Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Driver Problems
Pros: Works.
Cons: Major Driver problems.
Other Thoughts: I got this card when the on board audio on my HP I7 PC stopped working. I had to fiddle with the driver for hours to get it working....maybe a compatibility issue with the on board card. After that it works ok. Can't tell any differences between the on board.
Reviewed By:Peter,9/29/2014 9:17:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Creative Sound Blaster Z
Pros: Creative, PCI Express x1 ,Software control panel ,Outstanding and Inexpensive
Cons: None Really
Other Thoughts: Well when the Card Arrived , I put it in my System and boot and it recognized the card right way that good news

to make a long story short

I contacted Creative cause I was getting pooping and sound dropping and breaking up bad , I tried two headsets and two 5.1 speakers and it was still doing it , so I uninstalled everything and started over , still did the same thing

anyways when I contacted then I told then and this is what was said

Thank you for writing to Creative Labs.

Thank you for the MSINFO file.

Please ensure that the High Definition Audio as shown in this list is disabled.

IRQ 16 PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge
IRQ 16 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
IRQ 16 Sound Blaster Audio Controller (*refers to the Soundblaster Z)
IRQ 16 High Definition Audio Controller
IRQ 16 Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller

It is important that the OS sees only the Sound Blaster Z soundcard as the audio device when the computer boots up.

Also, the latest BIOS Version/Date is American Megatrends Inc. V1.3B6, 4/22/2009.

Make sure that you have installed the latest updates for your computer especially the chipset drivers for your motherboard. An update of BIOS is
also recommended.The BIOS and chipset drivers are responsible for communications between the basic hardware components and therefore it
should always be updated for a stable system performance. You can download the updated drivers for the chipset in your motherboard from the manufacturer.

Make sure also that you have installed the latest updates for your operating system from the Microsoft website.

For more information about your BIOS settings, please contact your computer and motherboard manufacturer for further technical assistance.

Please let us know if disabling the High Definition Audio and updating the BIOS helps to resolve the issue.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Please retain all the previous correspondence when replying to this email.

Best Regards


So I said to myself what the **** does my Bios have to do with the sound card , I said the heck with it and flashed it , well guess what it worked , and I thought I knew about PC's well Creative just taught me something new

all in all everything is working great not going to take no eggs nor going to say anything bad about the Card , it was all my Mother board
Reviewed By:FTI,9/29/2014 9:09:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DS 7.1 Channels 24-bit 24 bit 44.10 kHz Playback 24 bit 48 kHz Playback 24 bit 96 kHz Playback 24 bit 192 kHz Playback 24 bit 96 kHz Recording PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 ASUS Xonar DS
Pros: Better sound quality then my ASUS on board. PCI Slot was a plus for me. My MOBO only has one PCI Express 1x and it is occupied with a wifi card.
Cons: Drivers are often funny with initial set up (Win 8.1) but with a little google-fu and 20 min I was up and running.

The ASUS Xonar DS Audio Center is Terrible. It looks, feel, and has the controls similar to Winamp from 2001. So terrible. With the huge conglomerate that is ASUS they could not do better?
Other Thoughts: I never would have given this card a try if Newegg/Creative Labs had a PCI card that was not a decade old. So this seemed to be my best bet.

Newegg currently has two of these cards (Xonar DS) for sale. I purchased this one (Item #: N82E16829132017). The other one is (Item #: N82E16829132013). The card of the review was a few more bucks and shipping was more expensive. I was unable to tell a difference when buying but I only bought this one in hopes that some revision was done and this was a "updated" version.
Reviewed By:Kyle,9/29/2014 10:54:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Option for Legit Audio
Pros: Easy to install, looks rad, awesome control software, can switch between headphones and speakers without the hassle of plugging and unplugging cables, Sounds great
Cons: None worth noting
Other Thoughts: I was a little bit skeptical of getting refurbished audio components but newegg apparently does a great job with quality control! Zero complaints, had some very minor cosmetic damage but once it was installed it might as well been new! Recommend this card new as well but it's a steal refurbished!
Reviewed By:Aaron,9/28/2014 2:35:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 5.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great, got what I paid for and then some
Pros: How can some reviewers claim that the drivers for this hardware don't work? I think they made the same mistake I did. I bought this card to replace an older cmedia card that I had installed and I thought I could use the same driver that I had previously downloaded. I got sound with the old driver but with lots of noise and static. The hardware comes with a driver cd and when I installed that driver instead it worked perfedtly with no noise or static.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: excellant service from Newegg as usual
Reviewed By:N/A,9/27/2014 7:20:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SB Audigy SE
Pros: N/A since I can't get the software from SB's site to load on my Windows 7 system.
Cons: Unable to get the software to load. Would return it, but for $21, isn't worth the time and effort.
Other Thoughts: Had read that SB had issues with their software/drivers. Should have heeded the warning.
Reviewed By:UH1N,9/27/2014 5:42:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding sound card
Pros: Black PCB and software is wonderful. Once you go from integrated audio to this sound card, you'll most definitely not in the slightest go back to mobo audio. The sound blaster z control panel is very immersive, you are in for a world of tinkering. What I appreciate the most, is the easy headphone to speaker switch. The days of unplugging my headphones are over with.
Cons: Takes indefinite amount of time to configure whatever sound system you got going on. Not the plug and play type of sound card.
Other Thoughts: I keep thinking about upgrading to the Creative Sound Blaster ZxR!
Reviewed By:Saul,9/25/2014 3:48:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-702 7.1 Channels 16-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 drivers supplied but no computer software
Pros: nice soundcard
Cons: no information on soundcard as to connecting computer front panel to soundcard. No specs to be found on net for any of the pins on the board
Reviewed By:smilie,9/25/2014 10:31:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO USB to Stereo Audio Adapter Converter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Adequate. Worth what I paid.
Pros: If you spent $20-$30 on your headset/mic, or got it free with software, and you have some problem with your laptop soundcard, then this will probably be exactly what you need..

The quality of the audio output is fine for anything I might want. The audio input is okay, but not great. Input quality was improved by checking "AGC" (Automatic Gain Control) in the system audio settings. It installed instantly on Win 7, with no problems.

I had loud hissing through the headphones on my laptop previously, with screeching if you wiggled the headphone jack, so my bar for quality was very low. I can use this for dictation.
Cons: The audio quality is not great. Adequate, but not great.

For better quality audio, I was recommended the Andrea USB adapter, but my headset isn't good enough to warrant a $40-$50 adapter.
Other Thoughts: It dramatically increases the output volume on the headphones. For me, that is not desirable. I'm doing transcription and dictation in a quiet room, not listening to music on the subway. If I've been using the built-in speakers, I've got to remember to turn the volume WAY DOWN before I use these.
Reviewed By:Josh T,9/24/2014 6:31:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG IC-510012-S2 5.1 Channels 16-bit PCI Interface SoundWave

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 High Pitch Buzzing
Pros: Came on time.
Cons: High pitch, annoying buzzing in headphones and speakers.
Other Thoughts: Went through installation and would not work. Had to download off website to get it to work and then got high pitch buzzing.
Reviewed By:Chris,9/23/2014 1:27:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau