Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome sound card
Pros: Solid build quality. Awesome sound. Headphone out is superb for high impedance cans.
Cons: Software not as clear as I might like. I was somewhat mislead by the headphones/speakers setting that I thought was going to let me choose the output with the click of a button in the software. I was really hoping that I would be able to turn off my headphone out while using my stereo receiver and speakers, but no such luck.
Other Thoughts: I picked up a new Sennheiser headset a couple months back (PC 350 SE) after my old Steel Series headset died. I have been a fan of Sennheiser products for a number of years and found a super deal for a high end headset. The audio was very underwhelming and, frankly, disappointing on my mobo audio ports. That is largely because standard computer hardware is not set up for high impedance headphones (the Sennheisers are 150 ohms). I noticed an significant and immediate improvement when I plugged these cans into the Sound Blaster card. I will never go back to low grade or stock audio cards, this card is worth every cent!
Reviewed By:N/A,12/26/2014 8:40:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SB ZxR - YES PLEASE!
Pros: Have been an avid user of dedicated sound cards for a very long time - primarily for gaming and sometimes music. When I built my last pc, I carried over my SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatality Platinum because I was so happy with it. Decided it's been a long seven years or so and while I wasn't having any problem with the old card it was still time for something new. Right out of the box, I was blown away from the improvement in sound quality. Like very noticeably different, not just a little. I'm also using the audio control module instead of plugging into the card directly; I read a lot of reviews that said the module is muddying the sound and maybe mine is and I just don't realize it but I really enjoy the module so I'm using it - Can't believe the sound would be even that much better without it but I cannot judge having gone right to the module out of the box. Overall, so pleased and have no complaints, not even the ones some of the reviews include because all of those reviews note things that are totally adjustable to user preference so I don't get the problem there with the complaining.

The gaming Recon mode definitely makes a difference too. I've only tried it in a couple of games so far but it is noticeable.
Cons: Pricey I admit, but I'd pay for it again (without hesitation) now that I've used it.
Other Thoughts: Buy it.
Reviewed By:Tr1gger_H8ppy,12/25/2014 8:30:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Full Linux Support!
Pros: Great Sound in both Linux and Windows
Easily set up in Alsamixer in Linux
Must have for Linux/Windows dual booters for sound upgrade
Cons: Windows 8.1 drivers are somewhat lacking, not as easy to setup as Linux
Doesn't take everything off the processor for sound processing (Blame Microsoft for decisions made since Win 7)
Minimal PCB is an eyesore in the case compared to other addon cards that have nicer asthetics
Other Thoughts: Bought this to replace my Sound Blaster Zx due to lack of Linux support. I couldn't be happier.
Reviewed By:JDorfler,12/25/2014 1:35:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: My favorite part about this card is the pro studio software. If you enjoy tweaking things like myself, you should enjoy this very much. I'm really liking the surround effect. It works surprisingly well and is fun to use in games. Another great feature is the preset profiles and equalizer settings. You can choose from options such as 'first person shooter' or 'real time strategy' and it will load accompanying settings. There's even an option to set and save your own profiles.
Cons: Not much of an improvement over x-fi, but I'm happy because I got a good deal and very much like the software.

The led's are poorly implemented. I made a "cap" and placed it over the rear led, solving the problem without having to alter any hardware.
Other Thoughts: Aside from arguably only being a side-step from an x-fi, this is still a great card, with some great features, at a reasonable price.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/24/2014 8:03:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Studio quality on the cheap.
Pros: High Signal to Noise Ratio

600ohm Headphone amp

Optical TOSLink in port

Separate Headphone / Speaker jacks
Cons: Don't really have any at this point.
Other Thoughts: I do voice over and voice acting work and I bought this card specifically for the TOSLink in port so I could use the TOSLink on my ART Voice Channel box instead of the USB connection because of the USB has some self noise and it limits the hz I can use.

This is the first sound card I have bought in a long long time. The last time I bought a sound card was a first gen Audigy years ago, since then I have just used the built in sound most motherboards come with, in addition to the USB sound of my Logitech G930s.

I can't speak to the gaming options this card boasts but I have been highly impressed so far. With the TOS link I have NO self noise coming in and a rather nice bonus was the 600ohm Amp headphone output I use for my monitor headphones - be careful, it will likely blow your headphone drivers if you're not careful!
Reviewed By:clydesdale@gmail.com,12/23/2014 7:31:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Basic audio card for Builds
Pros: Front panel header
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,12/22/2014 5:33:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar Essence STX Virtual 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface 124 dB SNR / Headphone AMP Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding card after you get it to work
Pros: This card is constructed very well and absolutely beautiful to look at. The sound quality puts every other sound card I've owned to shame, even with mid range speakers and headphones. The Audio Center software that is included allows you to customize the sound in just about every way imaginable.
Cons: Nothing that is a deal breaker, but a few issues I ran into while installing:

Installing the drivers was a little more complicated than it should have been. Go to the website for driver downloads if the included CD doesn't work for you.

Seems to be a common issue that a prompt saying "Sound card requires more power" pops up while installing drivers. If your connections are good hit ignore and continue.

I got no sound out even after ensuring Bios and playback device settings were correct. Go into the Xonar audio center and make your adjustments in there.
Other Thoughts: Other than the software hiccup this card is outstanding. I would definitely buy this card again for another build.
Reviewed By:Drew,12/20/2014 11:23:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > HT Omega > HT | OMEGA FENIX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad sound card.
Pros: It looks nice and sound great. when it works.
Cons: It worked for a day then the sound kept going in and out.
Then I started losing sound. So I had to return it. And go back to my onboard sound card.
Other Thoughts: For now on when I order a computer part I will ask them to put fragile on it. The ups people where I live at has a habit of throwing things around and packages around. When I got this one my package was on its side. And I knew I probably had to send it back.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/19/2014 7:00:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster E1 USB Sound Card and DAC with Powered Headphone Amp

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 E1, Small, Big sound
Pros: A few pros from my perspective
1. Build quality, sturdy, lightweight
2. large clip with heavy spring
3. Love the mechanical slider for better volume control
4. Powered amp to drive 2 head pones
5. Best USB sound card I have heard to date.
6. long Battery life
7. Tons of software features
8. On my 2 year old Droid Samyoung tablet It did make a large improvement with all music and movies.
Cons: Even though it claims it will greatly improve sound out of a smart phone, I think that claim is debatable.

Noticed on my iBone 5s that music was slightly more enjoyable over all. Music like Jazz and acoustic songs came more alive. Hip Hop, Rap, Metal, and Rock had no noticeable difference.

Same results on my HTC phone.
Other Thoughts: Mainly purchased as a USB sound card for my work PC and laptop with the added bonus that it may improve Phone audio.
Best USB sound card I have used to date. Turned my work PC/Laptop music experience into pure bliss over the built in real junk sound card.

This $45 dollar Gizmohas stopped my from buying a new tablet and now movie time is on a new level of awesome sound.

Even though it did not vastly improve the sound coming from my Phones. it did provide a great way to share music with out sacrificing volume a phone.
Reviewed By:MightyMagilla,12/18/2014 10:43:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredible sound for the price
Pros: -Excellent sound with headphones or speakers.
-Very cheap (got mine on a Newegg Flash deal for less than 20 bucks).
-Has input pins for front audio panel.
-Software is easy to use, online drivers are kept up-to-date.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: If you are experiencing poor audio quality (buzzing/echo/down-sampling), and you are running Windows 8.1, check your sound properties in the Control Panel and disable the 5.1 Surround (select "Stereo" instead).

My card initially had the same audio problems that many reviewers here are complaining about until I disabled this feature in Windows. Install the latest driver from Creative and let it handle the 5.1 surround instead, and select the headphone mode whenever using headphones.
Reviewed By:Blay,12/17/2014 11:34:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.