Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-322L Network Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage web interface
Pros: ?
Cons: cannot get to work in anything but Internet Explorer. Even Internet explorer required all kinds of securioty settings to be turned off and just the right version of Java and Browser and even then it takes forever to load and bring up video. We invested in 3 of these for 3 locations and aside from having to use a Windows PC, we just gave up on them after several hours of trying with D-Link tech support!!!
Other Thoughts: with so many great standards for web design, why does D-Link make such a garbage interface? Are they owned by MS? Are they trying to sell My-Dlink service? I wish I'd done more research before putting in the D-Link MyCloud cameras, now I have a huge investment in monitoring and I can't look at recorded footage!!!
Manufacturer Response:We thank you for the detailed feedback and we are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the product. Based upon your review, D-Link would like for you to click on the provided link below and fill out the detailed form within the next 10 days. By completing it, one of our technical support specialists will have the necessary information to contact you directly and assist you with resolving any problems you are having.

http://supportrequest.dlink.com?id=43245439d2de4608a98f222ea3f1488d&token=593978e2cf0747f4946694b763c1cc4b

We look forward to working with you soon.

Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2015 8:37:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No PC Needed.. Easy USB Storage
Pros: Small size..
2 USB connections for attached storage..
Easy one touch button (or with program) removal of attached storage.
Accepts a lot of TB storage for a lot of recordings.
Soft 'Blue/Red' activity light on top.
Cons: None..
Sure the ability to record from more than 4 cameras would be a nice FW improvement, and yes there is another model for that.. but @ 4 cameras recording with the ability to still have 'events' for other cameras makes this a great buy.. not a con.
keep in mind that if you set to receive email notifications that you could get quite a few. You can adjust motion detection for your pets.. I think a few too many notifications (with a photo) is better than not.. so not a con
Other Thoughts: For awhile now I have had 2 cameras recording 24/7 on a 2TB HDD (non-AC powered) and a second similar 500GB USB HDD attached. With 2 I get +- a month of recorded files. I have a 3rd outdoor camera on the way.
Using the control pages for this I get great quality recordings, with no problems. I had an AC powered HDD that crashed and the 202L beeped to let me know there was a problem. A little annoying at 2am.. but it did it's job.
The software has easy to use connect, format and removal choices and buttons on the 202L for easy at plugin removal choices.
Normal events and functions for separate cameras can be done, such as motion detection recordings. I had zero problems doing a plug and play setup and software adjustments (ie: each cameras own controls settings on separate LAN pages).. I did call customer support with a 'motion detection' and who controls who with all the equipment separate settings. From my experiences and others as read in reviews I invested even more into my D-Link system knowing they are there and helpful. Yes, if you want one and aren't sure if your skill set will... go for it, it's easier than you think, support is awesome and after a little while you'll realize that once set.. it's a forget and use as needed. You don't have to constantly fix things. I have had 2 drops from one of my outside cameras over the year plus I have been using D-Link wireless cameras (not bad.. easy reconnect.. I rebooted the camera each time and it's over 30' away from my router). Why run cables when you can have a reliable wireless security system.
I use the phone app 'mydlink View-NVR' app and it's awesome.. you can even take a snapshot picture, turn on and off notifications. And from any PC you can also connect with mydlink.
I am adding cameras and getting great coverage (we use one to even see who's at the door). I love the 'no monthly fee' and with notifications I can call the authorities and use my recordings to get what I need and just having the cameras will make a thief think twice. Well, the smart ones anyhow, the not so smart ones will find out that you were smart and have a camera system. D'Link is a great choice, get one I doubt you'll return any of it and this 202L make life so easy without the need for a PC, Server or other on and running.. you do need an internet connection and a decent range router for a better range if needed.
Reviewed By:Panther57,5/21/2015 9:33:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S1604T2D 16 CH 960H Full WD1 Real-Time H.264 Surveillance DVR 4 Audio / HDMI Output / 2x SATA HDD slots, Mac OSX Fully Supported

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value For Full Mac Compatibility
Pros: While virtually all DVR's include apps for mobile devices, I needed a 16CH DVR that included CMS for Mac & PC. This Aposonic had it all- WD1 Recording on all channels plus full Mac & PC CMS support.

The only "curve" it threw at me was default recording had been set for motion, not continuous on all channels. Fixed that and this DVR worked great for my client's needs!
Cons: This DVR supports a SATA DVD drive, but a standard drive will not fit due to the DVR's motherboard being in the way.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice High Resolution DVR; As with many DVR's the menu system is not exactly user-friendly and you need to pay close attention to get it setup correctly.
Reviewed By:gcapp99,4/26/2015 5:51:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Q-See > Q-See QT8216-2 2TB 16 Channel 720P & 1080P NVR

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not ONVIF compliant
Pros: -Packaged well
-Looks nice -- although your security DVR isn't really something you should want people looking at.
-Network setup is very simple
-Android app works well
-PC based remote monitoring works well
-Q-See provides a DNS redirect service that works with the DVR so you can remotely access it from your own unique subdomain.
-Has alarm/sensor inputs in addition to cameras.
-Stays very cool
Cons: The biggest con for this unit is that it does not support ONVIF compliant IP cameras as advertised.

Rather, I was given a list by Q-See customer support of cameras they do support:
http://qsee.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2233

So, the issue I ran into was that it would not record on motion sensing. Without that, this is a brick.

It does, however, connect and work with the cameras just fine. Which is very strange. My very limited understanding of how ONVIF works would tell me if it connects and displays the picture, motion sensing should work.

Some other annoyances:
-It has a buzzer that you can't shut off. If someone steals a camera - it starts beeping and won't stop until the camera is removed from the configuration. If someone is stealing my cameras, I do not want to tell them where to find the DVR!

-The interface is very clunky.
-You can not attach a keyboard, so you type with the mouse and on-screen keyboard.
-When you tell the DVR to shut down, it will not power off all of the way. A giant sticker on top says NEVER to power it off directly. But, there is no other way.
-Firmware updates are another example of the 'unpolished' work behind the curtain. In the firmware update I attempted - it showed that is was installing, then said it was rebooting, then went to a black screen and the fans never turned off or video come back on. So, I gave it overnight to see if magic would happen. Still a brick in the morning, I gave it a hard reset - despite the giant warning sticker... and it came back up and the firmware update was applied. A firmware update which fixed a lot of issues I was having -- actually. Initially, out of the box, the cameras connected and all was well but the main 'multi-view' screen would not show the camera pictures. Also, it would randomly drop the camera picture even if you were on the single view screen. After the update, many of those things work -- which makes me think this is just a very unpolished product.
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, I won't trust Q-See products again. If they don't support all ONVIF standards compliant cameras, they shouldn't be advertising that their products do.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 4:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 It works...
Pros: Simple Setup...
Cons: Only works with d-link cameras
Requires Java to view
iPhone App only connects via their service (you can't point to your own static IP)
Other Thoughts: Generally it does what it should. But in the end, I think I'm going to DIY it with a RasberryPI. It supports 8 cameras with only 4 recording at ta time. Right now I can't figure out how to change around the 4 it's recording from.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2015 11:34:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-322L Network Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick install, useful features
Pros: Easy to install, just drop in two drives, hook up power and internet, easy to configure. Lots of options for video format, audio. Automatic search for existing cameras. Easy to create offline backups via ftp/http, although you need an existing ftp service (I use a NAS system which provides ftp). Viewing live and playback video is fairly easy, the playback interface has many useful options. The system is also available via D-Link's "mydlink" site, which allows control and monitoring from a remote site. For every page there is a "Helpful Hints..." section on the side which has a quick reference that I found pretty useful.
Cons: Setting up the ftp backup feature was a little messy, but most of the problem is making sure the ftp server itself is configured as the DNR-322L setup is actually pretty good. It doesn't remember the multiple camera video setup (you can set up a matrix of multiple cameras on the live video page).
Other Thoughts: As with any network device it is important to update the firmware immediately. In my case it addressed a problem with finding cameras on my network (which actually could have been due to something else).
Reviewed By:sanslos,4/12/2015 8:42:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl CS-SUNB-4GB 4GB Micro SD Card (Up to16GB) Covert Video Sunglasses

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I got them for free...
Pros: The idea that you can protect your eyes from the sun AND record while driving. Just wanted to play with them. Also, I won them at a work raffle. They were FREE.
Cons: They broke after one use. Drove to the store, recorded while listening to music. After uploading the video when I arrived at home, the video was "decent" for sunglasses with a camera, but the sound was horrid. After uploading the video, they never turned on again.
Other Thoughts: Camera is either crooked, or my head is. Video was skewed to the right and I'm pretty sure my noggin is on straight.

Sound was horrible. Sounded like I was in a paper bag.

I was really excited to win these, but seriously disappointed they broke so quickly. If they weren't free, I would make more of a fuss.
Manufacturer Response:Good Afternoon Philip,

We apologize for the negative experience with our product, please email our sales dept so we can get you a replacement product. rhernandez@nightowlsp.us

Reviewed By:Ohiowit,3/29/2015 10:00:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice products
Pros: Badge # AR004611was my tech support person and he walked me thru any issues i was having. Now all 6 cameras work fine as well as my DNR 202L RECORDER. Really like the Pan and Tilt camera. Would not recommend any camera without day and night vision, but i recommend the other dlink cameras and the recorder.
Cons: none so far
Reviewed By:Doe,3/4/2015 2:01:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > ACTi > ACTi ECD-1000 16 x BNC 16-Channel Megapixel H.264 Video Decoder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great at what it does
Pros: Nice stand alone system in a box for decoding multiple H.264 IP Cameras.
PoE (802.af Stand A).
USB port for mouse/keyboard.
VESA compliant (100 mm, 75 mm).
Cons: There is no web interface for configuring cameras and layouts. The web interface is strictly for viewing the configured layout. To date, there is no firmware update to resolve this. This was the big reason to reduce 1 egg from the product. I feel that in today's standard for IP devices, this should be able to be configured from a web interface.

When using 16 channels, this device can only decode i-frames. This is normally not an issue since most devices can output iframes at almost real-time rates. This is going to be an issue for cheaper cameras that can only display iframes at a low rate.
Other Thoughts: As of 2 March 2015, this item is not advertised correctly. This is NOT a 16x BNC device. This device decodes IP H.264 streams and allows you to output to a single BNC or HDMI device.

Being PoE, you can run a single cable to the device for power and data. This saves time during installation and you will only have to manage the 1 wire. The device comes with a DC power transformer in case your setup does not allow for PoE.

I found that using this on a 32" HDTV (1080p) with the 9 camera (or lower) setup was very nice. This VESA mount has through holes, allowing you to mount the device to VESA device as will as a wall mount with no additional hardware.

This device is running Linux in the background, but you should never have to get into the OS to mess around.
Reviewed By:Rob M.,3/2/2015 6:04:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 DNR-202L
Pros: It took a couple of tech support tries to get it rolling but with help from a great tech specialist George (ID AR004206.), we got the unit and cameras working just great. Mac does have an issue with Java which we fixed with a workaround and George said that Dlink is working to rectify the problem quickly.
Cons: A bit complex for your non tech person to install. But overall quality and price and options very good.
Reviewed By:coastsound,2/1/2015 6:14:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.