Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Onkyo > ONKYO HT-S7700 Network A/V Receiver/Speaker Package

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Performance for the budget conscious
Pros: There are options out there like soundbars, soundbars with subwoofers, home theater in a box (which this is technically) and high end surround systems where the choices are endless and the sky is the limit for price. This system gives you surround sound that sounds pretty good and a receiver to connect all your things for a fraction of trying to get everything separately.

the sound is good, and the front channel speakers also have a vertical reflective speaker to give you a discreet audio channel for Dolby Atmos enabled movies. when something isn't mixed in Atmos it replicates it as well as it can, albeit not quite as well.

The setup was pretty easy and the subwoofer has a volume control, like most do, right on its back so you can control it. It's pretty deep and give those action movies a good punch.

it has Bluetooth so you can listen to your music from any Bluetooth device.
Cons: The speakers are a bit limited and really can't compete with brands like Polk audio or Klipsch, but at this price point you can't expect them to.

Each speaker is also limited to the length they provide, one end is permanently attached to the speaker, so you can't mount the rears to the back wall of your room unless that room is on the smaller side. Then you have the wires that are running from behind the couch somewhere to the front and you'll need a rug to cover those so you don't trip and break something, and also just to clean up the look.

The reflective front speakers work best with a normal ceiling, if your ceiling is vaulted or higher than ten feet this system may not give you the best results.
Reviewed By:Shinobi Jim,4/16/2015 9:00:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Panasonic > Panasonic SC-BTT405 600W (RMS) Smart Network 3D Blu-ray Disc Home Theatre System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing features and sound at this price
Pros: Equalizer
Bluetooth built-in
NFC
2.1 TV audio converts to 5.1
Cons: No HDMI inputs
No built-in WiFi
Other Thoughts: Having been in the consumer electronics industry for 35 years, I have seen, tested & owned the best. I've also returned too many TVs and other gadgets that failed to meet my expectations. Having owned Bose and B&O audio systems, I am a bit of an A/V snob so I demand excellent sound.
IMHO, in 2015 Samsung is the #1 overall brand for many devices and occupies half my home. Unfortunately, my aging HT-C6600 Home Theatre System (HTS) lacked Bluetooth, Equalizer & repeatedly changed inputs for no apparent reason. Time to shop for a new HTS.
After several weeks of research plus testing and returning 4 Vizio soundbars, Sony HTS systems and A/V receivers, I spotted the Panasonic SC-BTT405 on sale and decided to give it a shot.

Bottom Line: This system has better features and sound than others selling for almost 3 times the price. I am VERY happy with the it.

WiFi alternative. With the Panasonic WiFi adapter selling for $80 to $100, I decided to see if the adapter ( WIS09ABGN2 ) from my older Samsung HT-C6600 system would also work on the Panasonic. YES, it works perfectly and FYI you can only install new firmware via WiFi, which I also did. No noticeable differences with the new firmware.
P.S. If you want a great DVD to test any sound system, get the Need For Speed movie (2014) and watch some of the racing scenes. The audio in that movie does a fantastic job of "showing off" 5.1 that truly moves around you and makes the woofer thump it's heart out. Or, watch the Apple iWatch TV commercial which also does an excellent test of 5.1 audio.
Reviewed By:GadgetGuru,4/3/2015 7:07:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > New Rca Rtb10230 100-Watt Blu-Ray(Tm) Home Theater System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sounds good...
Pros: Small form factor, easy to set up.
Cons: Blu ray video cuts in and out, can't watch an entire movie without 'blackout' sections. Audio works fine through out though.
Other Thoughts: Need some way of factory resetting the blu ray player without using the on screen instructions.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2015 4:58:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RT151 Home Theater System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Surround sound
Pros: I'm hard of hearing, wearing hearing aids so placing the right rear speaker right behind my right ear on the couch allows me to hear every word distinctly keeping sound low enough for my wife to hear comfortably
Cons: perfect for my wife and me
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 9:50:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RT2781H 5.1 Home Theater System - 1000 W RMS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 home theather
Pros: fast delivery ,good product
Cons: n/a
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2015 4:37:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RTS202 DVD Home Theater System

