Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > Onkyo SKS-HT540 7.1 Channel Home Theater Speaker System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just as advertised
Pros: It all arrived in a single box, and was well packaged. The speakers are good quality, and an excellent price. They sound great, and are the perfect size for my home theater room.
Cons: The 18 gauge wire that they supply with the speakers is worthless. So invest in some 16ga wire.
The center channel speaker is a little bulky, but I had extra space.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:Ray C.,7/22/2016 8:26:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Klipsch > Klipsch - Quintet V 5.0-Channel Home Theater System - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Upgrade
Pros: + Strong center channel - Gone is the need to micro-manage the volume of action movies with dialogue that's too quiet and explosions that are too loud. Make the explosions as loud as you want and this center channel will keep up.

+ Sturdy construction - When Klipsch throws around terms like 'AcoustiComp' it sounds to me like some lame sales buzz-words. But this stuff has some incredible properties. It feels dense and durable like hardwood, and as Klipsch states in their literature, "cabinet resonance is never an issue."

+ Compact - Powerful enough for a medium-large living room but small enough to not intrude in even a 'tiny home'. The ratio of power to size on these speakers is truly awesome.

+ Great sound - A buddy of mine has a pair of RP-150M's for a high end vinyl setup and between the two of us we have trouble telling a difference in audio quality between those speakers and these. I have no double that his RP's could get much louder, but in terms of sound quality at volume levels that are reasonable for a house - both seem to provide a nearly perfect reproduction of the source audio.

+ Great look - Unless you want giant speakers that fill your wall or floor-space, then these speakers should look fantastic. At the very least they look high quality (and they are), but they're also unobtrusive and don't appear to be compensating for anything.

+ Fantastic deal - Even when they're not on sale these small speakers will go toe-to-toe with systems that cost twice as much. Yes, there are systems that are capable of more volume, and there are systems that sound better. But for the price I have yet to hear anything that sounds as good as these.
Cons: + Klipsch logo on the top - For the past eleven years my previous Klipsch speakers had their logo on the bottom. Now when I look at these I think I installed them upside down.

+ 2yr Warranty - I have no reason to suspect that there are any quality issues with these speakers. All of my experience with Klipsch and with this systems leads me to believe that this system will last decades if properly cared for. I just wish that Klipsch showed similar confidence with their warranty. Polk equipment is covered for 5 years.
Other Thoughts: Back in 2005 I bought a Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 computer speaker system. They provided excellent sound for my PC needs for years and eventually I migrated them into the living room as a home theater surround system (with the help of a Klipsch ProMedia DD-5.1 converter). No one would have guessed that the Klipsch speakers hanging on my wall were "computer speakers". After 11 years of uninterrupted quality I finally decided it was time for an upgrade, even though the ProMedia's are still working great!

I wasn't opposed to looking around at other brands. I sampled some Polk, JBL, BIC, etc... but ultimately I couldn't get away from Klipsch. The ProMedia's were so good to me for so long and these Quintets sound incredible. As soon as I saw these on sale at Newegg for $300 I was locked in.

This set was a perfect upgrade path for me. I had the ProMedia's wall mounted with 5 Pinpoint AM20-Black Universal mounts(fantastic mounts). The Quintets being very similar in size and mounting style to the ProMedia's made the upgrade totally seamless. The only issue was that the center channel uses two mount points instead of one, so it required a custom mount adapter (Pinpoint supplies these). The center channel is also VERY heavy so I felt the need to add support to the wall-mount plate in-wall j-box by drilling it directly into a stud.

I am using these with a Yamaha RX-V579 which is a bit overkill for them but it works great. A less powerful 5.1 receiver would do fine but the 579 was on sale and offers room for upgrades or expansion down the road.

For a sub I went with a Klipsch Reference K-100SW 10", which was also on sale for 150. With hindsight I might have gone with the R10SW as the K100 sometimes feels under-powered for these speakers.

