Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > LED TV > LG Electronics > LG 50LB5900 50" Class 1080p 120Hz LED HDTV

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor Durability
Pros: When I did finally gt it set up, it had a decent picture.
Cons: Setting up was a pain. Didn't work the first time I turned it on. Very fragile. Unsolvable issue.
Other Thoughts: I bought this TV as a second monitor to compliment my Phillips 50" LCD. On initial set up the tv wouldn't recognize the display input. After about 2 hours I got it running, and it worked. It was fine as long as I didn't move it. Now 6 months later I had to move. And I was extremely careful with both TVs while moving. The Phillips survived just fine. The LG did not. Now when I turn it on the picture shifts up and down, and the lines in the picture seperate. I've already tried troubleshooting and changing the t-con board. No one seems to know what the issue is. Wish I had bought another Phillips.
Reviewed By:Jarrad A.,4/24/2015 4:30:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Sharp > Sharp 43" 1080p Aquomotion 120 Aquos DLED HDTV, Smart LC43LE653U

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Sharp 43" 1080p Aquomotion 120 Aquos DLED HDTV, Smart LC43LE653U
Pros: Picture quality is great and it's easy to use. Price is awesome.
Cons: When I try to use Netflix the TV resets itself and goes back to channel 2. I have a strong internet connection so I don't know what the heck the problem is. It's really annoying that the smart features suck that bad. I would have gotten a regular TV if I knew this would happen. Just watching regular TV is fine. Hopefully the bug works itself out.
Other Thoughts: Just get a regular TV and Roku or something like that. The smart features suck.
Reviewed By:Beerman309,4/23/2015 2:01:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 50" 1080p LED HDTV - LED50YC2000UA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 awesome for the price
Pros: big tv, cheap, I got this for 375 plus mail in rebate, great bedroom tv or kids room

it's pretty nice visually even when off, it certainly looks like you spent more money on it than you did
Cons: remote is flimsy and the color is a bit off but I haven't noticed any bleed from the back light like other people have said
Reviewed By:Aaron,4/23/2015 2:55:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 50" 1080p LED HDTV - LED50YC2000UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Changhong 1080 HDTV
Pros: Bought a 50" about 2 years ago. It was easy to get going and has performed fine.
Needed a 32" for the bedroom. Got the same make from New Egg.
Good price, good delivery, works well. Easy to get Netflix going.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have used New Egg for computer parts for years and never had a problem.
Reviewed By:WilliamWarbler,4/22/2015 9:02:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 32" 720p LED HDTV - LED32YC1700UA

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quality vs Price & Size
Pros: The price and size are good for not a major holiday. Sound is okay.
Cons: The pixiles for a computer monitor are a little low, but for a general TV its fine. I have trouble reading off the monitor. I've tried adjusting multiple things on the TV and PC.
Other Thoughts: I'm neither mad or sad about the product. I'm fine with it. I have a laptop that i rather read off of than the tv for the stress on my eye. I
Manufacturer Response:When using as a computer monitor, go to the Picture settings and set the Mode to User, and then change the Sharpness setting to zero (0). This will provide the best viewing under these conditions.

Reviewed By:Patrick571,4/22/2015 5:29:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 32" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED32YC1600UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: Nice TV, ordered it on 4-20 and it arrived safely on 4-21 with standard free shipping. Easy set up, good picture. Its not super heavy, nice bezel and thin screen so a plan to wall mount it would be no problem at all. Great TV for the price.
Cons: From previous reviews I knew the speakers were a little on the light side. Volume does not get a much louder over 50% volume control, but it works fine for just having it on in the background and I can push audio thru my stereo system for more sound so not a big issue. Price dropped $10 the day after I ordered it.
Other Thoughts: Only have had it for a couple days but will probably do a follow up review with any good or bad issues.
Reviewed By:Dave,4/22/2015 9:01:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > SAMSUNG > Samsung UN50JU6500 50" Class 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great TV at a good price
Pros: I bought this from a brick and mortar store because a 5 year protection plan was available. I bought this TV to use both as a computer monitor and TV. As a monitor the one requirement that it absolutely had to have was 4K @60Hz @4:4:4 chroma subsampling. For PC, Older or less expensive UHD or HD TVs may use 4:2:2 or 4:2:0 which compress the signal. Sources other than PC don't use 4:4:4. This TV has HDMI 2.0 which is the only version so far that can do 4:4:4. Without 4:4:4 the picture quality is less that what you would have with a regular computer monitor. Without 4:4:4, I noticed that small black text on a red backround (uneven number of pixels) and excel charts looked bad (bars had compression artifacts or ghost image surrounding them. Lines were inconsistent color). To get it to work you need these things: A Nvidia GeForce GTX 900 series or AMD equivalent; use only HDMI port 1 on TV; set HDMI UHD color to ON; and set device type to PC (Press source, select port 1, then press tools, and select device type.) Once this is done the picture looks absolutely perfect. Also, DVI to HDMI cables will work @4K @60Hz @4:4:4, and will work in any of the 3 other ports at lower resolutions and/or frequencies. The salesperson will try to sell you expensive cables. He said $40 per cable was the minimum that I should spend. You definitely do not need to buy expensive HDMI cable(s) as long as they are 6 feet or less and you won't be plugging/unplugging all the time. The only requirement is that the cable be a "high speed" HDMI cable. The free cable that came with my DVR works very well @4K @60Hz @4:4:4. However another $2.50 cable caused the PC audio and video to cut out for a second or two on rare occasion, so I used that one for my DVR, where it works good.

The colors are more vibrant than anything I've seen before. The framerate is interpolated to 60 Hz, which I do notice sometimes. The motion looks smoother in what is sometimes called the "soap opera effect". The TV came with the ECO sensor turned on. It will dim the picture more in a darker room to save energy. You can also set a minumum backlight brightness when it is turned on. I measured that the TV uses 114 to 133 Watts without eco sensor and about 39 to 44 watts with it on (but the picture is too dark IMO). It was about 73 to 74 watts with the minimum set to 5.

When playing video games on the pc, the input lag is low enough that it is not an issue at all. Some Older video games sometimes (or always) crash when the resolution is set to 3840 x 2160. I won't be using console "game mode" on this tv because I only play games on the PC.
Cons: At first I couldn't get the 4:4:4 to work because I didn't set the device type to PC. I chatted with a Samsung rep online and he didn't know enough about it to tell me that, and he wasn't even sure that it could do 4:4:4. When I bought it, the salesman didn't seem to know either and so I almost returned it because I wasn't sure it could do 4:4:4. The 3rd day, I figured it out on my own and all was good.

I tried hooking up my 20-year-old Yamaha YST-M10 computer speakers (also 10W per channel) and they sounded so much better than the tv speakers that I will keep using them even though I can't control the volume with the remote control. There is a stereo mini plug and an optical out on the back of the tv for this. I also noticed that when using my computer the sound now comes through the HDMI cable and it is not initialized until the windows startup sound has almost finished playing, so you never hear the beginning of the startup sound.

When I first connected the tv to the internet, I couldn't get it to accept the wi-fi password, so I connected the LAN cable and it worked. I later got the wi-fi to work by pressing the WPS button on my router (I need to use the one ethernet cable for the computer). Over the first 3 days, the tv used 2 to 3 GB of data and I only used the tv web browser for a few minutes. So most of that data was for something unknown. I have a 10 GB limit per month with my satellite internet service so I need to be able to easily turn wireless on and off. I chatted with a rep and he said there is no way to easily toggle connectivity on and off. You can disconnect easily, but to turn it back on, you have to hit the WPS button on the router again. My router has a simple button that toggles the wireless on and off, so it is easier for me to do it that way. But I have to make sure the TV is turned off whenever I use wireless for something else. There will be times where both will need to be on so then I will need to disconnect the tv.
Other Thoughts: To verify 4:4:4, look for this section after clicking link:
Testing and Technical
T1) How do I know if my TV is 4:4:4 capable? -OR- How do I test for 4:4:4 capability?
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-lcd-flat-panel-displays/1381724-official-4-4-4-chroma-subsampling-thread.html

At the moment, I have a $30 DVD player hooked up through the composite input and the upscaling to 4K doesn't seem to be that great. Soon I will buy a blu-ray player for this TV and I expect that the upscaling through the HDMI port will be better (1080p from my DVR looks great). I have a bd-rom in my computer, but I cannot find free or cheap software that plays blu-ray movies that includes the full menu functions that allow you to select, for example, commentary or bonus features. 4K UHD blu-ray players will come out before the end of the year but I don't think I will buy one right away. It takes 5 to 7 seconds to switch between input sources. I also tried hooking up my old VCR to the RF connector just to see if it would work, and to my surprise it did, although there was some noise/sparkles in the video that was not bad enough IMO to make it unwatchable.

On day 6, I received the 4114 Fixed Wall mount bracket costing $18.54 + shipping from another online store. These can cost $50 or $100 elsewhere. The place where it is mounted has windows on an inside wall, so I installed 2 horizontal 2x4s to the studs surrounding the window, which gave more (needed) room to work behind the TV. When mounting the brackets to the back of the TV, I used two 5mm spacers for each M8 x 30mm screw. I didn't use the square washers because there would have been only 3/4 turn worth of contact with the threads. Even with brackets mounted in the highest position on the back of the tv, the wall plate still covers up the yellow component/composite RCA connector. So I ordered a 90 degree angled RCA adaptor. Without using the two 5mm spacers, there would not be enough room for even the angled adaptor. The 4 HDMI connectors, 3 USB ports, and RF connector are oriented at a 90 degree angle, so space is not an issue. But all other connections are straight back and without the horizontal 2x4s I installed, all of those cables would have to have angled connectors.

This website has a good review that gives info that the manufacturer does not provide:

http://www.rtings.com/reviews/tv/lcd-led/samsung/ju6500

This TV has been on the market for about one month. Overall, I'm very happy with this TV but I'm taking off one egg for the speakers.
Reviewed By:Tony,4/21/2015 2:47:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > VIZIO > VIZIO E390-B1E 39" Class 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Poor packaging, came completely broken.
Pros: Clean design
Cons: Extremely poor packaging. Was broken when it arrived and is unusable. In the process of returning it now. Quite inconvenient. I would recommend not purchasing a television through this company until they do more to protect your order.
Reviewed By:mrspence,4/20/2015 2:14:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 40" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED40YD1100UA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome TV
Pros: Wonderful picture! Very happy with my purchase.
Cons: The remote is a little hard to use. The mute button is too small.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2015 9:49:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TV > Changhong > Changhong 32" Class 1080p LED HDTV - LED32YC1600UA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Good quality and brightness after playing with the settings for a while.
Cons: Takes a bit longer to turn on then other TV's we have, as someone else mentioned when you use VGA its clearer but darker but you can use HDMI you just need to play with the settings kind of a pain.
Other Thoughts: Audio out is only a 3.5mm connector so if you need RCA connectors then you'll need to also have or order a 3.5mm to RCA audio adapter cable should be cheap to get.
Reviewed By:repairmant87,4/20/2015 9:44:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.