gold Case for Galaxy Note 4 SGP11118

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What are you doing weekend?
Pros: got to use my nice Dewalt drill that has been sitting alone in the closet for a while.
Cons: My friend called me this evening and asked me "oh so what are you doing tonight? It's Friday and I was wanting to go out".
Of course I wanted to go hang out but my replay was simply that I couldnt.
He was quick to ask " oh whys that? women keeping you home?"
the truth of the matter Is I had to spend my evening drilling holes in a case because they didn't line up with the holds on the phone. I would have been better of buying an IPhone case and putting it on this phone, that's how bad it was.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/19/2015 7:22:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 not worth it
Pros: Nice texture for easy gripping. Protects the screen. Nice window on the front for easy access to some apps.
Cons: There is not a latch of any kind to keep the case open or shut. Replaces the back of the phone so that's one more thing you'll need to keep track of. The plastic is a little too flimsy causing the window not to line up perfectly depending on how you hold the phone. No access to the volume rocker when the case is open and folded over making it difficult to change call volume in the middle of a call. Too pricey for what it is.
Other Thoughts: I just don't see the value in this case at all. It does protect the phone so long as you are able to keep it closed. I'm amazed by the lack of quality on this case after seeing how nice the phone is, and I'm guessing there will be a redesign soon. For the price I'd expect to see a new relocated volume button on the flip cover since it's completely covering them while it's open. I'd also like to see a nicer hinge with a spring or some other method to keep it open or shut. I'm not a fan of cases that force you to replace the battery cover with the case itself either. I'd pass on this one until they fix the issues or lower the price substantially.
Reviewed By:cheschire9,5/19/2015 7:06:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cases & Covers > ASUS > ASUS Black ZenFone 2 View Flip Cover Deluxe (ZE551ML) 90AC00F0-BCV006

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: This case is a neat little flip cover with a sort of soft touch, grippy rubberized back and a window that is thin enough to allow you to use the flip cover interface on the screen when the case front is closed. It secures nicely to the phone and won't slip off easily because it actually replaces the entire removable back cover of the phone. Because of this, it also has easily accessible volume rockers and power button without increasing the profile of the phone much.

Because it's made by Asus, the volume and power buttons feel the same as the stock back cover does, but the rubberized back of the case has a much more secure grip feeling to it than the stock brushed plastic.

The ZenUI's interface when using the touch flip cover is pretty neat, allowing you to access several widgets like a flashlight, camera, and volume control settings through the front pane. The screen is pretty responsive through the thing plastic cover, not requiring much extra force over using just the screen, and also responds to double-tap to wake so you don't have to use the power button. The phone will also recognize when the front cover is opened or closed, automatically unlocking the device (if you don't have a pin or password set) and putting you on the home screen or app that you last left off on.
Cons: As far as protection goes, this doesn't do a whole lot to save you from drops or shock damage. You can think of it as the equivalent of the Apple iPad smart covers, they protect the screen but not the rest of the device. The case is pretty much just a replacement back with a folding door on the front of it. If you drop the phone on the corner or edge of the screen you're just about as likely to damage the phone as if you were using the phone without a cover.

The only real benefit besides the window pane UI is that it will protect your phone from screen damage while in a purse or pocket, but because it lacks a magnetic or snap latch, the front cover will open easily if not careful.

Unusually, I think it was an oversight that you cannot adjust the volume with the rockers when the case is opened against the back, you'll have to move the back cover out of the way if you wrap it around the back of the device to use it.

The included apps for use with the flip cover are somewhat gimmicky but some are useful. Having a watch is pretty default, and seeing notifications at a glance are nice, but the camera wasn't particularly useful. You still have to tap the screen to snap the photo, but you don't have much of a choice with focus/zoom and it simply feels awkward to use. The actual camera preview is only about an inch wide and has almost zero usable controls. You might as well open up the case and use the full screen camera, but if you have the smart cover on you'll have to take the shot through the window, which causes some glare and haziness in your photos.
Other Thoughts: It's not a bad case, and the material isn't bad to look at, it's just a little cheap for the price. I find that having the window-pane UI is more of a gimmick than useful, but it's up to personal preference and whether or not you want a manufacturer made case for your device.
Reviewed By:Fluffy,5/19/2015 6:59:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.