Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: Great camera system especially for the money! I am very happy with this system it catches all the customers clearly, have no problem identifying them! For a budget friendly, security system I would definitely recommend this system!
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 3:33:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KDA4-NARQZ4ZN 4Ch DVR & 4 Sony CCD Cam Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent product
Pros: Have owned the system for over a year without any issues. will buy again
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 1:30:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ8ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 8 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Slick
Pros: This is my third ZMODO buy, starting before motion detection.

This by far has the slickest interface. My customer this time didn't need networking, so I can't speak to any functionality on that side, but the resolution is very good, and I can make out faces from 10-foot high mounts on the walls. Recording takes up less space than I had anticipated. I put a 2 TB drive in to accommodate all 8 cameras running during business hours, but after a week, not quite 200GB was even used. (used stock record quality settings)

Had no missing equipment or mounting accessories.

I recommend pairing this with an IOGear KVM switch.. i've used them on all my installs so we can put it right with the user's PC's with barely any additional footprint added to installation locations.

Also, get the highest resolution monitor you can afford. It's nice to get full benefit of quality without having to just show one camera full-screen.
Cons: None -- got it for 181 w/tax. Fantastic deal
Reviewed By:N/A,12/18/2014 6:14:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo KHI8-YARUZ4ZN 8 Channel H.264, 960H DVR Security System with 4 x 700TVL Night Vision w/IR Cut Outdoor Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Zmodo Support Non-existant
Pros: Nice configuration. Good pricing for the pieces. All ports tested seem to be working (as per specs).
Cons: Will not send e-mails for events or video loss (e-mail tests OK). Impossible to configure for smart device. Cables (20m) actually measure 60' (about 5' short of a true metric conversion). Took a day and the help of a friend to find the program (Zviewer) to look at the device remotely from a PC. Took another day to configure it to view from outside my intranet on the web. Haven't found the way to get it work from a mobile device yet.
Other Thoughts: Looks like the web site and the procedures for setting up the mobile devices(s) were written by the same 6-year old. The web site is an endless loop in trying to get any answers, or help. Clicking on a support or chat link just takes you back to the page you started at. I found a backdoor into the chat site, but they were too busy to respond (had 2 sessions running at that time). At their 'suggestion', I left my questions for an e-mail response, but to date (6 days and counting) - no response. Overall the unit probably seems capable of doing what I got it for, but don't look for any tech support or configuration help as it appears to be non-existant. The Zviewer program (the only program I have found that will let me look at the device (outside WIndows)) is minimal at best, and offers very few options for the device.
Reviewed By:fixerupper,12/16/2014 9:19:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EXCELLENT
Pros: VERY GOOD EASY TO INSTALL VERY GOOD IMAGE FOR THE PRICE.
Cons: NITGHT VISON IN BLACK I DONT LIKE,
Reviewed By:LORETA,12/15/2014 8:01:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far, so good
Pros: Great video quality (Backup up clips to a USB thumbdrive and watch them on a computer, recorded video is much better than streamed video)
Comically easy setup. (The hardest part was crawling under the house to run wires and mounting hardware. But the actual setup is literally plug-n-play)
Price (Got mine when NewEgg had it on sale for $169)
Size (Seems a tad smaller than other cameras)
Cons: It's not a perfect system but I find it more than adequate for my use.

Only cons is that the DVR software itself is clunky and not all that great. It's a bit annoying having to navigate through.

Nightvision isn't the greatest, but that is an easy remedy with IR Illuminators. Don't expect a built in IR array around the camera to make your backyard shine. Buy an IR illuminator floodlight to better control your night vision.
Other Thoughts: I've not had this unit for all that long but so far am more or less pleased with it. It's not the perfect system but for the price it is more than adequate. The images are clear and much better than that of an analog system and using a cheap IR flood light to hit areas that are otherwise too dark should do wonders for increasing the camera's ability to see in low/no light areas where the built-in IR isn't strong enough to light up the area you want.

I've not yet connected it to the network as I do not need any network features or ability to view while away from home.
Reviewed By:fcRG1qaqzFX0wdpN,12/15/2014 2:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZM-SS718 8 CH NVR + 8 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very disappointed
Pros: Daytime viewing is pretty good. That's where the pros end.
Cons: So where do I start here? I don't mind paying a little more for a system if it worked right. On a slightly foggy night, it looks like a blizzard on the cameras and constantly detects motion. I thought it was bugs at first the way it looked, but it was actually moisture in the air. The cables included are really cheap and need to be tested before running them. Two of the cameras I had mounted and plugged in the cable. I heard a few clicks, but nothing showed up on the screen. Brought the camera back inside and it tested fine - so bad cable. I have about 12 hours into wiring this system and now I have to pull everything back out.
Other Thoughts: What I really wanted was a camera system that will alert me when someone is around my house; especially the front door. The email system does work, but the message can't be altered; meaning all alerts will contain the same message. So I can't say "Motion in backyard" because it uses that same message for all alerts including the front door..
Manufacturer Response:Hello Craig,

I'm sorry to hear of the issues you've had with the system.

Fog is caused from water particles in the air which are reflective and will cause a bright and unclear image on any IR camera system.

We also strongly recommend that you connect and test all equipment prior to installation. All components are covered under the two-year manufacturer warranty and can be replaced. If you have any defective equipment, please submit a warranty replacement request online at http://www.zmodo.com/rma.

As for the email alerts, there is a photo attached from each camera when the alert is sent. This will clearly show which camera the alert is coming from. I do apologize if the email subject creates an inconvenience, and I can submit the idea to our developers to see if it might be added into a future firmware release.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review. If you have any other questions or concerns regarding your system, please contact us at newegg-support@zmodo.com.

Best Regards,
Zmodo Sales and Support

Reviewed By:iStaz,12/14/2014 5:50:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > LaView USA > LaView LV-KD5184B Cube Series 8 CH Security DVR Cloud System w/ Easy DIY Four 600TVL Infrared Surveillance Cameras (No HDD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 never buy Laview
Pros: basic function not even working
Cons: four cameras does not work ?!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/14/2014 2:46:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice for the price
Pros: 720 p and sPOE, small base. Great picture quality for the price.
Cons: Setup is a pain in the b u t t. Novice computer geeks will learn a lot while trying to get it configured.
I had no need for dumb phone support and was only interested in web access, Your router will most likely need tweaking, turn off upnp. Use Dynamic dns to access over the web. Don't use zmodos dyndns server because it doesn't work (its also located in China)
The webpage only works with the c r a ppy internet explorer because the web access was built with activeX . You will have to tweak the security settings which involves pretty much turning them off for activeX to get the web page to load correctly. Which is no big deal as Firefox is my main browser. Would be nice if it worked with any browser.
Other Thoughts: Good luck trying to find the answers to your setup issues. The zmodo site did help a lot except the information was scattered and I had to do multiple queries to get what I needed to find.
Reviewed By:prljr,12/14/2014 6:04:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Monitoring Kits / All in One Systems > Zmodo > Zmodo ZP-KE1H04-S 4CH NVR + 4 HD 720P Day/Night Outdoor sPoE IP Camera Smartphone Scan QR Code Quick Remote Access

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The Zmodo cost/performance ratio is fine for me
Pros: The quality of this security camera system is fine, but as some of other reviewers said, not as good as some other big brands. The video/picture resolution of the camera output is 1280x720, therefore they claim 720P. In my smartphone, after I changed the setting to HD in the "Zsight" app (3 settings, LD, SD, HD), the quality of the video is good when compare with other brands (Laview, Samsung, Dropcam). I have installed the LaView LV-KDV2804W1 and SAMSUNG SmartCam SNH-P6410BN for my friend's store, and Dropcam for my house. 1) Samsung claims their camera is 1080P, however, I believe their video quality is lowest out of the 4 models aforementioned, and the connection drop frequently; 2) Dropcam has best video quality out of the 4 models even it is 720P, however, dropcam will not let you store the video unless you pay the at least $10 per month cloud fee; 3) Laview claims 960 TVL resolution, um, I think the video quality is almost same as this Zmodo, however, the network connection setup is so so so difficult, tried many ways, but not successful yet; furthermore, the laview system will not detect the hard drive after a couple days, unless you open the cover and unplug the SATA connector and replug it again. 4) This Zmodo video quality is fine, but don't expect too much. I think you can read the money bill which is 6 feet away,and car license plate number about 30 feet. The network connection setup is so simple for the Zmodo system. I just need to download the Zsight App, and use the Zsight to scan the picture code which stick on the main system, Done, then all 4 cameras show on my smartphone. After changed the video quality setting to HD, the video looks clear and good. Furthermore, the Zisight will send you alert with picture and time when the system detect motion, amazing~~~Actually, I only paid $140 for the Zmodo ($170-$30 Amex credit card promotion), $200 for Laview, $120 for Dropcam, and $160 for Samsung. Based on the cost/performance ratio, I will definitely recommend the Zmodo system.
Cons: Unfortunately, the Zmodo camera will not record the sound.
And, the build quality of the camera is not good enough.
People complaint that the camera will become blurry after sometime, I think it is cause by the small gap and 3 screw holes on the camera. For me, I fixed this problem by putting some GE Kitchen and bathroom silicon on them, DONE, no more blurry.
Yes, Zmodo should improve their quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/13/2014 8:07:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.