Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Should have done this sooner
Pros: Free phone service if you have high speed internet and Google voice. Connecting the hardware was easy setting up service was little more difficult but mostly my fault. Make sure you have a phone number already set up on google. Then follow the instructions and log in with your google email on Obihai website.
Cons: Haven't made many phone calls yet so hard to say if dropped calls or voice quality will be a problem.
Other Thoughts: Should have done this sooner. Will save me a lot of money when I get rid of my monthly phone bill for my landline.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/25/2014 1:44:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Say Goodbye To Phone Bills
Pros: Easy to set up and works /sounds great. The unit is small and clean looking. Just as Shawn stated below, make sure to revert back to the old Google Talk (just a click of a button) from the new Hangouts. Then go into your settings at google.com/voice, go to forwarding phones and check the Google Talk box.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Mike D,12/25/2014 9:24:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Keep buying these
Pros: These Obi200's are fantastic. I'm now on my 3rd one, giving one away as a gift. I've read they sometimes burn out. Since I use it daily, I went ahead and bought a spare for less than the cost of a month of a single line of phone service.
Cons: It's a little fiddly to set up, especially if you're using a brand new Google account. You'll need to change chat from the new hangouts to the old chat style so it shows up in Google Voice.
Other Thoughts: By using the web admin menu, it's possible to set multiple incoming Google Voice numbers with distinctive rings.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 5:55:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple FREE Monthly Internet Phone Service Using Google Voice
Pros: It's tough to beat FREE calling in all of North America for which this little gadget can be the gateway. Physically installing this device was as simple as connecting the power, plugging it into a CAT-5 port on my Internet router and connecting a phone. A simple phone call from the device to ObiTALK quickly registered it on their network. Prior to installing my OBi200 I logged into Google, selected and registered a Google Voice line.

Logging into www.obitalk.com enabled me to quickly register and configure my free Google Voice line to work with this device. After everything was registered, I connected the phone jack of my Obi200 to my residential PBX (private branch exchange) as if it were an ordinary analog phone line. That made my Google Voice VoIP line accessible from any phone in my home. All of my connections have been as clear as any of my regular landlines but a heck of a lot less expensive with no monthly charges.

If this device were to die, it comes with a one-year replacement warranty, so even if I had to replace this gadget every year it would still be less expensive than any alternative phone service that I've been able to find. The instructions caution NOT to plug the OBi200 into a regular powered phone line which can have as much as 90 volts on it. That could fry the innards of this device. Presumably if someone registered a US area code while in the USA, then took this overseas and established an Internet connection there, any calls to the USA would also be free. I haven't tried that but know of someone who has.
Cons: None found yet.
Reviewed By:Lewis in Princeton,12/23/2014 3:22:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy setup
Pros: Easy to setup
Cons: Not so far, but the power cable is a little short and hard to find a power outlet.
Other Thoughts: Finally get ride of ATT's ripoff.
Reviewed By:JACK.Z,12/22/2014 10:27:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 VOIP made easy
Pros: Great device, very useful. Obi has simplified setting up Google Voice as a VOIP provider and it's easy enough to set up other providers as well. I've been using the Obi110 for almost two years, and this Obi200 is also great! One advantage of the Obi200 is that anyone can make calls to it via the web using a web-capable browser such as Chrome using the "green button" from Obi's web site.
Cons: To give this product the 5th star, Obihai really has to fix the iOS ObiON app and the Android app as well, so they can be used to reach Obi devices. The apps have been languishing for years, and the iOS app has been unusable since iOS 8 was released.
Reviewed By:NourishingStone,12/21/2014 6:04:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice device but no App for iOS 8
Pros: Simple device that can save some money for phone connection
Google voice support (as of now - not sure if it would continue to work for ever)
Multiple lines configuration
Call quality (my internet bandwidth is >50Mbps)
Cons: No App for iOS8. Apparently, OBi does not care to fix it
No clear commitment for Google voice support
Reviewed By:CM,12/21/2014 5:41:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > netTALK > netTALK DUO VOIP Telephone free USA and Canada Calling

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No problems at all!
Pros: Easy to set up. I just plugged it in and followed the included instructions and I had a working phone in less than 15 minutes. I have also never had one problem with this phone line not working. There is no drag or echo. Keep in mind I have google fiber internet so it is very fast but the line is clear and has no problems.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I am very glad I made this purchase for my 10 year old. She had been wanting a cell phone but I just don't see the need for her to have one. This was a good compromise, and she really like it.
Reviewed By:brilliance,12/19/2014 12:41:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 finally i have free phone calls!!!!!
Pros: great small device
easy setup
Can pick different providers but google voice is free!!!
so far still no problems!!
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 5:55:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI100 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Take that phone company
Pros: I will assume most of you that are looking at this product you know what it is and what it does, however if you do not it is a small box that allows you to use SIP telephone service with the analogue phones in your home or small office. Why would you want to do this? Maybe you are like my folks and still have a land line since they do not have reliable cell phone coverage in there area. Maybe you have a cell phone but don’t want to rely on it in a minor emergency when it is pretty much guaranteed that the cell network will go down. Or maybe you just like having a house phone but don’t like that the phone company makes you pay $50 for any service at all.

If so then this is GREAT product, assuming you have some technical knowledge and patience to get it set up. In my case my folks are looking to get away from their telco provided land line for which they have to pay $60 a month and extra for long distance calls (a disgusting business practice but this is not the space for such rants…). I have them set up with a reliable internet connection and a solid router that I can configure QoS on so they have the basic requirements covered. I’ve been getting them used to using Google Voice on their PC with a headset I bought them, so the idea of making internet calls is no longer strange to them either.

The harder part of installing this was getting an ethernet cable to the best place for the Obihai box, as it does not have wifi. To be honest this may be a pain in installation but for something like this it is for the best, as a hard wire eliminates a lot of potential problems for such a device. Once I got the ethernet in place, I connected the phone port on the OBI100 to a wireless handset so they can get used to the service and make sure they don't have any problems.

Getting things set up was not as smooth as I would have liked, but after trying 4-5 times through their website I was able to get the device added to the Obihai dashboard. I honestly am not sure what made it take so many tries, it may have been some browser plug ins or not but after about 10 minutes of trying it was accessible and I could add the service. Adding the google voice service was very easy, as I just used a gmail account with google voice already configured and that was it.

The device itself has a pretty solid web UI which I used to update the firmware and change the default password, which all went smoothly. I then went into their router and gave the device top QoS priority so that they can have calls going which they are streaming Netflix or doing anything else that might use a lot of bandwidth. That was it, and they have been using it for a few weeks with no problems, and say the voice quality is great. The next thing to do will be to add another SIP service that has E911 so that they can then cancel their existing voice service.

In short, a great product that will save them a lot of money. Definitely recommended if your phone company is gouging you.
Cons: As I said above I had some issues getting the box added to the Obihai dashboard which was pretty frustrating but resolved after about 10 minutes. Also I would not recommend this to someone with little or no technical knowledge, as it is close to plug and play but might be a problem for some.
Other Thoughts: I like this box, and will probably pick one up for myself just so I have an option at home instead of my cell. If you use google voice its basically the cost of the box for free in home phone service, so whats not to like?

1 egg off for config frustration but aside from that a good product.

Also I will update this review after I get the box set up with a second SIP service for E911.
Reviewed By:frostyman,12/16/2014 2:13:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.