Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Black November
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > KVM Switches > Lantronix > Lantronix SLS200PS20-01 SecureLinx Spider 1-Port Remote KVM-over-IP

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Usability review
Pros: Easy and convenient for CMOS and console access to any computer/server remotely. It even works on any traditional PS2 KVM switch for multiple computer. The SCRL+SCRL+NUMBER sequence still works from the GUI. The Virtual Media is the most handy feature and the reason I buy this product. It relieves the need for an attached CD/DVD or portable optical drive.
Cons: CMOS access will not work correctly most of the time if the AUX power is not plugged in. Just as a previous reviewer had mentioned that either plug the AUX power USB into an active USB hub or grab any one of your un-used cell phone charging adapter will work.
Other Thoughts: For those who used this PS2 version on KVM switch, make sure you change the keyboard/mouse option to PS2 only. For those who need to use the Virtual Media MUST connect the USB connector to the computer/server you want to make this feature available. You can also download FreeNAS USB version and have it available in the same network so that you can load the OS in ISO format to the Virtual Media.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/26/2014 3:48:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS922U KVM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 perfect for my needs
Pros: Lets me toggle between my mac & PC easily. No glitches noticed so far.
Cons: input cables are short. You will need to get cable extensions or female to female dvi adapters if your monitor is not very close to your computer.
Other Thoughts: Does what it is supposed to do.
Reviewed By:Mark B.,11/25/2014 12:01:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-209K 2-Port USB KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio (Includes 2x KVM Cables)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Review update from 11/17/2014
Pros: Easy set up right out of the box.
Cons: Stopped working after a few weeks Trendnet support did not help. They did respond to my situation several times in a timely manner. I did get it working and have informed Trendnet (Adrian) what got it working. Unfortunately over the almost month of working this problem, I have been without the use of both PCs and have purchased another KVM switch which I now do not need. It has been a frustrating and costly month. I will add 2 eggs to my previous rating because I do like my TK-209K KVM switch now that I have it working.
Reviewed By:Stanley K,11/24/2014 3:40:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works like a charm
Pros: nice simple kvm switch for a cheap price
Cons: none, really
Other Thoughts: I have a machine with a PS2 keyboard connector and this kvm switch only has USB connectors. Sometimes the system fails to boot and is stuck in the BIOS window and the only way to access the computer is with a PS2 keyboard - be sure to have one on hand if this is your setup.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/23/2014 7:31:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > ATEN > ATEN CM0264 4-Port Dual Outputs DVI/HD USB Matrix KVMP Switch with PiP and File Transfer

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Looks great on paper, NEVER worked as advertised
Pros: It has 2 outputs and 4 inputs
Cons: MANY problems, every time support fixes one another pops up... its a horrible circle having to choose the lesser of evils. (See description)
Other Thoughts: I've had my CM0264 for several years now and from the beginning it NEVER worked as advertised and is a constant irritation every single day. The only reason I'm still using it is that it is marginally functional (has 2 outputs and 4 inputs)and that I don't know of a competitor product I could try. There no acknowledgement from support that this device has issues nor any attempt to fix them in a firmware update. I even had a second one sent to me as a replacement unit but it behaved the same exact way. Here's a list of the problems I've had over the past few years. They never appear all at once but every time I contact support and they have me change something to fix one, a different one returns. (see below). I also find their support staff either ignorant or robotic in their responses. I try to explain a problem more and they paste the exact same response they have before as if they never even read what I wrote. Support's official response for #5 is to turn off the sound... here's my response to that: If your car was making a weird grinding noise and you mechanic told you to wear ear plugs while you were driving what would you say?

