Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD J-Mount for DBS Satellite Dish / Outdoor TV Antenna

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Mount for Small Antenna
Pros: This antenna mount is tall enough to provide 2 mounting points for the antenna while still keeping it above the roofline. The overall construction seems sturdy. We have had a couple of storms pass through here since I installed it and it hasn't budged. it can be mounted on the roof or on the fascia of the house.
The gray color doesn't stand out as much as black, white, or chrome would.
Good price and quick shipping as always from Newegg!
Cons: Docked one egg for:

No mounting hardware included. Providing 4 short lag screws would have been nice. I was able to get them from a local hardware store for 40 cents each so it wouldn't break the bank for them to be included.

No dedicated mounting point for connecting a ground wire. In order to properly install a roof-mount antenna you need to ground the mast on the roof in addition to the coax cable where it enters the house. I had to scrape off some paint around one of the locking screws that holds the mast vertical and attach the ground wire to that. Including a mounting point with a brass screw would have been a nice detail.
Other Thoughts: The cons are details and not large problems that don't effect the overall structural integrity of the product which is what i am mainly concerned about. Adding those details would certainly put this item over the top in terms of both quality and value.
Reviewed By:Nate,10/14/2014 7:07:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD J-Mount for DBS Satellite Dish / Outdoor TV Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It works just as it should.
Pros: I needed the longer pole featured by this product so that my different DISH antenna could "see" different satellites with new look angles. With the original shorter post, the dish reflector bumped the roof structure before the proper alignment could be achieved.

This item is of good quality construction with a durable finish. It allows the dish post to be mounted closer horizontally to the mounting plate than the DISH mount that it replaced. The original DISH mount horizontal distance is about 9 inches, and the horizontal offset dimension with this mount is only about 4 inches. That means the dish has less "off-center" force on the mount plate, and the DISH weight is centered more directly above the new mounting plate. That results in the mount having less lateral forces, and is therefore more secure. However, please see comments in the "Other thoughts" portion of this review!
Cons: The distance between the "pivot" bolt and the adjustment bolts that secure the post to the mounting plate is different from the original DISH (AND DIRECTV) mounting assemblies. That means the post cannot be removed, and the new post assembled to the original mount plate. The mount plate must also be replaced. Fortunately though, the mounting plate hole pattern to the building structure are identical, so the original holes on the building will match the new mounting plate.
Other Thoughts: Be sure the house eave (If so mounted) will allow the post portion of the mount to clear the roof structure "overhang". so that the post can be installed vertically as the antenna will require.
Reviewed By:OLD Jim,9/7/2014 3:20:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > RCA > RCA Digital Signal Preamplifier for Outdoor Antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I thought I was happy before I bought this RCA preamp... now I am crazy happy.
Pros: I live in Boca Raton Florida 27 miles from the OTA antennae farm down south of here by 27 miles. I own a Samsung 55" LCD and a Toshiba 40" TV. I have been receiving the ATSC signal for 5 years (no TV cable) through my roof mounted Antennas Direct DB8 UHF Multi-Directional HDTV Antenna all this time and thought I was happy. Because I don't get Fox (ch 7) and ABC (ch 10) very well on my Toshiba and not all on my Samsung I began looking for an inline preamp a year ago, but did not want to buy an analog unit. When I saw this RCA digital unit I jumped on buying it and I am thrilled with it. It arrived in 4 days free shipping. It is very well built. The directions are clear as a bell with great flexibility to accept separate VHF and UHF connections, or the single combination coaxial line. I installed the unit on the mast with their bracket and rescanned my channels. I am amazed that every channel comes in even more clearer/precise than before and channels 7 & 10 (FOX & ABC) come in picture perfect. RCA is a name I have always trusted and this preamp is a bargain at $24. This preamp solved all my digital antennae signal problems, no more sudden dropped signal, no pixel studder, perfect picture, and captures every signal in SE Florida imaginable. Thanks RCA.
Cons: Not a single Con
Other Thoughts: Excellent inline preamp
Reviewed By:Mick in Boca,6/13/2013 2:24:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD 3 Feet Tripod Mount for Off-Air TV Antenna

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does it's job
Pros: Does it's job. It's a mount like most every other. The Winegard name, though, was the deciding factor for me.
Cons: Nothing. It works.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/9/2013 5:45:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD 24dB Distribution Amplifier

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: simple directions
Cons: no signal boost at all
Reviewed By:N/A,9/9/2012 6:44:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD 15 dB Distribution TV Antenna Amplifier

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: See cons.
Cons: Does not come ready to use. The power cord has a female fitting as does the unit's power input.
Reviewed By:c9b,7/23/2012 12:28:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD 24dB Distribution Amplifier

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Added 15 more channels. Amp noise is very low. This is the third amp I've used and its been the best over all.
Cons: Instructions are confusing for someone who doesn't work in the business. Luckily my father was an installer.
Other Thoughts: Works great paired with a Winegard HD7082 High Definition VHF/UHF/FM TV Antenna.
Reviewed By:powertower,9/14/2011 5:32:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antenna Toppers > Winegard > WINEGARD 24dB Distribution Amplifier

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a clean amplifier
Pros: Compatible with Cable Modems (5-42 MHz Return Path) as advertised, and the +12dB return amp spec is spot on with what I was reading from my cable modem after installation.
Cons: This amp is noisier than I can believe! My SNR (Signal to Noise Ratio) dropped by over 4 dB when I put this in, even at the lowest power setting. At the lowest setting, it brought my power up by +6dBmV which got me to where I needed to be, but the added noise isn't worth it. +6dB signal with -4dB SNR is really bad!

To see what the amp would do, I tested higher power levels and my SNR steadily dropped by almost 20dB at full power. FYI - Over amping is bad (because you amplify the noise as well), so I'm not surprised at the SNR dropping due to this overpowering.

However, full power was well beyond what the amp was rated for I measured very close to a 40dB gain in signal, when the amp is only rated for 24dB. Something isn't right here.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to contact Winegard as I have to hope this is a defective unit. No amp should add that much noise at such a low setting. My 12 year old cheap amp from the "Shack" is cleaner than this!

Also, the full power setting was way out of spec, so I'm hoping Winegard will take care of me with a new unit.
Reviewed By:bluesguy_1,1/2/2011 1:42:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.