Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Honor > Honor 5X - Metal body, Fingerprint sensor, 5.5 Inch, 1080p FHD Display, 4G LTE, Unlocked GSM Smartphone - USA Warranty - 16GB Gray

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Screen, Needs Marshmallow
Pros: Screen is good, body and construction seem solid.
Fingerprint reader is really nice! Very cool feature and works extremely well.
Cons: Desperately needs Android 6. Going back to 5 after using android 6 on a nexus is like going back to 2012.
Other Thoughts: It is a large phone. Even for a big hand its hard to reach the whole screen with your thumb. That is a matter of personal prefernce so didn't take off for that.
+1 for fingerprint reader
-1 for Android 5
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 4:02:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > ZTE > ZTE AXON Unlocked Smartphone, 32GB Storage 2GB RAM, 5.5" Blue Color (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Near premium phone, below premium pricing
Pros: This devices comes preinstalled with very little bloatware. Almost none. There's some pre-installed apps: RockMyRun, Yahoo Sports, Argus step counter/fitness app, etc. All of which can be uninstalled. Then there's the "Z-screen". Swipe up from the bottom center to see currently/last played music, your favorite contacts, Argus's steps taken, and recent news provided by Yahoo sports. You can configure this to be available from the main screen, from all screens, or from no screens. I disabled this after a week or two and haven't missed it.

The phone comes with a nice pair of JBL earbuds. Which is good, because you will need them in order to use the phone for talking. See my negative below.

The rear camera is very nice. I'm not going to compare it to any professional cameras, but it takes very good pictures in adequate light or daylight. It is average in low light. One much touted feature of this phone is the dual camera sensors in the back. One prime capability of the second sensor is to take pictures with bokeh, you change the focal point and different parts of the picture blur. It's ok, but not something I found myself using after I finished testing it.

The processor in this device is up to the task, performing well in all but the biggest (and probably least efficiently written) apps. This is likely because of the 2GB RAM. Again, not a problem in the vast majority of my usage. And I only have had the device hang two or three times and crash just once.
Cons: My biggest complaint is when using this device as a phone. I know, something fewer and fewer people seem to do. ZTE has decided to make triangles the theme of this device. The bottom of the phone has a grill of triangles, behind which is the phone's voice receiver. The top has a matching grill of triangles. Somewhere behind it is the phone's earpiece. When I talk on the phone I have a really hard time lining up the earpiece with my ear. Often I start out fine, but then if I shift even the slightest the sound gets muffled. Getting it lined back up and holding it there has proven to be a challenge. Maybe it's just me. But if I'm making a call I will always grab those JBL headphones mentioned above and use them. If I receive a call I cross my fingers and hope it's short, or grin and bear it, and often eventually ask the caller to hold so I can grab my headphones.

There's no storage memory expansion on this device. Many in a similar range have the capability, but not all do. Still, if it's important to you you'll want to look elsewhere.

The notification on the lock screen is a little annoying. It only shows the most recent notification. Under that it shows how many other notifications you have, but you have to double tap that notification to see all notifications. Why???

The back & apps "buttons" are pretty small. I often miss the back button.

And a minor complaint: the charging port is on the bottom. It's a personal preference, but I prefer it on the top.

It comes with Android Lollipop, and although there are old promises on the web that it will be upgraded we're approaching June 2016 with no sign of progress on that front.
Other Thoughts: This device is the version with 2GB RAM. The "Pro" model has 4GB. I found 2GB to be plenty adequate but when comparing to other devices it's important to note the distinction.

I would definitely recommend this phone to someone looking for an Android device in this price range. So don’t misinterpret the rest of my comments. With that out of the way:

Honestly, I have had a mixed relationship with this device. It's almost all been good - and the bad I cannot really hold against the phone. I blame Google for 95% of my frustrations. I placed this discussion here in my concluding comments under Other Thoughts on purpose. I'm not listing this as a negative and not holding these against the device because I don't believe they're the fault of the manufacturer - although I'm not always 100% certain. In some cases when I've raised these concerns to Android friends, they've said I was using it wrong. However, when I gave them the device they had to agree they couldn't find a way to get over whatever hurdle I was currently facing. Many of them use premium Android phones where the manufacturer has sunk a lot of money into making their own apps.

Two specific examples: First, putting this phone into complete silent mode is impossible, or just shy of impossible. Even getting it to stop vibrating is extremely frustrating. Some of it is the fault of individual apps. Some is Android. I turned down all 4 (yes 4!) volume rockers and the phone vibrates for just about everything. Even though I've turned off vibrate in settings and for each apps' notifications settings, there are some apps that still cause the device to vibrate. And the phone will go into vibrate mode when you turn the volume down all the way - again, even though I turned off vibrate in settings!?! If you turn the volume all the way down, and then turn it down one more time, the ringer will go silent and not vibrate, but not all apps honor this. There are people on the web who will tell you the phone has a silent mode, but it's many steps long and you need to schedule it in advance. Ok (I guess) for sleeping, but not great when, for example, you walk into a movie and want to quickly get it to silent without remembering all of the settings and steps. I end up turning off my phone, which I really prefer not to do.

Second example is with the stock texting/messaging app: If more than two people are in a text/MMS message - there is no way to see all of the people who are on the message. I asked multiple Android users to prove me wrong and they couldn't. In this case I'm not positive if this fault lays with Android or ZTE. All phones I've compared to do not have this problem, but they also had their own specially branded messaging app created by the phone manufacturer. I know there are plenty of options out there in the google play store (and yes I'm begrudgingly using one now). But I really feel for basic phone functionality I shouldn't have to dig through 100s of available apps and try to determine which actually work vs which are junk, and then decipher which have the least amount of intrusive ads and the least risk of stealing my personal info.

This is my first experience with Android Lollipop and it has not been good. There's a lot of Android apologists out there who gloss over the issues I've run into. Thankfully there's also plenty of people to help get through the pains. If you've used Android and like it then you can take all of this with a grain of salt and know that you'll be fine. Personally, I find both iOS and Windows Phone to be a more enjoyable experience.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2016 8:20:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32 GB Aluminium LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow!
Pros: Fast/beautiful.
Loudest phone when listening to music and audio books.
usb c charging is awesome.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Best phone I have ever owned. No cons all pros.
Reviewed By:Kyle T.,5/23/2016 8:54:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy Note 5 N920G 32GB 4G LTE Silver Unlocked GSM Octa-Core Phone 5.7" 4GB RAM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointing experience with this purchase. Waste of time and money. Stay away from it.
Pros: None
Cons: Not unlocked
No support for the phone
Other Thoughts: It was sold as unlocked. But it was not. Very dissappointed. Called and sent an email to newegg customer service. No solution. I can not even use the phone, still waiting for unlock code. Please do not buy if you are looking for unlocked phone.
Reviewed By:Baterdene Y.,5/23/2016 11:22:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Microsoft > Microsoft Lumia 950 XL RM-1116 32GB 4G LTE White Dual SIM Unlocked Cell Phone 5.7" 3GB RAM US Unlocked

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 best Windows phone
Pros: fast processor, outstanding pictures, usb-c charging
Cons: none found yet
Other Thoughts: anyone wanting to try Windows 10 on a phone needs this one
Reviewed By:William T.,5/22/2016 7:39:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > SAMSUNG > Samsung Galaxy S7 Unlocked Smart Phone, 5.1" AMOLED Display, Black Color, 32GB Storage 4GB RAM International version - No US Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best phone I've ever seen so far
Pros: The colors of the screen are superb
The phone is fast and doesn't get hot with the same games/apps I was using on my Galaxy S5
Smaller size than the Galaxy S5 but with the same screen size
Great overall build quality
Android Marshmallow gives you a bunch of new possibilities (especially managing apps)
Has micro sd slot
The camera is the best I've seen on a phone so far
A lot of other Pros, that you can see on youtube..
Cons: I've been using it a while, and I didn't put any protector on my screen since it's a new kind of gorilla glass.. There are no scratches so far, however, i have some stains like from my fingers that i can see only under a specific angle under a bright light, and they don't go away.. I didn't try to clean the screen with any kind of screen cleaning stuff, but come on! Something like this shouldn't happen.
Other Thoughts: The first thing I saw on the box was the "North America Use Only " ( or Americas Use Only) label. Don't be scared about this. You have to make calls with your Canadian Carrier (I use koodo) on a total length of 5 minutes or more to be able to go somewhere else in the world, and put another sim card. So if you are planning to buy a sealed phone for some of your friends that live in Europe, make sure you make a call of 5 minutes or more before you transport your phone there.
Reviewed By:Constantin T.,5/22/2016 7:29:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Honor > Honor 5X - Metal body, Fingerprint sensor, 5.5 Inch, 1080p FHD Display, 4G LTE, Unlocked GSM Smartphone - USA Warranty - 16GB Gold

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very satisfied so far
Pros: I ordered this as a backup phone using T-mobile prepaid service. I have found myself using this phone more than my primary phone a couple of weeks into having it. The phone feels solid and steady in hand. It does not feel cheap at all. Voice is quality is very good. Internet browsing and light games like Clash of Clans run great. I like the backside fingerprint reader a lot. Put your finger on it and it turns on the screen and lets you in. This is a big deal for me because on Samsung S6 you have to push the home button to turn on the screen BEFORE the fingerprint reader on it takes effect, and if the screen is not locked yet, you have to swipe the screen to get in. On Honor 5x, you just put your finger on the fingerprint reader regardless of the situation.
Cons: Camera is not as good as on Galaxy S6. $200 vs $500 phone comparison though.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for the terrific review. We believe that for the price, the 5X can compete with a lot of phones. It's great to hear about everything you love regarding the 5X. (DM)

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/22/2016 7:03:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Honor > Honor 5X - Metal body, Fingerprint sensor, 5.5 Inch, 1080p FHD Display, 4G LTE, Unlocked GSM Smartphone - USA Warranty - 16 GB Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great phone
Pros: build quality, os stability, high end phone function
Cons: not as good as other 1300 meg pix camera
Other Thoughts: Many reviewers consider the price on this phone is one of the pros. this is true, but today i review this phone wont based on its price.
i also have a samsung s7 edge. so im gonna compare them. am i crazy? why i compare the $800 phone with this $200 phone? like i said earlier, today i would ignore the price, comparing these two phones' use experience.
this phone is a real solid phone, the metal body is just comfortable to hold. unlike the s7 edge, which feels VERY uncomfortable in hand. yes, very uncomfortable. i know many tech website stated the s7 edge is comfortable, but its not. i dont know if they get pay or afraid to say the true, maybe its true for them. for me, its just not. so the holding feeling is MUCH better in the X5. btw, the screen on s7 is very easy to break, mine broke the glass from 2 feet high, screen still functional, just look ugly after the drop. x5 drop twice so far, haven't had a single scratch on it.
the OS. the X5 only has simple function apps build in, but interface is very clear, never like s7 edge has many app repeat google. the most important thing is the os stable,during 2 months use, i have never has one single freeze on X5, but happen many times in S7. i know samsung use many high end component in their phone, but software makes it terrible. they has money to try hard sell their own stuff line, so that they can become #1, but it seems never happen if keep doing this---- malware, unstable os, and now today samsung's restrict are even stronger than apple. those smaller company based on they dont have enough money and time to invente their own os, makes them focus on their own specific area, getting better and better.
x5 has most function that we can found in high end phone, like expansion memory , finger print sensor, hd screen, ect. not the best in the market, but do the job
the camera in x5 is 1300 meg pix, but still can not match the qualty in other hight end phones like s7, specific in low light condition. but you know the s7 is mainly ad on its camera, so i would understand s7 is surely winer here on its camera. but x5 still not just as good as other good camera phone.
so far, everyone in my sister's company are using it, they totally purchased 20+ on amazom.
based on their experience, i place 2 orders in newegg since it has free sd. and then my anti , uncle asked me ordered another 2 for them. and 1 hour ago, they asked me to order one more for her sister.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for the detailed review, Xuxianruan. Your feedback is very much appreciated. (DM)

Reviewed By:xuxianruan r.,5/22/2016 12:05:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > BLU > Blu Studio One Plus S0130UU 4G LTE Grey Unlocked GSM Dual-SIM Octa-Core Phone 5.5"

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Bang for the Buck!!!
Pros: Fast A9 processor with 64bit architect. Dual band 2.5 and 5g Wifi connection. Some bloatware, but not excessive as in other phones. Excellent sound through headphones and blue tooth, but phone speaker sounds best with vocals ie speaker phone and notifications, has an aluminum body and Gorilla glass 3 for the display.
Cons: Poor 5g wifi reception. You have to be in the same room as the router, but it is fast when it connects. The 2.5g works wonderfully and gets excellent reception anywhere in the house.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this phone as a middle line phone.
Reviewed By:James T.,5/21/2016 7:48:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Cell Phones - Unlocked > Huawei > Nexus 6P 32 GB Matte Gold LTE Unlocked Smartphone (North America Warranty)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great service and a great product
Pros: Very easy to setup and great functionality.
Cons: Camera bulge looks little bit odd
Manufacturer Response:Hello Anonymous, thank you for choosing the Nexus 6P. We appreciate your feedback. (ED)

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/20/2016 1:27:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.