Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR_DX/XD/A 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz Gaming Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fine card for most purposes, but not SDR radio use
Pros: Most features work underLinux Mint 16
Cons: Inputs are monaural
Other Thoughts: I have nothing against this card except that the documentation is very vague about the input capabilities. The inputs *are* low-noise, high dynamic range, and high sample rate, but they are *monaural*, making it useless for software defined radio (SDR) applications that require stereo inputs for I/Q information.
Reviewed By:ham_experimenter,4/15/2014 2:06:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It's okay
Pros: Would make a good headphone amp. See other thoughts.
Cons: Didn't notice any difference between this and the onboard sound of my AsRock Z77 Extreme 3 mobo in terms of quality. I found the "surround" software for headphones to make things worse than actually helping my experience. The worst part is that there was an annoying background noise when using certain software features.
Other Thoughts: This card can push a lot of volume and, for people using headphones with high OHM's, this would be a good, inexpensive option. I use Sennheiser HD 558's for games and music, but they have a relatively low OHM rating so a headphone amp isn't really necessary.

You can't really complain much for the price. I ended up giving it to a friend.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 12:11:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 SBX is cool, some issues.
Pros: Bought the card here, on sale for $60. I only use digital out, so I bought this card exclusively for the use of SBX Pro Studio surround in games with my headphones. The SBX woks well, and sounds far better than CMSS-3D. I do not like it for movies. It does make special effects sound really cool, but voices still sound a little off. Less noticeable in games where the real time placement of characters makes the sound signature less intrusive.

My Auzentech Prelude based on X-Fi only had CMSS-3D, and lacked the ability to output stereo mix to digital. Again, I only use my high end headphones with an amp that only accepts digital input.
Cons: Since installing the card, I get hard system crashes during playback of certain video formats, triggering an instant reboot and junk noise outputting via digital during the boot process.

Also CoD: Ghosts cinematic cut scenes will play normally for maybe half the duration and then the sound tends to start turning on an off. Game play is not effected.
Other Thoughts: Since SBX works fairly well, and I already installed my old card in another machine, I guess this one is staying. I'm not at all impressed that a product from Creative of all people should crash during mundane tasks. Unless there is a REALLY specific defect, I don't think the hardware is bad.

If I'd paid more than $60 for it, I'd take the time to RMA the thing and not replace it.
Reviewed By:Xorak,4/14/2014 9:39:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > GENERIC > 4 Channel C-Media 3D Audio Internal PC PCI Sound Card for Windows XP Win7 32bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Microsoft Windows 7 32bit compatible
Pros: Inexpensive.
Cons: Unfortunately, sellers have advertised this as a Win7 32bit compatible sound card. The card I received was an ESS Maestro-2 ES1968S which only has drivers for Windows 95/98/NT/2000/XP. It's not Windows 7 32bit compatible.

Will be asking for an RMA on the 2 cards I purchased from seller.
Other Thoughts: Sellers need to update descriptions for this card to state this particular sound card is for XP and will not work for Windows 7. No drivers available.
Reviewed By:CBeN,4/13/2014 7:26:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150000000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sound card
Pros: - Amazing sound clarity/quality, makes me wish I had better PC speakers. When using my Audio-Technica M50x's, it becomes clear how awesome the sound is.
- Included software controls are very easy to work with.
- Optical out allows me to (eventually) connect to my home theater system. Haven't tried it yet, but once my PC and home theater are closer together I will.
Cons: - I wish it would let you set up different profiles depending on if you are using headphones or speakers. Or maybe it does and I missed it, but I searched everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Allow me to give the definitive answer on whether the bright red LED's are mandatory: NO. I snipped both of them off with a wire cutter and the card works just fine. I bought this at local retailer who wouldn't have known the difference if I returned it without the LED's, which is the only reason I didn't newegg it.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/13/2014 7:27:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 What's the problem?
Pros: Absolutely blows most if not all on board sound cards out of the water.

Not a bad price to add quality audio to a basic PC

Super easy installation.

Very responsive to mixer changes. With OB there was always a delay when changing the environment settings. Changes with the Xonar are instant.

No bloatware. Just a set of simple controls with many options for mixing, setting environments, saving multiple custom sound settings, etc.

GREATLY improved the sound quality of my micropower FM radio station.

One of the few inexpensive but good cards to ship with a low pro bracket.

No reason to ever consider C-Labs again.
Cons: For the super picky this of course is not true audiophile quality, but if audiophile quality is what you want then you shouldn't be looking at a $25 card.
Other Thoughts: I'm confused as to why so many had trouble with the installation or don't like this card. This is my second Xonar DG, maybe other Xonars are a pain, but my first one a year ago wasn't and the new one isn't either.

For Win 7 go to the Asus DL page and get the driver file, delete any old sound card drivers from the Device Manager, shut down the PC, pop the cover, install the card, close the PC, fire it up and go directly to the BIOS and disable the OB sound card, restart and run the software from Windows that you just DL'd. Reboot again and you're done.

I have a barebones PC with an Atom 2700 CPU, 3 gigs of RAM, Win7-32bit and lousy OB sound. I added this Xonar DG and GREATLY improved the quality of my micro FM station. However, I'm still using analog outs which is what I need for my external EQ so I can't comment on any difference with the on board digital or Xonar digital output.

To be honest I don't use the external EQ much now. I have some presets in the Xonar control panel that can get close enough to what I want that I may remove the external EQ all together.
Reviewed By:Boomhauer,4/12/2014 10:05:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 gotta get the bugs out
Pros: great sound quality, great features associated with the card. what budget gamers would love in a sound card. excellent Xonar audio control panel.
Cons: jack sensing front panel doesn't detect headphones. deducted 1 egg for this common issue
Other Thoughts: Like a lot of other people who bought this card, the jack sensing front panel detection with this card is poor. Install the disc, receive message that i need to install card when the hardware is already installed. Download most recent driver from ASUS website, get a functional sound card. connect front panel jacks to test out the "Jack sensing front panel detection and nothing switched. Emailed ASUS tech support, and they suggested what everyone in IT would recommend...reinstall device drivers. reinstalled device drivers and for about 5 minutes the front panel would detect the headphones, but the software operated in reverse (unplugged switched to headphones, plugged in switched to normal speakers) is this the qualifications of a defective item? gets kind of mundane having to manually switch every time I use my headphones with this card.
Reviewed By:BigMike,4/11/2014 3:36:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Got it on sale for $60. Cant go wrong with that. Ive been using on-board sound for years, and I wanted something fresh. There's only so much better headphones can do, so I thought I would go to the source of the sound, and with this being on sale and not the normal version with tons of accessories Id never use, it was a perfect fit to my needs.

Simply put, the audio quality I am getting now has improved drastically. The difference is very noticeable, and I love it. In the game, World of Tanks alone, the sounds are much deeper and this card really brings out a lot of the details I never knew were even there. It literally felt like playing a new game. Other games have had similar results, but this was the most dramatic change I've experienced.
Cons: Cant day there are any. It works as intended, works fantastically, and for the price I paid, I am a happy customer.

If anything HAD to be wrong, then I guess I could complain about the color. It is red where as my computer is mostly yellow, but meh. My ram is red too, and my graphics card if blue, so whatever. Rocking the 3 primary colors.
Reviewed By:Kevin B,4/11/2014 10:15:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Go! 70SB129000000 24-bit 44.10 kHz USB Interface X-Fi Go! Pro Sound Board

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I got if for the wrong reason
Pros: It works
Cons: I can't blame the thing man!
Other Thoughts: I bought this because I originally wanted superb sound. I read the information on this product and thought I should give it a try. But unfortunately, it doesn't sound any better than my two desktops, laptop, or Google nexus 7.

I even downloaded the latest files.
This product is meant for someone who lost their on board sound, in which case, it is a great product. But if you are looking for better sound, walk away real slow.
Reviewed By:Israel R,4/11/2014 8:19:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth the buy!
Pros: Great sound card so far. The sound quality of my games and music have been boosted quite a bit; it's more crisp and improved the overall ambiance that my PC produces for game sounds. The price and the mail in rebate definitely makes it more appealing. Easy installation and the drivers were also no issue (except I had to download them from the ASUS website because the disc did not support Windows 8).
Cons: None, great card thus far!
Reviewed By:AC,4/10/2014 9:43:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau