Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView 4MP IP Security System 6 Cameras 16 Channel NVR with 4K Output H.265 Codec, 6 x Full HD 4MP Bullet Day / Night In / Outdoor Weather Proof Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic system!
Pros: I have been 'thinking' about a camera system for a couple of years but the resolution was just not that great. I want to be able to be able to clearly see license tags from the house. We have had some minor vandalism recently and the police said that they couldn't help us. He said that there we no cameras in our area so he wouldn't know where to start. He said we should seriously consider some cameras - Good ones. That's exactly what this system has. Great cameras. 4MP images. These are exactly what I was waiting for. They are IP cameras with POE so they are as easy as it gets for setting up. I am an IT specialist so the NVR was extremely easy to install. It provides its own small network for up to 16 cameras and it supplies all of the power over the CAT5e wiring to the cameras. I didn't have to buy an extra POE switch - it was built in.

We mainly wanted the system for security but we occasionally monitor the door. I run the NVR as a headless system. I have a the HDMI output connected over a long cable to our TV. It's actually a RedMere 50' active HDMI cable. I have the mouse connected over an active USB extension cable. This puts the mouse on the table with our remote.

The Android interface works great. I have checked up on the house several times this past week and I haven't had any of the glitches that I have read about with competitors systems. It works fine for me. The entire system was packaged very, very well and double boxed. Even though the outer box had some damage and was torn, the inner box and all of the equipment was just fine.

There are only 6 cameras with this system and I found out quickly that I needed 8 just to cover the outside of the house. I don't know if I am going to put any inside - that seems sort of creepy.

I couldn't be happier - unless it had 8 cameras. Guess I'll just need to save up for them. They are definitely worth the price difference over 1080 cameras.
Cons: The only problem I had were the thumb screws used to hold the small sun shields on the camera. They are very short and painted to match the camera/hood but the paint on their threads made a couple of them difficult to get back in where they would hold the hood securely. I replaced two of them with philip head screws that I had laying around. No biggee.
Other Thoughts: If you have been thinking about a camera/system then by all means take a look at this one. It is great.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Randolph,

Thank you so much for choosing out product. We are really happy that our product can help! If you need assistance in fine tuning or adding cameras, please feel free to contact us. Here is our support site: http://www.laviewsecurity.com/contact
We have hotline, email and live chat available.

Best,
LaView team

Reviewed By:Randolph C.,9/25/2016 5:29:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 4MP PoE IP Camera Security System, 4 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 2K Output, 4x 4MP Full HD (2560x1440) H.265 In/Outdoor PoE IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A major step forward in resolution for consumer cameras
Pros: Resolution and contrast of these cameras are way better than other surveillance cameras I've used. Installation is simplified by the fact these cameras are Power over Ethernet (PoE) so they get their power directly from the DVR over the 100' cat5E cables included. The cables include a nifty weatherproof connector for the cable at the camera end; discard the screw-on cover in the camera box, the one you use is already on the cable.
I have not had a chance to check out all the features of the DVR software, but features I have looked for have been easy to find and use.
My use of Q-See support was easy and resulted in a quick fix for the problem I had.
Cons: None that I can think of. I plan to grab a 4K TV on sale to see if I can better read license plates of cars - I've had occasion to call police for incidents in my parking lot and have been told if they cannot get a plate number, the video is of no use to them. As it is, using an old LED monitor, even with these cameras, ID is iffy when the plate is oblique to the camera.
Other Thoughts: I only got around to installing cameras this week, so these are my initial impressions. I installed a 3TB Seagate surveillance HD, and had to format the drive in the DVR to get it to recognize the drive. When you open the case, the "motherboard" appears no larger than a modest video card, but hey, it seems to get the job done.
Installed the Q-See QTView app for Android from the PlayStore, but after playing with it a short while, could only get an error message about network connectivity. So I initiated a web chat with Q-See support, and hint, check the box in the DVR setup where it asks "NAT?". Fixed.
I have not yet installed the PC viewing software. I will update this review after I have used it longer.
Reviewed By:Jerome F.,9/23/2016 11:09:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 GOOD QUALITY BAD FOR OUTSIDE
Pros: VERY GOOD QUALITY
Cons: THIS CAMERAS HAS A GOOD VISION QUALITY, BUT BASE IN QUALITY FOR OUTSIDE, REALLY BAD I HAD TO EXCHANGE THE CAMARAS LIKE 6 TIMES ALREADY, EVERY FEW MONTHS THE CAMERAS GET WET, AND STOP WORKING, SO YOU HAVE TO PAID SHIPPING FOR SEND IT BACK, JUST DONT BUYED IT.
Reviewed By:ILEANA D.,9/23/2016 5:35:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P84A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 4 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 A Great System, Very Poor Support. Did Not Get What I Paid For.
Pros: . Great picture quality
. Easy to set up
. Good value
. Good mobile application
Cons: . Poor technical support
. Posted questions not responded to
. Many functions in the software not documented at all
Other Thoughts: I purchased my LaView model LV-KND988P84D231 from Newegg in June 2016.

This is a great system with OK documentation and excellent picture quality. It's not 4K but it is fine for my home. What is not good is access to features that are in the software but are not documented AND the real lack of technical support.

There is a standard for IP cameras called ONVIF that allows another manufacturers IP camera products to be used with the LaView system. The software mentions it and the system recognized the ONVIF on my network and seemed to offer a way to add the camera to the system, since I had 4 unused camera ports. So, I posted a question on the LaView website and asked for some guidance on exactly how to do it on my system. They tout this method of technical support and were to contact me within a few days. I never heard from them, so I called.

It took a while (over an hour on hold) but I finally got someone on the line. He was not really very technical but put me on hold several times. In the end, he gave me enough clues so I figured out how to add my non-LaView camera to the system. Yea, I thought a bit of a hassle but I'm in business. Not so fast. Although the camera is visible on my system, it is useless. I can see the image in "Live View" but it will not record as do the other cameras. Also, in the system, there is a way to enable a time code to be overlaid on the camera image, that too does not work. So, as suggested by LaView, I posted a question again before calling tech support. Again no reply.

So, I called again and got tech support on the line in about 20 minutes, not too bad. Again, the tech guy was not very knowledgeable and again put me on hold several time. After an hour, they told me to call the tech support for the camera manufacturer, they said it was incomparable with their system. I explained that the image I saw from the camera looked great and did not understand how I could see the image clearly, it would not record. Even more mysterious was the issue of the time stamp overlay. That overlay is imposed over the camera vide, why was it not showing up, at least in "Live View"?

I won't bore you with the details but I posted another question, as instructed, and I have not heard a reply in over a week. Guess I'll have to call again.

It is a shame. This is my 2nd LaView system, I had an analog system for 3 years and that worked well. I just don't understand their lack of support AND why they don't use the email your question first process as they state on their website. I would even respect them if they answered "We Don't Know" as a reply to the questions I post.

I paid for a system that supported ONVIF and, so far that does not work as it should.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 2:23:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-NVR104K All in One Surveillance NVR Kit w/ Pre-installed 1TB HDD, 2 x HD PoE Outdoor IP Camera

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Title is great with pre-installed hard disk and 2 HD cameras
Pros: POE switch
Cons: Cannot comment the function of the Surveillance kit as no camera now.

The seller of the market place ship the wrong item without kit. Just the POE TRENDnet switch with software CD.
I left the delivered item aside while doing house repair, without paying close attending of the box EXACT product label assuming it was correct as always from NewEgg. Since it pass the refund\return period, seller will not offer have any sympathy of my situation. Now I have to buy IP camera.
Likely I will buy other brand camera of other brand and from other seller (not Mi.. C.. Sh.p)

Not sure if I can use the switch as POE switch without using the TRENDnet software.
Will update once I got cameras to test it out.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 7:47:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 8-Channel PoE IP Surveillance System with 4 Full HD 1080p Cameras (QT868-4BC)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome system, super easy set up and install. Can't believe the video quality even at night.
Pros: I purchased this to upgrade my current Q-See system. I want more than 4 cameras and was planning on adding my existing POE IP cameras to this recorder giving me a total of 8. Friends that visit can't believe the quality and ease of use especially from our smart phones. We have both Android and iPhone and had no problems setting up either.
Cons: For some reason my existing cameras do not work with this system even though they are both POE? Older ones are only 720 but I would think this system would be backward compatible. However, for some reason they sent the QT868-6BC with 6 cameras. I'm going to use both systems for a total of 10 cameras. I didn't know it came without a hard drive. Picked up a 2TB on Newegg.com for a reasonable price, easy to install. Still overall good deal.





Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product for any one looking for a simple, low cost, high quality system.
Reviewed By:Peter B.,9/18/2016 3:56:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0708B081 - 8-Channel H.264 Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Eight 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Had to return it - didn't work support stinks
Pros: none couldn't get it to word
Cons: Was junk out of the box, and customer support is non existent.
Reviewed By:Kevin F.,9/6/2016 5:07:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 8-Channel Full HD 1080p Security System with 6 AHD 1080p Day / Night Bullet Cameras (QTH83-6CN)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good
Pros: Good
Cons: Love
Other Thoughts: Love
Reviewed By:Francisco P.,9/4/2016 4:47:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See 4MP PoE IP Camera Security System, 4 Channel H.265 NVR w/ 2K Output, 2 x 4MP Full HD (2560 x 1440) H.265 In / Outdoor PoE IP Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great 1440p camera system
Pros: - Bring your own HDD (I used a WD Purps 4 TB)
- POE (one cable to each camera)
- Plentiful NVR options (even sees SMART data from HDD)
- Great night vision through IR LEDs
- Great picture quality at day or night
Cons: - Browser uses NPAPI, something not commonly supported in most browsers (Chrome, Edge, etc.), had to download Mozilla just to see my cameras--it would be nice if QSee updated their firmware to use something more secure
Reviewed By:John C.,8/21/2016 9:30:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Surveillance Security Systems > Q-See > Q-See QTH4-4CP 4-Channel AHD Surveillance DVR with 4 x 720P Day / Night In / Outdoor Security Cameras

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great HD Surveillance
Pros: Easy to install and great video,
Cons: Android app could be better.
Other Thoughts: I should of order one that was an 8-channel.
Reviewed By:Eduardo H.,8/19/2016 7:14:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.