Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z 30SB150200000 5.1 Channels 24-bit PCI Express x1 Interface Sound Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Problem x2
Pros: Notta
Cons: My wife says it sounds like an old FM car radio slightly out of tune
Other Thoughts: I got the first one, it broke up bad. Two weeks later I got a replacement, sounded bad.
FYI; Original mother board audio was clear, just has limited volume. This audio was garbled and the louder it was played, the worse it got.
I only hope that I've had the worst possible experience with Sound blaster, because I think they have earned their good name as a pioneer, they must have done something right.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 11:04:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy FX 5.1 PCIe Sound Card with 600 ohm Headphone Amp

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly!
Pros: It has sound, Plugged it in, windows 10 worked right away without even installing drivers manually. My asus m5a99fx pro r2.0 motherboard and windows 10 didn't get along, this works and solved my sound problem.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/22/2016 3:02:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 10 years old, still better than integrated sound
Pros: Big upgrade from integrated motherboard sound
Cheap
Easy setup and use with Windows 10
Cons: PCI interface gradually getting phased out on newer motherboards
Other Thoughts: So I've had this Sound card since 2006 and my reason for buying it was to see if there was a difference between PCI sound card and integrated sound. I got my answer almost immediately after installing it, wow there was a huge difference the level of detail in music, gaming, videos, etc. I had no idea what I was missing until I installed this. It's advertised an MP3 music enhancing sound card, and by all means it is! However I noticed a huge difference in gaming with it. I play first person shooters a lot, mostly Battlefield franchise. And WOW, explosions are more impressive. Weapon sounds are more realistic, and the biggest difference I noticed was after installing it......I could actually hear footsteps of enemy players before they came around the corner or tried sneaking up behind me to melee me to death. Its actually saved me several times while playing, gave me time to turn around and fight back. After that experience I was completely sold on the card. Fast forward to today, 2016 I built a new computer and decided that I would try on-board sound again. I mean why not? There have been improvements in technology maybe on-board is as good as a 10 year old PCI sound card right? No way, Sound Blaster went right back in which i'm ok with. I'm just surprised that a 10 year old $30 sound card can still surpass 2016 onboard sound chips in sound quality. Other than my video card, this sound card has been the single biggest upgrade in my gaming experience. Hands down...if your on the fence about whether to get it or not, let this review be the one that convinces you. It's the real deal.
Reviewed By:Brandon C.,9/17/2016 8:54:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Finally opened earholes I didn't knew I had
Pros: After upgrading to Windows 10, my 5.1 surround sound setup stopped working correctly - no sound out of the rear right speaker, no matter which drivers I installed nor registry modifications I made. I finally ordered this sound card and installed it today.

The other reviews are right: It sounds way WAY better than the onboard Realtek sound chip. Media Player Classic always played in surround sound in all 5 speakers before I upgraded to windows 10, but it sounds 3 x better now (especially after fiddling with the mixer and effect settings in the software). I haven't even tried any of my games yet, but I imagine Dead by Daylight is going to be a completely different experience now that my rear speakers are working again!

Even things that don't normally play in 5.1 surround (like Pandora's free stream, YouTube, iTunes, which always played in 2 speakers before) sound way better because it's actually using my center speaker! 3 speakers are better than two, and the realtek chip sure as heck couldn't manage it. Needless to say, all music and applications are sounding way better.
Cons: Not really a con, just what I experienced: I had to disable onboard audio in my BIOS settings before Windows would detect this card. Took me a few reboots and PCI-E slot swaps before I realized this, but it it did and I was able to install the drivers.
Other Thoughts: Motherboard: eVGA X58 Classified 4-way SLI
Reviewed By:Brandon E.,9/14/2016 7:00:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Beamforming Microphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 i like it
Pros: works fine for me, some have had problems but i think its more them than the card. looks good and sounds better than on board sound. i got it on sale for 60.00, so i feel that was worth it.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Matt A.,9/14/2016 4:23:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster Zx 116 dB PCIe Gaming Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My only regret is that I didn't buy one sooner
Pros: - Sound quality is amazing.
- I can now take full advantage of my 5.1 speakers
- So many options to adjust the audio characteristics, bass, treble, noise reduction, volume leveling, full EQ
- Some people complain about the software being too bloated. I rather like it.
Cons: Can't really think of anything negative to say about it.
Other Thoughts: I have an HP Envy. It came with integrated audio with Beats. I figured that was fine. When the Windows 10 Anniversary update broke pretty much all the audio features everything started sounding pretty bad so I bought this as an upgrade. The sound quality out of the box was better than the built-in audio even when Beats was working.

