Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro 70SB036000000 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 12 years later...
Pros: Still works perfectly. Sounds great.
Cons: Creative doesn't make quality sound cards anymore and they can't write drivers to save their lives.
Other Thoughts: I found just this card in a box of discarded junk many years ago.
It worked great and still does. It sounds amazing.
Recently a good friend of mine happened to have the break-out-box and cable, but no card. So he gave me them, and everything works great for a 12 year old sound card.

If you use Windows, use the Support Pack drivers from the creative forums or the drivers on github.
If you use Linux, you can get amazing sound by using the P16V output. (format: S24_LE; Samplerate: 96000KHz)
Reviewed By:Nik H.,7/22/2016 11:02:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very disappointed
Pros: Years ago I bought a Windows XP computer and put a Create Audigy soundcard in it. It sounded and still sounds great. I wanted that same great sound in my new Windows 10 computer so I chose what I hoped would be the closest thing, the Creative Audigy FX soundcard. Read on.....
Cons: The surround channels sound terrible, echo and lack bass. After any quiet passage of audio the surround channels mute for 3 or 4 seconds. I found this out when I had the front speakers shut off and I wasn't getting any email audio alerts. Turns out by the time this mute on the surround speakers can kick out, I've already missed any audio email alerts.

Between Windows 10, my motherboard and this soundcard there is no way to record "what u hear" or a "sound mixer input". Its been left out. So, I can't record any streaming audio. Researching this and not fully understanding what I'm doing, your supposed to be able to download a generic ASIO driver. I fouled with it for hours and never could get it to work. The only work around I've found for being able to record "what u hear" audio is to use a 3.5mm splitter on the soundcard's front output speakers and split that to the same soundcards line input. Testing this showed a loss of volume of about 12-15% and doing a white noise test surprisingly didn't show any fidelity loss. Its a usable workaround but I'm also tying up my line input jack.

Other Thoughts: The Windows 10 software for this soundcard has to be downloaded from the Creative website. Basically its just an equalizer and not worth the trouble.
Reviewed By:Andy B.,7/20/2016 3:52:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It Depends on the Setup
Pros: -Good sound quality
-Usable EQ
-Will driver larger headphones
Cons: -Only one audio stream (continue reading)
-Obnoxious red LED that can't be turned off
-Software suite is clunky and slow
Other Thoughts: I was super excited about getting this card, I thought it was going to be the answer to all my issues. Let me start by saying if you are looking to drive your headphones/headset only, then this card IS for you. Its affordable and does sound pretty good after playing with the EQ a bit.

The reason this card doesn't work for me and the reason it will probably be going back is that there is no way to have separate audio streams going on it. This means that I can't use VoIP and have a game's audio coming through my headset while playing music on my nice speakers. This is a HUGE deal breaker for me. I thought that since it offered the front audio connector I would be able to run it just like I did with my on board audio, this is not the case.

If you have one device you want to use headset or speakers then this will serve you well from what I have seen. However, if you setup is similar to what I like to do, then I would keep looking.
Reviewed By:Cary R.,7/19/2016 9:04:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good but dont use the drivers that are provided with the card
Pros: Sounds good, 7.1 works like a charm with the right drivers!
Cons: The driver that came with it is bogus and does not work.
Google around for "UNI" audio driver for this card
Reviewed By:Young C.,7/18/2016 4:11:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer beware: Creative does not care about this product
Pros: Sounds great when it works.
Cons: This card will fail to initialize due to it repeatedly changing hardware IDs upon boot. Creative has expressed no interest in supporting this product, instead opting to tell users to try doing things such as adding extra items to the boot order, which will never fix this issue at all.
Other Thoughts: Creative Labs has long since fallen from the MS-DOS days. They sell products and have no interest in supporting them when they stop working. Look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 10:46:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DSX 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 unsatisfactory
Pros: 3.5mm outputs and swappable amplifiers.
Cons: Asus in my experience, is pretty good a keeping there driver up to date, but not for this one. The drivers they do have, have an awful GUI, that is practically useless. NO manual gain adjusters. It closest thing was smart volume but, when there was minimal sound to would max out the gain. You can't substantially adjust the volume of each output independently. NO detracted sound processor, resulting my CPU working harder than it needed to. SOUND LOOPS followed by game crashes, STATIC INTERFERENCE(from lack of grounding) and awful speaker location adjustment. How am I supposed to keep trace of a tiny black optical adaptor anyway !?
Other Thoughts: I just expected more from a $70+ ASUS sound card.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/15/2016 9:56:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX Pro Studio - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX
Pros: This is pci-e card. i have 3 x asus pci sound card. my motherboard dont support PCI.
Cons: I dont like enhance music crystallizer. i dont think its real original sound from music. Not realistic sound
Other Thoughts: any ASUS sound card is better then this sound card. nor for music.
Reviewed By:jung p.,7/15/2016 12:22:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing product! Very easy to set up.
Pros: -Great sound
-Practically plug and play its so easy to set up
-Red led matches my rig
Cons: -It powers my 250 ohm headphones great but so much to the point I have to turn my volume down all the way to 6
-Cannot turn off led
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend this product to other people. Huge upgrade from onboard sound.
Reviewed By:Daniel G.,7/12/2016 12:28:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116 dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Finicky drivers that could be more stable but well worth the effort for the sound you get.
Pros: Well built and sounds great. The capacitors used in the ZX seem to be a step above what is used in the Z. FAR better than the on board Recon 3Di in my Area 51 R2. The software is great with a nice 10 band equalizer and other odds and ends. With a fair set of headphones or speakers and some good music files, this will blow your hair back.
Cons: Drivers and configuration issues. Some crashing. Might need to fiddle with it and try some slot swapping to get going. Not worth an egg though. Its so worth it if you love HiFi music.
Can't put it in a laptop.
Other Thoughts: I will probably never get the headphone breakout jacks out of the box. The ZX is not the same card as the Z. I think its worth the extra cash for the high end caps alone. Plus you get all the cords and other extras that you may need someday. Sound cards have been a pain in the *** since the beginning of time. DACs are the way of the future and this will be my last sound card anyway.
Reviewed By:pete k.,7/10/2016 10:22:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Random channel swapping
Pros: - Looks nice
- Beamforming microphone was neat, but not as impressive as they hyped it to be
- Sound quality seemed better than onboard -- when it worked
Cons: - During my first use, all sound cut out mid playback of a YouTube video and I had to disable and re-enable the driver to get it working again
- During second use, I noticed a small chirping noise that happened every once in awhile -- at first I thought I was imagining it
- The next day, all my audio channels are randomly swapping around or getting mixed together when watching YouTube or playing music via Spotify (didn't bother to test games this time). Reboot didn't help. Sometimes all sound starts coming from just the rear or rear-left. I tested the different channels in Creative's control panel repeatedly, and occasionally got it to happen just with their little test sound. One time the front-left and front-center both played the sound when clicking on front-left. If you google "soundblaster z channel swap", you'll find many users have been complaining about this problem since 2013! I tried all the suggested solutions, but no luck.

This one's getting returned, and I'm back to onboard audio which actually works (though sounds dull). I'll keep hunting for a good card.
Other Thoughts: I was using this card in a PCIE 8x slot, outputting via TOSLINK to Logitech Z906 5.1 speakers. You may have better luck if you stick to analog outputs and/or use a PCIE 1x slot (I had no choice).
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/30/2016 10:22:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.