Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer XF240H Black 24" 1ms AMD FreeSync 1920 x 1080 Full HD Widescreen Monitor 144 HZ Refresh Rate TN Panel with Built-in Speakers HDMI DisplayPort

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 By Far My Favorite Monitor
Pros: - Excellent build quality and easy to set everything up
- 144 hz (obviously)
- Fantastic colors for a TN panel
- No deal pixels (yet)
- Very useful OSD
- Ergonomic
Cons: - Was confusing to set up 144hz at first (didn't know I had to go into display settings on my computer so that's my fault, not Acer's)
- Takes time to get the perfect color adjustment, but the OSD comes with good color modes anyways
- Displayport cable is a little too short, but it still reaches from my monitor to my pc
- Would not be worth it for $400 but I got it on sale for $200
Other Thoughts: This is the first 144hz monitor I have ever purchased (or used, for that matter.) Coming from a 720p monitor and switching the setting from 60hz to 144hz, my jaw dropped to the floor and stayed there for a good 20 minutes. The smoothness of everything is just unexplainable, and gaming is just so much better. I am so happy I made this purchase. Will definitely be buying Acer products in the future as I am not unsatisfied with this monitor in almost any way.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 4:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > LG Electronics > LG 27UD88-W 27" FreeSync IPS LED Monitor 4K UHD 3840 x 2160 16:9 Widescreen 5ms (GTG) On-Screen Control with Screen Split, Game Mode & Black Stabilizer USB 3.0 Quick Charge HDMI

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 LG 27 UD88 IPS 4k monitor
Pros: Pros
+ Beautiful display
+ Awesome down-scaling
+ Adjustable height
+ Thin and light weight
+ Great viewing angles
+Low light bleed
+USB Type C
+Thin Bezel
+built in speakers
Cons: Cons
-.25 in black edge around bezel
- Price

Let me start off and explain that I have and LG 60 UHD (3D) 60Hz Television, and also a BenQ 2K 27” Gaming monitor. I have ran productivity apps and gamed on both of these displays. I am also a pretty serious gamer and home theater enthusiast.

When un-boxing this monitor I was pleasantly surprised that it came with all the cables that are needed to make it work. This monitor has an external power supply which keeps the monitor thin and lightweight. The monitor is mostly made of white plastic and has a metal frame bezel. Assembly was very simple and took about 5 minutes. The base is also sturdy and has both height and pivot adjustments Overall I would say the build quality is good. However, I would not call it heavy duty like my BenQ.

The picture quality of this monitor is fantastic! The colors are deep, vivid and crisp. I decided to calibrate this monitor with my Spears and Munsil calibration Blu ray. Bringing the colors truer to tone and reducing some of the vividness. They are not far off which was good to see. Black levels and contrast are very good for an IPS display definitely acceptable for today's standards. Testing of the color gambit also was true to LG’s claim of 99% RGB color range. My tests came in at 97.46% which is within tolerance. As with ANY IPS or LCD display, there is going to be some light bleed. Why after all this time of manufacturing these monitors, have they not found a way to eliminate this? I have no idea, but it ruins an otherwise perfect monitor. This monitor has very little light bleed, but the lower left corner has a large section that has a lighter area. It is only visible in complete darkness. Edge bleeding is also minimal. As stated earlier the picture quality is 5 stars! Viewing angles are also very good. I have only one complaint here, the picture is not edge of the bevel. There is a .25” dead space between the picture and the bevel, and the pictures here are deceiving in my book and if you want a seamless bezel for gaming there still does not seem to be a solution other than and ultra wide monitor.

Here is the dilemma, a 27” monitor is not what I would consider huge, and I feel is not large enough to truly need 4K or UHD. In fact the normal fonts and icons are quite small. If you are a professional, and need a large desktop you will appreciate it. You may want two or three of these monitors. My main monitor is a 2k 144hz BenQ and the resolution is perfect for 27” up to about 36”. I was however amazed, at how well this monitor scaled down in resolution. I can only surmise, that being 4K with a very fine dot pitch, helps prevent the typical fuzziness associated to down scaling. I ran this monitor in both 2k and 1080p with no issues, and with some minor tweaking it looked like it was a native resolution, a definite Kudos there.
Other Thoughts: I recently bought a MSI GTX 1070 and it really runs games great at 2k and below, but it struggles in many games at 4K. Games surely do look spectacular at 4K (and lower resolutions) on this monitor. However, downgrading the resolution to increase the FPS is the way to go. If you want to game at 4k, you will need to run SLI or Crossfire. Also remember this is a 60hz monitor, and if you need higher FPS than that, you will need a dedicated gaming monitor.

For the AMD gamers, Free sync will prevent the tearing at above the 60hz the monitor runs at. It is needed in this case. For all the NVIDIA users that have a newer 1000 series card you can use the new Fastsync to give you the same benefits of Free-sync without the cost.

I was unable to use the USB type C as a video adapter, but it is great to see this included for laptop users.

Let's talk about the included controlling software. You are able to section off areas of the monitor to basically run as a smaller monitor for programs. This software works well and allows you to have a consistent setup for video editing, publishing or even office productivity. The OSD software I also extremely useful for changing settings on the fly. It is much faster than using the control stick on the monitor. Speaking of the monitor control stick, it is not too bad to use overall. The menus are laid out well and easy to navigate.

In a nutshell this “Productivity” monitor is beautiful, and it can also game if you downscale the resolution for acceptable frame rates on today's video cards. Overall this is a great monitor and it can pretty much do everything well! I do feel the price is a tad high, but considering the market and competing equipment it is solidly priced. If it suits your needs for what you are looking for you can’t go wrong. If you like this review be sure to give it a rating.
Reviewed By:Jamie K.,9/27/2016 3:55:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer Predator XB321HK 32” IPS NVIDIA G-sync Gaming Monitor Black 32” 4K UHD 60Hz HDMI DisplayPort

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great monitor
Pros: This is a great monitor. Almost no problems with it whatsoever. Color and contrast are great, image is great. Gsync makes gaming flawless. Movies are amazing.
Cons: - Some issues switching between inputs if both cables are plugged in (hdmi and dp). I haven't figured out if this is due to the monitor or the gpu.
- HDMI 1.4. 2.0 would be better to support hdcp 2.2.
Other Thoughts: At 32", 4K and Gsync, this is a great monitor. I'm very pleased. Keep in mind that if you have to spend a lot of time at lower resolutions, you're going to notice image quality degradation because this thing is too big for 1080 resolution.

I also had to set the dual monitor settings in windows Display to only use one monitor. I only have one but for some reason without setting this there was offscreen space to the right and I would lose the mouse.
Reviewed By:Marc J.,9/27/2016 3:47:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > ViewSonic > ViewSonic XG2703-GS Black 27" 4ms (GTG) IPS G-SYNC Gaming Monitor,165Hz,300 cd/m2,DCR 12,000,000:1(1000:1),Dual Built-in Speakers,VESA Mountable,Height,Pivot,Swivel,Tilt Adjustment,USB 3.0 HDMI

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Top tier gaming monitor for a fair price
Pros: - Excellent, crisp display with no visible problems, backlight bleed, bad pixels, etc. This is a top-notch monitor.
- The G-Sync feature is an instant performance boost-- turn off VSync everywhere you can and games still run smooth as butter.
- Solid stand (comes attached) with elevation, tilt and rotation. Feels very beefy and the headset hook is a nice touch.
- OSD is generously featured, supporting two individual custom profiles plus presets.
- Less expensive than most competition
Cons: - The power on light indicator for the monitor is actually in the base, and causes a lot of glare. It's able to be customized in the OSD from white, to red, green and blue, but most importantly for me-- "off" to avoid the glare. If you put the monitor on a VESA mount, you lose the power on indicator (plus of course 'off' doesn't tell you about the state of the monitor either.)
- Included cables could be longer. I don't have enough run to make it from the center of my desk, through the cable grommet to the computer on the floor directly below the grommet on the USB 3.0 cable-- but including that as well as the DisplayPort are nice touches.
- Monitor doesn't really lock on center in a horizontal orientation. I like that it rotates freely, but it should have a 'notch' for the user to feel when it's on-center.
- The OSD is full-featured but the buttons are a little clunky to use on the back of the monitor. You have to basically feel behind the screen and count how many buttons you are away from the top or bottom to orient your fingers.
Other Thoughts: - The box is very plain looking, and the included paper documentation references incorrect information. It's also fairly bulky as the stand comes attached to the monitor.
- For some reason, Newegg didn't tape my box shut or package the monitor in an outer box. Not a complaint on the monitor, just Newegg's packaging. Nobody stole anything and the box stayed shut in transit, thankfully.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 1:31:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer G6 Series G246HLAbd Black 24" 5ms Widescreen LED Monitor 250 cd/m2 ACM 100,000,000:1 (1000:1)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great monitor for the money
Pros: Light, but perfect size for desk.
Cons: None that I could see.
Other Thoughts: I'd buy this product again. Great item for the money.
Reviewed By:David P.,9/27/2016 11:50:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer GN246HL Black 24" Gaming Monitors, 144 Hz 1ms (GTG), LED Backlight LCD Monitor provide immersive 3D image

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Dead Pixel
Pros: Easy set up
Looks Great
No ghosting problems
Cons: I bought this monitor brand new and have only owned it for 5 days and it already has a dead pixel... really disappointed.
Other Thoughts: would give 5 star if not for dead pixel..
Reviewed By:John B.,9/27/2016 10:59:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Hewlett-Packard > HP Pavilion 25xw Silver White 25" IPS 7ms (GTG) Ultra-Wide Frameless LCD/LED Monitor with HP Low Haze Anti-Glare Treatment and Versatile Viewing

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the price.
Pros: Colors are really good considering the price. Very attractive white and silver, small bezels (1/2' on top and sides)
Cons: There is a "haze" to the screen that you just can't adjust out. it looks slightly washed out.
I have found that you can have accurate colors for web pages (white objects on a white background look correct) or you can adjust to make games have more color depth, but you can't have both.
Games, like WoW, look a little washed out, but, colors are fairly accurate. blacks are more of the typical anti glare gray than black. on screen controls are generic.
Other Thoughts: over all, its a great monitor. I prefer Glossy screens since I came from an iMac to this.
This fits the bill for a budget system. If you try to adjust out the washed out / Haze, colors are very inaccurate.
I think I am going to return it and get the 2k asus MX25AQ. 1080 is ok, but 2560x1440 just look So much better. of course the asus is 2X the price. Again, for the money, this HP is excellent. If you need a budget monitor with over all good color, this is it,
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/27/2016 10:11:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer H6 Series H236HLbid Black 23" 5ms (GTG) HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight LED Backlit LCD Monitor, IPS Panel 250 cd/m2 ACM 100,000,000:1 (1000:1)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Why have companies become so BAD at design, testing, and QA/QC... it's 2016!
Pros: NONE.

How have we reached the point where so many consumer products are so poorly designed & tested? It is 2016! There are more ways to test, revise, and communicate with consumers than ever before... yet there is more cheap throw-away junk than ever.

It's truly astounding. Does anybody prototype, test, and refine anything? Or, does it go from CAD/CAE straight to production? Windows 10 is an example: Microsoft eliminated their in house QA and testing staff, and made consumers the 'beta testers'.

I cannot understand how so many products reach the marketplace with such pathetic design and engineering choices.
Cons: Glossy screen (when did this become defacto standard for workplace monitors)
Cheezy wobbly base/stem (see related stability issue below)
Horrible placement of connections at top
Dubious quality & reliability
Other Thoughts: I think Amercian consumers (techie or otherwise) have been 'conditioned' to accept mediocre products over the past 15+ years. Marketing & Advertising hype 'gee-whiz' features, 'new and improved' design, and low price. You get what you pay for... maybe.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/27/2016 8:12:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > ASUS > ASUS ROG PG279Q Black 27" WQHD IPS 2560X1440, NVIDIA G-Sync Gaming Monitor, 165 Hz refresh Rate, Slim Bezel Design with HDMI USB Ergonomic EyeCare Technology

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Came Great; Remember: Most reviewers only came back because they had an issue
Pros: I'll let you read the other reviews for the pros. Essentially, it's as advertised. Picture quality is fantastic, 1440p IPS panel. You really can't go wrong. You're getting the best that monitors have to offer, here.
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that most people come back to make a review because they had an issue with it, wanted to return it, or otherwise complain. Those who have a great experience only rarely come back to leave a review. I'm making it a point to come back and say that I had no issues at all with the monitor; no dead pixels, no back light bleeding, nothing. It's perfect and was a REALLY good deal.

Don't be too afraid of the reviews. They're always going to be biased toward people who had issues.
Reviewed By:Mark S.,9/27/2016 7:53:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > LCD / LED Monitors > Acer America > Acer Z271 (UM.HX1AA.006) 27" 4ms (G to G) HDMI Widescreen LED Backlight Monitor 300 cd/m2 1,000:1

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Minor lightbleed, major price
Pros: Looks pretty, curved, LED under glow
Cons: Lightbleed
Only 1080p
Slowest free shipping in my life
Overpriced
Other Thoughts: Would recommend if on sale and free shipping
Reviewed By:Jordan M.,9/26/2016 10:54:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.