Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RTD205 5.1CH 200W 5-DVD Home Theater System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Holds Up
Pros: Even though the manufacturer discontinued this item I would get it used. Very powerful!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Bobby P.,11/23/2014 11:24:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 EHHHH
Pros: Sounds good once you go threw setting up.
Cons: The DVD player came with a huge dent on the top. Wasn't the easiest to set up if you are not knowledgeable with electronics. All the cords are super ugly and the Netflix app on the DVD player is super slow.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/22/2014 7:48:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > JBL / harman kardon > JBL Cinema BD100 Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: Sound is cheap,
No inputs to speak of,
Long time to 'warm up'
Turns itself off if sound is off/muted for quite a while.
Over all, unit is very cheap.
Other Thoughts: Don't know why I'm surprised, unit was $200 on sale, and not worth that.
Disposable though, at that price.
Reviewed By:Quandojon,11/21/2014 10:43:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Entry Level Home Theater Sys.
Pros: This is a very good unit for the price though don't expect miracles.

Used it moderately for nearly 8 months without much hassle.
No issues that other purchasers have mentioned about audio cuts or grainy pictures. All of that I assume has to do with many other factors involved that were not posted, as the quality of the video, input source or many other things can affect your video. Especially when projecting images.

I use an inexpensive HDMI cord (100ft) of unbranded cabling running to the Optoma HD131Xe.

I did replace the OEM speaker wire with much better quality due to faulty wiring out of box. Use good aftermarket speaker wire, trust me.

Theater room is provided ample 5.1ch sound for a 12X18 room.
Cons: Speaker wire that comes with system are terrible. Do not use! Mine had shorts in 3 out of 5 speaker wires. Replaced them and all was golden.

Not a bad system although it really is not going to blow your socks off loud or pump enough bass to anger your neighbors while listening to Pantera.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/15/2014 7:23:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon BDS 7772 5.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System with Blu-ray player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Expected more from Harman
Pros: The discount.
The subwoofer.
Cons: Value.
Sound quality.
Support.
Freezes.
Airplay conflicts with Apple TV Airplay.
Other Thoughts: This receiver freezes up like a computer and like a computer, it has to be rebooted to function. I use this daily and it freezes twice a week. The airplay functionality interferes with the Apple TV Airplay so we are unable to use Apple TV Airplay. You can't disable the Airplay function. It's always on and even if you aren't paired, it's persistent frequency will cause interference with Apple TV.

This is not a good purchase by any stretch. My Yamaha system has better sound quality. I expected more from Harman; love the system that came with my SUV but this system is poorly designed. Even at a discount there are better options.
Reviewed By:JMG,11/15/2014 9:40:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon BDS 7772 5.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System with Blu-ray player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy It!!!
Pros: It did not work correctly and the sound was horrible.
Cons: My only satisfaction will be the use of social media and comment sections of websites to display my dissatisfaction and disappointment in how many phone calls and mix-ups there has been in this whole process. Some of which are missing parts, customer service reps that barely speak English, wrong parts shipped, equipment not working and my own shipping cost to return a faulty product. I saved up my money for over a year and all I wanted was a nice working system. I am wondering what the next mix-up will be? Can this experience get any worse??????
Reviewed By:Dave,11/14/2014 6:23:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Bose > Bose CineMate GS II Speaker System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: I bought them cheap, $350.
Gemstone speakers look nice, can go pretty loud
Easy to set up
Cons: Lots of cons: 1. the 'subwoofer' is not good. I listen to bass-heavy music (hip/hop), and the sub just doesn't cut it. It's pretty bad below 40hz - just gives a cheap rumble like you'd hear on a $50 system. Very disappointing. At higher frequencies, it resonates well but just sound hollow and not rich and deep (my home system is Bowers & Wilkins, so maybe an unfair comparison).
2. The remote is infrared, not radio frequency like the more expensive bose systems.
3. It's not versatile - it only has analog and optical inputs, so you can't stream music via bluetooth or wifi (Airplay); it has to be physically connected to something (TV, receiver, phone).
4. The sub is kinda big and not very attractive (especially for the crummy sound it puts out)
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you're not an audiophile or if you listen to music without much bass, this system will do, but I wouldn't pay MSRP of $500-600 for it. If you just want to connect it to a TV, it'll look nice and do the job.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/6/2014 12:30:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not bad for the price, but don't expect too much
Pros: Good sound from the center speaker. Not bad L & R, good selection of inputs (coaxial, hdmi, optical). Decent power and subwoofer..
Cons: lousy rear surround speakers. Absolutely useless. No sound separation at all in the rear speakers. Don't expect to hear somebody sneaking up on you in-game or the rotors of a helicopter coming in from the rear in a movie. Basically gives you simulated surround sound even when sending a true 5.1 signal....
Other Thoughts: Not a bad deal for some cheap speakers. But don't expect anything more than a decent stereo sound with a subwoofer and rear speakers that give some volume to the soundscape but don't really provide good 5.1 separation...
Reviewed By:eonxl,11/5/2014 8:07:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Yamaha > YAMAHA YHT-4910U AV Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Thanks for openly telling everyone whats in the box
Pros: Just got it in the mail
Cons: I don't know who that it was okay to send a home theater box in just the original packaging without covering the pictures and labels of HOME THEATER SYSTEM!!!! and then leaving it on my front porch with the label facing the street. Part blame on UPS, but I am a Premier member (meaning should be free shipping) and I still paid for shipping and newegg didn't even bother putting it in another box to hide the $400 system I just bought
Other Thoughts: Seriously disturbed. It's as if I bought a Intel CPU and all that showed up was the little blue box. Except it's a $400 home theater system and it showed up on my door label out, no signature required or anything. Really?! Newegg, put the OE box into a bigger box that's unmarked before shipping...and if you advertise free 3 day shipping and then don't give that free shipping, seriously, just a 2 dollar box so that it isn't plainly obvious to people that the box they can steal contains something expensive.
Reviewed By:Norm,11/4/2014 2:37:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon BDS 7772 5.1-Channel Home Theater Audio System with Blu-ray player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bangin system for small room
Pros: CEC, ARC HDMI, *2*optical ins with 3 HDMI. This compact 5.1 system is very well made for a HTIB, and at this price you'll have a hard time finding one better. I was skeptical when I read the specs and saw the small Subwoofer. Boy was I surprised when I fired it up the first time. This unit is in a 12' X 12' room and it gives a very full experience.
Cons: Menu system is quirky and takes getting used to. Out of the box the unit will take over your TV and change inputs as set. After messing with the details a bit it now works the way I want and makes me smile consistently. As someone else mentioned, the EZ Setup for audio will suck the life right out of the system and sounds best (to me) set to the defaults. For the price I paid it's a great system. For the price HK wanted, ehh...not sure I'd go for it. As is I am glad I did.
Other Thoughts: The world of home theater is competitive. I think that HK built a really well made system in a box and then made some mis-steps in the marketing and packaging. They included flimsy banana plugs, pre-cut wire (good for hay baling, not good for 25' + speaker runs), and sometimes confusing documentation. After spending a bit of time learning the menus and what they actually mean this system has surprised and satisfied me.

It's too bad that NewEgg and others had to blow these out at the prices they did to move this product. Had HK distributed example systems to the usual HT and Stereo rags for review I think these systems would have sold quite well. I for one am quite happy I took the risk and grabbed one.
Reviewed By:m00se,10/24/2014 5:53:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.