Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > Sony Mobile > Sony Xperia Z3 Compact D5803 Orange 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.5GHz 16GB Unlocked GSM 20MP Camera Phone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Smart Phone I've Ever Owned
Pros: Thin, fast, stylish, price, compact!!!
I didn't get this from NE, but instead directly from Sony at the time. I was looking for a phone that would replace my iphone 5s. The 5s was the perfect size for me, and whenever I went into stores to check out other smart phones I was turned off by how huge they were getting.

Enter the Z3 Compact! Only slightly larger than the 5s it was still definitely better than the other options out there. Being a fan of Sony in other departments I decided to take the plunge. The only way to get this phone was online, and online was accompanied by many many reviews. There was a major con around the time I was purchasing about the screen cracking itself! Thankfully after almost a year of ownership I can say this did not happen to me at all and I've even dropped it a few times. So don't worry too much about that, or if you do, buy a protection plan. Sony had a decently priced one.

The phone has the exact same specs as its big brother, the "big" Z3, except the screen resolution is 720p. For a compact phone this is perfect and actually makes the phone run faster in certain applications and games because it doesn't have to render higher resolution graphics.

This phone is sleek, really thin, even with some cases you can get for it. I like this, I hate bulging pant pockets.

The battery life is great on this phone too, lasts me all day and I look at it a lot. I'm sure it would be even better if I utilized some of the battery saving features it offers. On the side is an incredibly handy charging dock port. I highly recommend this accessory, its a bit over priced for what it is, but it has become invaluable to me as getting to the normal micro usb charging port requires opening a flap... a flap you say? Why a flap?

This phone is supposedly water proof and dust proof! That's awesome, although I'm too scared to fully submerge it and have no need for underwater pictures. Alas, I can still take it out in the rain without any worry. It's fun getting odd looks as my phone gets splashed with water while everyone else is trying their best to protect them.

The 21mp camera is nice and crystal clear. Very easy to take photos too as the phone has a dedicated shutter button on the side in the perfect spot. The 4k video is fun to use as well, and I even toyed around with some of the camera games it has (augmented reality!)

I've also used the PS4 remote play feature and it's a little touchy, but definitely works. I'm sure the bigger Z3 might be slightly better for this as the screen size, although decent, simply might look better on the bigger brother.

On a final note, the sound is also very good, and loud. The Walkman App (relabeled Music recently) is well made. I generally push my music to other sources via bluetooth or headphones. Sounds great over those as well.
Cons: There is only one con I can think of, and when you get a case for this phone it becomes much less of a worry. The front and back are both glass. This is where earlier reviews for the phone were reporting most of its problems, the front or back plates would crack seemingly on their own. Again I've not had this problem at all after owning it for nearly a year. I have a case for it, and I have dropped it quite a few times. If I didn't have a case I might drop it more often as its "slippery".

Might be a con for some but the USB charging port (as well as micro sd, and sim card) is behind a flap to keep the phone water proof. If you use the amazing charging dock accessory this won't be an issue, but I've found opening it to not be very hard and doesn't bother me much when I have to use it.
Other Thoughts: The perfect phone for me and others who want a high-end, high-performance phone with many features while remaining compact in size!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/3/2015 6:54:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I am very impressed with the Zenfone 2
Pros: I am usually a tightwad (self-titled) when it comes to buying smartphones and I have owned a lot of budget phones. The best budget smartphone I owned was the Moto E but even that had it's limitations of storage, speed, camera functions, and longevity. I thought it was time to move up from the budget to mid-range bracket when the last phone met an early death (fell 14" and the ear speaker stopped working - even with a rugged shock absorbing case).

I always research before I buy anything and the Zenfone 2 was no exception. The professional and customer reviews of the Zenfone 2 were some of the best for this bracket and Newegg had the best price. On with the Pros...

Can you say, "Unlocked"? This is one of the best options ever in my opinion and is a deal breaker otherwise.

The processor (2.3GHz Intel Z3580) is impressive to me for this price range. The benchmarks for it are up there with the Snapdragon 800 series (Galaxy S5) although it isn't as powerful as the Exynos 7420 processor (Galaxy S6) but hey, that requires forking out another $380.00 or more, so I am beyond satisfied.

64GB storage is more than I have ever needed but just in case that gets filled up there is always the memory card option.

