Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Plasma TV > LG Electronics > LG 60" Class 1080p 600Hz Plasma TV – 60PN6500

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Shipping sucks
Pros: Huge
Cons: Dont have mine,.
Other Thoughts: Worst shipping experience ever. 2nd bad one with the egg in the last few months. I still do not have my tv, supposed to be delivered 2x now. Got the run around from both AIT and the local delivery contractor that delivers for them. I'm pretty sure my tv has been riding around the cities in the heat for 2 days now. NOt sure I am even going to accept it when/IF it comes tomorrow.
Reviewed By:HD,6/3/2014 4:04:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 51" 720p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F4500AFXZA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Samsung 51
Pros: Price*
Size*
Cons: 720p*
Reviewed By:Techie Guy,5/24/2014 5:55:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 51" 720p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F4500AFXZA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like it should
Pros: *Price
*Energy Start
*Name Brand
Cons: *Not Smart (No Netflix, etc)
*Short warranty, and you are responsible for shipping if there's an issue.
Other Thoughts: TV has worked great so far. It is your "basic" TV....no apps. But picture looks great and no issues with it being refurbished. I was a little worried in the packaging (there TV is just in a box with nothing protecting the screen except the corner bubble supports) but CEVA delivered the box in great shape. Yes, its 720p, but the picture looks great to me.
Reviewed By:Jamanvan,5/14/2014 7:38:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > Panasonic > Panasonic 65" Class (64.7" Diag.) 1080p 600Hz SMART VIERA® S64 Series Full HD Plasma TV - TC65PS64

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NOT A HAPPY CAMPER
Pros: Looks great when the red horizontal line of pixels is not present.
Cons: This TV set has not even been on my wall for 2 weeks before the red pixels began appearing on the bottom of the screen. According to panasonic, I can get a full refund since the parts are not available. I'm looking at almost a month before I can get all this situated along with a wall bracket I can't use now.
Reviewed By:JT,3/7/2014 12:38:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 5500 51" Class (50.7" Diagonal size) 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F5500AFXZA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hasn't Arrived
Pros: ????
Cons: If I had known it would take so long to get this tv, I would have gone to the store and bought it. It's the same price. I thought I would be good to Newegg and buy from them. All of my $3200 order arrived within 3 days, except this tv. This is the LAST time I will ever order a TV from Newegg.
Reviewed By:Adler,2/17/2014 12:37:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 60" Class Plasma with HWF450 Soundbar - PN60F8500/HWF450

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Just Okay
Pros: extremely flexible and easy-to-use interfaces
Cons: Sound is flat; no true tweeter and the woofer/subwoofer is weak (but solid) even at max setting. DFX helps but the sub/woofer is going to require some circuit adjustments. BTW I use this only in a moderate size bathroom.
Other Thoughts: I got it "free" with a high-end Samsung TV and I'm very glad I didn't buy it alone; worth about $150 IMO.
Reviewed By:LA,2/16/2014 9:04:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 43" 720p Plasma HDTV - PN43F4500AFXZA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Slowest way to buy a TV
Pros: It's a nice TV.
Cons: Slowest way to buy a TV. It took 13 days to get it. Price dropped $50 in that period of time on Newegg.
Other Thoughts: This is not the first TV I've purchased from Newegg. The first arrived in a very timely fashion. It took 13 days from the time I ordered it to arrive at my door. The Iron Egg deal got me a $50 gift card to cover the price reduction.
Reviewed By:Pontiacdragracer,1/24/2014 10:09:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 60" Class (59.9" Diag.) 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV PN60E550D1FXZA

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 A Great TV But With Some Flaws
Pros: Excellent picture (always expected with Samsung), swivel stand. Internal speakers are acceptable, even if not outstanding. 2 USB ports; will accept a keyboard for input. 3D capability was the main selling point, plus I wanted to go a bit larger with screen size (this replaced a 50" model). Overall, I have been satisfied with this TV, but that satisfaction has eroded somewhat.

Samsung support, though a bit convoluted, is very responsive.
Cons: GENERAL CONS: No audio output (?). 3D requires active 3D glasses which require batteries, but the 3D effect is amazing!

I have had several problems with this TV:

NETWORK CONNECTION: The TV sits on a stand along with a Samsung Blu-Ray player and a game console. The player and the console connect to my wireless network and STAY connected. This TV, however didn't stay connected from day one, and after a few months, it wouldn't connect at all (wouldn't even see any wireless networks), and my router is about 30 ft. or so from the TV. I even connected a second router that was placed about 6 ft. from the TV and it still wouldn't stay connected.
I connected an Ethernet cable directly to the TV and it sat for about 2 minutes trying to configure itself, then it just turned off an back on again. From that point, if I tried to configure network settings or even view network status, the TV would freeze (no response to remote) for about a minute, then turn off an back on again.

UPDATING FIRMWARE: There is a firmware update available for this TV, but I cannot update it over the network (for reasons explained above) and when I try doing it via USB, the TV says it cannot find the update files on the UBS flash drive (and they are there exactly as they are supposed to be).

