Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Electronics SLR 600 Radar/Laser Detector with Color LCD Screen

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 broke nearly instantly
Pros: looks cool and windshield mount is well designed and stable
Cons: terrible durability. Screen went dead and unit stopped detecting less than a day after getting it. Horrible horrible customer service - they never answer emails or calls. been trying to get replacement detector for nearly 30 days now
Other Thoughts: will never buy a cobra product again.
Reviewed By:TJ,8/13/2014 12:12:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Escort Inc. > Escort Passport iQ Radar / Laser Detector w/ GPS Function

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Medicore Compromise
Pros: Combined GPS and radar/laser detector.

Traffic light cameras, etc updated periodically.
Cons: Unreadable screen. If you can find another combination GPS/radar detector get it, the display is essentially useless in daylight. At night it's fine.Since the screen can't be seen it's impossible to press any buttons. Starts up in an even less readable dim night mode.

No voice control so ya gotta see the buttons.

No traffic.

Slow satellite acquisition.

(Lots of "no's")
Weak windshield mount. So heavy it must rest on the dashboard and the windshield mount just stabilizes it.

Map is out of date and no upgrades are available.

Poor radar signal filters -- constant beeping for noting. Par for Escort though.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I retained this unit is it's the only combination of GPS and radar detection I'm aware of. Comparison to a Garmin Nuvi and Valentine 1 is embarrassing. But I don't have room for these two in my small Honda S2000.
Reviewed By:Chuck S.,8/7/2014 3:32:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Escort Inc. > Escort SmartRadar - Radar/Laser Detector Android Version

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 SHOULD BE A GREAT DETECTOR
Pros: THIS SHOULD BE A GREAT BUY ONCE I GET IT WIRED UP. I WAS'T EXPECTING TO DO THAT SINCE THE ADD DESCRIPTION STATED IT... Includes cigarette lighter power adapter!!
Cons: THAT'S THE ONLY NEGATIVE I CAN THINK OF....NO cigarette lighter power adapter!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 8:23:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Escort Inc. > Escort - PASSPORT Max Radar and Laser Detector - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Radar
Pros: This radar has amazing strength/range and when it goes off you know it is most likely a real cop. I would say it has a range of half a mile or more. When it has given me a wrong reading, it will store that location and signal automatically so it wont keep happening. I have had many other radars and they would go off all the time. Now I enjoy a quit drive and can trust my detector when it does go off. Overall I am very impressed with this unit and it has been worth the money. I am buying another one for my wife.
Cons: Non yet
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2014 9:56:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-540 Cordless Radar Detector with Digital Compass

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 radar detector
Pros: great detector for all bands, came with rechargeable batteries and car charger...........love it
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2014 4:08:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Performance SSR 90 Extra-Sensory Radar Laser Detector with VoiceAlert

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Radar Detector
Pros: Ordering this item on the website was extremely easy and pleasant. The detector works very well and has thus far, kept me from getting any speeding tickets. I have yet to be hit with any laser and would like to, just to see how it works in that mode.
Cons: The lights on the display are not as bright as I would like them to be, in the daytime, even on the highest setting.
Reviewed By:Tony C,6/19/2014 4:09:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Whistler > WHISTLER XTR-130 Radar/Laser Detector with Super-Bright Icon Display

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works fine
Pros: I got this detector because it was cheap and had good reviews. It works fine and satisfies my curiosity about radar signals (intersections, speed signs, cops).
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I was just curious about where radar was in use in my town, and I drive by a sign that says "your speed is ..." every day so I figured I would get a cheap detector. It sees the radar from the speed sign from a long way off, and also sees radar at one intersection in town (?). I like being able to see when radar is in use.
Reviewed By:deltaFoxtrot,6/16/2014 6:29:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Electronics SLR 600 Radar/Laser Detector with Color LCD Screen

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 great when it worked...
Pros: worked awsome, may have saved me a ticket or 2
Cons: screen didnt work within a week of using.
Reviewed By:gottapuke,6/11/2014 5:38:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Electronics SLR 600 Radar/Laser Detector with Color LCD Screen

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Loving the product!!!!
Pros: The product has been great so far, and even bought one for wife. I use it to keep me in check, not break it.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would advise this product to anyone.
Reviewed By:RWLJR,6/8/2014 2:33:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Radar Detectors > Cobra Electronics Corporation > Cobra Performance SSR 90 Extra-Sensory Radar Laser Detector with VoiceAlert

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seems semi effective
Pros: Cheap, nice settings.
Cons: Sketchy reliability. Limited range.
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: I don't have another unit to test side by side with this one. I also do not have prolonged experience with these devices, other than driving family/friend's cars with a V1 or passport 9500 in them every now and again.

I'm just not convinced this unit is reliable enough to spend the money on. Let's be honest, the cost here isn't of the unit, but of the consequences. It just does not seem like it goes off enough. Sometimes it catches an oncoming cop a ways away over a hill, which is great, and other times it seems to do nothing at all. I know cops don't always have their radar on, but I have definitely gone by cops running radar is the usually spots and not gotten a single beep. Further evidence? Driving by connivence stores and gas stations with automatic doors that set of a V1 will almost Never set this off. Radar controlled traffic lights don't set it off until you're under it. When you're on the highway and it goes off, you have only about 1/4 to 1/2 mile to jump on the brakes for a positive signal. This would be fine if I could trust it, but so far, I just don't think I do. Look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/3/2014 12:39:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau