Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Goos unit for price
Pros: Easy to use. Lots of features. Price.
Cons: Only 8 cameras can be hooked up
Reviewed By:Scott,4/9/2016 1:08:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > VIVOTEK Inc. > Vivotek - ND8322P-2TB-4IB69 - ND8322P-2TB-4IB69-8 Channels-2 HDD Slot . Max 12TB. 1 x eSATA Port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lies.
Pros: None.
Cons: Wrong product. They send you just the NVR with a 1tb hard drive. This was all after they ensured me over email that it was on fact the 8 channel nvr with 4 outdoor bullet cameras. Would not use this seller again. Will also be contacting newegg to inform them of this sellers operation and ip camera warehouse for a refund.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2016 12:26:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Night Owl F6-DVR8 8CH (No HDD)
Pros: - No Hard Drive is a plus. Purchase your own drive is a plus, because the HD Warranty will be valid. Many don't know hard drive manufacturers do not apply their Warranties on hard drive inside 3rd party equipment. These hard drives are from typical OEM bulk purchases.
- Supports CCTV cameras up to 960H
- User friendly PC Software and Mobile APP and both can remotely access DVR.
Cons: - Only 1 CH 960H/D1 at 30 FPS live video recording.
- Only 4 CH Maximum 960H/D1 at 25 FPS live video recording.
- If all 8CH used and set to 960H/D1 can ONLY be set to 15 FPS live video recording - very chopped video.
Other Thoughts: - Good for home owner.
- Not recommended for a business that requires quality image surveillance.
Reviewed By:John P.,3/27/2016 5:55:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > D-Link > D-Link DNR-202L mydlink Camera Video Recorder

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible
Pros: None
Cons: Had to return first item, would not detect or nt Hard Drive.
Software works 1 time and refuses to live display or schedule correctly or record after first application run.
Viewer application displays invalid site security certificate warning when opening
DLink customer service prompt but no help
Other Thoughts: I would recommend running away from this product and look for anything else
Reviewed By:Randall C.,3/15/2016 8:19:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > TRENDnet > TRENDnet 4-Channel 1080p HD PoE NVR

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Needs Work. Good Price. Great tech support.
Pros: - Arrived very quickly and well packed.
- Records up to 4 channels simultaniously.
- 4 PoE ports.
- Accepts 3.5 inch hard Drives up to 4 TB.
- Mouse included.
- Lots of options for NVR (motion, schedules, tampering alerts, email alerts etc).
- Playback either through monitor or computer.
- Can be wall mounted.
- Good price.
Cons: - Hard drive installation requires removal of 4 crews, which screw directly into plastic cover. Very easy to strip the plastic screw well. Be careful there.
- The top cover is made of plastic. Really flimsy, bad quality.
- Initial setup requires that the NVR be connected to a monitor and the mouse needs to be used. Initial setup takes forever as each character in a password needs to be clicked. Its like 2006 all over again. Annoying.
- After initial setup is completer, access to NVR functions through browser requires downloading of a plug in. The plug in business makes me uneasy.
- The fan is quite loud. The NVR almost sounds like a PC. Don't expect quiet device.
- When I turn off the light in my garage, it takes camera 8 second to switch to night mode. This seems to be a bit too long for my taste (camera was TV-IP320PI).
- Free TrendNet smartphone app exists, but you will only be able to watch live feed on your network. If you venture outside your home network, you would have to configure port forwarding on your router in order to see live feed, You cannot control playback, or other NVR functions from the smartphone app. You can record live feed on your smartphone app if you buy a full version of the app.
Other Thoughts: I just happened to have a set of TrendNet IP cameras (sold in set under model TV-IP320PI2K) that I wanted to attach to a separate NVR. I had them previously record to my NAS. I picked this NVR because of the price, the ability to provide PoE to cameras, and I also had a spare 2 TB Hard Drive laying around. You may also purchase this NVR as a kit (newer.com item # N82E16881102107) that includes camera and 1 TB hard drive. The setup was a bit longer than I expected. Then I also had to install a browser plugin to be able to access NVR through Internet Explorer. I could never get the plugin to work in Chrome browser. The setup was not very intuitive. I was forced to call the company to help me with the setup. To my surprise, immediately after I called, I was greeted by live person with US accent. They walked me through some setup functions and I was ready to rock and roll. In the end if you are looking for value, 4 PoE ports, and are willing to look past few shortcomings, this might be an NVR for you. I have had my NVR running for few weeks with no issues now. I have used a few TrendNet networking product before and I have never had an issue.
Reviewed By:Pawel K.,3/9/2016 11:07:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Night Owl Security Products > Night Owl F6-DVR8 8 x BNC 1 x 4TB (No HDD Included) 8 Channel Video Security System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: easy set up, add up to 4tb hdd
picture quality great
Cons: phone app doesnt allow you to zoom in,
be aware password on phone and dvr can only be 8 digits
Other Thoughts: i would recommend this product to everyone
Reviewed By:george r.,3/6/2016 10:01:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0802R18C 8 CH 960H Hybird DVR 8 Analog input + 1 IP Camera, iPhone / Android access, Mac OSX compatible, QR Code EZ Setup

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very good
Pros: It just works. You will need to port forward in order for you to use it outside of ur LAN. I used 8080 and 6036 since 80 was blocked. Also not sure what this barcode does, don't think that if you will magically scan it you will be able to view your dvr via Super live pro or internet. Backup works fine as well no issues. I use it with zosi cameras and combo is cheap and overall great value. The hdd installation was easy, I used wd blue 1tb and so far it's fine, I know it's blue but it has 1 platter thus has to be as reliable as purple( I think it's the color for dvr)
Cons: To view it you must use IE, safari, (imac) or super live pro, couldn't use chrome or Firefox or any mobile browser , have no idea what's the issue. because of the above I'm not sure if one will be able to use it with linux
Other Thoughts: Super live pro works great on android and IOS 9 ( note3 mine and iPhone 6 my wife's) but it has an issue of alarming for channel 8 video drop. Funny but I don't use ch 8, so I guess a glitches are still there.
Reviewed By:artem,2/16/2016 5:59:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Zmodo > ZMODO ZMD-DX-SBL8 8 Channel 960H Security DVR with HDMI and QR-Code Scan & View

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ZMODO DVR, no relation to Quasimodo
Pros: Cost: Low budget entry into DVR
Company has website with setup information
http://kb.zmodo.com/index.php?action=artikel&cat=1&id=294&artlang=en
Remote over the internet monitoring
Cons: None at this price point.
Other Thoughts: Bought this unit to monitor my 84 year old uncle in poor health at his home.
Thanks to Charles P; Nicholas C; Raymond M; Ivan G;and Tracy T; for your comments and suggestions in the Q & A section of the Newegg website for this product....Very informative.......This is the reason I like to shop at Newegg. Also bought low cost indoor camera Item#: N82E16881124262 at Newegg.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2016 12:04:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Zmodo > Zmodo ZMD-DX-SBL8 8 x BNC 4TB 8CH 960H DVR with HDMI Output and 1TB HDD

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Product Easy to set up BUT.......
Pros: Easy to set up
Multiple functions for quality recording
Cons: The only con I have is a mouse is required to be used for all setup and functions. My previous Zmodo DVR had a remote to use in place of a mouse. We could change and monitor a single camera in a second as needed. This model does not come with a remote and without the remote you have to use your smartphone or the mouse to bring up a designated camera you wish to monitor. Sometimes it takes you longer to get up and make the change and not able to view it live as it happens.
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for not having a remote to change cameras as needed I would say it was an excellent DVR and recommend it.
However without the remote allowing you to monitor a designated camera as needed I would say I would not purchase it again.
Reviewed By:PAUL W.,1/31/2016 1:09:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Recorders > Aposonic > Aposonic A-S0401R21SL 4 x BNC 1 x 3.5" SATA HDD (up to 4TB) 960H H.264 Real Time 30fps Surveillance DVR, QR Code & NAT Remote Access, Mac OSX Compatible

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup, easy to use.
Pros: The camera is clear day and night.
Easy to setup.
Cons: Mouse is pretty cheaply made, but you can get a better one for a small price. (Not a deal breaker)
No hard drive is included.
Other Thoughts: I like this system and I would recommend it if you are looking for decent system for a decent price.
Reviewed By:Bernard C.,1/28/2016 2:56:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.