TURNS ON AND OFF: After a few months, the TV would turn itself off and back on again randomly. It would do this maybe once or twice a day. It eventually got so bad that I had to call support. I timed it, and it was happening every 3 minutes and 15 seconds or so. Unplugging the power cord for about a minute then plugging it back in helped temporarily.

I finally called Samsung support, and a tech was on site the next day (which was great!). He wound up replacing the power module and the I/O board. When he left, the TV was working fine; I was able to connect to my wireless network, and the on/off cycling stopped. I haven't tried yet to update the firmware.

Two days after that however, the HDMI port #1 simply stopped working. I switched cables, and even connected another device to that port, but to no avail. So now the TV has only 2 working HDMI ports. I'm only saying I can live with this because I am planning to get an A/V receiver soon so it won't matter. This is still a disappointing thing though.
Other Thoughts: I bought this TV directly from Samsung during a promotion that meant a VERY significant break on the price. I am now wondering if this was part of a batch of known problematic units that they were just dumping to get rid of them. That's disappointing if that's true, but I don't know for sure that it is.

As I said, Samsung support is very responsive. I was able to talk to a real person on the phone (though of setting up a support ticket is a bit convoluted) and had a tech on site the next day.

I am a pretty firm supporter of Samsung products because they offer great products with great features at fairly reasonable prices, and even though I have been disappointed in this particular one, this will not deter me from buying Samsung products in the future. I will probably be more hesitant however, to buy products directly from Samsung that have the kind of discounts I got on this TV. :)

The thing that keeps me positive is that I still have about 6 months left on the full parts and labor warranty, and hopefully I can get all the issues resolved before that expires.

As it is though, I have to demote this particular product to only 3 eggs. This is no reflection on Samsung, just this particular product.
Reviewed By:The Mokoda,12/16/2013 7:46:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > LG Electronics > LG 50" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 50PM9700

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: :/
Cons: Less than 3 years old and it already has a dead pixel.
Other Thoughts: I called LG and the only "fix" is to replace the panel....for about $150 less than what the entire unit costs. I will never buy another LG ANYTHING. EVER.
Reviewed By:JuDos,12/4/2013 1:58:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Plasma TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung 64" Class (64" Diag.) 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV PN64D8000FXZA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great plasma picture on a great looking TV
Pros: I did weeks of research before I spotted this gem on Newegg. The price was amazing, $1,599.00 right before they discontinued it. I was looking for a plasma display as I'm not a fan of the 120-240Hz 'soap opera' effect you find on newer LED/LCD displays and I love the deep blacks plasma displays are capable of producing.

This TV has an amazing display. Blu rays are extremely vivid, colors are accurate (even on the preset 'BD Wise' picture mode) and the detail is amazing, even in the darker scenes. If the scene takes place in a cave, you can actually see the detail of the cave rock in the shadows.

I haven't had a chance to view HD sources like cable or satellite on this TV as of yet, as I don't subscribe to any of those services. I can, however, vouch that Netflix rocks on this TV. Using the Smart Hub Netflix app, I'm able to stream 1080p and 5.1 sound with no freezing or buffering. The picture quality is very impressive and I'm pleases with the wi-fi / streaming experience so far.

Perhaps less important to some people, this TV is gorgeous (and freakin huge!). It has a quality feel and a quality look. I personally like the chrome accent of the 4 leg stand but what makes the TV really stand out is the brushed metal framing, which isn't large at all. It is a relatively thin border all around which helps give the TV the 'newer' look you expect from higher end LED/LCD's. Very good looking TV on the stand, I imagine even better looking when mounted.

The sound is what is to be expected from a flat screen television. It's hard to produce big sound from such a confined, flat chassis, but this TV actually does pretty well. Using is 'surround sound' emulator mode, it actually produces believable room filling sound. Nothing compared to a good 5.1 surround setup, but it does the job nicely.

All in all, I'm very satisfied with this purchase.
Cons: I don't have any huge dislikes about this TV but I will mention a couple of things here, as the 'cons' section really is the more useful of the two, isn't it? :)

- The remote control. In my opinion, it's gimicky. It does have a full qwerty on the flip side of the remote, but it seems to have very limited applicable uses (e.g., does not work with Netflix, Hulu, etc.). It seems to work well enough while using the Samsung apps or features, however. The functionality of the remote also seems slow / sluggish. When scrolling through items on Netflix and other apps there is some amount of lag between pressing the button on the remote and the resulting action being performed by the TV. Not a huge deal, but worth a mention.

- TV reboots occasionally. Seems to be random and has only happened a couple of times in the ~2 months that I've owned it. Once while watching Netflix and another while watching Hulu, both via the Smart Hub. I have not seen this happen while watching TV over the antenna or while watching a blu ray, so maybe it's Smart Hub / App related. These TV's have computers in them, and computers are prone to reboot or crash now and again, so this certainly hasn't been a big deal.
Other Thoughts: All in all I would definitely recommend this purchase, if the TV wasn't already discontinued, to a friend. One of the few big ticket purchases I've been completely satisfied with over the past few years. Great picture, decent sound and a decent Smart Hug / App setup as well. Was already a Samsung fan and this TV doesn't disappoint.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/3/2013 2:19:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau