Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > GWC Technology Inc. > GWC USB 5.1 Channel Audo Adapter AA1500 5.1 Channels USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fit my needs
Pros: Offers multiple output channels
Runs off of USB rather than PCI
Works under Linux (tested using kernel 3.4.6)
Cons: It's a bit bulkier than it likely needs to be
It has LEDs
Other Thoughts: I'm using this on my laptop (Alienware 17r3) because the built-in audio support for the laptop does not support the external audio jacks under Linux, nor is there any intention of adding support for them at any point in the future. So, my only option for using speakers outside of the built-in speakers is to use another sound card, and on a laptop, USB is the easiest solution.

In my case, the lights don't really bother me because I have it plugged in behind my graphics amplifier box (in fact, it plugs directly into the amplifier's USB port). By the same token, the bulk doesn't bother me at all either because, again, I don't see it and I don't travel with it. It seems it "simply works", which is exactly what I needed.

I note that in my setup, I get some stuttering when streaming via steam, but I'm guessing that's in the stream itself and has nothing to do with this device. Everything outside of steam appears to play nice.

I did not bother installing any drivers under Windows 10, and it appears to work fine in that state.
Reviewed By:richard o.,6/30/2016 12:44:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX Pro Studio - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful product
Pros: Easy to set up, sounds wonderful, easy to tweak and adjust and now I'm not constantly turning the volume up and down on my pc based home entertainment center.
Cons: Initial hardware conflict with the onboard audio but that was solved by diable/removing the drives and rebooting.
Other Thoughts: I'd absolutely recommend this product. It's great, especially for the price.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/29/2016 11:26:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy RX 7.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not a True 7.1 Card
Pros: It works. Which is the only thing it does.
Cons: The control panel doesn't work. So I cannot edit any settings. It says it is either not enabled, supported, or has unplugged jack connections.
A true 7.1 analog headset will not be compatible with the card. It doesn't have enough ports.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy this card. Waste of money.
Reviewed By:Michael C.,6/26/2016 3:22:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster AUDIGY FX Sound Card with SBX Pro Studio - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than Realtek
Pros: Installed with no problems. Did not come with small-form bracket...not needed in my case. Works much better than the Realtek on motherboard. I did not use the disk as I read where Creative website has updated software and drivers. Takes a while to tweak for good sound with EQ. Standard settings are a joke.
Cons: Software EQ is not the same as hardware EQ. I did manage to get the card to sound good.
Reviewed By:David L.,6/25/2016 1:32:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Top Notch Audio
Pros: - I can hear things I've never heard before
- The audio is rendered in away that you hear things separately instead of hearing them all at once
- It looks nice and fits with the rest of my build
- Control panel software is nice, but don't use the rest of the software its just extra rubbage
Cons: - Can't disable the led, its wayyyyy too bright
Other Thoughts: I recommend this to anybody who is passionate about their PC or what they do on their PC. This card will out perform any on-board audio on just about anything that outputs an audio signal.
Reviewed By:Brett H.,6/23/2016 4:27:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative SOUND BLASTER PLAY! 2 USB Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great sound
Pros: The sound is excellent, deep and clear.
Cons: The case is quite warm even when not used
Other Thoughts: Can not listen the music through the MB audio anymore, which sounds dull and plain comparing to this little Sound Blaster.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2016 7:49:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ICUSBAUDIO USB to Stereo Audio Adapter Converter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It gives out every 10 minutes or so
Pros: Plug and play
Cons: Gives out every 10 minutes or so for no reason, takes time to plug in and out
Reviewed By:Ed M.,6/19/2016 11:21:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works
Pros: plugged it in. Installed drivers from their website. Works great on windows 8.1 x64
Cons: none yet.
Other Thoughts: make sure you have an open PCI legacy slot on your computer especially if you have a newer mobo or if you have a giant videocard that might cover one. I thought it was pci express, didn't realize until I got it, but I had an open legacy slot.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2016 11:15:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid cheap soundcard
Pros: Huge upgrade from integrated sound.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Very old version of the card, but stands up well to the test of time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/16/2016 11:33:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116 dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing
Pros: Im useing the ILive IHB23B model desktop speakers and its a vast improvement. Where i was once useing the on-board sound, which pushed them halfway decent, these added clarity and depth that left me at a loss for words. While I'm sure I could improve my speaker quality, this card has greatly improved my movie and Youtube audio expirience.
Cons: I only wish they could incorporate a hot keys switch for speaker to headphones, or add a manual switch on the separate component
Other Thoughts: 11/10 card. You would never know you wanted one until you had it. And now that i have a good sound card, it leaves on board audio in the dust. A must have for audiophiles.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/15/2016 6:13:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.