Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor Series New Monitor 65T Three-Way Ported Floorstanding Loudspeaker (Black) Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Speakers
Pros: I always wanted to have these speakers. I have an Onkyo home theater 5.1. The sound was good but I wanted more details specially when listening to jazz, guitar solos or acoustic music. I replace the front right and left. These speakers deliver what I want. It fills the room beautifully. Sadly, I live in a coop building my neighbor downstairs is a cranky old man who stays at home all day I can't listen to these speakers at its full potential. I'm satisfied. A pretty good deal when they are on sale $129 each plus 10% off using Vme card and free shipping. Thanks newegg.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When I received these Speakers the Superintendent of the building looked at me in a skeptical way. These boxes are huge and a little bit heavy. At least I know they are well package. Thankfully the are not so big when I open it. The internal speakers dimensions are 37" H x 7" W x 12 1/16" D. The Weight (each): 31 lbs.
Reviewed By:Vancety,4/18/2014 9:00:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Audioengine > Audioengine A2+ Premium Powered Desktop Speakers - Pair (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best premium entry level desktop PC speakers on the market.
Pros: These are by far the best speakers I have ever heard from. They have a small form factor with the sound of huge speakers. I was going for a simplistic aesthetic for my desk and these fit in perfectly they are clean simple and they create beautiful sound. the A2+ exhibited warm mids along with crisp and clear highs. And when I say Crisp I really do mean Crisp. they make great gaming speakers. Even though they're small they produce about 100 Db of the six feet away. I have my volume settings set around 25 in windows, and they shake the room. plus it comes with a built in DAC to produce great analog sound. It also has RCA input and output so you can attach your subwoofer if you would like to and they also have a 3.5 millimeter Jack for easy access for your phone, or PC if you choose to hook it up that way.
Cons: The Bass could be a little better but that is also something you can work on with the EQ settings on your sound card. But nonetheless its nothing to remove an egg for. Also they are a tad expensive but I have to say you do get what you pay for, which is premium quality desktop speakers.
Reviewed By:drida21,4/17/2014 11:22:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > VIZIO > Vizio 32" 2.1 Soundbar With Subwoofer - VSB211

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A like-new Refurb Soundbar
Pros: This soundbar produces good sound improvement on my 47" Vizio. For an unbelievably low price (yeah, Newegg!), I was prepared to simply ditch the refurb as a bad investment and not even bother with an RMA if it didn't work. With that going-in attitude, it was a pleasant surprise to discover that it worked great except for a couple of issues. A wiring diagram is provided, but you need to do an online search for easily-found detailed info. In response to a reader's questions/comments, the subwoofer is not wireless. Not a big drawback for my application. I can recommend this soundbar.
Cons: Scant setup info. Limited remote value.
Other Thoughts: The price of this refurb unit was ridiculously low after a generous rebate. I had been wanting one of these but was unsure that it was worth the going price (>$150 new, discounted). It arrived quickly and was packaged in like-new condition. Setup was easy. There were two minor flaws - the remote battery was dead (CR2032) and was replaced for 2$. The 3.5mm out/in audio connection did not work. However the A/V - 3.5mm audio connection works fine.
The remote is fairly worthless for day to day use and sits on a shelf. It just seems to be hit and miss on adjustments. I have adapted to manual operation which I'm OK with.
Reviewed By:dcadog,4/17/2014 6:14:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Bose > BOSE® 151® SE Environmental Speakers (Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good but no bass sound
Pros: The sound that comes out of these speaker is beyond compare. Great high and mid-range sounds but no bass as these are additional coverage speakers if you are running a four speaker system. To get the bass notes go with the Bose 251, which is the best outdoor speaker on the market and totally worth the extra money.
Cons: Not enough mounting options, there is just one bracket that will lock in place when mounting I would love to have a drop mount. Also like i mentioned earlier to get the full music notes you have to add a separate sub-woofer system
Other Thoughts: I had to buy my on vacation and didn't even get to hear them prior to purchase from the factory outlet. When installing this outdoors spent a little extra money and run a sealed end plug wire instead of using crimp-on caps the wire will corrode from element exposure.
Reviewed By:doitall,4/17/2014 12:12:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Boston Acoustics > Boston Acoustics SWXSDCB SoundWare XS Digital Cinema Home Theater System (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent soundbar alternative
Pros: - compact size
- improved sound compared to stock flatscreen speakers
- learning remote module
- multiple inputs: optical, stereo/coax, 3.5mm stereo jack, bluetooth
- optical & coax cables included
- flexible mounting options
- well-finished design
Cons: - lots of wires to subwoofer: power cord, optical audio input, remote control module, speakers
- remote module indicator leds are too bright (+but only stay on about 5 secs)
- bass response seems a bit heavy
Other Thoughts: I needed a better sound system for my Samsung 32" LED TV, which I have wall-mounted on a swivel in my sunroom. There was no place to put a soundbar but the 1/4-20 threaded inserts on the back of each speaker made it easy to fab and attach an aluminum angle across the top VESA mounting screws, with the speakers attached to each end of the angle. So the speakers swivel with the TV. The speakers also come with wall mounting brackets that have ball-type swivels, or you can set them on a shelf (they will aim slightly upward).

The box mine came in had a manufacture date in 2012 so they'd been sitting for awhile, but they look and work fine.

The subwoofer is small (about a 9" cube) but adequate for this room. Very unobtrusive.

Overall I'm pleased, these speakers are much more flexible than a soundbar would've been. And they look nice too.
Reviewed By:Joacchim,4/17/2014 8:38:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Polk Audio > Polk Audio Monitor Series New Monitor 55T Two-Way Ported Floorstanding Loudspeaker (Black) Single

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Entry Speaker
Pros: Great tweeter, very clear vocals, good sound with some tweaking, good for small rooms, price
Cons: The frequency response is not flat at all, requires tweaking to get a good sound, power hungry, not good for large rooms
Other Thoughts: I was in the market for a used pair of PSBs or similar for my office, but jumped on these the other day ($49 after rebate) as the price was too good to pass. I first set them up in my living room and swapped out my Paradigm mains to compare (I know not a fair comparison), but I couldn't get a good sound from them. I have a large room, tiled floor with carpet rug and wall sound treatments. The speakers sounded very small, clear vocals but no depth. I was a little disappointed at first. Then moved upstairs to my office (10x12 carpeted room) and set them up with an older Onkyo receiver and my PC via optical cable. Ok, speakers sounded a lot better up here but still not quite right. After fiddling a bit with the Windows Media Player equalizer they started sounding really nice. I gave them some boost at 62Hz and 125Hz, and brought them down at 250Hz and 500Hz. This made a dramatic difference and I am very happy. This is not possible on a typical receiver so I would not have been very happy with these speakers in a living room situation. I also do not recommend them for larger rooms, even with my sub they had no presence. Again I am accustomed to Paradigm Monitor 11s so if I had no basis for comparison or was coming from a HTIB setup I may have felt differently. But for the price I really can't complain, I am very happy with my purchase.
Reviewed By:Dave,4/15/2014 9:23:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Pioneer > Pioneer SP-FS52 Andrew Jones Designed Floor Standing Loudspeaker Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very nice Front Speakers
Pros: These Fronts Sound amazing

Size They are very large especially for the SP-C22 center speaker.

Just make sure you have the room and it will sound superb.
Cons: They have no cons. perform better than i could have ever imagined.
Other Thoughts: I paired these with the Pioneer SP-BS22-LR for Rears and the Pioneer SP-C22 for the center with the BIC America F-12 Sub-woofer that sits on a SubDude. The sound of these speakers are impeccable. My Receiver is a 7.2 channel Onkyo Receiver.

Waiting for the SP-BS22-LR's to go on sale again to pick up two more for rears. or for height speakers for the front..
Reviewed By:NcokeO,4/15/2014 8:16:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > JBL / harman kardon > JBL Studio 1 Series Studio 190 Home Audio Speaker Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what I wanted
Pros: They live up to the name. JBL!
Nothing but HiFi. I have my system as follows:
RX-V673 Yamaha 7.2 AVR
JBL Studio 1 Series Studio 120c Center
JBL Studio 1 Series Studio 190 x2 Front L/R
Cerwin Vegas(6" woofer& 1" tweeter) x2 SL/SR
JBL Studio 1 Series Studio 130 x2 RL/RR

The CV's were inherited into the assembly, but are great sounding bookshelf speakers and I can't say I regret placing them as surrounds.

After a bit of YPAO calibrating and some of my own, I got it sounding just right. YPAO did a splendid job of getting it in the ballpark -- probably even better than that.

