Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Limited Time Only! Newegg Premier is now only $29.99/year. Sign up now.
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Add-On Cards > SEDNA > SEDNA - PCI Express (PCIe) SATA III (6G) SSD Adapter with 1 SATA III port

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Wow, what a disappointment.
Pros: The card has a unique design. Honestly, this is what sold me on the card, as it reminded me of one of the old HardCard interfaces from my 286 days.
Cons: What I received in the mail was very, very disappointing. While the packaging was in good shape, the card itself was in terrible condition. It was quite obviously a refurbished unit, but was not sold as such. The back of the board was still covered in soldering flux which had not been cleaned off properly after performing solder rework. Seriously, the board was heavily over-fluxed, and barely cleaned up afterward.

What is more infuriating is that the refurb work was obviously not done correctly or completely. Two of the through-hole SATA power pins are soldered together at the pad (my girlfriend, who does not solder, spotted this problem in less than 5 seconds, it was so obviously botched). I checked all the SATA power pins with my Fluke, and several of them test shorted on continuity. (SATA power has redundant pins, but the incorrect ones are reading shorted.) It still somehow earned a "QC Passed" sticker.

Surface work is not much better. Some pads are crooked, and one of the IC pins appears poorly connected. There is a strange bulge on the opposite side of the card where the BGA work appears.

I did not dare connect this to my home machine, so I brought it in to work to test. Amazingly, the machine still POSTs and detects the card. However, Windows fails to finish start-up, even if no drives are connected to the card. I have tried multiple drives and motherboards. Power is being supplied to the card.

Sedna support seems to have been good about remedying customer issues through NewEgg. I want to give them a chance to respond to this feedback; I hope that they will able to make this right.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the idea of this card. I was excited to make the jump to SATA 3 for my SSD and my new WD Black. The build quality of this thing makes me shudder at the thought of connecting either.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2014 1:09:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > STARTECH > StarTech 4 Port USB 3.0 PCI Express PCIe Controller Card - 2 Ext 2 Int w/ SATA Power Model PEXUSB3S2E2I

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good product, weak power connector
Pros: Card is reliable. Performance seems adequate, though I've never tried to measure it.
Cons: The power connector is not connected to the board well mechanically. Mine was loose, being held together only by the wires and solder. The tabs that should bind the connector to the board are loose or easily unseated. So now I am cautious about moving any cables around inside my case to keep the connector from detaching and possibly shorting.
Other Thoughts: Be careful when installing.
Reviewed By:Hank,7/22/2014 10:24:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill 2-Port USB 3.0 PCI Express Card Model RC-505

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works in OS X
Pros: Works in Mac OS X 10.9 in my Mac Pro Early 2008! And it works at USB 3.0 Speed!
Cons: Need to install a driver.
Other Thoughts: Works in OS X, I installed a driver from Lacie and it works great. I did not give the card power and it still works. I assume this is because I am using a device with it's own power supply.
Reviewed By:McLovin,7/21/2014 10:12:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill PCIe 1394b Card 3 Ports Model RC-506E

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: Newegg customer service is tops! First unit was DOA, returned and replaced immediately by the egg. Replacement card works as it should. My daisy-chained Lexar CF card readers are back in business. And fast!
Cons: Had to wait to finish my build but all works as required now. My first impression of the card - looked poorly made, ports not square and even. Replacement card looked much better than the first.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 10:12:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 4-Port (x4 mSATA; x4 SATA III) PCI-E Controller Card, PCI-E x4 Slot, PCI-Express Revision 2.0; Marvell Chipset (RAID)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not a low profile card; lazy engineering
Pros: Four mSATA cards in one PCIe slot with hardware RAID.
Cons: When I bought this card, the item description claimed "Full and Low Profile Bracket is included" and "Supports Both Full and Low Profile". This is not a low profile card and there is no low profile bracket! Check the pictures and make sure this card will fit in your system before you order it. The mSATA RAID card itself I'm sure works fine, but if you need a low profile card or one that will fit in a constrained space, this is not the card you're looking for.

I also was somewhat confused by the proliferation of jumpers on this card until I figured out that the selection between mSATA slots and SATA ports was done by running SATA data lines through the jumpers. That's right, 6gbps of data being run through jumpers! Normally jumpers are just used as controls to switches. The problem here is that the jumpers themselves become little antennas that radiate - or are influenced by other radiation. I wonder if they did EMI testing at all on this card. If it works for you and you see the right data rates, it's probably fine, but I'm not terribly comfortable using this in the storage server I was putting together.
Other Thoughts: If you don't need the regular SATA ports, Addonics has a four-port mSATA card without the jumpers. I ended up with a two-port mSATA plus two-port SATA card from SIIG that's a true low profile card (and fits fine).
Reviewed By:Brian,7/21/2014 7:45:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2 Serial (RS-232, DB9) Ports PCI Controller Card, Full & Low Profile Brackets, WCH351 Chipset Model SD-PCI15039

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Perfectly
Pros: Configurable. This device allows you to select 5 or 12 volt operation on each of the two ports. You can put 5 on one and 12 on the other. Very handy for those real world serial device needs.
Cons: None that I found.
Other Thoughts: Used this to write and application that speaks thru serial ports. Wired up a null modem connection and tested just fine. Allowed me to develop and test the application on a single PC.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/21/2014 6:00:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Vantec > VANTEC 6-Port SATA II 150 PCI Host Card Model UGT-ST310R

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not support drives over 2TB! External SATA doesn't work!
Pros: None
Cons: I bought this on 3/16/2013 and could never get the external SATA ports to work. It didn't matter much since I hardly use them and bought this for the internal ports.

Well, fast forward 1yr + 4mos and I recently just bought a 3TB internal hard drive to upgrade the storage in my system.

Lo and behold, this stupid P O S card can't even support it!

It does recognize it as a 3TB drive, but in Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, it only splits the drive into 2 volumes:

1. A 2TB volume that can function like a normal drive.
2. The remaining space, which is completely inaccessible and cannot be used at all in any way! Can't format, create volume, mount...nothing!

I wish I didn't wait so long to buy a large hard drive because it's way too late for me to return this P O S!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,7/19/2014 8:54:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill 4+1 VIA USB 2.0 PCI Adapter Model RC-103

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quick and Easy USB Ports
Pros: many ports
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: I installed two of these in my very first PC build, and so far they have worked just fine. No complaints!
Reviewed By:Nells,7/18/2014 1:37:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > HooToo > HooToo HT-PC002 SuperSpeed USB 3.0 2-Port PCI-E Add-On Expansion Card with Internal USB 3.0 19-Pin Motherboard Male Header & 5V 4-Pin Molex Power Connector (VIA VL800 Chipset, Solid Capacitors)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 HooToo HT-PC002
Pros: none for this particular card
Cons: Useless because installation CD does not work. No driver, just installer program. Downloaded driver from HooToo website can't be opened by Windows 7.
Other Thoughts: I have one HooToo HT-PC200 that works properly in another computer, but this unit is zilch!
Reviewed By:Al in SC,7/17/2014 4:12:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Add-On Cards > Syba > SYBA 2-port SATA III PCI-e Controller Card Model SI-PEX40075

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Opps it Only Runs at 1/2 speed
Pros: Installation was simple enough. worked 1st try. However please read cons.
Cons: I am very upset because on the box it says in big print sata III (6g) NOT TRUE IT ONLY RUNS AT HALF SPEED BECAUSE MY THER BOARD IS ONLY PCI 1.. EXCUSE ME THIS CARD IS PCEIE 1 . LONG STORY SHORT IT IS ONLY CABABLE OF RUNNING MY DRIVES AT 1/2 SPEED. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.

THERE TECH SUPORT GUY SAID THE ONLY WAY TO FIX THIS IS GET A NEW COMPUTER LOL.
Other Thoughts: OUCH
Reviewed By:Scotte,7/16/2014 4:06:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau