Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000
Pros: This thing is great, it does all and more than promised
no problem starting my V10 dodge truck. I'm very happy with it.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Well worth the money.
Reviewed By:Radioman,4/7/2014 5:10:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 it works!
Pros: As an ASE certified Master Technician I too was VERY skeptical. I saw it at an electrical supply shop, picked it up and laughed, "no way can this little thing jump start a car battery!" Then our Snap on tool dealer came by with a slightly different packed unit, but pretty much the same thing. He showed me videos he had taken on his own phone at various shops on his route. I had to have one. The very next day we picked up this PowerAll unit at the electrical supply shop and put it to the test. We COMPLETELY DISCONNECTED the battery on a 1995 VW Jetta Diesel. And this little thing worked!!!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend. The local police department is carrying a form of these in their squad cars.
Reviewed By:rick,3/24/2014 6:33:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Peace of mind
Pros: Dual USB ports
Multiple Power Tips for all devices
Can jump start a car!
Cons: Nothing Really
Other Thoughts: Bought it for the winter months in case my car needed a jump and no one was around. I always keep a few safety and necessity items in my vehicles "cause ya never know!"

Only thing I'll nit pick on is that the LEDs which indicate charge status do so in reverse order of what would be expected. When I first turned it on; I was like "IS IT ON?" and the power button/ flash light sequence is a little slow or awkward ish.
Reviewed By:Josh,3/24/2014 5:07:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Possible? maybe...
Pros: If this is a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) battery then it could work as a battery charger. If you think about it, when your car battery is low and won't start the engine but the engine does turn over connecting a 10 amp charger to it for a few minutes most of the time will give enough charge to allow the battery on it's own (charger disconnected) to start the engine. This says 12 A/H... so it could give a 12 amp charge for an hour, if you only need to charge for a few minutes to get the car battery charged enough to just start the engine then it could be used several times before it is discharged.
Cons: is it a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) battery? I don't know and didn't see anything that said what kind of battery it is. I don't own this, but I don't like off hand comments about something based on no research. My first thoughts was "no way that would work" but based on some quick research I see it could be possible.
Other Thoughts: LiFePO4 (from Wikipedia): ..."is finding a number of roles in vehicle use and backup power"...

Don't get confused about mA/h and capacity/discharge rates. If discharging at a rate of 12 amps then should get 1 hour of usage from it. (with lead acid batteries higher discharge rates actually lowers the A/H the battery is able to produce... it's a non-linear function. It due to internal resistance, ion flow ... (Research it for better details, it's been a long time since I did any research on lead acid batteries and I no longer remember the details). LiFePO4 is described as being able to be charged in seconds due to it's ability to allow very large current flow (greater then lead acid batteries), so it would have the ability to discharge at huge amperage as well. But of course the greater the discharge rate the faster it becomes discharged.
Reviewed By:JWD,3/23/2014 9:34:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I was skeptical...but not now
Pros: Really does jump start vehicles
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When I first saw this product, I was highly skeptical that it could actually start a car. I read reviews where I could find them and read that people confirmed its abilities. One review I read mentioned that their unit had caught fire so I emailed the manufacturer (Gryphon) asking about that issue. They promptly replied that saying that scenario was a result of leaving the unit connected to the vehicle after starting. Apparently, the current flowing back to the Powerall after the vehice starts is greater than the unit can handle. They clearly state in the directions that the unit has to be disconnected from the vehicle within 10 seconds of starting.

After they prompt reply, I purchased one unit as a test. The test I had been waiting for happened this weekend when my daughter came home from college and her car, which had been sitting for months, was dead. So I got out the Powerall, popped the hood, hooked it up, turned the key and it IMMEDIATELY started. No struggling whatsoever....I was kinda amazed. The car died again the next day and the Powerall started it again on the same charge...again without effort. I am very impressed.

The flashlight is more than serviceable. I haven't tried the USB charging but assume that function is fine as well.

All in all, highly recommended. I will be buying 2 more to have in my daughters' vehicles as well.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/23/2014 8:04:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Informed ?
Pros: The unknown critic who probably doesn't even own the device, says this wouldn't start a lawnmower, so they must have faked the video to scam customers out of their money. Newegg has been behind scams like this for years, and people just haven't found out yet I suppose. I know this isn't a forum, but I had to say that uninformed people shouldn't be allowed to post here. This device obviously works as advertised.
Cons: Negative people
Reviewed By:sylas,2/25/2014 4:08:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Jumps Big Engines + Charges Phones
Pros: I purchased two of these for both of my vehicles. I figured in the least it would provide a means to charge my usb devices if I was stranded or traveling.

Three days ago I had to put this to the real test. The battery in my 2007 Mustang GT was low and I couldn't start it. I popped this device onto the battery and turned over the 4.6L V8 engine and it purred to life.

I am very happy with this purchase as it intelligently charges my USB devices and jumps a rather big car engine. I will definitely keep this in my vehicle for those stranded situations!
Cons: None, except that the device doesn't power non-charging USB devices for extended periods of time. It appears that it has a ~1hr auto off feature when trying to run a USB device off one of the USB ports. It would be nice if I could run the device until the battery pack is dead.
Other Thoughts: I saw this as one of the highlights at the 2014 CES show and was very interested. Wise choice to take this to the CES show, Gryphon!
Reviewed By:NerdEngy,2/22/2014 10:19:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 worked like a freaking charm
Pros: started my Prius twice so far in cold weather, from the rear battery compartment and from the front terminal relay when I couldn't open the trunk because there was no power going to it. these jumps were from a single charge on this apparatus. the person who said this was not a jumper has no idea what he's talking about! he should, in fact, withdraw his rating until he can substantiate his claim by actually purchasing and trying out the device. (impossible btw–the substantiation, not the purchase). this product has saved me twice from missing important appointments! my Prius accessory battery which would cost 285.00 to replace registers as being full in the diagnostics, but when cold weather hits (and it's been kicking butts lately in Chicago), it is useless without a little help. I was using a battery that my father-in-law loaned me, but I have been able to return it, thank heavens (I had to drop the G word)! it's portable, cool looking and it has worked infallibly despite the theories others may have put out there. I'm truly glad I ignored the warning. you will be, too...
Cons: zeroooooo!
Other Thoughts: this is one of the best purchases I have ever made. you should jump on it before it returns to the price it should be selling at!
Reviewed By:mikelly321,2/16/2014 6:18:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > Gryphon > PowerAll PBJS12000R Portable 12000 mAh Dual 5V USB Power Bank, Car Jump Starter, and Ultra-Bright LED Flash and SOS Light + 8 Adapter Plugs (Rosso Red/Black)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Portable Power
Pros: Works great. Really good charging my i-phone and other small electrical devices. I haven't had a chance to see if it will jump a car battery yet but hope to do so soon. I like the packaging. It comes in a nice and fairly compact hard-shell atache style case. Includes atapters for many popular electronic devices as well as ac(Wall) and DC (Car) Power Cords.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:CHAZ,2/15/2014 5:02:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Jump Starters, Battery Chargers & Portable Power > MotoBatt > MotoBatt Lithium Jump Starter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good lightweight starter
Pros: Weighs less than 2lbs, is easy to carry, can start cars even when its -15F and the unit was kept in the car overnight.
Cons: Clamps a little small for some car/truck batteries. When very cold (-15F), jump cable gets hard to bend.
Other Thoughts: Although it took 4 tries to start on that very cold day, it did get the car started. Given this its better to keep the unit indoors where its warm and take it to car/truck when starting. Then the cables and clamps work much better and starts on first try. Do charge after every jump for best results.

There are many so called 'lithium' starters that are really SLAs. One can tell by the size, weight, and AH ratings,. but the easiest is the cycle lifes. SLAs get 200 100% discharge cycles, Li-Ions get 400 100% cycles and LiFePO4s get 1000-1500 100% cycles and 2000-3000 80% cycles. This uses the LiFePO4 chemistry in a high discharge rate cells 4S1P or 12.8V@4.5AH 90C 5 second burst (405A), 133C peak (600A) (rated at 25C battery temp). At -15F (-26C) battery temp, you get more like 270A burst, 400A peak.

To alleviate clamps being small, I just use a short car jumper cable (2ft) with the larger clamps. One could also make a cable with larger clamps as the socket on the unit is a standard DC size and type.
Reviewed By:pgerassi,1/28/2014 3:06:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau