Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG BP530 3D Wi-Fi Smart Blu-Ray Disc Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 LG BP530 3D Wi-Fi Smart Blu-Ray Disc Player
Pros: Good Picture
Cons: Small remote, tiny buttons on remote.
Unit often locked up with disk inside. Required unplugging from wall to reset.
Now, after 1 year...JUNK. No HDMI out equals no video out equals no picture or sound.
LG pretty much out of the player business. NO support. Help phone number on unit disconnected!
Stay away from LG players. They now have Cinavia built in which causes playback problems.
Other Thoughts: Not recommended for use and quality. Menus not user friendly.
Would not take a chance buy purchasing LG players.
Reviewed By:Michael N.,8/12/2016 10:17:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG Wi-Fi 3D Blu-ray Disc Player – BP730

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Substandard Functionality
Pros: Blu Ray (and standard DVDs up scaled to 1080P) DVDs look great (when it works)
Cons: Goofy Wii like remote with no FF, Rewind, or Eject buttons?! No play, FF, Rewind or scene back buttons on player?! Onscreen Wii like cursor constantly interferes with on screen menu selection via remote arrow buttons. Inconsistent disc startup point, sometimes from the beginning, sometimes from the main menu, sometimes skips to main feature (does not allow return to main menu/bonus features). Routinely hard locks on standard DVDs and periodically on BluRays--have to shut power off for entire home theater system via surge protector on/off switch and reboot entire system each time; then try to find a point close to where it locked up because of the no FF or Rewind buttons on remote or player.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend to anyone.
Reviewed By:Craig G.,8/9/2016 12:27:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J5900 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for watching 3D movies and the smart features
Pros: 3D the picture was fantastic. It was fun to watch a 3D movie at home.
Easy to Setup. Wi-Fi and youtube works great.
Plenty of APPs, fast no noises
Good Remote functions
Cons: Won't work without remote
Other Thoughts: Since most 3D Blu-ray is 1080P even your tv is 4K. It is realistic and economic to buy a 3D player like this one. I believe when pursuing the 4K or higher resolution we will probably won;t use a blu-ray player.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2016 5:38:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S1500 Streaming Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Liking the Sony BDP-S1500 Blu-ray Player
Pros: I recently purchased a refurbished Sony BDP-S1500 Blu-ray player as a replacement for the Sony BDP-N460 player which I had owned for several years.

So far, I am really enjoying the S1500 a lot. It’s a big improvement over the N460. Specifically, Sony finally improved the user interface on their Blu-ray players. For years, they used what they called the Xross interface, which I really disliked. All the apps included in the player had to be accessed by scrolling up and down a long vertical list, at least in the video apps, to find the one you were looking for. It was clumsy and non-intuitive.

The S1500, along with Sony’s other players in this generation, uses a grid-style interface, which not only looks a lot nicer but is much easier to use. You can also move apps around on the home screen which is great because you can put the apps you use most often in the top row of apps.

Additionally, there is a larger selection of apps than what was available on the N460. Especially nice is the addition of the Opera TV store, which itself has a nice selection of apps including Plex, which allows you to access your own media on your home network. This is especially nice because the S1500 doesn’t have DLNA, the ability to access your local media, built-in. Other apps included in the S1500 are AmazonVideo, Hulu Plus, Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora along with quite a few lesser-known apps. It doesn’t have Slacker Radio, which I really love and was included in the N460, but I guess you can’t have everything!

Hardware-wise, the S1500 is very compact and light, some may think too light, but as long as it works and works well, who cares, right? The remote control that comes with S1500 is also very compact, much shorter that what most remotes are, but very functional and easy to use. It has two dedicated app buttons, one for Netflix and another which you can assign to your favorite app, a really nice touch. The remote can also be programmed to control your TV’s basic functions like on/off, volume control, changing channels, etc.

Everything I’ve mentioned so far relates to the S1500 as a streaming media player, but it IS a Blu-ray player first, and is excellent in that role. I put in one of the Blu-ray discs from the Planet Earth set, a visual and audio feast, and it looked and sounded fantastic played on the S1500. I tried several other Blu-ray discs including James Bond Casino Royale and they also looked and sounded great. The disc load times are also much quicker than the N460.

The S1500 does not have Wi-Fi built in, just an Ethernet port. I have it plugged in to a Powerline adapter to connect it to the Internet, which works great. If you need a player with Wi-Fi, Sony’s next player up in this generation of players does have Wi-Fi built in.

I’ve only owned this player for about a month, but so far, I give it two thumbs way up. And, the fact that I bought this player from Newegg for only $27 after rebate makes it an especially sweet deal.
Cons: No built-in Wi-FI.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this player.
Reviewed By:Dan D.,3/28/2016 12:44:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S1500 Streaming Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fits my needs perfectly (Sony BDP-51500 Refurbished)
Pros: so far this player is perfect for me. i replaced my older Sony blu-ray player, AND my older media player with this unit. i just wanted it to play blu-ray / dvd discs, along with movie and tv files from a flash drive. it has worked perfetly so far for this. setup is very easy with no problems.
Cons: none, but i don't use it with my internet or network, so can't comment on that.
Other Thoughts: it's much smaller than my older Sony blu-ray player, but larger than my older media player, and it replaces both. easy to fit in my tv cabinet and eliminates the need for two remotes. I'm storing my older players as back-ups, just in case.
Reviewed By:Kenneth p.,3/27/2016 9:31:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S1500 Streaming Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My First Blu Ray Player (refurbished too)
Pros: Small and simple. Low price due to being refurbished and had a rebate.
Able to view DVDs in hi def with the upscale ability
Built in apps are a nice extra I would not have normally opted for, but came with this low cost model.
I like the ability to watch You Tube with this, have not used the other apps.
Cons: No cons
Reviewed By:william l.,3/27/2016 9:19:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony BDP-S1500 Streaming Blu-ray Disc Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well - Fast - More Like "Open Box"
Pros: - It works as expected, including the remote
- Fast, loads and boots quickly
- Simple setup, and a good set of available apps for internet access via the wired only connection
- Simple connections
Cons: - Nothing really since the thing works OK as expected
- I was hoping the network ability would include DLNA support but not on this model, only the higher versions/models. Not really a con as a check of the specs would have told me this wasn't supported
Other Thoughts: - There is a description of "refurbished" on the page that's probably fair, but I would say this is more of an open box/returned item
- Mine came with no batteries for the remote at all, although there was the wrapper for the batteries in the bottom of the box!
- As I was checking the rebate, it turns out the SKU on the box doesn't match what the rebate form and online submission system are expecting. Online chat with support confirmed the SKU on the box is correct, so I am sending a copy of that chat in with the rebate submission
Reviewed By:Simon D.,3/13/2016 5:47:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > LG Electronics > LG 3D Blu-ray Player BP540

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Very Happy at first and then Very Disappointed in LG Support.
Pros: When I first received this player I was very pleased that it worled so well with all my discs. Then after a few months it stopped playing the audio portion of DVDs. Blu-Ray disks played fine with audio just not DVDs. I am now trying to get an RMA with LG support.
Cons: After a few months it stopped playing the audio portion of DVDs. Blu-Ray disks played fine with audio just not DVDs. I am now trying to get an RMA with LG support.
Other Thoughts: I tried swapping HDMI cables and all 3 cables gave the same results. And when I played the same "problem" DVDs in my PC they worked fine, audio and all. So next time I buy a Blu-Ray player for my TV I will NOT be buying LG but will likely go with some other big name like Sony. I have spent many hours on the phone with LG Support over a period of several *MONTHS* *TRYING* to get a WARRANTY replacement for this LG Player. FORGET IT! My word to the wise is to buy a SONY and NOT to buy an LG *ANYTHING* as LG Support will not honor their warranty. Extremely disappointed in LG. I will NEVER buy another LG product as their warranty is worthless. Maybe Sony will be a more honorable company. LG warranty is worthless garbage. Sad.
Reviewed By:Harry S.,3/8/2016 4:38:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J5100 Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I guess you do get what you pay for...
Pros: Low price.
Nice features
Cons: No indicator lights. Cannot tell if unit is powered on or not.
2 buttons on unit. Power and eject. Don't loose the remote.
Feels cheap and very light weight. Easily scoots around and a 2 year old can pick it up easily.
Other Thoughts: I bought mine at Walmart but i wanted to give my experience with the unit here. Im a huge fan of samsung products but this one disappointed me. I should have known better with that price but thought better of the brand before this. I ended up returning the unit due to a power issue and getting a better one.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2016 7:00:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-F7500/Z 3D Wi-Fi Smart 4K Upscaling Blu-Ray Disc Player w/ 7.1 Analog Out

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bd7500
Pros: great sound and picture settings when they work
Cons: kicks me out of youtube and netflix constantly. sometimes audio switches between prologic and 5.1 while watching netflix leaving no sound.
Other Thoughts: if samsung would update firmware to fix bugs and stop denying problems. i would then recommend this product because i do think it sounds and looks very crisp
Reviewed By:Lee E.,2/22/2016 9:00:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.