Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > LED TVs > Seiki > Seiki SE50UY04 50" Class 4K Ultra HD 120Hz LED TV

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Has very good picture.
Cons: very bad sound. needs sound bar for good experience
Other Thoughts: needs optical output
Reviewed By:tom,7/9/2014 1:52:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > JVC > JVC 37" Class 720p LED TV - EM37T

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great TV
Pros: I bought this TV for my mother in law, so I bought whatever was cheap.

But then I plugged it in to test it out and was astounded by the picture quality. So I kept it for myself.
Cons: I guess that it's slightly thicker than I would have hoped for? Still isnt even that thick...
Other Thoughts: Great TV for the price. Refurb hasn't mattered at all. Fairly simple, but works great.

Not a lot of inputs but I only need 1, so fine for me.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/9/2014 11:23:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > Seiki > Seiki SE55UY04 55" Class 4K Ultra HD 120Hz LED TV

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad for the price
Pros: - VGA Port (rare on TVs these days)
- Price
- Comes with a nice HDMI cable
- Pretty good picture
- 4K, although I haven't used a 4K source yet
Cons: - TURN OFF MEMC!!! If you are using this as a monitor, you'll find the mouse feels really slow. The reason is MEMC / Motion Interpolation. If you turn that off, it is much, much better.
- Speakers aren't great
- The glass base has a protective film on it that makes it look dull -- peeling it off is really hard, but it looks much nicer with it off.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this in a conference room for doing powerpoints, videos, etc. Once I turned of MEMC, I'm happy with it. May buy a few more.
Reviewed By:MARK E.,7/9/2014 9:46:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > Seiki > Seiki 32" Class 1080p 60hz LED TV - SE32FY22

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow!
Pros: Great picture quality for the low price! I was an Electronic Salesman at Sears and we sold Seiki tvs for an inexpensive alternative during the holidays and we didn't get a lot of returns for them and now that I have my own, I can see why! These are cheap, but not necessarily cheaply built. They are solid tvs that perform what you need for half the money you would spend for a Samsung and a "good enough" tv for my needs, as I use it as a computer monitor.
Cons: AMD Catalyst didn't recognize it's full 1080 resolution until I manually changed it, so watch for your computer messing up the resolution and don't blame the tv, it's great picture for little money!
Other Thoughts: It seems to put out a lot of heat for an LED tv.. My 51" Samsung plasma tv put out less heat when it was new so I'm concerned about the stress that it will add to components. Just an observation if you're looking for a tv that'll last 2+ years, you'll best want a Samsung or Sony. My verdict on Seiki longevity is still out, but so far, amazing tv for the money.
Reviewed By:Mandalore051,7/8/2014 9:19:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > SAMSUNG > Samsung UN55HU9000 55" Class 4K Ultra HD 120Hz 3D Curved Smart LED TV

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's Smart
Pros: Best TV of 2014 - The UNHU9000 curved 4K LED LCD has an excellent picture with deep black levels, accurate color and great bright-room viewing qualities. Its styling is drop-dead gorgeous, and the curve lends a unique, futuristic look. The sound is great and does not need a sound bar. I like the all in one "One Connect".
Cons: Wi-Fi does not work couldn't get the wireless to work at all even calling Samsung, they don't know anything! And reflective if you are way off on the side and there is a reflection coming from the other side of the screen, I guess it's the curve, best viewed looking straight on.
Reviewed By:BillyNYC,7/8/2014 8:21:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > Sceptre > Sceptre X409BV-FHDR 39” 1080p 60Hz LED HDTV

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dissapointed
Pros: Has plenty of A/V connections. Includes a QAM tuner. Great Color Reproduction.
Cons: This unit seems to be very cheaply made. I have had it replaced twice. The first one had bad pixels. The box was damaged during shipping so I thought that was the reason. The second one had a buckled screen which was very noticeable when in use. This third one has small clusters of bad pixels in four locations so I am about to send it back as well. This time for a refund.
Other Thoughts: I purchased a 40' Sceptre brand last year and it operates correctly to this day. Since I had great luck with this brand before, I thought I would buy another one of a different model. This time I am questioning this brand's quality. Maybe I got lucky with the first one I purchased.
Reviewed By:Jesse,7/8/2014 4:36:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > Seiki > Seiki SE50UY04 50" Class 4K Ultra HD 120Hz LED TV

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A Nice 4Kx2K montor
Pros: I have used this 50" TV as a computer montor, and, am quite satisfied with it. It came with a solid durable v1.4 HDMI cable for the Ultra mode.
Cons: A very low humming sound from this TV. It is torable once you get used to it as a monitor. The humming sound ia not noticable if you used it as a TV at a distance. No "display port" exists and the HDMI v1.4 can only support 4Kx2K at 30 Hz, though
Other Thoughts: I have to puirchase a better graphic card to support the 4Kx2K display. Window 8.1 can set the display resolutions without amy problem. For Unix, it took me a while to set the graphics. I have to load the graphic driver from card's Web side.

The default settings for the backligh is full 100 percent. I have to go to the "menu", "0000", "others" and then the "backlight" to lower it. The lowest settings for backlight I can permantely set seems to be only "62" though.
Reviewed By:Geo Sound,7/8/2014 2:41:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > SAMSUNG > Samsung UN55H7150 55" Class 1080p 240Hz 3D Smart LED HDTV

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Excellent Picture Quality, Terrible Experience
Pros: I bought this TV at the beginning of May, almost a month or so from the TV's started coming out. I was really excited about the TV because it was the perfect size for our living room, excellent picture quality as seen in Best Buy, and had the ability to use Plex.

Hardware Setup:
Easy setup with minimal difficulties. You have to have an area to lay the TV down in order to put the stand on. There are some issues taking the plastic covering off the front bezel of the TV and requires LOTS of patience. I would suggest using an exacto knife if your plastic covering is embedded in the manufacture process. Seriously, super annoying.

The IR repeater cord that's used for the universal remote setup is somewhat short. This may limit your setup if you plan to place the TV on the wall and run cords through the wall. Just be aware.

Software Setup:
No problems. Very easy to setup.

Video Quality (5 out of 5 stars):
This is truly why I bought this TV. 3D quality is great, but the picture quality on this TV is outstanding for the price you pay for it. Even at the $1600 I originally paid for the TV, the price to picture quality ratio was outstanding. With some tweaking of settings (please see the AVS forum for actual details), this TV comes to life. There are some drawbacks, but this isn't specific to this TV but more generalized to LED TV's, including small viewing angles where the color starts to wash out at almost a 20 degree angle. There is some flashlighting of the picture, but it's not too noticeable and is pretty common with edge lit LED TV's. Minimal to no black crush that I can tell, but some have seen some black crush.
Cons: Sound Quality (3 out of 5 stars):
Due to it's slim form factor, this TV has average to below average sound. It is recommended you get a sound bar or use a sound system with this TV. With that said, the sound is passable and you wouldn't be too disappointed unless you're an audiophile.

Experience (3 out of 5 stars):
Let's start with software. I had lots and lots of problems with Hulu and streaming. The TV has poor WiFi connect-ability and although it's a plus that the TV connects via WiFi, it's pretty poor in terms of streaming ability and requires you to connect via Ethernet to have a better experience. My point? Don't count on the WiFi being any good.

I had multiple crashes of programs such as Hulu and Plex, but that could be because the programs themselves needed updates. Still, because of this, the overall experience diminished.

The SmartTV features are just bloatware in my opinion. The "QuadCore" experience is still slow and don't expect zipping apps. Web browsing is OK, but limited and also somewhat slow compared to a desktop configuration.

The universal remote is awesome and once setup is pretty nifty. However, this also works about 90% of the time with button misreads or requiring a re-calibration via the universal remote setup.

There are some actual hardware problems with the TV. There are episodes of flashing of "green lines" (please see the AVS forums for further details) and it's thought that these have actually been a software issue that was recently fixed by a new firmware update. However, this is all speculation and could be a combination of both. Who knows.
Other Thoughts: What really made me rate this TV as a 2 stars is what I'm about to discuss next. After all the above issues and finally getting the TV to where I wanted it in terms of preferences, it started turning itself off and on in an endless loop with no ability to use the remotes. Only way to stop the loop of off/on was to pull the power plug. I contacted Samsung who created a repair ticket and after ONE return phone call that I had missed, they had deleted my ticket. I called them back responding to the one phone call and had to recreate a ticket. It was then that I received a Samsung confirmation email and a phone number to call to make the repair. The repairman told me that this issue IS a known problem and that those TV's bought from early April to early May are affected and need a part replaced, as determined by Samsung. I am currently awaiting my TV to be repaired as the part needs to come from L.A. and then need to schedule a time for the repairman to fix the TV.

All of that is to say, if you bought your TV from April to May, don't be surprised if it turns itself on and off in and endless loop.

Conclusion:
This is an excellent picture quality TV for the price with average sound and extremely buggy software and hit or miss functionality.

***Update: It's been over a week since calling Samsung regarding the TV. I called the repair center again, only saying that the part has been ordered (controller board). They told me to contact Samsung regarding the ETA. I did just that. Samsung is saying that the part is on backorder ("The request parts are on backorder and Panel will be shipping from V303/RS30 warehouse"). Curious part is, not only is that the ONLY thing anyone knows, but they're saying the "panel" will be shipping. Almost 10 mins into speaking with Samsung, the repair service called me and they said that the system just updated saying it's on backorder. I then told him what samsung had told me and he was quite surprised, as he had only ordered the board.

This is all very frustrating. Not only do I not know WHEN I'll get the TV repaired, but I also don't know if they'll repair the right part.
Reviewed By:Thompson,7/8/2014 8:08:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > VIZIO > VIZIO 24" Class Razor LED Smart TV - E241I-A1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very good TV
Pros: very good smart TV does what it say picture good and run for hours without issues been having it for more than a year in my kids room plays movies and YouTube smoothly connected wireless and connection never drops very recommended.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Haissam,7/8/2014 7:49:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > LED TVs > Seiki > Seiki SE39UY04 39” Class 4K Ultra HD 120Hz LED TV

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent TV or Monitor
Pros: I absolutely love this TV. Everything about it has made me happy. It actually exceeded my expectations. And for the price I cannot be happier. The 4k video mode is precisely as crisp as my original 22" computer LCD screen. I was not expecting it to look this well as I have used hi-def TV's as monitors before but this is the first one that actually has the quality of a regular computer screen. It feels like I have the desktop real estate of approximately four computer monitors but without any seams. As a programmer, the extra space is useful as I can layout all of my files at once without overlap and doing so assists greatly with productivity.

When I finally located a true 4k video that matched the resolution of the screen I was literally blown out of my chair and across the room by the stunning quality.
Cons: In 1080p this monitor is blazing fast and most media is already in 1080p so as expected it looks incredible. Gaming is smooth and very responsive. You will notice the upscaling because unlike on a 1080p screen there are more pixels in there so the artifacts do exist, sit a few feet back and you can't see them at all. Better than any HD TV I've ever seen.

In 4k resolution everything is crisp and beautiful, however 30hz may affect your decision. It certainly won't get in your way and personally I don't mind it when I'm gaming. However, if you are an elitist screen aficionado then you probably cringe at anything under 120hz, this monitor will probably make you want to give up your first born child. However, if you can't really tell the difference between 55hz 60hz 65hz 75hz or 120hz then do not fear the 30hz rate you will get used to it very fast as it is not really that noticeable if you are doing work and not actively analyzing the refresh rate under a microscope.

The most noticeable disadvantage I've had so far is the desktop is so big it takes a couple flicks to get my mouse across the screen even on high sensitivity.

This monitor is excellent and for the price it cannot be beat.
Other Thoughts: No regrets! Quality and surprisingly useful.

Make sure your video card can handle the screen resolution. I upgraded to a GTX 760.
Reviewed By:Salamander,7/7/2014 10:37:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau