Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > SHIELDeye > SHIELD Series RSCM-0704B042 - 4-Channel, H.264-Level DVR Surveillance Kit + Four 700TVL Cameras - Night Vision Up to 65 Feet, Remote Viewing Supported (HDD Not Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Can’t beat the price.
Pros: Are you kidding me? The amount of stuff in the box is Unbelievable amount of stuff for the price.
I pre-read the manual before ordering, but its just as easy to set it up on a desk and go thru the menus for an hour. It is well laid out (intuitive) software. Everything works well. Its a decent entry level system.
Cons: None for the price
If you want more/better, buy more/better.
Other Thoughts: Run cameras on highest resolution “D1” @ 720x480, then adjust framerate for your storage. I am using 2 channels at 10 fps, and a 160 GB HDD will last about 9 days. These 700TLV cameras are ok for moderate sized rooms (20x20). For larger spaces, move up to a system with 1000TVL cameras (960p or 1.3MP)
Reviewed By:JP,5/22/2015 9:34:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDB8-CARQZ8ZN-1T 8 Channel H.264 DVR Kit (1TB HDD), 8 X 600TVL, 3.6mm Wide Angle Lens, 24 IR LEDs for 65ft Night Vision

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Cameras
Pros: Worked good for a few months
Cons: 3 of the outside cameras started getting like pixels in them and turned everything purple, have tried to contact Zmodo and they are very hard to contact, phone or email.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/15/2015 5:24:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5184B Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Sure
Pros: small. easy to physically set up, not expensive
Cons: difficult to interpret instructions- P2P apps don't set up easily, terms used are not clear, worked on one app for about 3 weeks, then quit for about 5 days then started working for 2 days and now has not worked for a couple weeks. I am 550 miles away, so failure is not desirable or convenient to handle. It was set up to monitor a second home. I have a K-Guard at home and works flawlessly for a year now.
Other Thoughts: I will be visiting soon and try again to port forward if it works at all, hoping it is just the P2P interface.
Manufacturer Response:Dear customer,

Thank you very much for purchasing LaView products. Our tech support team will be more than happy help to resolve P2P issue.

Our Technical Support team is available from 9 AM to 6 PM Pacific Standard Time PST, Monday through Friday. Please call our team at 626-289-4988 or email us at support@laviewusa.com.

Best,

LaView team

Reviewed By:jgcthall,5/12/2015 5:49:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1T04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 great for under 300 dollars
Pros: simple set up. I would not put the cameras in an outdoor application unless you are good at sealing the rj45 connection from weather. heat applied shrink may work. I am pleased with the system
Cons: no way to water proof rj45 connections for weather proofing
Reviewed By:steph,5/10/2015 7:04:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great system, won't be disappointed
Pros: Plug it in and the dvr finds it immediately. Can place cameras anywhere you can run a cat5 cable to.. no need for a power outlet. DVR software is easy to use but VERY advanced... depends on how much reading and learning you want to do, however the learning curve is small.
Cons: Night vision could use a little tweaking, example, if it's under an eave and the camera picks up part of the roof or side of your building, the night vision will completely illuminate off and cut off vision for the rest of the video.
Other Thoughts: Great solution, able to view with a cellphone ANYWHERE is amazing... especially when you can view it in HD. I highly recommend.
Reviewed By:Malibu Man,5/10/2015 5:30:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Have unlimited patience if you buy this
Pros: Good day time viewing, straightforward install and setup of the cams and HDD. Cheap
Cons: In 7 months of use, I've experienced:

Mouse that came with the unit doesn't work with the NVR, lights up, works with 3 PC's at home, not the NVR unit. Tried another wired mouse I had laying around...nothing. Was about to RMA the unit due to what the tech believed was a "bad mouse port" when I tried yet a third cheap wired mouse...that one works. What??? Who's ever heard of something being that picky about a mouse?

One cam had moisture/fog develop in it at about a month in. On the inside of the outer glass lens. Over a few weeks it eventually dissipated. Oh yeah, that cam was mounted indoors.

Intermittent cams going offline...no reason...back on in a few days.

Horrible NVR software interface. You go into a setting, click a change, nothing happens. No user manual or easy help within the system.

App had sporadic issues of not being able to view cams when not on home wifi. (log out of app, reboot NVR, log back in worked...but what...whyyyy???)

Email alerts just stopped being sent a few weeks ago. Go into the NVR, click "test", fail. Re enter email password info, save, reboot, nothing. Just doesn't send me alerts anymore after 6+ months of them working just fine. Test emails don't send either...nothing changed except app updates...related? Who knows

Only able to access web access to IP over Internet Explorer...so I'm told. You have to DL and extract Active X items to get that to work. Dug around the zmodo site, finally found instructions for that and then the driver package extraction goes through, but still fail. So not sure if there are better or more features that you can access on the web as I can't get that to work. I found a thread where they recommend you reboot the system periodically as anything with a motherboard needs this from time to time. You can set up automated reboots for the system....only in the web access. Which is a giant PIA to get working apparently for some of us.

If you don't mind tons of jumping through B-S hoops just to fully understand and use the product you paid for, and don't mind endless strange things happening randomly, and enjoy hours of digging around to figure out how to fix things, this is for you.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this system after a home invasion. After dealing with that stress and pain and then the insurance company good times, the last thing you want to do is eff around with this thing. So just do yourself a favor, and don't.
Reviewed By:ZeroGame,5/7/2015 4:54:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S-1TB 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera w/ 1TB HDD Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 NO HDMI
Pros: PRICE IS NICE. CAMS ARE DECENT QUALITY. COMES WITH 1TB HARD DRIVE.
Cons: NO HDMI - THEY GIVE YOU HD CAMERAS, BUT AN ANALOG MONITOR OUT.
Other Thoughts: IF YOU DON'T CARE THAT YOUR LOOKING AT HD CAMS IN NON-HD THEN GET IT.
Reviewed By:HDMI GUY,5/7/2015 1:23:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KDV0404B5B Complete 4 Channel Security DVR System Easy DIY Four 520TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Purchased March 10th . Broke April 15th
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Only lasted me one year. I have been without cameras for a month now. and Laview wont reply to emails anymore. I wouldnt recommend buying this unit. Just use an old computer and cameras.
Manufacturer Response:Dear valued customer,

Thank you very much for purchasing LaView product. Our Technical Support team is available from 9 AM to 6 PM Pacific Standard Time PST, Monday through Friday to help you resolve issues. Please call our team at 626-289-4988 or email us at support@laviewusa.com.

LaView provides one year warranty for all products. As for this case, according to our tech support records, the unit is exchanged as a courtesy in late April 2015. Please feel free to contact us if further help is needed.

Best,

LaView team

Reviewed By:N/A,5/7/2015 12:13:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TV-NVR104K All in One Surveillance NVR Kit w/ Pre-installed 1TB HDD, 2 x HD PoE Outdoor IP Camera

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good at a glance
Pros: NVR system all in one. You can actually install the cameras independently on a server. Each camera comes with a disk with the software. Fairly easy to set up if you are not trying to network the system. Otherwise it takes a lot of time and patience to resolve issues that should be fairly easy. Like assigning IP addresses to the camera.
Cons: Massive ghosting in playback. I didn't notice it at first but once I began pausing playback there was massive trailing ghosting. Everything from a car to even a person walking by has ghosting causing the play back video to be almost worthless. Terribly disappointed. I have used other camera systems and this one, at least at this moment, is not worth the money.
Other Thoughts: Difference between 1.3 megapixels and 3.0 is massive. Go with the 3.0 if you can. The difference is like 720p versus 4k resolution. Significantly noticeable.
Reviewed By:That one guy,5/5/2015 9:27:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KN988P86A4 Premium IP Surveillance System 8 Channel NVR + 6 x Full HD 1080P Day/Night In/Outdoor Cameras (No HDD Included)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I'm watching You!
Pros: Plenty of cord for camera's, decent camera's, simple setup and hard drive installation.
Cons: Ah I had some issues trying to get all 6 camera's to display Hd streams simultaneously. It has something called "main stream" and "sub stream" feeds that each camera can stream. The problem is that if you max out the quality and resolution of all 6 camera's the recorder hits a bandwidth limit that does not allow live view or recording at maximum resolution. So I found I had to lower all 6 camera's to 1 setting below maximum quality ie: 4096kb/s vs 8000kb/s. Then it seems to run all 6 at decent quality. Also the only way I could tell what stream the camera's were using was thru the internet interface, not thru the software of the dvr...
Other Thoughts: Also the ip cable comes with little weather protectors for the connections at the camera's but from what I could tell their useless unless you cut one end off to feed it thru the hole. I guess if you had the tool and connectors to replace one end then this would be useful, but if not the connections are left open to the elements...
Reviewed By:Nemisis,5/3/2015 5:25:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.