Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5900/ZA 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great bluray player for the money
Pros: AnyNet+ interface is great for casting
Ability to convert to DolbyDigital or DTS on the fly
Plays DLNA content over my network.
Fast power-on time
Netflix Dolby Digital+ works great
Cons: Only HDMI, no component or composite. This is pretty minor.
The arrow keys on the remote are hard to find if it's dark. It'd be nice if one of them had a bump like I've felt on other remotes.
Other Thoughts: I picked up this bluray player because I like the Samsung brand, and because the price was good. I didn't have much expectations beyond playing blurays and doing bitstream audio to my AVR. I was totally wrong, because this thing is awesome! While it does play blurays excellently, it's the additional features that really put it over the top. The bluray features are quite good, with the ability to bitstream audio directly over HDMI, but also to convert it to DolbyDigital or DTS if your AVR doesn't support the newer bluray formats.

This player also supports Netflix, Amazonz, Hulu, YouTube like every "smart" bluray player. It has both wired (my personal preference) and wireless which is nice. I've only tested Netflix and YouTube, both of which worked great. I was able to get Dolby Digital+ 5.1 from Netflix which was important to me. It also includes AnyNet+ which is great if you’re a gadget nerd. I was able to “cast” from my Android phone/tablet both Netflix and YouTube flawlessly. Much better than trying to navigate the app menus with the remote.

This unit also has a built in web browser and app store, both of which were lackluster. It also has the ability to play DLNA content streamed over your network. This worked well for the content I tested it with, and could come in handy in a pinch. I was not able to cast DLNA content to it via BubbleUPNP, which is the only (albeit minor) thing I would ding this unit for.
Reviewed By:scottchiefbaker,12/24/2014 11:59:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG 3D Blu-ray Disc Player BD645

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does everything it's meant to do and looks good.
Cons: Dent more noticeable than I would have thought would be sent as a refurbished item.
Little wide (I would think) for a late model Blu-ray player but the dimensions are noted so it's not like I wasn't expecting it
Other Thoughts: It IS a refurb so I'm not sweating the dent, doesn't interfere with operation at all and that's the gamble of buying refurb!
Reviewed By:Ryfel,12/24/2014 9:16:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5900/ZA 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 3d awesome
Pros: Plays 3d nice
flawless blueray picture
Cons: A little loud on spin up, almost distracts from movie.
Reviewed By:Sinic,12/21/2014 5:56:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Toshiba > Toshiba Symbio BDX5500 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player with Ultra HD 4K Upscaling

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Does a good job of upscalling DVDs and connects to Netflix like a computer. Comes with many apps. It can be mounted vertical and is compact in size. It comes with a 12v dc 1 Amp power supply which means it could be used in a automobile if needed.
Cons: Some of the buttons on the remote control are a bit too close together but it still works good.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/20/2014 3:47:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H6500/ZA 3D Wi-Fi Smart 4K Upscaling Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 BD-h6500
Pros: comes up fast,resolution up scale is very good-i.e. for NETFLIX,
cosmetically pleasing
Cons: speed,looks
Other Thoughts: Specifically purchased this unit because of the positive forum/blog discussions on the internet and it looked like it could most everything I need.. Unfortunately the most important thing I wanted it for, AVCHD, is not yet available even tho all Samsung literature says it is. Comment from Samsung Support Person...."Be patient, you;ll have to wait for a software upgrade release"...no date tho. Would give the unit a 5 star but I can't use it as intended. Shame on Samsung.....
Reviewed By:AVCHD user,12/12/2014 7:30:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Toshiba > Toshiba Symbio BDX5500 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Disc Player with Ultra HD 4K Upscaling

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reduces Ghosting best 3Dplayer out
Pros: Get this 3D Blu ray player here I was watching Underworld Awakening in 3d and I had almost no ghosting, the image stayed together 98% of the time I thought it was my TV causing the ghosting but now I realize it's the older 3d players that cause ghosting.
Cons: It lock up on me once having it paused too long.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/4/2014 8:06:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG BP135 Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing deal
Pros: great price, play almost all video file on an usb key (mp4, avi, some mkv files), bluray still working after 6 months, the bluray is small and doesn't make noise.
Cons: only one hdmi out, so it's not the best bluray if you want to connect it to a home theater
Other Thoughts: it's a standard bluray player, no fancy stuff like wifi or 3D. IT does the basic stuff, reading movies on an DVD bluray and usb key and it does it very well.
Reviewed By:Linki64,11/29/2014 3:55:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5100/ZA Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SAMSUNG BD-H5100/ZA
Pros: After firmware is updated, the unit needs to be reset by holding the power button down for at least 8 seconds. Then follow the instructions that appear.
Cons: After firmware is updated, the unit needs to be reset by holding the power button down for at least 8 seconds. Then follow the instructions that appear.
Other Thoughts: It is unforgivable that customers were not informed about having to reset this unit after the automatic update.
Reviewed By:WinCrazy,11/28/2014 3:44:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-H5100/ZA Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DO NOT BUY.
Pros: Will provide some attorney $ in a defective product liability suit. It gave us several days of enjoyment.
Cons: Stopped playing blu ray discs soon after the warranty expired. No joke. Also, the menu navigates s...l...o...w...l...y.
Other Thoughts: Waste of money. [We didn't purchase it through newegg, but the problem is the fault of the manufacturer, not the retailer]
Reviewed By:Unamused consumer,11/26/2014 10:43:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony 3D Blu-ray Disc Player with Wi-Fi | BDP-S5100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love it!
Pros: Menu is like a PS3 and is very easy to use.Plays even DVDs with some damage well.Great Wi-Fi reception and apps.
Cons: Web browser stinks and some apps are dead.,
Other Thoughts: Great for the money I just had to give it a 5!
Reviewed By:mavrick347,11/17/2014 8:28:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.