Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS634U MiniView USB KVM Switch with audio and cables

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working strong after 7+ years
Pros: Used it daily since 2007 and still working well.
Have used regularly with Windows/Linux/FreeBSD hosts with 0 issues.
Cons: Cables not thick enough, my naughty Rabbit ate through one of the embedded KVM USB cables and now I can't use that port! LoLs.
Other Thoughts: The only annoying thing is this doesn't work in BIOS screens of older hardware that do not recognize USB during BIOS setup, but really that's a limitation of old hardware, not the fault of this awesome device at all.

Apparently I have one of the really early models too because I can do the audio-only switching, was great to keep listening to tunes from Winamp while working on Linux/FreeBSD.
Reviewed By:Ben,2/27/2015 12:48:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-214I 2-Port DVI USB KVM Switch Kit with Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Sound Problems
Pros: Works relatively well for intended purpose. The switch works good; a little twitchy sometimes, but mostly good. No problems with video quality or general function after more than a year.
Cons: There is interference in the audio. When crank up the speaker you can hear the rice krispies snap crackle and pop. The audio line, USB and DVI are bundled to gether and obviously go through this very small box. There is insuficient sheilding to account for all the EM traffic bottled up there, thus the sound issues. I ran an independent line from the speakers to the computer and what do you know, problem solved. But this defeats 1/3 of the purpose of this KVM.
Other Thoughts: If you want great sound quality through a KVM, get a diferrent one. If you dont mind a little distortion, this one will work pretty well.
Reviewed By:archive,2/27/2015 11:23:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Lantronix > Lantronix SLSLP400PS2-01 SecureLinx SpiderDuo KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst IP KVM
Pros: None unles you like being disconnected from your session.
Cons: Do not buy this KVM. The first one would lock up with a connection error code. I contacted Lantronix and after about two weeks they allowed me to send the unit back. A few weeks later, yes I said weeks later I received a new unit. This one does not lock up with an error code… it simply disconnects me from the session all the time. When I am working on a system I usual have to reconnect 20 to 30 times to accomplish a task.
Other Thoughts: Save your money and buy an IP KVM that works.
Reviewed By:Jsawyer77,2/25/2015 8:02:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Belkin > BELKIN F1DD102L SOHO 2-Port DVI & USB KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible compatiblity and documentation
Pros: Almost functional
Cons: Documentation varies from website, to product manual to support site. Documentation that came with KVM was for a 4 port model.
Won't support aftermarket mice in many cases if they aren't basic MS mice. Requires MS USB drivers, according to the documentation in the box.
After not using my mouse, my monitor wouldn't get recognized by the KVM. Using the mouse, the mouse would barely move on the screen.
Other Thoughts: If your connecting a Dell desktop and Dell laptop with no aftermarket anything, this may work. If you don't want to waste several hours to find out I suggest you buy a different KVM.
Reviewed By:MytQuinn,2/25/2015 2:03:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LKU-S04ASK 4-port Slim Palmtop USB Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unreliable USB action
Pros: Compact size. Requires no extra power brick.
Cons: The worst problem is that this device is simply unreliable; USB inputs, in particular, are detected or ignored on a seemingly random basis. Sometimes switching between devices gets the USB back, but often it's necessary to unplug all the devices to "reset" the switch and get it to work again. I've had more problems with a PS/2 mouse connected via a USB-to-PS/2 adapter than with USB "native" devices, but even such "real" USB devices aren't entirely reliable. Video, at least, seems not to be a problem. A more minor issue is that the device is physically awkward, with connectors on all four sides; that layout works well in few environments. There's no provision to mount it on a wall or the side of a desk, which would help keep cables from consuming your workspace.
Reviewed By:srs5694,2/23/2015 1:01:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS22u 2-Port USB KVM Switch w/built-in cables

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well
Pros: Device had long cords, the led indicators are easy to see and identify, buttons are on wires so they can be moved from the device.
Cons: Would be useful if the usb cables were labeled. The device does not work with ALL usb devices.
Other Thoughts: I purchased two of these to swap two of my monitors and my Keyboard and mouse between my work and personal computer (I know there are single devices which will do this, but this option is less expensive). Since I had four available USB slots, I tried to hook up my UBS hub and Webcam to the remaining ports but they were not properly recognized by the system. Of course the manufacturer never claimed the device had this capability, but it would have been nice if it had.
Aside from this, these devices have had no problems and have functioned well since the day I set them up. Excellent product!
Reviewed By:N/A,2/21/2015 8:32:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1642 2-Port Dual View Dual Link DVI KVMP Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good
Pros: Works exactly as advertised
Cons: A bit pricey, but I didn't want to risk cheaper products because of bad reviews
Reviewed By:N/A,2/20/2015 4:18:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-207K 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Working Great Right Out of the Box
Pros: Plugged everything in, powered up the computers, and it's been working with heavy daily usage without so much as a hiccup. Works with wireless mouse/keyboard (Logitech).
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/19/2015 7:30:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUS-400 4 PC to 1 USB Sharing Switch box between four computers with 2 x 6 ft usb 2.0 A/B Cable

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does its job
Pros: Plugged right in and started working. Use it as a switch for my wireless keyboard/mouse combo which just has 1 dongle to control both items so it works perfectly. I currently have it connected to 2 computers with plans to add a third down the road.
Cons: Sometimes when switching back and forth a lot, one of the computers will stop recognizing the dongle. But I think its an issue with the computer so no reason to knock off an egg.

As others have noted, it only comes with 2 cables, so if you are using 3 or 4 devices, you will need to make sure you have the additional cables.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/17/2015 7:37:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS1724 4 Port VGA KVM Switch w/ PS2 & USB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Some shortcomings
Pros: Well-built, compact metal enclosure, supports old as well as new computers.
Cons: Cable sets use unique proprietary 15-pin connector on KVM end, not convenient to extend. The real problem seems to stem from the 15-pin limitation and the need to squeeze USB and PS/2 connections as well as VGA into 15 pins, they seem to have dropped the VGA data channel, so now my computer sees the monitor as a generic monitor, and refuses to set its resolution to anything finer than XGA (1024x768)
Other Thoughts: The unit comes with four cablesets, two of which are about a foot longer than the others. Even so, I found I had to go find USB and VGA extenders to reach one of the machines under my desk.
I had one real head-scratcher: my oldest system, a dual-PII on a Gigabyte motherboard, would not power up when connected to this switch via the PS/2 connectors, but boots up fine when I connect via USB.
Reviewed By:Rick,2/14/2015 9:42:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.