Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Automation > Platinum Tools > EZ-RJ45 Cat-6 Connectors & Strain Relief 30-Pack

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like a champ
Pros: Installed fiber optic network at work and this works awesome! You must have the crimping tool as well, but you can strip, cut, and crimp. Now we are enjoying Gigabit speed with the hybrid fiber optics, and Cat-6.
Cons: no none
Other Thoughts: You must have the crimper part of the system.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/20/2014 2:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DSP-W215 Wi-Fi Smart Plug, Thermal Protection, Energy Management

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Connection time to the PLUG is too long!!
Pros: Once you pass the setup, it works as expected and provides good information.
Cons: Setup is very painful. The product is very expensive too. I have a great WiFi setup, but connection time to the plug is at least 20 seconds each time.
Other Thoughts: D-link must reduce the connection to the PLUG, it is really bad each time.
Manufacturer Response:We appreciate the feedback as we truly value the input and we are sorry to hear that you are experiencing issues with the product. D-Link advises that you download and install the latest firmware from www.support.dlink.com. In addition, keep in mind the number and thickness of walls and ceilings, as well as the location of other objects that the wireless signals must pass through, may limit the range. Typical ranges vary depending on the types of materials and background RF (radio frequency) noise in your home or business. If you are still encountering problems feel free to contact us for assistance by calling 1-877-453-5465. Thank you for choosing D-Link.

Reviewed By:N/A,8/17/2014 2:25:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great ! D-Link Tech Support 5 Eggs
Pros: Small
Unobtrusive
Attractive
White NOT BLACK !!!!!
My wife thought it an air freshener
Toll Free tech support by great people
Default configuration data on unit
Wallet size configuration card

To save space in the other thoughts section I will write some here.

I was not able to use the audio extender feature of the M225. I have no doubt that it works but my tablet while some literature states it has DLNA, I wonder. I downloaded several apps and spent considerable time on the project. One needs powered speakers and a DLNA music app. I am disappointed that I could not make a go of it.

I was able to make the connection to my non-DLink router using the router's WPS button and following
the quick start prompts. It was as simple as pushing the router's WPS button then pushing the DCH-M225's
WPS button. The unit has a 3 color LED. Solid red while booting. Amber when not connected but
negotiating the connection and then Green for connected. The initial connection took only a couple minutes.

CONTINUED in OTHER THOUGHTS
Cons: Confirmed by tech support, Chrome incompatibility (at least on my rig).
Size of unit may block a wall outlet, dependent on what size plug you also want to plug in.
Unit's side WPS button. I pushed it several times while removing from outlet but it didn't seem to matter.
Only documentation included is the dreaded quick start guide. End user must download manual from website.
REALLY? Put a mini CD in the box...it would fit !
Other Thoughts: Where I ran into problems was using the web-based configuration utility in Chrome. The address provided
by DLink to log in is dlinkap.local. On initial login I was prompted to upgrade the firmware. After downloading and installing the update I again loaded dlinkap.local in Chrome.
I was not able to continue. I could not log in. No password is required. Chrome would take me nowhere.

DLink has toll free tech support. On my first call to support I talked with Carlos AR004279. He was patient
spoke and understood English quite well and as he told me was on the DCH-M225 dev team in some capacity the I can't
exactly recall. What is important, he knew the unit forward, backward, inside and out. After doing a reset (which must
be done while the unit is plugged in) we began to troubleshoot. Carlos suggested we try IE. Using IE I was able to log in. Carlos told me he was going to pass the Chrome issue along. Carlos suggested I stay online and we could do a few things. We set up my tablet then made sure I was indeed using the DCH-M225 as my connect point. Then Carlos suggested we might change the name and password for my convenience.
That was a nice touch...who wants to remember dfdfjjdfd-155sdaas if all you need to remember is dfd.

I had occasion to call tech support a second time and spoke with George (Jorge) AR0004202. My question was specific and George(Jorge) knew the answer. He was patient while I fumbled a bit.

There is a ton of bad tech support out there but I did not find any at D-Link Thanks Guys.

This unit is designed to do two things. First and foremost it is a WiFi extender. There are no dead spots in my home. I do have two areas with weak signal though. The library, uh hum,
and the upstairs. Once the DCH-M225 is set up it can be uplugged and placed anywhere without further configuration.
Upstairs while connected through the DCH-M225 I get a constant 300 Mbps with the unit only a few feet away. When
using my router signal the strength is variable from 90 Mbps to 160 Mbps. A marked improvement.

I spend a lot of time in my detached garage The WiFi out that far ~120 feet thru walls is to weak to be useful.
So if I have an internet question while working on a project
I have to come inside. Not easy when dirty. I plugged the DCH-M225 into the garage outlet. It did negotiate
the connection but lost it after a few seconds. To far, too many obstacles. If I had let it go at that ? But I didn't.
I plugged it into the upstairs bedroom; closer with fewer signal obstacles and was very happy to get 45 Mbps on my laptop
and 13 Mbps on my tablet. The word is experiment.

The DCH-M225 is a great product backed by 1st class support. I recommend it without reservation.
Reviewed By:Ahumado,8/15/2014 6:24:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > EDIMAX > Edimax SP-1101W Smart Plug Switch, Remote Control Electronic Devices from Anywhere Anytime with the Free Home Automation App for Smartphones and Tablets

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Value
Pros: Easier [for me] to program that traditional "Digital" timers since it has a smart phone app that has a more user-friendly interface in order to program the scheding. 25% less than Belkin's WeMo.
Cons: App is clunky and in a broken-English that is not very intuitive. Took a while to program though seems to be working fine. So far.
Reviewed By:whatsthebigidea,8/12/2014 12:30:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F7C029fc WeMo Insight Switch, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update upgrading to 4 Stars
Pros: Same as above
Cons: Same as before
Other Thoughts: Belkin thanks for the fast response. Seems to work best with a manual switch. Our fan with a digital interface can only be turned off with the WEMO where as our old fan with the mechanical switch can be toggled ON/OFF. Liking it the more I use it. The IFTT will take some more time though, but it makes the switch more flexible than others on the market.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2014 4:17:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > ON-Q LEGRAND > On-Q/Legrand 802.11n Wireless Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Quality
Pros: When it works it works well.
Cons: I have owned this product for 9 months, but only had it installed for 6 months. During that 6 months it has malfunctioned and has needed replacement TWICE. I can understand the first time, perhaps I got a lemon, but twice in 6 months? For the kind of money I paid for this I expected higher quality.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2014 7:21:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > Belkin > Belkin F7C029fc WeMo Insight Switch, Operates over Wi-Fi/mobile internet, turn electronics on or off

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Idea still needs to mature
Pros: Nice way to track energy usage.Can turn stuff ON/OFF when away from home. If appears that Belkin is updating the APP on a regular basis.
Cons: Setup more difficult than you would be lead to believe from their quick start Guide. Firmware/APP could use some more work.
Other Thoughts: I chatted with Tech Support, very nice but not much help. It appeared the WEMO was connected to my wireless router but after 30 seconds It would turn off an try to discover other wireless networks. I discovered on my own that the Acceskey/password was required. Just seems unstable. Now I cannot find the WEMO WI-FI but it still seems to work O.K.
Manufacturer Response:Hi SHIFTER,

Thank you for sharing us your experience with the Belkin WeMo Insight Switch and with the Support team. The default SSID of the WeMo device will no longer be visible once it is already connected to the router's network. To have a stable performance on the WeMo switch, make sure to update the firmware. Here's how: http://www.belkin.com/us/support-article?articleNum=27353

Should you need our assistance, feel free to send us an email at BelkinCares@belkin.com. We'll be glad to assist you.

Regards,

Belkin Support
www.belkin.com/support

Reviewed By:SHIFTER,8/7/2014 3:14:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sort of works…
Pros: Very good sound quality. Easy to set up. Will indeed stream MP3s from your phone to a remote speaker.
Cons: For years I've wished for a way to control a whole-home sound system from any room, and I thought this was finally it. Real close, but not quite. I did learn that DLNA is a good way to spend many hours of your life fruitlessly. Dozens of programs and apps, most of which don't seem to work. This is probably an area where the Apple ecosystem shines (perhaps that's why this device is shiny white), though I wasn't able to test this. But in the android and PC world, incompatibility and frustration abounds.

Theoretically, DLNA should allow me to control a music player on my PC with an android app, and stream the music to the D-Link DCH-M225, but it just wouldn't work. I finally called D-Link tech support, and after being switched between three departments, finally their crack team of "new product" specialists informed me that this device can't do that. In fact, it turns out they were wrong, and I eventually was able to stream music from my PC using either Windows Media Player or MediaMonkey – with one problem. DLNA can only play a file, not a folder, so you must direct it to a playlist. Except that DLNA can't handle a playlist with more than 200 to 300 songs. So if you want to play your entire library, sorry.

So the closest I came to my dream system was to load up my phone with as much music as it can hold, and stream from it. This isn't ideal – the phone only holds 32 gigs, and streaming music over Wi-Fi will quickly exhaust the battery – but hey, there was some success.

Another reviewer seemed to be able to use the M225 to stream Internet radio, but I have no idea how.
Other Thoughts: There are other ways to approach this problem – various apps that can move music between smart phones and PCs in various ways. For me, the M225 offered no real advantage to these other (often free) solutions. And as has been noted, it's abilities as a Wi-Fi extender are limited at best.
Reviewed By:electronman,8/6/2014 12:23:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All in one box, wifi extender plus music e
Pros: Compatibility with my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 and other android phones.
Easy to configure right out of the box
Software is easy to use
User interface (web) is simple and NOT too complex
Small and compact form factor
Quality material / plastic construction
Fits right onto the wall plug
It remembers my wifi signal and password even after unplugging it over and over again.
Pricing not too steep for this type of device
I like that it has a 3.5" mm headphone jack so I could plug into speakers.
Audio quality was good, I didn't feel like it lost any sound quality at all.
Cons: I wish it had a small USB port to charge my MP3 player. I had an older SanDisk MP3 player laying around, which I used to test, and the SanDisk has a USB head for charging and playing rather than using all WiFi only devices.

Although it's great for streaming music wirelessly, the WiFi extension part of it was a little lacking. Some times, when I connected onto the D-Link WiFi extender, my signal was less than when it connected directly into my router...and I had the plug right next to my computer.

When connected to the D-Link WiFi extender, I had a hard time connecting to my NAS and playing HD movies. I was able to do music fine but HD content was stuttering.

Just like some other bluetooth speakers out there; there is a 1 second lag between where the music is played on my phone (or PC) and what is being heard from my speakers.
Other Thoughts: After getting the D-Link extender all set up with my wifi, these were the setups that I had tested.

The first setup was simple: play music from my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 while having the D-Link extender hooked up to my older receiver (Sony 5.1 Stereo receiver). This worked out really well. No flaws at all and no stuttering.

The second setup was very similar, except that playing the music was from my laptop instead of my Galaxy Note 3...this setup was also flawless since everything was on the same network.

Of course, if you had other smaller speaker setups, you could plug that instead of plugging it onto a big receiver like I did...

After those setups, I have to say that I love this D-Link extender...as a music extender to my receiver...as for the WiFi extending capabilities, I think there's more work that can be done there from D-Link. It was more of a miss than a hit for the WiFi extending capabilities. I have a lot of devices connected to my network (11 devices) and that may be one of the issues, but who knows?

As for my recommendation: if you need a great performing music extender, this one is for you. I would highly recommend it.

It is high quality, small and compact, it remembers the wifi password without having to re-enter it every time you unplug it and the quality is loss-less.

If you want a wifi extender, it works but doesn't justify the pricing for it. I find that the wifi extending capabilities are another "perk" you get for getting a music extender.
Reviewed By:AlphaSludge,8/5/2014 2:59:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Automation > D-Link > D-Link DCH-M225 Wi-Fi Audio Extender

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Music Streaming for Phones
Pros: My main concern with this product was sound quality. Fortunately there didn't seem to be any degradation of the sound quality, even when I started to get near the far range of the Wi-Fi signal. The device streams data fast enough for any kind of music, even very high bit rate.
Easy to use and configure. WPS button on the side for easy integration into your existing wireless network.
Compatible with iOS and Android.
I was able to use Airplay with my iPhone. I've never used it before so it was a bit confusing at first. But it's actually quite simple, especially if you're using a phone. You just use your Wi-Fi to connect to it and in iTunes you enable Airplay. Then your music will automatically stream to whatever speaker you have hooked up to the D Link. I was able to control the volume using my iPhone like you would under ordinary conditions. I read in another review that somebody wasn't able to do that. Of course, it helps to be able to control volume on the speakers you've got connected.
One very nice feature with this device is it's easily portable. Small enough to fit in your pocket.
Another nice bonus is the default password is on the bottom, but, it's nearly impossible to read if it's plugged in. However, you can plug and unplug it as much as you want and it remembers your settings.
Cons: This device is rated for 300 Mb/sec. But I didn't get anywhere near that. I however didn't bother to update the firmware, I understand there is an update, but since it did what I wanted I didn't see the need. The range is rated for 300 feet but I was lucky to get 50 feet. Maybe if you were outside you would get more range, but indoors the range isn't that great. You're supposed to be able to use it as a range extender, but the bandwidth is so poor it's almost useless for anything but streaming music.
I also had trouble detecting it with my phone if I was within 15 feet of my router. I got this hoping it would work with my iPod Touch Gen 4, which I did read somewhere that it was compatible, but it wasn't. It's only compatible with Gen 5 touches and iOS 6.3 or newer.
This device uses a 1/8 inch jack as an audio output. Which I guess is ok since any device you would hook up to your phone would need that jack, but it would be nice to have some other options. You could use adapters to get the 1/8 inch jack converted to red and white RCA plugs for stereo sound. With the use of adapters you could eventually get it to work with virtually any kind of plug you could imagine.
All the advertised features work, but aside from the music streaming, not very well. So it really is overpriced at this time. Unless they can provide a firmware update that enables it to transmit data at the full 300 Mb/sec bandwidth. Then it would be worth the cost.
Other Thoughts: The D Link audio extender is great for streaming audio, but not much else. And unless you're using a phone, you're stuck exchanging your internet access for audio streaming capability. There are a lot of other options out there for range extenders that work a lot better and plenty of routers that have apps that allow you to stream via your home network. But for a very basic audio streaming option, this isn't a bad choice. Mainly for a select group of people, not something I would recommend for everybody. Basic and inexperienced users would probably find this device useful.
Reviewed By:cerealkeller,8/5/2014 6:41:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau