Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA RT151 Home Theater System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good item
Pros: its good sound for me
Cons: no
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 3:58:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 RCA RT2911 Reburb
Pros: Very inexpensive but has decent performance. More inputs than many other much more expensive systems. I especially like the Dolby Digital/Prologic II Music and Stadium settings.
Cons: Small manual with TINY print. I had to copy it onto full sized paper so these old eyes could see it.

Can't see to find high frequency control but fortunately in some presets it's not needed. There ARE presets for sub woofer control.
Other Thoughts: What a deal. For a small living room or office it's a steal. It'll play quite loud too but I wouldn't put it in a large room.
Reviewed By:RCF,7/20/2014 1:19:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 For $30 AR you really can't complain
Pros: Cheap! And considering the price, lots of features, especially network streaming apps! Optical and analog audio inputs. Decent sound for the price. Bluray video quality is also more than decent.
Cons: Again, for the price, you really can't complain, but if I had to say anything, it would be the perceived lag of remote button presses. I personally believe it's just a poorly designed remote which only responds to really hard button presses, and it's not the player itself. But since I didn't break the remote open to debug, take what I say with a grain of salt.
Without the remote, the unit would be more or less non-functional as most of the controls are only accessible via remote.
The Netflix app does not support subtitles :(
One of the speakers had wires that were obviously cut short. No big deal, because I could have easily spliced in more wire if needed. Plus, this was a refurb.
Other Thoughts: All I really wanted was a cheap receiver with speakers so I could use my iPhone/iPod to play music. So for the price for a cheapo clock radio that would have done this task, I got a cheapo bluray player, receiver, and network streaming box.. with 5.1 surround to boot. But for the third time, you really can't complain about the quality.
So as a receiver to play music, it's fine. Quality is about on par with a nice boombox (ghetto blaster) from the 80s. And the reason it's fine, is because that's all I expected. Please note, I have only connected the left and right speakers as well as the subwoofer, so I'm only running it in 2.1 stereo mode, but I'm sure 5.1 will work just fine. I connected a Bluetooth A2DP receiver via the analog aux input to wirelessly stream music. And the cool thing is the USB port on this thing powers the Bluetooth receiver so the A2DP receiver turns on and off with the unit. I'm sure the optical audio input would sound even better.
As for the Bluray player, it seems decent. I haven't gotten any of the tray open issues or sound issues mentioned in other reviews, but then again, I haven't switched between AUX and Bluray modes without powering down the system first. Video quality is absolutely fine (I use it as 1080i, but it supports 1080p, even 1080p24), but I do notice the colors are a bit more washed out compared to PS3. But that's not really a fair comparison anyway. Loading the disc contents doesn't take an abnormally long time either.
Finally the online apps. I've only used Netflix, but it seems to work pretty well and was easy to setup. As mentioned earlier, no subtitle support though. A small part of my hopes a firmware update will give me the subtitle feature, but I highly doubt we'll see any firmware updates for it.
Overall, this thing rocks for $30 AR (plus tax if applicable). For the price of a dinner for 2, I got exactly what I wanted, only because my expectations were aligned with the price. I just hope it lasts at least a few years because the build quality does worry me a little bit.
Reviewed By:pdp,7/15/2014 10:21:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > SAMSUNG > Samsung 3D Blu-Ray 5.1 Smart Home Entertainment System, 500W - HT-FM45

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Misleading Warranty
Pros: Price, Sound Quality, Overall Value, NewEgg customer service
Cons: Refurbishment Warranty, Limited Apps, No WIFI, Reliability
Other Thoughts: This HT system is very good value for the price. The sound is pretty good for the speaker size and the blu ray player does what is expected. Pretty limited on the range of apps of available, though most of the big ticket items like Youtube, Netflix and Hulu are available.

The biggest con I noticed is not with the item but the warranty. This item is NOT MANUFACTURER REFURBISHED. It is Refurbished by a different vendor and I am not pretty certain with their quality.

The Original item I received stopped playing Blu rays after like 40-45 days and spit out any Blu ray I tried playing. I called Newegg since the listing said the unit carries a 90 day warranty and they gave me the number of the Refurbishment vendor. When I contacted them they said their warranty is only 30 days and NOT 90 Days.

Newegg though honored the 90 Day warranty and replaced the unit. So if you are planning to purchase this system be aware that this not manufacturer refurbished and only carry a 30 day vendor warranty. If there is any issue route it through Newegg.
Reviewed By:Jay,7/15/2014 11:20:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Makes Movies Exciting!
Pros: Very deep bass. It's not even set to the maximum setting ( my wife does not like pounding bass.) It's a serious improvement over the speakers of our Sharp 50" LED TV. It's the best speaker set in this price range. Watched a couple of movies with out of town guests, and it really made them fun.
Cons: Annoying fan that is quite loud. Once the sound from the TV is on, then the fan is not that noticeable. Music sounds kind of odd. I played music from my phone, but it just sounded canned or with an echo, despite setting it to Stereo and not Dolby. I didn't play around with the settings too much because I don't need to listen to music through these speakers.
Other Thoughts: I originally wanted a soundbar, but nothing could compare to the sound of these speakers in this price range. Tried out a Vizio soundbar that didn't work out. I only hope that these speakers will hold up. Even though it is refurbished, everything works out OK so far. There is one tiny dent on the bottom corner of the subwoofer, but it is not noticeable when it is on the floor.
Reviewed By:Cabbey,7/14/2014 10:42:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > Sony > Sony BDV-E2100 3D Blu-ray Home Theater System

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Don't worry about refurbished quality
Pros: Excellent price for refurbished unit.
No dings, scratches or other signs of previous use.
Rock solid performance.
Well designed remote.
Expected number and types of output choices.
Surround speaker system has excellent sound (I'm no audiophile though :-)
Good choices of apps for me (Amaz*n, Netf*ix, Vu*u).
Cable box optic audio passthru for HD audio.
Plays latest BD content.
WiFi easy to setup and connects well.
Uses a normal wired USB keyboard and/or mouse.
This player can be controlled from Galaxy S4 using WatchOn.
Dim blue power-on light not offensive in dark room.
Cons: Little slow to startup, even for a BD player.
Can't change order of menu lineups.
Can't delete any menu items.
Browser is a bear to use, even with a connected keyboard/mouse. Doesn't display most websites properly.
Other Thoughts: Not thrilled with Sony's unilateral control of my menus. Would like to change order of apps but can't.
Can't delete Sony's promotional apps either (when did Spiderman 2 come out???). WiFi is only 2.4GHz, but was easy to setup, and keeps connected at over 10Mbps with my Netgear (N900) router on a different floor over 50 feet away.
Haven't tried to use with wireless mouse or keyboard yet. Setting up accounts was easier than expected even without a connected keyboard.
No backlighted keys on the remote, and it can't be setup to control TV's other than Sony.
Reviewed By:RT,7/14/2014 5:42:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > JBL / harman kardon > JBL Cinema BD100 Blu-ray 5.1 Home Theater System

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Eh...
Pros: It does surround sound. It's a blue ray player. does what I need it for.
Cons: The bass is weak. The display no longer shows anything so unless you are on the blue ray channel you don't know what level volume or what input it's on.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/11/2014 10:38:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: sound and video are okay
Cons: At first i gave it a chance and gave it two stars because i thought the remote was broken. All unversal remote won't work and you need the remote to do anything. Netflix, vudu anything. Can't change setting or anything. Asking for a refund tomorrow that i have to call for. I thought i would get a working product that didn't have the best sound or anything but i got a 1/4 of working product. For me the brand rca is done. Also on line support is really bad. just spend a little bit more money and get something better.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/8/2014 10:27:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 5.1 CH Home Theater System with Blu-ray Player and Netflix And Vudu- RTB10223

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 remote and cheap
Pros: blue ray player and Netflix/streaming
Cons: You get what you pay for. Everything looks and feels cheap. It a slower system. Also right out of the box the remote didn't work. You also need the remote to do any stream app or anything.
Reviewed By:Crazyba,7/8/2014 4:59:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Home Theater in a Box > RCA > RCA 1000W 5.1 HDMI Home Theater System With AV Receiver - RT2911

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A Dolby Digital Newb
Pros: Low refurbished price and free shipping. Much better sound quality that the TV speakers I've been listening to for years. Can't comment on durability or longevity as I've only had this system a few days.
Cons: I can understand how an audiophile would be underwhelmed by this system. Sound is no where near movie theater quality. However, for the price point the sound quality is pretty good.
Other Thoughts: I'm somewhat of an audio system newb. Grew up with stereo being the cutting edge in sound. This is my first foray into Dolby Digital. Currently I'm only using the RT2911 with my Vizio E701i TV (OTA feed only), although I plan to add a Blueray into the mix down the road. According to the TV Info button, all my OTA channels provide a Dolby Digital or Dolby Digital 5.1 feed. Setup the speakers as documented and started out using the optical digital output only. Changed the TV digital audio out setting to "Dolby Digital" (BTW, PCM option didn't seem to make a difference). Changed the receiver TV input to optical and was ready to test. Initially, I was perplexed because sound only seemed to come through the center speaker and sub. Test tone showed all speakers functional. The TV switched to a commercial and all speakers were working. That's when I realized that segregated content of each speaker was determined by the signal. Let me say that even though the signal says it's Dolby digital, it support as defined by the TV stations is very poor. I hooked up the analog audio output cables, switched to it and received sound (the same content) over all 5 channels. For now, I'll probably just stick with analog.
Reviewed By:Skeeball,7/4/2014 7:30:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau