Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worst manufacturer service ever!!! DO NOT BUY
Pros: it was great when it worked.
Cons: humming like many other said (not sub's fault but coaxial cable from cable company. easy fix)
unit stopped working after 70 days.
I've been trying to contact manufacturer through emails, after a few back and forth, they told me to contact merchant. which is definitely bogus
Phone number listed is not answered, ever.
Other Thoughts: it's been almost 2 weeks since unit stopped working (no light, no sound, no sign of life when plugged in)
Still no solution whatsoever.
Price of this unit has been quickly declining $200 beginning of 2015, I bought it at $180. it is now $160
Best get some brand name like Klipsch 12" that goes on sale around $200 fairly often
Reviewed By:N/A,9/1/2015 11:48:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Complaints of defects probably had a grounding issue.
Pros: Competes for best sub woofer under 300$
Cons: Power cable is short. So get a reliable extension cord if you do plan on placing this in an optimized position.

I'd like to write more, but it is getting late.
Other Thoughts: Amazing product for its price. Let's see how long it lasts.

I did notice with a certain wiring method I would hear a ZZZMMM or hum as many have complained. That method was: Using an aux cable from my PC into my amp input. Currently standing, RCA (Y cable) from my PC into my amplifier removed the hum. I can suspect a partial of negative reviews probably had made a similar erroneous choice in their grounding and considered the sub woofer a defect.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/30/2015 4:36:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 great sub for the price. but stopped working
Pros: great price for the rated performance
looks quite nice
loud!!!! and very deep bass
Cons: my unit died after 70 days.
I decided to rearrange my system. moving the sub and speakers around a bit. when I plugged the sub back in, no light, so sound, no sign of life. let's see how the warranty thing works. will update on that.
Other Thoughts: when I first got it plugged in, there was humming. Unlike so many other reviewers here, I did a search and find out that it's not the sub's fault, it's just too sensitive to electrical statics that might come from any of other devices. (most common is the cable box because the coaxial cable from outside plugs into it doesn't have ground) and so after running my cable through a grounded 12-outlets surge protector (everyone should have these for your entertainment systems already) The hum disappear and never came back.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 11:30:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 12 nxg sub
Pros: None.
Cons: Junk, hooked it up as the 2nd sub to my infinity and it hums real loud. Tried different rca's and tried direct. So mad knew I should have waited for the Klipsch 12. AVOID!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 12:57:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sub, great price
Pros: Sounds great, plenty of power for me, great price on a quality budget sub.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I've experienced no issues with hum. The sub is dead quiet when I'm not feeding it a signal. I bought this same model a year ago and it's still going strong. With the price drop, I decided to get a second.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2015 7:08:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Purchase
Pros: Wattage.
Cons: Sub always had terrible feedback out of the box. Stopped working after 50 days of use.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/15/2015 8:58:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Five star sub at a 2 star price
Pros: I had to write a review for this subwoofer and help spread the word of such an awesome sub. Like many others I found Audio reviews stating this was one of the best bang for your buck subs out there. I whole heartedly agree. The accuracy is phenomenal.

I have it hooked up to an Onkyo TX NR 636 receiver with the gain set to +6 in order to pre-emotively avoid the insensitive auto-on issue others report. I have not tried the gain at 0 but the auto-on has been working great.

The sub easily integrated into my HT. I have Def. Tech. SM-55s. The filter is set at 60Hz per manuf. recommendation. The sub is set at 80Hz (lowest setting by the receiver). On the sub I have the knob at 120 Hz so the receiver does the bass management.

Sub integrate easily and sounds amazing. No hum as others have reported. Accurate at very high volumes. Sounds great for movies too, no complaints.

This is one of the few cases where I think I got much more than what I paid...a truly great value.

It has very poor reviews here on NE but great reviews elsewhere...I don't know why. Worth a shot. I highly recommend.
Cons: I think it is very big but of course that is to be expected.

I don't think it is beautiful like others say...just not ugly.

It does not go down to 18Hz as stated. I would say the audible frequency with good sound pressure levels is about 25 Hz. I used the frequency sweeping videos online to test. But for the price it's not surprising it isn't 18Hz +/- 3 db point. I am not deducting a start because great sound and volume...

Another con is that this thing will shake the house and may cause stress fractures is so powerful...but I guess that is a Pro :)
Reviewed By:N/A,8/10/2015 10:54:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None. IT didn't work.
Cons: Well, it doesn't work. So theirs that.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 2:25:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good sub - solved humming issue
Pros: Excellent power and crisp bass; an enormous upgrade from my Polk 100watt
Cons: Humming noise. My setup goes like this:
HDMI from computer to receiver and sub out to sub all on the same outlet. Each component SHOULD have the same ground potential.

For some reason this sub loved to hum, design problem maybe? Anyway here's what I did.

Took a three prong computer ac plug, bent out the hot/neutral so as to not make contact, cut off the female end and stripped the ground wire. I connected the ground wire to the outside sheath of the HDMI that was plugged into the graphics card going out to the receiver and poof! No more hum.

A lot easier than shipping this sucker back and waiting for a refund/replacement.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 5:36:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Pro Sound > NXG Technology > NXG Technology NX-BAS-500 12" 500-watt Powered Subwoofer - Black Pebble Finish

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 No good
Pros: Sounded good when it worked.
Cons: Hummed out of the box. Humming was gone the next day but I didn't do anything to make it go away. After about 4 hrs of use over a couple weeks, it no longer works.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/18/2015 4:25:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.