Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > LG Electronics > LG LW2516ER 24,000/24,500 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Window Air Conditioner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor packaging means damaged units
Pros: I'm sure there are some, but I wouldn't know because two separate shipments arrived damaged.
Cons: The unit is not well packaged. It weighs almost 150 pounds. I have worked in warehouses myself, loaded trucks, and packaged cartons. A unit that heavy needs more than just a few pieces of Styrofoam on the edges to protect it. The exterior box straps are wrapped in only one direction instead of two, and the cardboard is too flimsy to keep such a heavy item secure. The first one arrived with a bent metal cabinet and a cracked compressor. The second delivery looked like it went through a war zone so I only partially opened it, revealing broken Styrofoam packaging and bent radiator fins.

This is not newegg's problem, or the shipper's problem. The manufacturer failed at the packaging.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2016 10:54:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 12000 BTU Digital Compact Window Air Conditioner CLYW-35C1A-L09AC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Demensions of Unit
Pros: Just wanted to give the Dimensions
Cons: same as above
Other Thoughts: Hi, In Q&A they where asking the dimensions and I found them by googling it " Product Dimensions (W" x H" x D"): 22 x 17 x 23 "
Reviewed By:Michael Z.,6/21/2016 11:19:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier CPRB08XCK-LW 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 years and running
Pros: Reliable and stable
Cons: Little noisey
Other Thoughts: Use this to cool a small server rack in a closet for the last 5 years and have never had any issue.
Reviewed By:Aaron B.,6/20/2016 7:31:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier HPRB08XCM 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Weak and smelly
Pros: Cheep and clean, did reduce a midsize bedroom temperature by few degrees. It looks differently from other units.
Cons: - After several hours started to smell putrid burning.
Not good for strong heat or prolonged hours.
- Rather weak for 180 sq. f. bedroom.
- The user guide is a page or two.
- Short power cord while no extension is allowed.
- Exhaust panel is difficult to set up and shorter than on other units.
- Too loud to sleep or watch tv while the unit is on. Also indicator emits some light.
Other Thoughts: I do not recommend this product unless for extremely small (and closed) room.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/20/2016 8:12:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Soleus International > SOLEUSAIR Portable Air Conditioner 8,000 BTU, KY80

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No option for zero eggs
Pros: Supports having an AC in smaller windows, that is the only good thing I can say about this product
Cons: The company does not sell any parts to these systems. If the internal fan has broken fins, normally a $10 part, you are out of luck. Soleus Air DOES NOT sell any parts.

Cheaply made, will make it about a year and a half at best with normal use. Company does not care, phone support is completely useless.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately they have my money, hopefully I can save others the nightmare and you will avoid buying anything from SoleusAir.
Reviewed By:Mark N.,6/13/2016 9:43:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Cool Living > Cool Living 8000 BTU Digital Compact Window Air Conditioner CLYW-23C1A-S09AC

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Important facts, you decide if it's a bargain or not.
Pros: - Price is great!
- It is very small and compact and not too heavy either.
- Dimensions are as follows:
Depth: 15 3/4"
Width: 18 3/4"
Height: 12 1/4" - Not including lip on bottom (~ 1")
- Mom and I can easily lift it together to carry up and down stairs.
- It puts out a LOT of cold air, even on low fan.
- It actually has a DRY (Dehumidifier) button too.
- The remote works from across the room and sitting on the same wall as the unit.
- Has a relatively long cord; although it still does not reach my outlet without a heavy duty surge protector.
Cons: - It has an ~ 1" lip on the bottom of the unit which prevents it from properly fitting in the old style window sill and still align properly with the window when it is brought down on top of it; unless you tilt it inwards which would cause unit to drain indoors damaging the floor and possibly the inside of unit. Even with a 1" thick board in the window sill, it still does not fit properly. We had to stuff towels and foam all around it to prevent loss of cool air.
- Remote control is somewhat confusing. It appears as if the label is for the button below, but it is actually for the button above. Everyone agrees that the layout is very confusing and not very user friendly. The items on the remote aren't grouped separately for ease of understanding. For example all fan buttons in one group and AC in another group. Filter reset, Dry (Dehumidifier), Energy Saver better separated. Also, H-FAN, M-FAN, L-FAN will light up but nothing will come on until you click on COOL or FAN.
- You have to be STANDING directly in front of the unit to feel the cool air that is literally blasting out of it, regardless of where the air flow is directed. Even sitting at the table in front of it, you cannot feel it unless you STAND up. I suppose this may be considered an upside for the elderly or those who have a family member who's always cold.
- The air flow tab was broken off when the item arrived, but rather than paying the postage and the restocking fee and then waiting for it to arrive again; we simply accepted it. We can still move it, just using our fingers instead of the tab.
- Unit is EXTREMELY LOUD! Even in low fan mode! It actually sounds like the compressor is on even when the unit is in fan mode. Hope I'm wrong or my electric bill will be outrageous! If this unit is being considered for someone who is hard of hearing, do not purchase for any room with a TV or Radio in it. It's so loud I find I have to turn up my TV quite loud in order to hear it over this unit. This is a problem as I do have a tenant upstairs. Practice what you preach, if you know what I mean.
- Some minor assembly required.
- New smell is kind of gross at first.
- Screws didn't fit just any Phillips screwdriver. I tried three that fit the screws before I found one that would actually turn it instead of stripping it. The screws for the curtains were very hard to screw in. I tried all 8 of them, same result. I even tried to put screw in first without curtain to insure that the hole was enlarged enough. This didn't really work either. Screws were just very cheesy and poor quality. Had to just work through it.
Other Thoughts: - I would suggest that others read my detailed comments and make an educated decision for themselves based on the facts.
- I'm sort of on the fence as to whether or not I would purchase this item again. Leaning against it though due mainly to the LOUDNESS of the item.
- I would change everything I've mentioned in Cons; but especially the lip on the bottom, the loudness of the unit and the design of the remote control.
Reviewed By:Shelley A.,6/7/2016 9:40:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Soleus International > SOLEUS AIR KY-80E9 8,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product
Pros: Gets my place cool, it's dehumidifier setting is fantastic
Cons: Doesn't blow as cool as a 6000 btu window unit, bit loud
Other Thoughts: Highly suggest getting a $10 duct tube to go with it, the tube gets very hot and I notice a significant difference after putting one on. Also get some weather strips to put over the window fixture
Reviewed By:alexander m.,6/5/2016 11:04:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Haier America Trading > Haier ESA410K 10,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Window Air Conditioner with Remote Control

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Cools well, auto-restart after power loss and built in compressor timer along with remote and other features are nice.
Cons: As others have said, this thing is surprisingly loud. Also the air deflector does indeed feel cheap. The plastic tabs to move the find aren't even hinged.
Other Thoughts: I needed this to keep my upstairs office cool because the HVAC doesn't do a very good job of keeping up with my 2 computers and my roommate in that one room. Hopefully this unit is as efficient as they claim!
Reviewed By:N/A,5/20/2016 5:26:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Frigidaire > Frigidaire FRA082AT7 8,000 Cooling Capacity (BTU) Window Air Conditioner

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 the unit works but it doesn't do its job well at all
Pros: fast delivery ,price was good for an 8000 btu
Cons: it only blows cool air not cold so sorry i threw out the box or i would be returning it
Other Thoughts: i have and have had other Frigidaire products in the past and have always found them to be affordable and well built that is the case here however this a/c just don't blow cold air to bad i cant return it now i threw out the box the day i installed it and it was cool here so i did not use it till a week later and now i am stuck with it .probably will be buying another one soon but not Frigidaire
Reviewed By:marty m.,5/11/2016 1:55:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Air Conditioners > Frigidaire > 12,000 BTU Window Air Conditioner with 11.3 EER, R-410A Refrigerant, 3.8 Pts/Hr Dehumidification, 550 sq. ft. Cooling Area, Clean Air Ionizer and Remote Control

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Did my homework, fits my needs.
Pros: Arrived in good shape, wanted a a/c that would go below 68 degrees, last unit 72 was the lowest limit, I like cold. I studied my options, this was the best I could find, 12,000 btu in a 12 x 12 room is overkill for some, I like overkill. I have central air, it is underkill, this will even it out.
Cons: Made in China, seems too costly, but that's because our dollars, have no vaule anymore (thanks Feds).
Other Thoughts: As far as it being a good deal, only time will tell, if it continues to work 5 years or more without repair, it will be a great product. No hot weather here yet, but used it 2 weeks, very pleased, sleeping better. Thinking about getting another, just like it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/24/2016 10:16:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.