As for these 190's, they are everything I wanted them to be. I originally had everything at first but them in a 5-channel set-up, but I really felt that the front sound stage was lacking in fullness. These bad boys really widen it and have a great dynamic range. The clarity is superb. From music to movies, everything is so crisp and immersive.
Cons: Ordered 2 190's and one of them had a bit of a scuff. This has been noted by many others all over the web. I think it is mostly due to the design and the weight of the speakers working against it when combined with shipping and its unpredictability. To sum that bit, stuff happens. I'm fine with the scuff as it is not noticeable when you're on the couch and it's where it needs to be. ;)
Other Thoughts: I did not try bi-amping the 190's but I haven't felt the need to. Also, I don't think it's worth dumbing down to a 5 channel from a 7 so easily. I would try bi-amping in my free time, and if it advantageous, as I've heard it helps power these beasts, I will consider going a step or two higher on my next avr. I would have to get a 9 or 11 channel avr and use 4 on the front 2 surrounds in active bi-amping. But like I said, I am extremely happy with what I have now, so there's that. :)
Reviewed By:John C.,4/14/2014 9:49:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Klipsch > Klipsch Synergy F-20 Premium Dual 6.5" Floor-standing Speaker Single

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Update to Previous Review About Broken Legs
Pros: When they're working, they sound really crisp. In my opinion, they sound better than a pair of equivalent Polks, though everyone has different tastes, so definitely recommend you listen to a Klipsch or Polk if you're looking for some cheap starter speakers.
Cons: The two bottom drivers on one of the speakers that I bought, haven't worked since I took the speakers out of the box. The reason I gave a 3 star in my first review was because tech support seemed like they were on the ball with things. However, that doesn't seem to be the case. I'm an engineer, and am very good at troubleshooting hardware issues. I called Klipsch support and explained everything that I tried to get the bad speaker to work. I thought it was the banana plugs I was using, so I switched the plugs with the good, to the bad..nothing. I switched physical speaker locations to see if it was the AV receiver...not the AV receiver. Maybe the HDMI cable...not the HDMI cable (tried 3 different cables). I originally had the banana plugs, plugged into the top two terminals, and then I plugged them into the bottom two terminals to see if that would work...still nothing, I explained all of this to Klipsch support, and let them know that the only thing working properly on the speaker was the top tweeter. Klipsch promptly 'put in an order so that I can resolve the issue'. Their idea of fixing the issue was to send me another tweeter through the mail....I'd avoid Klipsch if you want a plug and play product. They have good products like I said....when they work, but it seems like that's a crapshoot. It's unfortunate too because I was looking at a set of Klipsch Reference series floor standing speakers as well, but after my experience, I doubt that I'll ever do business with Klipsch again.
Other Thoughts: You might have better luck, but be warned. You're probably going to have to call tech support to order some new legs for the speaker because chances are, if you order two speakers, one of them will have broken legs. If you do have problems with your speaker, don't expect them to willfully replace the whole speaker, they'll just send you replacement parts for you to fix yourself, which I don't know if that would void their warranty or not.
Reviewed By:Not Happy,4/14/2014 9:00:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Audio Speakers > Pioneer > Pioneer SP-FS52 Andrew Jones Designed Floor Standing Loudspeaker Single

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best value in tower speakers there is.
Pros: The midrange is where they shine. A great value.
Cons: For true home theater a sub is needed. Not true audiophile speakers.
Other Thoughts: I purchased the FS52 speakers a year ago. I use them for home theater and music. They do a good job with both, though for true home theater a sub is needed. I compared them directly to the comparable Polk and Klipsch speakers before I bought them. You have to step up to B&W or Martin Logan speakers to get better detail and resolution. Their midrange is their strength and to me it was better then the comparable Polk and Klipsch speakers. Their highs are laid back and they don't have very low base, but they do a good job with the midrange(which is where the vocals are and where music "lives"). So, they have a "English speaker" sound. I think Andrew Jones intentionally designed them this way, because cheap receivers tend to be harsh and more "bright" and these speakers would balance that tendency out. I would definitely recommend the tower over the bookshelf if you have the room. I consider myself an audiophile and own Magnepan MMG's and New Acoustic Dimension components for my "reference system." I don't consider the FS52 to be true audiophile grade speakers but they were the best speakers I could find under $300. In my opinion you need to move up to the $350-$450 range to get true audiophile-grade bookshelf speakers like Monitor Audio, Paradigm, and B&W
Reviewed By:AJ777,4/14/2014 6:36:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau