Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo IdeaPad Z710 (59406328) Notebook Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 745M 17.3" Windows 8.1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great bang for the buck
Pros: -Price point is incredible for the included hardware
-Very light for a 17 inch laptop
-Surprisingly long battery life for its size
-Backlit keyboard
-LED backlit screen is very bright and easily usable in direct sunlight
Cons: -no physical media included with the unit (drivers disc, windows disc, etc...) makes replacing the hard disk difficult (take this into consideration if you want to swap the drive for a SSD like me)
-touchpad left and right buttons are integrated as part of the touchpad - easy to accidentally move the mouse particularly when attempting to right-click
Other Thoughts: -screen hinges feel a bit loose though the screen does remain in place so long as the unit isn't moved
-for comfortable use of the unit, I would definitely recommend an external mouse - attempting to click the mechanical buttons in the touchpad often results in unintended mouse movement, and the tap to click function of the pad is very sensitive and often generates a click when I didn't intend one

I bought this unit to use for my upcoming college courses because it was the most cost effective option I could find that satisfied my college's system requirements.
Reviewed By:Derek,7/22/2014 2:57:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire V3-572G-54S6 Notebook Intel Core i5 4210U (1.70GHz) 8GB DDR3L Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Bang for your buck
Pros: My friend has had this laptop for 2 months, and it blazes through everything he's tried to put it through. For a laptop with a graphics chip, you are paying without a doubt the smallest penny that it can be sold for. Go do some research and it is obvious that you will not find a laptop with a current generation Nvidia chipset any cheaper. That being said, there are obviously going to be some drawbacks due to the price range. The screen resolution is not the absolute highest. This is a 15.6" screen. Not a 17". You're buying portability. You're buying lightweight. You're buying cheap. And yet, you're adamant that you want to be able to max out the graphics on modern games. This laptop is perfect for this. For this price range, you're getting a laptop that will tear through current and next gen graphics that is nearly as powerful as a desktop for the same price. You can't beat this deal. I see so many people spending 600 bucks on new laptops that slow down to a crawl within a month of use, have no graphics card, slow memory, and they wonder why my friend's laptop for the same price can blow theirs out of the water every time. A computer is only as fast as its slowest component, and if you completely leave out one component, it's obvious what happens. So this laptop lasts. Windows 8 is acceptable, however we wish we could install windows 7 instead with full driver support.
Cons: Windows 8 is still largely, in my humble opinion, not finished. It's buggy and it's full of garbage and changes that aren't needed. It was sold as a way to milk more money out of computer users. I've said the same thing about most of the versions of windows since XP was released. It took 2 service packs to finally fix XP to a usable state. Vista never reached fixed status, and windows 7 is actually decent. Windows 8 was designed for touchscreens, and seeing as how not all laptops are touchscreen capable, and not all users wish to utilize the touchscreen, this windows has all the bugs of new technology with none of the advantages of it.

Second is the screen resolution. 1366x768 isn't terrible. this is a 15.6" screen, which is rather small. You're going to be using the screen within a few feet of your face. so much like a smartphone, you don't need 1080p resolution for such a small screen to have an excellent picture. of course, the absolute BEST picture would be the higher resolution, but you don't want to drop $1500 on a laptop. You're not buying the best. But you are buying the best for your limited budget. That is why I am leaving this issue out of my overall cons.
Other Thoughts: You want power, performance, and portability. You want a low price. You can't possibly get any more of the first three for a price this low. You want a laptop that will last you 2-3 years at least. This can last you 5 if you don't physically abuse it and keep it clean. You don't want to have to do a system restore every month to make your computer run at anything faster than a crawl. This can run for months without a hiccup. This laptop will not only be around the same price as a far weaker laptop you can find at best buy, but will also save on maintenance costs over time, especially if you aren't techy enough to be able to diagnose your own laptop or do your own system restore. Computers are expensive. Do yourself a favor and make this your next buy.
Reviewed By:FirebrandTB,7/22/2014 1:52:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad T Series T410 Notebook Intel Core i5 2.40GHz 4GB Memory 250GB HDD Integrated Graphics 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 keeping it, but...............
Pros: nice price for the processor. It was cleaned up nicely on the outside, minus a good bit of dust in some of the connectors. No nicks dents or obvious scratches.
Battery pack in very good condition.
No bloat.
Cons: Worst mouse pad ever. Extremely small effective area.

Flimsy, not what I would call robust. Hope I never drop it.
I miss IBM.

!!!!WARNING, NOT ALL UNITS SHIPPED HAVE 64 BIT OS!!!!
Other Thoughts: Caveat emptor. Seems a refurb at this price, with this processor would have been shipped with a 64 bit OS. I needed a machine fairly quickly and kept what I got. In hindsight I should have tried to get what I thought I was paying for.

I find it a bit unethical (legal?) to ship 32 and 64 bit at the same price with no way of knowing what you are getting unit you receive it. Having asked what OS was being installed I was told by everyone who responded that it was 64 bit. Not true in my case. Again, to pay the same price for a 4 cylinder car as a 6 cylinder is not fair to the folks who got the 4 cylinder, and I question if it is strictly legal to not tell the consumer ahead of time that it is a crapshoot. I can find nothing that warned me of the OS gamble, but I'm sure the fine print covers that legally.

Just one guys humble opinion.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 11:51:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > Dell Latitude E6510, Core™ i5 - 560M - 2.66GHz, 4GB/250GB HD, 15.6" HD LED WebCam Win7 Pro w/ Carrying Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Received in good working order.
Pros: Notebooks came in good packaging. Not even a scratch on the bodies. For being refurbished, these are in excellent shape.

Bags that came with them were nothing special, but it was nice they came with them!

Windows 7 Pro Factory image was on them, as well as the product keys. Everything is working properly.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Jacob Worden,7/22/2014 11:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS X750JB-DB71 Notebook Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 2TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M 17.3" Windows 8 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Faulty Key
Pros: - Runs games and applications smoothly
- Large screen is nice for editing/gaming
Cons: -Short battery life
Other Thoughts: I was really excited to receive my very first high performing laptop.
When I got to using my laptop I noticed that when I type the 'D' key was not responding to a lighter touch. I like to type briskly and this was fairly annoying since I had to make it a point to press the key directly in the middle every single time.

I am planning to request a replacement, but other than that I really love it. I can game on it and run heavy editing software.

Would have been a 5 egger here if it weren't for this pesty key.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 8:13:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad T Series T410 Notebook Intel Core i5 520M (2.40GHz) 4GB Memory 250GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A lesson in frustration.
Pros: It is a "T" series Think Pad. Best Laptops made
Cons: Rebuilt by Microsoft "Authorized" Re builder. Ordered on 5-8-14. Received with a bad nav key . Sent back. Super Tech re-imaged the hard drive and sent back to me. I had to make a video to prove the key was bad. Sent back again. Was promised two day return. but it was shipped economy. FINALLY on 7-7-14 I received a working laptop. The only thing wrong was the charger was bad. I have been a Newegg customer since 2004 and have never been treated with such indifference until now.
Other Thoughts: I believe the re builder is doing a very poor job of quality control.
Reviewed By:mark5775,7/22/2014 7:04:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS D550MA-DS01 Intel Baytrail-M N2815 (1.86GHz) Turbo 2.13GHz 4GB Memory 500GB HDD 15.6" Notebook Windows 8 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ASUS D550MA-DS01
Pros: I purchased this laptop for one reason, for my wife to do school work and it does not disappoint. It was cheap and very light which were our two requirements. It won't play Battlefield or CoD but we have PC's for that.

In closing if you are looking for a cheap and light laptop for travel or school work then this little guy is for you!
Cons: If there is one thing I wish they would have done better it would be the touchpad. Its kind of garbage and takes some getting used to but it gets the job done. Sorry, had to take egg off.
Other Thoughts: Overall we are very pleased with the performance and have had no issues so far.
Reviewed By:Bryant R,7/22/2014 6:52:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 2540P Notebook Intel Core i7 2.13GHz 4GB Memory 250GB HDD 12.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome laptop
Pros: price
performance*
durability
Cons: no usb 3.0 support
no back lid keyboard
Other Thoughts: Laptop isn't bad for the price that you pay but it needs to be "turbo charged" if your'e looking to do some basic productivity on it. I have a SSD + 8gb of ram on mines. Does a good job for surfing, document editing, email and stuff like that
Reviewed By:HPfanguy,7/21/2014 9:29:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > ThinkPad T Series T410 Notebook Intel Core i5 540M (2.53GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD 14.1" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Laptop
Pros: Fantastic Laptop, Honestly looks new. It came with everything that was in the discription and even included a new battery and new power adapter. I don't care if they weren't OEM either
Cons: Only Con i can think of was i had to set the laptop from a fresh image. Which also means a TON of updates.
Other Thoughts: Ordering 2 more!!! will let you know if the next two come in just as nice
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 9:10:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Aspire V5-552P-X440 Notebook AMD A-Series A10-5757M (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD AMD Radeon HD 8650G 15.6" Touchscreen Windows 8

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far...totally worth it
Pros: I love the material the body is made of. So far it seems to be easy to keep dust out, feels really solid. Great build. It's light, portable, looks beautiful, and functional for a steal of a price.
Cons: AC Adapter gets quite hot - not hot enough that I can't touch it, but surprisingly hot. It is not name brand (Acer) - it's something else.
Other Thoughts: Came w/WIndows 8.0 which took time to update to 8.1. Froze repeatedly at random times out of the box, could never get more than a 5-10 minute use window before having to shut off and turn on. Easily resolved by updating BIOS - but not everyone will know how to do it.

While not everyone will love the screen, I do. I don't care that it's touch and likely won't use the feature, but I think video looks great and the resolution is just right for my eyes. It's just not HD which isn't a big deal to me.
Reviewed By:Jeff,7/21/2014 5:13:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau