Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Sound Cards > Turtle Beach/Voyetra > Turtle Beach TBS-1122-01F 7.1 Channels USB Interface Audio Advantage Roadie

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works with Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
Pros: great little external usb sound card for using a microphone for dictation that works with Win Pro 8.1 64 bit Microsoft drivers
Cons: no longer supported by manufacturer since Win 7 but Microsoft's generic driver works
Other Thoughts: I bought 2 of these back in 2006. Stopped using them when I upgraded to win 7 because there were no drivers. I recently upgraded to win 8.1 Pro 64 bit. My usb mic died. For the heck of it I dug out one of the Roadies from the junk drawer to try it with a 3.5mm mic. It installed and works perfectly for nice clear crisp low noise dictation. Much better than plugging into the sound card on the motherboard. Glad I didn't toss them away.
Reviewed By:gary,1/28/2015 9:05:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG IC-710012-S2 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface SoundWave

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The bestest for the cheapest!
Pros: I bought one of these over a decade ago. And I've been running it non-stop ever since. It's lasted me through my last 3 builds without any issues. All the while giving me FAR superior sound over the onboard options. In fact I've grown to love this card so much, I'm really going to miss it when it's gone. But, being pci, its days are numbered. I will be replacing it with the pci-e version without question, when that time comes. ONBOARD AUDIO SUCKS!!! SIIG RULES!!!
Cons: Modern motherboards and/or cpus don't support this fine little gem.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/28/2015 8:07:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Turtle Beach/Voyetra > Turtle Beach TBS-3300-01 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Montego DDL Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Optical Audio, Still works with modern systems
Pros: The optical audio still works in systems with PCI only slots open. I have been using this with Windows 7 and it works in full. I run it in full PCM lossless audio but all options work.

Its also dirt cheap if you find one, keep a lookout on old systems that still have it installed.
Cons: Turtle Beach does not give support anymore to their old card lines. Actual Software does not work from turtle beach however I have gotten the drivers elsewhere. I installed the turtle beach stuff from disk, but it doesn't really work. I have left it installed on the off chance it installed something driver wise to make things run smooth.
Other Thoughts: You need to find the driver for the audio chip. CMI8768+ drivers came with Xear3D Software from C-Media Audio Controller. You will need to search around, as it is a bit difficult to find. May have to deal with sites in diff languages or hosted file sites. 7.12.8.1470 is my current driver package.

Hooked this up to my Home Theater Receiver and my system is a complete surround sound media center. So if you come across this post and have a good deal on this card. Do it, but be prepared to search for the driver. I got a lot of 5 different TB cards for 25 dollars from a computer place clearing out old stock. Great deal.
Reviewed By:gpelite,1/27/2015 9:38:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 5.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Sounds great had no trouble installing or with the driver
Cons: NONE
Reviewed By:N/A,1/27/2015 8:52:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO7D 7.1 Channels 16-bit 48KHz USB Interface Audio Adapter External Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Great
Pros: Works well with Windows 8.1 and surround speakers, Mine are 5.1. The default drivers provided by windows operate without trouble, try it out before using the provided CD. The power light is not obtrusive when watching a movie in the dark. Volume control and mute buttons work too.
Cons: Small form factor means the USB input is on the back and the stereo jacks on the front. That means it doesn't look very pretty sitting on your desktop. My old phillips psc805 aurilium was bigger but looked and functioned better as a desktop audio controller.
Other Thoughts: If you have newer stereo equipment with spidf those in and out those are on the back so it might look better sitting on a desk.
Reviewed By:a mic,1/27/2015 6:11:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Card
Pros: I upgraded my onboard Realtek sound to this card and I have been extremely happy. I'm hearing sounds that I never heard before and the surround sound is awesome.

The included software includes the Pro Studio Control Panel that allows a large range of settings and preferences for music, movies, and gaming. It's easy to use and fun to tinker around with.

All in all, a great card that i would recommend to anyone.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Siliconhobbit,1/26/2015 7:25:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-701 5.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Difficult Installation
Pros: It works, and it is relatively inexpensive
Cons: It was purchased to replace an on-board sound card. Usually it is necessary to turn off the Azalia codec in the BIOS. However, for some reason I am not allowed to do this. Instead, by working in the device manager I managed to get the new sound card to work. Be prepared for some installation hassle.
Reviewed By:Larry,1/24/2015 9:50:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None
Cons: will not work in PCI X4 slot
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 6:28:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy RX 7.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rant on Creative Support Site
Pros: Will update this section soon.
Cons: See rant (other thoughts)
Other Thoughts: Potential buyers may wish to know the drivers appear to come as part of a gigantic Creative Software Suite (267MB). Creative: please provide separate driver and application downloads.

The bigger issue is that Creative's support site is EXTREMELY slow. As I write this review the single file is downloading to my PC at an average of 70 KB/s after 30 minutes in the download queue. Meanwhile I did a speed test that shows my download speed as being able to reach 95.84 MB/s (I'm at my workplace which as super-fast internet). You can see why I'm raging. I have better things to do than sit and wait for an hour for a 267MB download.

I will update with user experience after the download finally completes.
Reviewed By:Mike W.,1/24/2015 3:12:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Card
Pros: Been using this card for about a month now and I love it. The sound quality is extremely impressive, hitting very clean deep lows and on top of that the software that comes with it is very nice. This is a very feature packed card, and for someone who listens to lots of music on a nice stereo as well as records audio for YouTube videos this card surpassed all expectations
Cons: The website where you get the drivers from *unless you use the CD) is ugly and not very easy to navigate. Also the wires for connecting the daughter board are very long, which I understand why it is, but for setups where the cards are very close together it makes the wires bulge either out or in putting some stress on them as well as simply looking bad. It doesn't bother me all that much, but its something to consider for someone building a very clean looking PC.
Other Thoughts: After having owned an Asus card that I really liked, and owning a very old Sound Blaster Audigy 2 that was a nightmare it was tough to go back to Creative, but I'm glad I did. Asus's software doesn't offer very many features and is in a small panel which makes adjusting sliders a pain. I had lots of issues with another Asus product as well and hated dealing with their support, so although I haven't gotten a chance to try the Asus Essence sound card I would easily recommend the Sound Blaster ZxR or Zx to someone looking for high end audio playback and recording, as well as some awesome features for gamers.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 11:44:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.