Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer AVH-X5700BHS 7" Touch Screen DVD/CD Receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Awesome product
Pros: Excellent head unit and it only cost under $125.00 to install at Best Buy's Geek Squad. I got the Sat-Sirius Unit for free at a rebate with 90 days free. The monthly cost after this 90 period is like $8 or $9. You can choose whatever plan. No complaints.
Cons: - Check with manufacturer website before purchasing this item regarding warranty coverage since Pioneer Electronics will only honor warrant coverage if item purchase from an Authorized Re-seller or Retailers was.
Other Thoughts: Fortunately for me, I was able to return my Head Unit to Newegg for a replacement. The return process was relatively easy, they sent out prepaid return label with RMA, I will post results on that process and the replacement unit.
I would recommend this product.
Reviewed By:sheldon l.,9/20/2016 4:46:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer Digital Media Receiver with Short Chassis Design, MIXTRAX MVH-X380BT

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pioneer does it again!
Pros: Easy to install plug and play technology VERY easy setup and Bluetooth pairing. This is what you need what the hell is a cd player anyways!
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:Techy,8/25/2016 8:11:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > PYLE AUDIO > PYLE 7" Single DIN In-Dash Detachable Motorized Touch Screen TFT/LCD Monitor PLRM70BT

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible piece of garbage.
Pros: Affordable?
Cons: It's not compatible with iPhone/iPod, the instructions and wiring diagram are wholly lacking, the unit sounds terrible and make all sorts of random noises (buzzing and whining through the speakers), the Bluetooth audio sound quality is terrible. I bought it as a garage radio for the Bluetooth audio and it's a complete waste of space. I took it back out and reinstalled my original radi and I'll keep using my wired setup.
Other Thoughts: Not ever. I don't think I've ever been this disappointed by anything I've ever purchased before...I thought about giving it away to someone, but I'd like to think I was a better friend than that. It sounds like a nasty old Kraco from back in the day.
Reviewed By:Joe M.,7/14/2016 8:35:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer SPH-DA120 AppRadio 4 Smartphone Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Too much hacking to get it to work they way you want.
Pros: Android in you car.
Cons: Android, the way you want it, in you car takes alot of work.
MHL interface to my Note 4 drains battery instead of charging it.
Very limited Android app support out of the box - ARUnchained improves this, but you have to root the phone to get this to work.
You have to buy a parking brake bypass hardware hack device just to get Waze on the dash. Navigation while you are parked makes no sense. On the Atoto unit I put in my wife's car, all you have to do is ground the brake wire. On this unit you actually have to pulse it as it makes you go through a sequence to enforce this (brake, release, then brake). This big brother mentality needs to go.
Tried with an Android stick - the screen jumps - nothing works of the getgo, have to tweak all kinds of setting to get the basics.
GPS doesn't always work - haven't figured out root cause yet.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this product to other people. I would recommend one of the native Android Chinese car stereos such as the one by Atoto for half the price.
I would not purchase this product again if given the choice.
If I could change this, I would make Pioneer reproduce the design of the Atoto Android Chineses Double Din car stereo.
Reviewed By:Richard S.,5/30/2016 1:45:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer SPH-DA120 AppRadio 4 Smartphone Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unstable and support is unbelievably inconvenient for anyone who actually works.
Pros: The only plus is that you can mimic your iPhone onto the radio, however not all apps will work with this radio. But if it doesn't consistently work what's the use?
Cons: I would highly recommend staying away from this product. Firstly support from Pioneer is convenient for them, not you as a customer. If you work a 9-5pm job, take a day off to waste your time with their support. Now getting to the product itself, its completely unstable. I've been thru 2 iPhones since purchasing this unit and still the radio will shut down on its own. Sound will or will not work depending on how it decides to work that day. This is all within 8 months of owning the product. STAY AWAY!!!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2016 11:00:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Power Acoustik > Power Acoustik PD-724HB 7" Flip Out LCD Screen w/Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product. no problems!
Pros: All of the wires come labeled for whats what.
ease of installation.
is single din.
has a built in fan to keep cool.
plays movies really clear and looks really nice.
i have the choice to have the screen out or not.
adjustable angle for the screen from 90 to 60 deggre
Cons: when direct sun hits the screen it may become hard to see the screen.
comes out a bit slow every once in a while.
Other Thoughts: I Have not use the back up camera.
installation can be time consuming if your doing it by yourself so make sure you have a friend to help u.
Reviewed By:Alejandro R.,5/19/2016 6:55:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer MVH-X370BT Digital media receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 One of the best affordable Bluetooth radios out there!
Pros: - Phone connects quickly once it's paired with the radio. - I used to have an older JVC head-unit (must be 4 or 5 years old at this point) that took forever to connect with a phone.

- Picks up playing right where you left off. - My JVC did NOT have this feature; let's say your playing a song on your phone through the radio via Bluetooth, you get to where you're going and shut your vehicle off. Come back some time later and start the car back up and the Pioneer MVH-X370BT continues playing the song you were just listening to!

- Easy to install. - If you've EVER installed a car stereo before, nothing has changed.

- Good call quality. - My wife says that with my old radio... it definitely SOUNDED like I was using the hands-free Bluetooth in the car (lots of background noise), but with the Pioneer MVH-X370BT she says she can't tell whether I'm using the phone normally against my face or on the hands-free Bluetooth.

- Removable head-unit face plate. - Good anti-theft feature.

- HD radio capable! - Not everyone may hear the difference, but there was a noticeable difference to me... when listening to an HD station, it sounded more like CD quality rather than "radio" quality. Plus, you get the track info if the station broadcasts that data.

- Awesome sound. - ANY after-market radio will instantly sound better than the stock radio, but this Pioneer sounds GREAT!
Cons: - No CD. There IS a model in the same family as this radio that has a CD player, but it's $20 to $40 more expensive just to have the CD playing capability. I was on the fence about purchasing this radio when I had learned that it lacked a CD player... but ultimately I'm glad I got the MVH-X370BT. I stream the majority of my music and only listened to CD's if I didn't have a data connection.

- Menu's can be a little confusing. - They're not the easiest to navigate, but they get the job done. Given enough time, you'll eventually find what you're looking for.

- Can't display the time and track info at the same time. - You can cycle through a bunch of info: for instance the current frequency of the radio station you are listening to, the track info (if they are broadcasting the HD radio data) or the time, BUT you can't do a combination of any of those options. Not a huge deal... the dash on my car has a clock, but it might be annoying if you vehicle relies on the radio to display the clock.

- Screen color cannot be customized. - Again, not a huge deal... I don't mind the electric blue screen color. If you want a Pioneer radio that you can match the color to the rest of the stuff on your dash... there's one for that, but it'll easily cost you $50 to $100 more. In my mind, not worth it to pay the extra... but thought it was worth mentioning.

- Does not auto-dim. - This was sort of a surprise to me... most radio's I've ever had, have always auto dimmed when you put the vehicles lights on. This one has 2 options: a. Manual dimmer. You hold down one of the buttons on the head-unit for a few seconds and the screen dims. b. Schedule dimmer. You set times of day when you want the screen to "auto" dim; start at / end at. I tried the second option of just setting a schedule from 6 pm to 6 am, however one particularly bright evening, the screen ran it's "auto" dim according to the schedule I programmed and I could NOT see the screen at all. I then switched back to the manual dimmer. Again, if you NEED to have the radio dim by itself whenever you put your lights on... there's a Pioneer model for that... but it'll cost you some more $$$.
Other Thoughts: This came recommended via the Wirecutter as "The Best Bluetooth Car Stereo Receiver".
Reviewed By:Sean B.,5/2/2016 10:20:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > BOSS Audio 612UA Digital media receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not so much
Pros: USB and SD work ok.
Cons: The radio reception is horrid. I have purchased two different BOSS head units and the reception on both is abysmal. This one is on its way back for a refund.
The clock is not mentioned in the user manual. I have found instructions to set it on the internet by other users, but they did not work on this one. The clock is only visible for about 2 seconds.
The preset stations all set to the first in memory after a couple of days.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this item. Unless all your favorite FM station are withing a couple of blocks... or the SD and USB playback is all that is desired. The bad FM reception happened on two head units that I purchased. I will not purchase BOSS again.
Reviewed By:Joel C.,4/24/2016 3:10:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer FH-X720BT CD Receiver with Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent replacement radio for my 2004 Chevy Tahoe
Pros: Sounds great with factory Bose speakers. EASY to install after purchasing installation kit from local Wally World store. Make sure you get the antennae kit too. Remote control is nice too, easy to use. Hooks up with blue tooth to Iphone 5 for handsfree. Very nice to use Siri to with radio to voice text or listen to test messages over radio, and radio shows names of incoming calls. Also... looks great with the ability to change the color of the screen.
Cons: Nothing so far...
Other Thoughts: I recommend to anyone who wants to replace your factory radio or just have a more up to date radio with some nice features.
Reviewed By:Ricky P.,4/21/2016 9:58:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Head Units & Receivers > BOSS AUDIO SYSTEMS > Boss Audio 625UAB Digital Media Receiver w/ Bluetooth

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Buy something else
Pros: - Cheap for a Bluetooth radio. I had no idea how much using the add-on Bluetooth adapter was annoying me until I finally removed it - I have a whole new appreciation for my vehicle.

- I basically only use Bluetooth so I can't say much about the rest of the radio. Once I tuned a local station and it worked.

- Remembers that I had selected the Bluetooth device. My clock stays set, unlike the other reviewer, though it has randomly decided to reset a couple times.

- Reconnects Bluetooth automatically sometimes.
Cons: - Does not power on consistently. About 1 in 10 starts it will remain powered off, even though the circuit has power. I have to turn off the car and open the door (to kill the circuit), then the radio will power up on the next start - even removing the front panel and pushing the reset button, which normally stops the radio, does not resolve the issue. This seems somehow related to powering on 'too quickly', as if I leave the key in 'run' for a second or two before 'start' I see the problem more rarely. The radio is wired correctly, this is just a random issue that is apparently fairly common (see reviews on other sites).

- Bluetooth skips rarely but at random. Honestly this is just a minor annoyance, but it seems related to temperature, which is a bit scary going in to summer.

- Clock in Bluetooth mode requires pressing the "DISP" key, and then is only on for a few seconds. This is especially annoying because the Bluetooth screen does not display track info, just "A2DP" - at least a clock is vaguely useful.

- Bright blue light in the middle of my dash at night == really annoying. No brightness levels or alternative colors, and I think the LED positioning was chosen for maximum visibility but without thought to utility. Which brings me to...

- Completely illegible buttons, even with the backlight. Also, the panel is mirror-finish, so if you are in a little bit of sun you can't read the LCD. Amusingly I can now see this even in the professional picture, but it's much worse in person.

- AVRCP does not seem to work, after the initial connection the buttons stop working. This could be different players on my phone stealing the events, but in practice it means all my interactions with audio happen on the phone not the radio. Unfortunately, even though my phone is my exclusive audio interface, this radio...

- Does not operate at all without the front panel. I would love the ability to use the radio in Bluetooth mode (maybe with panel removed after initial connection) as that would solve my bright light problem above and maybe keep people from wanting to steal the radio (?).

- Does not automatically reconnect Bluetooth sometimes. Tasker does it using a "Bluetooth Near" profile, but that is definitely a nerd hack.

- Insecure Bluetooth connection, connects with no PIN - thus folks could theoretically connect and start blasting when my phone is disconnected but the radio is in Bluetooth mode. Never happened but it seems like a reasonable prank, if you have a friend with this radio, because the radio also

- Occasionally completely drops a good Bluetooth connection, and then picks it up again a few seconds later.
Other Thoughts: I am now shopping for a replacement radio; on the up side, this unit demonstrated that I really want a built-in Bluetooth solution, and getting all the harness/adapter/cage pieces for this one means I really just need to replace the head now.
Reviewed By:Timothy C.,4/15/2016 6:15:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.