Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-5O2U USB3.0 7 - Ports Desktop PCI - Express Card with VL800 & VL812 USB 3.0 Controller

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Yet another PCI-E USB3.0 card designed to annoy
Pros: lots of ports, I DID get it to work, by downloading a driver...


But this is the fourth (different brands and models) USB 3.0 hub card I've bought and the others either didn't work at all, worked intermittently or quit working.
Cons: The non-functional driver disc is INEXCUSABLE!

IF this card were made in JAPAN I would suggest handing the people responsible a sword and be ready to throw salt into their wounds...

this product takes far too much effort to make it do the relatively simple job it does.
Other Thoughts: If these people could be bothered to provide a working driver disc it might be a good product...
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 2:57:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 4-Port SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCIe Host Card w/ Internal 20-Pin Connector Model UGT-PC345

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Vantec
Pros: could not give a rate for this since it would not fit the motherboara
Cons: would not fit my mother board, with power cable attachment
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 3:29:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > HooToo > HooToo HT-PC002 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port PCI-E Add-On Expansion Card with Internal USB 3.0 19-Pin Motherboard Male Header & 5V 4-Pin Molex Power Connector (VIA VL800 Chipset, Solid Capacitors)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Hoo Too
Pros: when the card would work, it did provide 85mb transfer not even close to 5GB
Cons: Drivers would not always load at start up,
Went to via site try all driver for this card chip set.
could not get to function correctly return for RMA
Other Thoughts: I believe this needs up date driver for the chip set
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 3:26:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > SIIG, Inc > SIIG 3-Port FireWire PCI Express Card Model NN-E20022-S1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Worked great-no need for driver installation in windows
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 11:42:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-502I Monster USB3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB3.0 20PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Barely fits.
Pros: Five ports, inexpensive, USB 3.0, internal header, PCI-e, appears to be sturdy construction.
Cons: After opening the box I was initially impressed. The faceplate is firmly attached to the card and the overall construction seem good. I plugged the card into my MoBo easily but it wasn't until I tried to affix the card to the slot with the screw that I noticed it didn't quite fit correctly. If the card is positioned so the screw holds, it pulls the card slightly out of the MoBo slot. If the card is seated into the slot, there is no way to secure it to the case. My first thought was just to let it hang but I figured it wouldn't hold and eventually fall out of the slot. I ended up screwing it into the case and hoped that the socket was deep but the card still made an adequate connection.

I booted up the PC and it seemed to be working correctly. I slammed the included mini-disc into the tray to install the drivers and found there was no autorun set up for the disc. I checked the instructions and was surprised to find that the box, instructions, and card itself did not contain a model number. I had to go back to Newegg order history to find the right model, then manually search through the disc folders to find the driver install folder. After opening the setup file, I selected the model number and the system said the disc was corrupted. I ended up going to the website in the instructions (Chinese site, .com.cn), which no longer existed. I had to Google searched for the company, found their US based site, search for the drivers, then download and install. It seemed like a very long process for something that should have been Plug and Play.

Everything seems to have worked yesterday. I shut down for the night and this morning, windows had to search and install drivers for plugged in peripherals. I'm not sure this will happen every day but it's a fairly minor annoyance.
Other Thoughts: I tried this card in two different PCI-e slots and had the same issue. I don't think it was the slot. I have two graphics cards and a Wi-Fi card installed with no issues.

I bought this because it was cheap and had five ports with the option to install something off the internal header. The instructions were also primarily in Chinese with English on the reverse. The grammar (English side) was also pretty poor.

There is another model identical to this but has two more USB 3.0 ports internal for a total of 7 ports for the same price. I don't have much use for the USB header on the card, but I could've utilized the internal ports for bluetooth dongles or a memory stick I don't remove. If you don't need the header (for something like a front side I/O panel) then I would suggest the 7-port option.


(System specs, 2012 build)
MoBo: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770 Ivy Bridge 3.4Ghz
GPU: 2x EVGA GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost
PSU: Enermax NAXN 750w
Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2x8GB)
Case: Rosewill Ranger ATX Mid Tower
Storage: 120GB SSD, 2TB Seagate HDD, 1TB Western Digital HDD)
Manufacturer Response:Dear Steve,

Thanks very much for choosing ORICO as your preferred choice.
This is Cathy from ORICO customer care team.
We are terribly sorry for all the inconvenience our products caused to you.
As our website was doing a update before so may it caused some troubles to you.
I noticed that there's another problem for the express card.
Can you kindly replug the card and restart the computer to try?
Hope you can give us a chance to fix the problem.
It will be greatly appreciated if you can contact lor@orico.com.cn for help.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards
Cathy

Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 8:46:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PVU3-502I Monster USB3.0 PCI - Express Card with 5 Rear USB3.0 Ports and 1x Internal USB3.0 20PIN Connector Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after two days
Pros: didn't start a fire
Cons: Card died after two days of normal use. Motherboard works fine with other cards. Newegg refused refund in chat, could not reverse transaction in paypal.
Other Thoughts: After being a faithful customer for over 10 years, I am now forced to abandon my Newegg account over a $40 item. Good bye.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Jesse,

Thanks very much for choosing ORICO as your preferred choice first.
This is Cathy from ORICO customer care team.
We are terribly sorry for all the inconvenience our products caused to you.
Actrually you can contact us: lor@orico.com.cn for a replacement.
It will be greatly appreciated if you can give us a chance to fix the problem for you.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Best Regards
Cathy

Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 6:10:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Orico > ORICO PME-4U SuperSpeed USB 3.0 PCI Express Card with 4 USB 3.0 Ports and Power Connector for Desktops [Supports Mac OS]

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works in OS X
Pros: Just install it in your Mac Pro and it works. Its that simple. A great addition to a older Mac Pro.
Cons: This card requires a power supply which you will plug into one of your hard drive slots (cable included with card) so your Mac Pro will only hold 3 hard drives with this card installed. Not a deal breaker or worth knocking an Egg just something to be aware of.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 10:28:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > HooToo > HooToo HT-PC002 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port PCI-E Add-On Expansion Card with Internal USB 3.0 19-Pin Motherboard Male Header & 5V 4-Pin Molex Power Connector (VIA VL800 Chipset, Solid Capacitors)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Funny
Pros: Funny name. Responsive email support.
Cons: Does not recognize 3.0 devices
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2015 8:51:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA USB 3.0 4-port PCI-Express x1 Controller Card, VLI VL80x Chip Model SD-PEX20133

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 good card, all ports work
Pros: Good card, all ports work. Windows 8.1 detected it and it installed the drivers automatically. Hoping it will work with Windows 10 which it should. Didn't need the mini-CD
Cons: No issues so far
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2015 4:48:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 6-port (4x USB 3.0; 2x SATAIII) PCIe x1, Revision 2.0, VLI/ASMedia Chipsets with Standard Model SD-PEX50064

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Syba 6 port PCI-Express card
Pros: None
Cons: I have had nothing but problems with this card. Syba replaced it and I did get the new to work for a very brief time but finally decided to remove it from my computer. I will just give up on it because it costs too much to ship it back and I've put far more time and money into it than it is worth.
Other Thoughts: Do not buy this card. I have had Syba products before and was happy with them but this one is a big disappointment.
Reviewed By:garthmicro,7/21/2015 2:57:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.