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lumber from ?
Pros: Nothing not a thing
Cons: I think this is a winner when it comes weight ;This thing is heavy. It wouldn’t matter If that made it sound better …...............Not even close!. Its a lumber yard with bad sound and nothing else. I;m trying to think of any redeI just want to enhance my TV sound this is a looser ,bad, not;nothing!! 2 In one day both units were good price but for what if they don’t WORK
Other Thoughts: DVD is playing but the sound is to week Is that normal? Radio AM/FM why? I just want to enhance my TV sound this is a looser ,bad,
Reviewed By:Geo,3/26/2015 1:58:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung 5.1 Smart 3D Blu Ray Home Theater System With Full Web Browser - HT-FM53

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Great sound for the price point
Slick look, interface
Supports wide variety of peripherals
Cons: Received some wrong speaker wires
Replacement wires difficult to find
Not very flexible on speaker placement
Other Thoughts: Bought refurbished.

This may be futile since this model seems to be on its way to being discontinued soon (if it hasn't already), but the speaker wire issue was a big let down.

I have an Optoma HD141X projector and have all my AV stuff at the back of the 10' x 12' room, which meant needing to run 4 speaker wires to the front L and R, center, and subwoofer across the room. I was able to do so with the center and sub using the cables meant for the rear L and R, but not only were the other two cables too short, they had the wrong endpiece. I could see clearly where the previous owner had tried in vain to make it fit despite obviously not being the same shape as the others. I tried looking up replacement parts online but couldn't even find the part number on Samsung's website. Hence probably discontinued soon. Really disappointing.

Came really close to putting it back in the box and returning it but decided to give it a test out of curiosity. And even without the front LR speakers it was still a pretty amazing surround experience. I watched Django Unchained and there was a part where I thought a bunch of my apartment complex's dogs were throwing a fit.... it was the rear right. Not bad for a makeshift 3.1 system.

The extras really sealed me keeping it. I've been looking for something to replace my noisy old PS3 and this fits the bill. Updating and installing apps out of the box took well under 10 minutes (maybe under 5) and the remote doesn't have any problem communicating with the box even though it's behind me.

So in spite of the hardware inconvenience, I will probably end up keeping it. If you manage to snag one of these, just make sure you're prepared to cough up a few extra bucks for more speaker wires so you don't have to wait to find out it's full sound.

Will update once the replacement wires arrive and 3D has been tested.
Reviewed By:Django Refurbished,3/24/2015 12:24:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't get a refurb
Pros: Got a refurb for a great deal.
Works great when it works.
Good 5.1 sound with correct setup / calibration
Cons: Refurb doesn't work properly - wasn't able to return/exchange in time (purchased early for xmas gift, sat in it's box until after the return period expired. Only found the issues after setup. LED dispaly will only work for a few minutes and then dies until AC power is unplugged/reconnected. Also, the unit randomly ceases audio output after 10-60 minutes, but changing the volume level enables output again, like a random sleep timer. Maybe thermal issues or a wonky capacitor somewhere?
Other Thoughts: Wished it had worked, the HDMI reciever has more inputs than anything at a comparable price range.
Reviewed By:John M.,3/16/2015 2:51:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > Sony 1000W 5.1 3D Smart Blu-ray Home Theater SYstem - BDVN790W

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SONY Home Theater
Pros: Reasonable sound, good connectivity options to both TV and Network
Cons: - Failed within 6 months
- Lousy support from SONY
Other Thoughts: After about 6 months, the unit powered on, but touch panel failed to respond, and the unit never fully came online again.

I have tried to contact Sony for assistance with repairing the unit. Sony's phone support said they couldn't help me find a service shop, and the online support form has never yielded a response.

I would shop at newegg again, I would not buy any Sony product anywhere again.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/11/2015 9:37:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Pioneer > Pioneer HTP-072 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package with 3D AV Receiver, Subwoofer and Satellite Speakers

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome since the day I got it.
Pros: Its been more than a year, and so far, zero issues here. Really enjoying the sound of everything I use it for.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Syrum_X,3/9/2015 6:10:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.