I probably didn't need the separate breakout unit. I unplugged it only minutes after turning on the PC because I wasn't getting audio out of the speakers. Apparently there's a software setting to select that. I'll have to look at it again.
Reviewed By:Russell S.,9/14/2016 10:55:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > STARTECH > StarTech.com 5.1 Channel PCI Surround Sound Card Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: None
Cons: Device manager sees it. When trying to install the driver it keeps saying..plug it in. Driver package on-line, same result.
CD has set-up file only and users are unable to load drivers manually.
More time, effort and cost to return than to buy another brand.
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend...NO.
Would I buy again...Absolutely NO.
What would I do with this product...Discontinue it.
Reviewed By:Chad H.,9/14/2016 9:21:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > ASUS > ASUS XONAR DGX 5.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Express x1 Interface Gaming Audio Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not amused
Pros: - Cheap
- Easy to install
Cons: - I'm not able to configure audio and mic properly, mic being incredibly low even when maxed out. I end up using ports from my motherboard, which is a z97 MSI Gaming edition.
- The software is supposed to help you configure mic and audio, but it's really just a pain to use.
- It wants you to link your front audio/mic with the software so it's ''easier'' to manage, but I ended with my front audio/mic not working at all
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend unless your ports are simply not working on your motherboard and need a cheap alternative
Reviewed By:Alexandre B.,9/12/2016 10:27:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 DBPro board died - If you're not recording, just get the Z or ZX
Pros: Great sound, solid drivers (win 7 x64)
Mic is sensitive and looks good
Cons: Lousy support from Creative
DBPro daughter board is shaky
Other Thoughts: I was using the main board with the DBPro board attached because I wanted to use the optical line to connect to the speakers. After a few months, sometimes I'd get sound after booting up, sometimes not. When it didn't, pulling and reconnecting the DBPro board was the only thing that fixed it. After a while, the daughter board stopped responding altogether. I contacted Creative thinking maybe it was the supplied ribbon cable. They told me I was past the warranty date (of one year, by just a few weeks) and wanted $25 plus shipping for just that cable. I eventually found a replacement through a friend who wasn't using his, but it did no good. The problem was not with the cable, but a faulty daughter board that was refusing to respond. The main board works fine and sounds great but I'm stuck using the direct outputs from here on out.

If you're not using this card for recording purposes, I STRONGLY suggest just getting the Z or ZX. Save $100 and the sound quality of the output is indistinguishable if you're gaming or doing anything short of professional audio work, plus you get all the outputs without having to take up an extra slot.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/11/2016 12:02:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Sound Cards > Creative Labs > Creative Sound Blaster ZxR PCIe 124dB SNR Sound Card with 600ohm Headphone Amp and Desktop Audio Control Module

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 connectivity issue
Pros: Really nice when working
Cons: When I put my pc in sleep mode and started it up again, I get no sound and ZXR vanishes from the Device Manager. I have to do a full shutdown, wait about 30 seconds and boot up again. This process usually solved the no sound on startup , but I had to repeat this entire process every time I put my pc in sleep mode or shut it down. I made sure I had all the latest drivers, uninstalled all the old sound drivers, moved it to another PCI slot and disabled the onboard audio, but nothing helped. Connectivity issue persisted.
Other Thoughts: RMAed the ZXR
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/1/2016 2:00:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.