Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-SR806S 7.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 HDMI failed after 3 years
Pros: [Newegg lists this as being out of stock, and I'm guessing it's discontinued. So please pardon me if I keep this review brief; I'm just dropping it here in case this item goes on sale again].

Sounds great. As an audio receiver it's a great product. That's the only thing saving it from a one-egg rating.
Cons: I bought this behemoth over other receivers in roughly the same price range because of its HDMI capabilities.

After 3 years of everything working great, I suddenly had to turn the TV on for about 10 seconds before turning on the Onkyo or I'd get no video ("no signal" reported by the TV). Power cycling the receiver would solve the problem.

About a year ago the Onkyo would sometimes completely refuse to pass a video signal. Some power cycling and cursing would eventually get it to work. Then it stopped completely.

I now have a small HDMI switch box doing the job of video switching. I would have bought a much cheaper receiver if that's what I wanted.

(PS - So you know I'm not wildly incompetent at diagnosing the problem: In the cases when the receiver wasn't passing video I did try connecting my source directly to the TV -- that worked without fail.)
Other Thoughts: This thing draws ~120W of power just sitting there when it's turned on. For a while I was just leaving it on in order to avoid power cycling the unit over and over. At my electric rates that equates to about $17/mo. Upon doing that calculation I bought the HDMI switch box.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 3:42:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-RC560 7.2-Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: liked everything bout this
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2014 2:13:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V375 5.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Dies when you plug in USB
Pros: Amazing sound quality & Clear HDMI signal
Cons: USB will put the device into "protection mode". This will not allow it to start it back up. When in protection mode you will have to return it or try accessing it by unplugging everything for one hour and then attempting to turn back on.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a great device and I love it. As of 4/13/14, it's currently out of stock, so I will have to wait to return my dead device, but it's a 4/5 in my book.
Reviewed By:Alex,4/13/2014 11:45:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-523-K 5.1-Channel 4K Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Reciever!
Pros: Awesome quality. Sound, build, and style are all great. Great buy for $250. Has just enough speaker control including SW control. Excellent crossover control and enough sound processing options anyone could dial this thing into their preferred sound. Excellent SW control. Excellent Speaker Control.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Sounds great on my Polk speakers and sub.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/11/2014 1:42:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Technical Pro > Technical Pro RX38UR Professional Stereo Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the price
Pros: Cheap construction, but has a small bubble level and HDMI cable with the kit so for the money you can't go wrong.
Cons: The provided M6 screws were too long to mount the brackets to the rear of the tv even using the provided spacers. Not really the manuf. fault cause they can't provide all possibilities, so I will have to make a trip to the hardware store, kinda bummed out.
Other Thoughts: Overall worth the price and hassle of making a trip for smaller screws.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 11:41:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V375 5.1 Channel 3D AV Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product but with no standby passthrough.
Pros: Specifications looks great, great support for multiple audio formats, great price advantage.
Cons: Haven't had much time to play with the unit because it lacks HDMI passthrough in standby mode. This was not mentioned anywhere in the specification and this was a real deal breaker for me. I didn't want the unit to be ON every time I watch something. RMA-ed.

Taking the stars off because of Newegg's return policy. Will consider buying alternatives next time.
Reviewed By:alpha.s,4/10/2014 8:21:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-V373BL 5.1-Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after a year
Pros: Sounded good when working
Cons: Died after a year. Not worth the money.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 7:29:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-V373BL 5.1-Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Broken after 1 year
Pros: Works great when working
Cons: The unit will no longer connect to my television, it appears that the HDMI output is corrupted. I unplugged the HDMI cable and attached directly to my cable box and it works fine, so definitely the unit. Was able to fiddle with it and get it working, but it only worked for another week and stopped again.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/10/2014 7:25:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > YAMAHA RX-A3020 9.2-Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect with unique feature.
Pros: -Onscreen menus help with some of the more complicated setup situations
-Android app for control and DLNA streaming playback of audio files locally stored on your Smart Phone is robust and not just an afterthought. (3rd party Android apps allow you to stream Smart Phone app based or subscription based music services to the a3020).
-HDMI passthrough so you can easily use the A/V devices attatched to the a3020 with just your TV's speakers (great for watching a quick youtube video without the need to power up the unit and your seven 500 watt speakers).
-"Scene" feature (speaker layout/input device/room presets) make it easy to use the unit for specfic situations, i.e. ditching the center speaker and cranking the bass when listing to music or upping the center speaker for clearer dialogue while watching movies.
-Muting or turning the volume all the way down switches the internal amp off and you can hear the relay click so it's physically disconnected from power. (My old receiver only did that when headphones where inserted). This goes along with this next point.
-You can set a default volume to use when the unit is powerd on. Setting it at "mute" saves power for the few functions (Pandora, DLNA, Apple AirPlay etc) that need the unit on but don't necessarily need to use any of the attached speakers in the room the a3020 is in.
-Included microphone and "boomerang" thing to automatically calibrate speaker placement, crossover, angle, db level, etc. After calibrating my lame entry level speakers, IMHO, music sounds balanced in my weird shaped room and movies sound great. Even though my speakers not placed in very optimum locations.
-Built in "Internet Radio" function that will find most stations that broadcast via a website address.
-Light up, programable and learning IR remote. You can even program it to control IR light-switch dimmers.
-If you run 7.1, which most A/V sources are, in the main room you can also have speakers wired to another room where you just want audio and don't need video (kitchen, deck etc.) while still allowing 2 other rooms to view audio and video (see below for more info on multi-room output).
-No noticible "input lag" while playing video games, even with video processing.
-Option for a 2nd subwoofer
-Upsacles sources to 1080p
-Can pass native 4k signals (haven't tested).
Cons: -No way to set a default "scene" that the unit will use when it is powered on. It will use the one that was last selected when the unit was turned off. Occasionally I'll start a movie on my "Music" preset and won't notice I've had the center speaker switched off until someone starts moving their lips witohut talking. (Althrough you can press a scene button on the remote/app and it will power the unit on and use that button's scene in one fell swoop it would be nice if it defaulted to the preset you use most often).
-After calibrating the speakers the unit always sets my lame entry level front speakers to "large" when they really have no business being set that way. Luckily its easy to make changes to the automatic setup.
-DLNA is for audio only, i.e. no video decoding. No biggie as there are other devices that do this better than the a3020 would.
-Upsacling video sources to 1080p seems to be "all or none". Yamaha tech said sources that are already 1080p won't have any post processing done to them but I'm not sure about that. No way to really test.
Other Thoughts: The one feautre that this unit has, that I couldn't find on any other A/V unit (less than like $9,999), is what I describe as "simultaneous multi-device, multi-room HDMI output".

More and more A/V receivers have 2 HDMI outputs now for sending any ONE of your A/V sources to a different room. I purchased this Yahmaha becuase it allows you to output any TWO A/V sources to TWO different rooms AT THE SAME TIME.

So you could connect all of your A/V devices to the A3020 in your living room. In my case I have an XBOX and a PS3 that get the most use. One person can play XBOX @ 1080p with 7.1 surround sound in that main room (via HDMI Out 1 and the speakers connected to the a3020's amplifier) and another person can, at the same time, watch a Blu-Ray @ 1080p on the PS3 in one of the bedrooms (via HDMI Out 2 using the TV's speakers). I just had to run 1 HDMI cord to the 2nd room.

Throw your old HDMI A/V receiver into the 2nd rooom and you can have 7.1 surround sound in that room as well, as the signal the a3020 sends is identical to what it is given by the source A/V device. Only when the 1st and 2nd room are utilizing the same device at the same time will the 2nd room sound signal be downgraded to 2 channel.

Like I said before, most A/V receivers in this price range only allow ONE person to use any ONE connected device in ONE room at a time. You can even leave the a3020 powered off and both rooms could just use the speakers built into their TVs and save some electricy.

The smart phone app makes selecting the inputs in other rooms easy. You won't have to buy a 2nd remote, disturb the person in the main room or even get off the couch.
Reviewed By:SeattleTyler,4/9/2014 5:37:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-RC560 7.2-Channel Network AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Majot HDMI audio problems
Pros: Worked fine for about 2 weeks.
Cons: HDMI audio problems just like all the other reviews. Sometimes no audio output at all, sometimes won't decode AC3 or DTS, and sometimes works perfectly (for about 10 minutes till audio cuts out again).

I would NOT recommend this to anybody. Onkyo has known about this problem for several years and has not fixed it yet. Luckily I submitted my RMA request on the 30th day or else I would be stuck with a boat anchor. Waiting for NewEgg to refund me because they do not stock this item any more.
Other Thoughts: Another very poor feature is the power management. 99% of the time I am using an HTPC as source for video, and when the computer goes to sleep, the receiver will just output a solid blue screen onto my TV. Normal behavior is that when the PC goes to sleep, it stops display output, and the TV will go to sleep after no activity. The way that Onkyo has it set up the TV will NOT go to sleep because of the blue screen. Very disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2014 1:59:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau