Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap reliable phone service
Pros: Great set up and now no more expensive home phone. Using with phonepower in Canada $60US a year includes North America calls and hardly anything for international. Able to port phone number across no issues. Much more configurable than the plain old telephone - voicemail to email, softphone when travelling, easy call forwarding etc.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Robin T.,5/20/2016 2:46:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ooma is a huge disappointment
Pros: Really nothing positive to say (read other reviews on the Internet). Thought it would enable free phone service after buying the device. In reality it is more expensive than many other options.
Cons: Bought the Ooma device, and noticed it wanted a credit card to activate. You are forced to sign up for the premium service for $10 a month, and no way to opt out before activation. It is advertised as "Free" phone service, but in reality the supposed "Taxes" you pay are more than double the cost of Magicjack, and more than many other voip options. Ooma does not tell you up front about the nearly $5 a month tax fees that you don't have to pay with Magicjack. I think Ooma owners should consider a class action suit, because this was supposedly a free to use device in the past. Ooma won't give you a breakdown of these "Taxes", and they are apparently paid to Ooma, not directly to local government. Absolutely terribe device and service, wish I had never ordered it...
Other Thoughts: Very poor customer service. They were unable to explain the tax breakdown, why they charged these fees when Magicjack does not, and essentially could not answer any of the questions I had. They could not tell me why there is no way to opt out of the premier service that costs $10 a month. If you read reviews on the Internet apparently many people have had to cancel their credit card in order to stop these automatic payments since they found it impossible to get Ooma to stop charging them. It reeks of a scam to me.
Reviewed By:Jon T.,5/12/2016 11:46:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I have 1 no work
Pros: Can you change me pls
Cons: Can you change me pls
Other Thoughts: Can you change me pls
Reviewed By:imad j.,4/26/2016 5:39:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > ooma > Ooma OOMATELO2 Free VoIP Home Service (Telo 2)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 OOMA Telo 2 Experience
Pros: Easy to setup. Call quality to other OOMA users was exceptional.
Cons: For me, the service has been totally unreliable/inconsistent.
Other Thoughts: Based on recommendations of friends that are successfully using OOMA service, I purchased a TELO 2 and took delivery in the first week of March 2016.

I’ve not posted a review prior to this as I believe a customer should give a company an honest chance to “make things right” when there are problems. Well, if they can’t get it right after close to two months, it’s time to say something.

It’s now the end of April and I have yet to have consistent/reliable service. I can dial the same number 5 times and the call “might” go through once. The other times I: 1) get dead silence, 2) get a message that says I’m not allowed to make long distance calls when the number I’m calling is in the same area code as my number, 3) have been joined into other people’s calls. Yes, I could hear both sides of a conversion in a foreign language, 4) get a recorded message that says “one, two, three, four”. Could you imagine having to rely on this if I had to make a 911 call? Forget it!!!

I’ve been working with OOMA’s 3rd level Technical Support now for pretty much the whole time that I’ve owned it (I’m a very patient person). But my patience is wearing thin.

OOMA has tried replacing the hardware. That didn’t fix it. They’ve made carrier routing changes. That hasn’t fixed it. Then they “suggested” that maybe it’s my network. Well, that is possible except that I also have Vonage service and have never experienced a single problem with it in the 10 years that I’ve had it (no, this is not meant to be a plug for Vonage). I’ve also run specialized tests to look at network characteristics that impact VoIP performance (jitter, packet loss, MOS, etc). All test results indicate that there is no problem with my network or my Internet connection. Seeing as I have a fiber optic connection, I even tried 500Mb Down/100Mb Up bandwidth with no improvement to my OOMA service.

As I have indicated countless times to OOMA, I really, REALLY want this to work. The system has some very nice capabilities when you subscribe to their Premier Service. And when I am able to have a call go through without incident, the call quality is generally very good. And, based on my findings, when you call another OOMA user, the quality is amazingly good.

What is gnawing at me is the inability to speak with anyone in a Management position. After being as patient as I’ve been, I think I deserve the ability to discuss my experience with a member of their Management Team. Even though I’ve asked, the requests seem to fall on deaf ears.

In OOMA’s defense, they’ve recently offered to purchase the hardware back from me and reimburse me for my Premier subscription. While that’s not what I want, I might have to accept it and move back to a landline from the local phone company.

And, for those wondering, while Vonage has provided extremely reliable service, I have some reservations over the security of their system. OOMA is not totally secure either, but it appears to be better than Vonage.

It is my most sincere hope, if you decided to purchase a Telo, that you have better luck than me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/26/2016 4:06:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi202 VoIP Phone Adapter with Router – Google Voice, SIP & T.38 Fax Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It gets the job done
Pros: The product does what it says, it has many VoIP services available for a really good price & Google Voice works more than excellent for a free phone service, after setting up Google Voice with Obihai, I get great voice quality just like a landline, can setup my old school phone to work just like before but now its free. All my calls are now free & unlimited for any U.S. or Canada number (I just have to pay for internet only)
Cons: You have to be a bit tech savy to setup the product, and you need enough internet bandwidth for it to work 100% but you should be fine for the most part.
Other Thoughts: You can setup this device to make calls to and from anywhere in the planet for free, you just have to dial a U.S. or Canadian Phone number (usually by setting up Google Voice) or dial the 9 digit obihai number on the back of the device. Also, you might have to open some ports (port forwarding) in case if some things don't work right, this device is not plug n play so you will have to tinker with the settings a bit if you want it to work properly, and if you get an echo noise on your phone, you have to setup a "full duplex" on your Ethernet port (there's forums about on how to do it) to fix that. Good luck to all & trust me its a good buy to those who want to save money.
Reviewed By:someguy,4/24/2016 1:21:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great VOIP solution!
Pros: Small footprint, easy to set up. Excellent voice quality. I used PhonePower as my VOP provider, and they offered a great deal for Obihai owners.
Cons: Didn't play well with gigabit network devices, would drop speeds on the router to 100T when powered on. I put my gigabit devices on a separate switch, and that resolved the problem. I have the Obihai adapter plugged directly into my router, and it will affect WiFi speeds in the same way, but that is negligible because of the slower WiFi speed anyhow. I had the extra switch, and knew I'd probably need to put it into service, so it wasn't that much of a problem.
Other Thoughts: Not really an Obihai issue, but I had to get a new phone # when signing up with PhonePower, as they could not transfer my C-cast line. Dropping the voice service from C-cast was a priority for me, as that allowed me to get a better cable modem. The PhonePower cost was $60 for a year, and I got the Obihai on sale from NewEgg for $34. Changing my C-cast service allowed me to double my internet speeds and reduce my monthly bill about the same cost as the Obihai. Within 6 months, the savings will have paid for the new equipment and service!
Reviewed By:Trevor T.,4/12/2016 11:47:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBI110 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice, SIP & Phone Line Gateway

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked well for a couple of years.
Pros: Very clear VOIP. I immediately cut the land line after using the Obi for the first time.
Cons: - Only lasted a couple of years.
- Had to periodically perform a factory reset a few times over the years.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this particular model but I will probably get another Obi device.
I think the issue is that firmware updates are not installing correctly. I don't know for certain because Obi installs them automatically and there's no indication they've occurred.
Reviewed By:Patrick P.,4/9/2016 9:10:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi202 VoIP Phone Adapter with Router – Google Voice, SIP & T.38 Fax Support

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked few months and it is dead now
Pros: Great when it is working
Cons: Bad when it is dead
Other Thoughts: i won't recommend to anyone.
Reviewed By:Abdulweli F.,4/2/2016 7:37:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy home voip solution
Pros: small footprint, easy setup, network cable included, so far good call quality
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended especially if you already use google voice
Reviewed By:Thomas A.,3/12/2016 3:42:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > VoIP > Obihai Technology, Inc. > Obihai OBi200 VoIP Telephone Adapter with Google Voice & SIP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent!
Pros: - Works with little configuration.
- Supports Google Voice.
-Excellent Call Quality.
Cons: - None So Far.
Other Thoughts: - Google voice took a bit of time to work well, but i think it was my router, after i opened some ports needed did not have any issues after it.
Reviewed By:Freddy G.,3/5/2016 10:52:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.