I LOVE this system and will likely use them for another eleven years, if not longer.
Reviewed By:Matthew H.,7/16/2016 4:17:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Klipsch > Klipsch - Quintet V 5.0-Channel Home Theater System - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great surround speakers.
Pros: Good sound, easy set up
Cons: 0
Other Thoughts: Yes
Reviewed By:Noel R.,7/10/2016 10:32:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung HT-E550 1000W 5.1-Channel DVD Home Theater System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4 years strong!!
Pros: Cheap, Easy setup, decent presets settings, above average sound, strong brand name
Cons: Lacks some sound quality but good for price, inconsistent quality
Reviewed By:jj,7/5/2016 6:18:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > PYLE AUDIO > PylePro - 400 Watts 5.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater System With Bluetooth Audio Playback, AM/FM Tuner

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 JUNK
Pros: none
Cons: Peace of JUNK,Nothing worked right, am-fm receiver got two stations that you couldn't understand.No manual !
I don't usually writ an rating but trust me this is junk.
Other Thoughts: save your money, New Egg has been very helpful with return, lets see how long I get a refund
Reviewed By:John K.,6/23/2016 1:42:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great unit
Pros: ive had it for 2 years with no issues, upgraded front speakers and added powered sub and my system sounds great
Cons: needs more power
Reviewed By:Robert O.,6/10/2016 4:00:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > SONY BDVE2100 Home Theater System 3D Blu-ray

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not happy with product
Pros: The only pros to this I can think of would include mainly the looks and the price.
Cons: Rear left speaker is either busted or has a bad connection. It sounds as if 8 bit audio is coming out of it. In fact, both rear speakers are not too great. Besides the busted one, the other is VERY quiet compared to the front speakers. This isn't really a deal breaker but it is really annoying to have to change the input on your tv in order to change the settings of the surround sound. This is my first surround sound so I am not aware of how other work but it would be nice to be able to route all of your external sources (play station etc) through the surround sound system so you can control the inputs via the system and have all the audio controls/ settings kind of "popup" on screen no matter what input you were on.
Other Thoughts: The product in itself isn't too bad. I would imagine it's an average system for the price; however, be aware that refurbished doesn't guarantee that your purchase will work right out of the box. It's not worth me having to get a shipping label, box, and have to wait a week or more for a new one so I'm just going to bite the bullet and see if I can re-solder the connections on the busted speaker.
Reviewed By:Adrian C.,6/8/2016 9:18:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung HT-H6500WM/ZA 5.1 Blu-ray home theater system with Wi-Fi and wireless rear speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Like being at the movies
Pros: Crisp clear sound,
Virtual 7.1 sound on a 5.1 sound system
Resonating deep bass
Wireless surround speakers
Connects to my home network for media streaming
Cons: the remote that it comes with is small and will likely be easily lost
It also lacks concise labeling of buttons. Like what does this button do... oh
Other Thoughts: Very happy with this.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/21/2016 6:10:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > Onkyo HT-S5800 5.1.2 Channel Dolby Atmos Home Theater System W/ Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Onkyo HT-S5800 5.1.2 Channel Dolby Atmos Home Theater System W/ Bluetooth
Pros: good quality, great sound, I kept it running for a week straight non stop as my burn in for the product to check for any defects and to listen to the different formats available as in movie, music, and as a direct line from my computer toslink for games etc.: so far it sounds great, crisp highs, good midrange and good clean bass. you can even phase set speakers with subwoofer. mic setup for speaker distance and calibration was a snap.
Cons: not a lot of Dolby Atmos content out yet in movies but I almost really couldn't tell when playing dvd's because the sound quality wrapped around nicely. Can't say it is really a con, the subwoofer will shut off if you are playing music at a really low volume or it has little to no heavy bass, which really is a good thing why stay on if nothing is playing that will make use of the lower bass notes when the other speakers can carry the higher bass just fine when phased.
Other Thoughts: I got this system for my computer setup and gaming is much more immersive.
Reviewed By:Michael J.,5/15/2016 3:11:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > LG Electronics > LG BH6730S 3D Smart Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not happy with product, will likely avoid LG in the future
Pros: Umm... It works... sometimes?
Cons: Very limited and not updated net apps. Isn't working very consistently. We have to cut the power occasionally due to lock ups.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this for anyone. Will definitely do more research next time instead of just jumping on a random Black Friday deal.
Reviewed By:Chris C.,4/11/2016 4:16:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.