1 Causes BSODs my windows 8.1 PCs
2 PCs will not boot while connected
3 PCs will not shut down while connected
4 PCs can't enter BIOS while connected
5 USB-VNC Disconnect/Reconnect every 10 sec (makes USB connect noise which is REALLY annoying)
6 When it does boot, it takes ~3 minutes after boot is complete before I can use my Mouse/Keyboard to control the connected PC
7 I can't connect to get CubiQ.exe
8 CubiQ.exe does not work at all whatsoever!!!
9 Older PCs don't recognize keyboard in time to enter BIOS
10 Computer selection via GUI (I've never seen the GUI ever)
11 on-screen file transfer and copy-paste functionality (Never seen it)
Reviewed By:LorneCash,11/23/2014 1:03:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS932UB 2-Port USB DVI KVM with Audio and Mic.

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Just had second one fail
Pros: I like the long button lead and the design. The DVI switching works/worked well.
Cons: I've bought 3 of these in the past year or so. One worked for a while and then just died 3 or 4 months later. Another one that's been set up for a couple of months just had the USB fail. Switching monitors still works, but the USB is dead. I've thrown the 3rd in a drawer for emergencies, but I'm looking elsewhere for replacements. twice bitten, etc.
Reviewed By:mmcfee,11/22/2014 3:46:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS72U 2-Port USB Cable KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Supports Gaming Keyboards.
Pros: Does not emulate USB. Complete pass through of USB ports. Long *enough for me* cables. You can use a hub to pass through (recommend powered hub). I calculate 3 seconds for the the mouse to start working again.
Cons: *really a windows con because of the constant usb removal and connection acknowledgements. I lowered my system volume. If you switch from a computer that is on to a computer that is off (if you backlit leds) they will stay on until you disconnect and reconnect the usbs.
Other Thoughts: I dont use the VGA or Audio jacks. I really only use it for the usbs because i have dual monitors.
Reviewed By:jora,11/17/2014 6:06:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-209K 2-Port USB KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio (Includes 2x KVM Cables)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working
Pros: Easy to set up.
Cons: Stopped recognizing my mouse or keyboard after several weeks. Trendnet support could not help me to get it working.
The same thing happened to my TK-409K KVM switch.
Other Thoughts: Very dissatisfied Trendnet customer.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Stan,

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with the TK-209K. If an issue like this occurs a typical power cycle should recover the unit. Because it is bus powered you need to disconnect both sets of KVM cables from the unit at the same time for it to lose power. If this was tried and was not successful please email Adrian@trendnet.com and we can have someone assist you with a request for warranty services.


Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Stan,11/17/2014 5:02:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GCS24U 4-Port USB Cable KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just what I needed!
Pros: Works with every machine I throw at it.

Compatible with DVI-I to VGA adapters
Cons: None that come to mind.
Other Thoughts: I work in a computer repair shop and bought this to replace a PS2/VGA switchbox.

It's been about a month now and I haven't run into any problems switching between the variety of machines that come through the shop.
Reviewed By:Fire-Flare,11/17/2014 10:55:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DPUA 4 Port USB DisplayPort KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great on 2 PC's and Mac Mini
Pros: Woks as Described
Well Constructed
Keyboard shortcuts work well
Cons: No included cables
No remote switch
Other Thoughts: I was hesitant to get this due to the mediocre reviews on this and other sites. I have a Desktop PC, a Mac Mini, and a PC laptop to connect to my new 27" Dell Ultrasharp monitor. The monitor requires displayport to get full resolution, and this was the only reasonably priced option for 4 port displayport KVM....So I decided to give it a shot.

It works well!! All devices plugged into USB (headset, webcam, wireless keyboard and mouse) are recognized by all devices and work well. The monitor has a USB hub and I plug that into the KVM's hub and all devices work fine. Switches between computers are fairly quick, although the monitor momentarily goes into power save for a half second during the switch. Audo comes through displayport just fine.

The keyboard shortcuts work well to switch devices, or you can press the buttons on the unit. My last KVM had a small wired remote so I could tuck the unit away. This one does not have this feature and I sort of wish it did...but I think I can make due with the keyboard shortcut (ctrl-ctrl-1 for device 1; ctr-ctrl-2 for device 2; etc)

I could not be happier or more pleasantly surprised with this purchase.
Reviewed By:Ronald,11/17/2014 8:19:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.