Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great product. No drivers. ZERO support.
Pros: Great sound when it works.
Cons: Bad drivers haunt this company. They don't care once the sale is made. Period. It takes a special kind of fail to write a driver that makes Windows 8.1 hard lock.

No answers from support.
No new drivers for windows 8.1

Avoid.
Other Thoughts: If you game at all you'd be better served with lower sound quality but at least have the support of up to date drivers.

If you cruise the web once a week then this may work.
Reviewed By:Yez,4/23/2015 10:22:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sounds good
Pros: I've had this sound card for over five years and it's still working great.

Still sounds great.
Cons: Get the drivers from the website, the shipped drivers are usually outdated.
Other Thoughts: This is the third sound card i've purchased (for my own use) and see no need to get anything else.

The sound card, before this was an ancient card with a, VIA Envy24HT-S. It sounded great as well, much better then any on board sound. Driver support was out the window, also the old front port jacks were no longer a standard.
Reviewed By:Nocturnal,4/23/2015 9:02:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Asus Xonar DG
Pros: Headphone amp is great if sound isn't high enough
Higher bit rate than standard On-Board sound
Crisp, clear sound
Cons: No cons. Plugged in, played, played, and played.
Other Thoughts: I've had this card since 2012, and it was the best
Reviewed By:N/A,4/23/2015 6:03:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good quality!
Pros: 1) Easy to navigate and set up / change through the very user friendly interface
2) Awesome sound
3) Fully customizable equalizer
Cons: None really
Reviewed By:Kiral99,4/21/2015 8:17:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: sounds great and boost audio a lot into my gaming headset
Cons: had to use default mic plug on game, mic sounds like im in a tunnel when i plug it into the sound blaster. tried to setup many different ways and gave up on it
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2015 4:16:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 SPDIF Out Not well advertised
Pros: Acceptable interface software
Cons: I purchased this card specifically because I needed Dolby Digital 5.1 output via digital optical (aka toslink or SPDIF). This card has that output and advertises support for 5.1, but what it doesn't say is that the only way to get 5.1 is through the analog outputs. This card does NOT support Dolby Digital 5.1 via SPDIF.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/21/2015 12:21:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Omni Surround 5.1 USB Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Integrated Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Sound!
Pros: Very crisp sound! No static or interference of any kind. The software for this is easy to use as well. I recommend buying actual surround sound speakers (5.1). That is what this is meant for.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/19/2015 7:24:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar Essence STX Virtual 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface 124 dB SNR / Headphone AMP Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont Believe the Hype
Pros: -Eye candy inside case
-Built in amp
Cons: The drivers were a pain to use. Each output does not show up in the Sound section of the control panel as I expected but rather its one output and you have to use their proprietary software that looks like its a decade old. There were some issues with my mic in some games where people were just unable to hear me but with onboard audio everything worked fine. My other issue is that the drivers seemed to alter the sound too much. I get that they were trying to make the sound specifically for games better but it is poorly implemented.

-Needs separate molex power connector
-Drivers are down right awful
Other Thoughts: I am a big believer in ASUS products but the fact that they thought this product was ready to be put on sale baffles me. If you want audiophile sound, do yourself a favor and get an external DAC/Headphone Amp combo instead. I am much happier with that set up

Newegg was awesome and refunded all my money and even paid for return shipping. I will continue to come here first for my various computer part needs.
Reviewed By:Steve,4/19/2015 5:39:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not Worth It Over Decent OnBoard - Horrible Drivers
Pros: Sound Quality
Cons: Horrible Drivers, Control Panel Takes Forever to load with Win8.1, Gimmicky Features no-one needs, PCIE slot, bad too low input/mic level with some microphones
Other Thoughts: I got this expecting a significant upgrade to my onboard RealTek ALC1150 on my Asus Z87 Pro. In particular I expected a decent microphone input with good microphone volume levels, similar as I had with my very old Audigy 2 sound card. I am using speech recognition for work, this is why a good microphone input and mic preamp is important to me.

Let's start with the horrible drivers which result in the Control Panel taking forever to load on Windows8.1. Even after reinstalling, driver cleaning, disabling the onboard etc. the SB Control Panel still lags extremely and is pretty much unusable.

All the features of the card, whatever they call them in the Control Panel I consider useless *except* the equalizer. This can really help to turn "flat" sound into a really good, powerful experience with deep bass and clear treble. From that point of view I cannot complain about the card's sound quality.

BUT: I can do the same with my RealTek. This too has an equalizer where I can set sufficient bass and treble, depending on my headphones and speaker setup. While I am not using the SBZ on a "high-end" speaker system, subjectively I can not hear a difference in sound quality with the SBZ and the RealTek. From that point of view, the SBZ is entirely pointless.

I was hugely disappointed by the SBZ's mic input. It is not better than the RealTek and with dynamic microphones the mic level is far too low. If you increase mic boost, it introduces noise, indication of a low quality ADC/mic amp which is not better than OnBoard.

It's ironic I hadn't ANY problem with my very old Audigy 2 card and Daniel K drivers on my old system. Very good sound and also decent microphone levels.

Too bad that my new board has no PCI slots anymore otherwise I would continue to use the old Audigy 2 and be entirely happy with it.

THIS card I consider overpriced and pointless and this doesn't even include the driver/control panel problems with Win8.1

I can only recommend this if you have a really, really bad onboard sound...but I think those don't really exist anymore since onboard has come a long ways in the last few years. This is not 1995 any more where a dedicated sound card made a huge difference to onboard.
Reviewed By:SBZ,4/17/2015 6:30:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 70SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express (x1, x4 or x16) Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 OutThere
Pros: Very small and works in my PCi express x16 slot. Sounds are more crisp and clear and louder then on-board. Same look but less expensive to buy and use. Less distortion from the sounds.
Cons: Con if you plug into your x16 slot make sure there is enough power in your system to work. I found that out my board told me to add more power to run the PCi 2nd x16 slot. Once I did that it powered up with no problems. This is for some board that have the extra power adapter for their 2nd GPU x16 slot like mine. Get a good pair of head phone and quality 5.1 speakers.
Other Thoughts: One thing I did notice my old 5.1 setup had a odd buzz in them but not in the headphone plugs. It could be related to my 5.1 age of the hardware. But my cheap headphone can't handle the output so I had to turn it down or risk destroying the cheap headphone. My Sony works fine but it's a Sony. Also on my system UEFI/Legacy I did have to turn my on-board sound setting to "Auto" so that it would recognize the sound card automatically so I didn't have to disable it in the UEFI which is a big plus if I have to do any kinda warranty on the board if it should have problems I don't have to mess with the UEFI bios for the sound settings. I will have to use it more to find where that hum is coming from but I suspect it has something to do with the age of my 5.1 speakers are from 2009. I installed everything default and it could be a setting that I need to make to stop the humming. Will report back and update experience in the future how it goes. I will give it 5 stars for now for the quality of the product but because I have had prior experiences with Sound Blaster products working good in Gaming.
Reviewed By:OutThere,4/17/2015 1:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.