4GB RAM is great for multitasking - I can play a resource hog of a game, pause to answer the phone and while still on the phone check my email, go to the web plus have the awesome feature of going back to the game when I am done and it doesn't have to be relaunched due to insufficient RAM.

The screen is 5.5" and that is larger than I am typically used to so watching a video or reading a lot of text is easier on my eyes. Most typical video formats are supported but not Xvid or DivX. Although, I haven't tried MKV yet.

The rear-facing camera is 13MP, HDR mode, low-light mode, and with the reliable focus, every picture I have taken came out looking great! (I do use a non-stock camera app - Camera ZOOM FX).

The light for the camera flash or flashlight app is bright.

Decent battery life with apps that help manage better longevity (see Cons below).
Cons: The front-facing camera is only 5MP if you're a selfie fanatic. **shrug**

The phone is heavy and oddly shaped in comparison to other phones I have owned.

The volume buttons are located in the back, under the camera so I constantly smudge the lens while fumbling around for the volume buttons.

The major Con with this phone, isn't actually the phone, but the bloatware that comes with it... Besides the annoying multitude of Google apps that are not needed, ASUS decided to add a LOT of their own. The worst, in my opinion, is the Zen UI with all of the "smart options" and slow animations so I replaced it with Nova Launcher. There are also 3rd party apps included (some are poorly rated and/or unknown to me) and of course the ASUS version of the already included and running Google apps. (Why bother on the latter?) Fortunately, most can be uninstalled or simply disabled.

With the recent system update v.2.19... you can unlock the bootloader and remove all of the bloatware but it WILL void your warranty. Don't get me wrong, the extra bloatware doesn't slow down your phone (I did remove them and it didn't make much of a difference) but it does drain the battery much faster. Get good battery and cleaning management apps to remedy that problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I am very happy with the Zenfone 2 and will recommend to anyone that they should buy one without second thought.

~~ I will update this review after more time has passed if anything comes up.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 11:12:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No complaints
Pros: Love this phone!!! I have net10 service (ATT). I can download all the apps I have downloaded (10gig so far) I use the phone like a mini computer. I need all the apps. Finally, a phone with enough memory for me.
Voice service is excellent. Wi-Fi stay ON and wont quit. excellent Wi-Fi strength. Wait until you see how fast download and install an app is - you will freak out.
I purchased net10 micro sim card and purchased air time. You tube and news videos play flawlessly.
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: This is the perfect phone for me. I am an app freak. I want all the apps on my phone. I am constantly running out of memory with other phones - forcing my to chose apps to uninstall
Reviewed By:N/A,7/2/2015 9:54:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Gold (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-GD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very useful and quick.
Pros: Really fast phone and keeps battery for me for almost 2 days. Screen is beautiful and very responsive, multitasking is a breeze, has super fast 4G,LTE service, works great on straight talk and other GSM carriers. my favorite thing about his phone is the double tap to wake and a lot of the asus features are pretty nifty and very useful, The GPS is really quick to pick up and very precise compared to my last 2 phones. So far it doesn't have a lot of bloat ware that i don't find useful the clean up tool that is included works pretty well (though it is ad supported) asus is keeping it up to date as well I've had it for about a month and have had 2 updates so far not for the android direct software but the asus zen ui with no changes to the functionality of the phone the sound quality is really good but not the best.
Cons: Non removable battery why it doesn't get a full 5 eggs Getting a case takes about 2 weeks from econobay is tough try not to scratch or drop the phone while you wait for one. The ones that asus offers should be included with the phone when you buy it makes no sense to offer something like that for a no contract phone and not just charge a bit extra for including it with the phone or at least include a screen protector.
Other Thoughts: For the price and what you get its pretty unbeatable a 3 dollar screen protector should still be included with it tho. I would recommend a kickstand/fly grip for this phone it helps in keeping it more firmly in your hand since the back is curved it slides a bit more easily.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/1/2015 8:00:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > LG Mobile > LG G2 D800 Black 3G 4G LTE Quad-Core 2.26GHz, 32GB AT&T Unlocked GSM Android Cell Phone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Mine was Great for 1 year
Pros: Fast, big slightly rounded screen, and big battery.
Cons: Battery life sucker good think it's big to start with. Battery ages quickly and processor ages quickly. It started out running great, but then it slowed down. I then got the newer version of andriod and it kind of brought some life back. Quickly though it seemed like my phone kept becoming more and more sluggish. One year in I wanted to do a factory reset and it caused the phone to stop working completely. I guess you get everything I wanted from day one, but day 365 it becomes almost worthless. I will try a new android install and see if it brings some life back.
Other Thoughts: Android OS gets old fast and unless your getting a new phone every six months I would stay away from them. Windows is surprising good, but the apps are very spotty. Apple is my favorite and there is a reason why their phones are still worth hundreds of dollars even after a few years of wear and tear.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2015 1:03:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Black (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-BK), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good phone for a good price
Pros: Excellent phone in the most of the aspects; Fast, stylish, nice specs, price.
Cons: The battery (just a little, but charge fast) and the camera is disappointing, it shoots fast but photo quality is quite poor, but OK if you're someone who does not care too much for photos.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/28/2015 2:08:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Upgrade
Pros: Performance
Price
Display
Battery Life
Cons: Compatibility
Only 5.0
Other Thoughts: Generally an amazing phone with no real downside as far as my use is concerned. Only one small downside: compatibility and older OS. Starbucks app can't display the reward page and TimePlay doesn't work at all. Perhaps this is a side effect of the Atom processor? All other apps work amazing.
Reviewed By:Tim,6/28/2015 1:36:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Red (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-RD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 BEWARE DOES NOT WORK ON AT&T 4G LTE
Pros: Great Device SUPER FAST but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network.
Cons: Great Device but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network. After over a week and 15+ calls they said there is nothing they can do about it. All IMEM for zenfone2 do not register as 4g in their system so you only het h+ and 3g speeds and they are REALLY SLOW.
Other Thoughts: Great Device but ATT does not allow it on their 4g lte network. After over a week and 15+ calls they said there is nothing they can do about it. All IMEM for zenfone2 do not register as 4g in their system so you only het h+ and 3g speeds and they are REALLY SLOW.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Anthony D.,

Thank you for choosing ASUS products. We apologize for this inconvenience and would like to assist. In regards to AT&T 4G/LTE issue, we recommend to set up a SIM card on a locked AT&T IMEI device then swap the SIM cards to your ZenFone 2 to get the 4G icon/speeds.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me directly at cl-frank@asus.com with case # N150680723 in the subject line.


Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:N/A,6/26/2015 10:46:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Silver (ZE551ML-18-2G16GN-SR), 5.5", Intel 1.8GHz, 2G Ram, 16GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 pa
Pros: I do not recomed it too many issues
Cons: phone turns on & off itseft battery wont last long 4g/ lTE issues
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,

We want to thank you for choosing ASUS products. We value your feedback and would like to improve your experience with ASUS products.

Please note only 2.3GHz plus 4G ram (ZE551ML)" is bundled with 18W adapter, while other spec bundled with 7W adapter will require longer charge.

To help improve battery life please check if 'Wifi Scanning always available' is turned off. To do this go to Apps/Settings/WiFi Settings/Advance Settings(menu in upper right corner)/Scanning always available/ turn Off.
Please also see ZenUI app called ASUS Support/Assistance/Battery/Battery drains fast. If still no improvement with battery then we recommend updating the firmware to the latest version. After firmware is applied we recommend performing a hardware reset including wipe cache partition. For hardware reset/wipe cache partition instructions please see the following: http://www.asus.com/us/support/FAQ/1011956/

In regards to AT&T 4G/LTE issue, we recommend to set up a SIM card on a locked AT&T IMEI device then swap the SIM cards to your ZenFone 2 to get the 4G icon/speeds.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me direct at cl-frank@asus.com with case # N150680864 in the subject line.

For ASUS Zenfone 2 FAQ, please see - http://www.asus.com/us/Phones/ZenFone_2_ZE551ML/HelpDesk_knowledge/


Sincerely,
Frank
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:pa,6/24/2015 3:50:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Cell Phones - Unlocked > ASUS > Asus Zenfone 2 - Gold (ZE551ML-23-4G64GN-GD), 5.5", Intel 2.3GHz, 4G Ram, 64GB Storage, North America Warranty

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Phone - Good Service
Pros: Dual sim cell phone. Nice OS. Feels good in hand.
Cons: Battery life is one day. Second sim port is 2g only.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a good dual sim phone, this is a great option.
Newegg service was great & delivery was faster than promised!
Reviewed By:Shaner,6/24/2015 12:00:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.