Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNDR4500-100NAR N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rock solid.
Pros: Price.
Flashed to wrt-dd and didn't look back, stable, good throughput, keeps connections, takes a load and keeps on pumping.
Cons: Had to flash wrt-dd to achieve maximum performance and features.
Other Thoughts: Works great with my mixed bag of different client wireless standards.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 8:16:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66R Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support -Asus Certified

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far so good
Pros: Relatively Easy Setup the web based ui can use some work
Access Point Mode without needing third party firmware
External Replaceable antennnas
cheap
Pretty good range the 5ghz band covers 90% of my 1100 square feet house with just half the living room being covered but the router is downstairs on opposite end of house. I have a 100ft cable so if i can find somewhere good to plug it in i can get the whole house pretty easily
Cons: Nowhere near 450mbps link speed
Other Thoughts: I host video files on a linux box in my basement and wanted something faster than the isp provided access point to pull them over samba to my phone/tablet. With this access point I get nowhere near the advertised 450mbps link speed but, i can get 100-150 which is faster than some cheaper ethernet devices. I'm relatively happy with the purchase. I did grab the $7 extended warranty based on other reviews though. I'm not using it in router mode though and if it did break it would be annoying but, once i had a new one in my hands i could deploy it in 5 minutes or so and I could always enable wifi on my isp provided router to tide me over while a new one shipped.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 7:21:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR702N Wireless N150 Travel Router, Nano Size, Multifunction, 150Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Its a Small Router after All
Pros: Its small ! It Works !
Cons: I havent found one .
Other Thoughts: I use it in a building with metal walls and roof , Surrounded by metal racks. Works fine in the general area. And its Small . Great for transport or for some thing thats not Ugly and takes up room .
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 5:46:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7500-100NAS Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Smart Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lighting Fast Netgear Rules
Pros: Speed, intel chip, QOS, easy set up, perfect for gaming or streaming movies
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: My internet was already fast at 125 Mbps down and 22 Mbps up on average. With the new router I'm getting 260 Mbps down and 36 Mbps up. I love that you can turn off all of the LED lights, which are way to bright when on.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 11:19:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U AC1300 Dual-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Couldn't be happier
Pros: Setup was extremely quick, though that has become standard in most things this felt quicker as everything loaded quicker and it didn't force you to hold it's hand while you set it up. I'm currently using it as an AP over my Comcast provided gateway and it significantly increased the range and speeds throughout my house. Almost doubled speeds for wifi connected devices two floors down. My area is crowded with wifi signals, specifically 2.4 (we're the only 5 network in the area) and this got around a large issue of deteriorated signal strength causing lots of issues throughout the house. So far is has performed to and above my expectations.
Cons: Resetting the router to start it as an AP was somewhat of a problem. Could have just been me though but in the end it all worked anyway.
Other Thoughts: I've always been happy with ASUS products and this has been no exception. Well worth the money spent
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 9:59:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6400-100NAS AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast, Stable, and Very Easy Setup
Pros: Just got this, but wanted to say that I am impressed with it so far. It took a couple of on/off cycles with the modem and router to get them to sync up, but once they did everything was so easy to set up as their interface is quite user friendly.

It checked and then asked if I wanted to download the latest firmware and also the Genie app and ReadShare app and everything downloaded and updated without a hitch. I changed the SSID and passwords on both frequencies to match my previous router and checked and adjusted a few other settings and saved it. It could have been even more simple if I had wanted to accept their predefined SSID's and passwords for both bands. This is definitely aimed at making it very easy for folks with a wide range of technical abilities

The Genie app makes it easy to get up and running and is well suited for most folks except perhaps someone who wants to have the ability to modify every possible setting which is fine as this router is aimed at the home user looking for very good performance teamed with ease of use, and NetGear has achieved that with the R6400.

This appears to be very well made and signal strength is very high even in the second floor bedroom on both bands. Haven't taken a walk outside with the laptop to see how far outside it extends yet.

A powerful wireless AC router with an number of contemporary features helps to make this a winner.
Cons: None so far as it is still new, but seems very stable.
Other Thoughts: I was a bit wary of buying from NetGear as I did not have a good experience with them in the past. Everything so far indicates that this is a well made and executed device.

The router runs warm, but not hot like many others which is a real plus. I don't want to risk anything so I have it now on an old USB laptop cooler and now you can hardly feel any heat coming from it, but I think it could have run fine without this as it was only warm without the cooler.

I know I am taking some risk given my past experience with NetGear, but the initial impression is that they got it right with this model. There are a number of positive reviews on other sites, however I don't put much credence in most of them as many of them are from folks who received their devices through the Friends and Family program.

The router is a bit large at 7.5 x 7.75 x 2.5 inches and wedge shaped and lies horizontally, but I have the space so that isn't a problem. In one respect that size allows for some extra space inside to help with air circulation rather than cramming everything into a case barely large enough.

I also have an Arris SB6183 16 channel cable modem and together with this router I am getting 60 - 62mbps on a hard wired PC and 60+ (5GHz) on a PC upstairs using and older 450/450 adapter card. My service is only 50/10 so the bonding of channels has allowed for me to get a little extra than I am paying for. Previously the best I could get whether hard wired or wireless was about 18 - 21mbps. Nice boost, but then the components weren't free either.

Unless something unforeseen should happen, it looks like NetGear has hit a home run with this router.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/3/2015 7:54:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-817DTR AC750 Wireless Travel Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Average Extender but Excellent Hotel Internet Booster
Pros: Uses randomly generated keys for the wireless key and admin account
Great looking GUI interface for configuration and managing of the device.
Having an Ethernet connection on this makes it almost like a power line adapter.
Comes with multiple plugs which is great for traveling to other countries

Performance Benchmarks in Access Point Mode:

Wireless Connection 2.4 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Signal Strength: -50 dBm
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 9.42 MB/s, Write = 6.61 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 12 ms, Read = 77.17 Mbps, Write = 21.76 Mbps

Wireless Connection 5 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Signal Strength: -70 dBm
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 10.03 MB/s, Write = 7.87 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 12 ms, Read = 86.38 Mbps, Write = 21.70Mbps


Performance Benchmarks in Repeater Mode:

Wireless Connection 2.4 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (10 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 4.56 MB/s, Write = 3.94 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 13 ms, Read = 15.78 Mbps, Write = 18.96 Mbps

Wireless Connection 5 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (10 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 13.39 MB/s, Write = 8.74 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 12 ms, Read = 114.03 Mbps, Write = 21.78 Mbps

Wired Connection (5 Feet from Extender) (10 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 10.64 MB/s, Write = 10.41 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 12 ms, Read = 94.85 Mbps, Write = 21.88 Mbps


Wireless Connection 2.4 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 9.82 MB/s, Write = 5.48 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 11 ms, Read = 31.67 Mbps, Write = 15.89 Mbps

Wireless Connection 5 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 11.13 MB/s, Write = 7.70 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 10 ms, Read = 62.04 Mbps, Write = 19.51 Mbps

Wired Connection (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 10.40 MB/s, Write = 9.52 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 24 ms, Read = 95.29 Mbps, Write = 21.87 Mbps


Wireless Connection 2.4 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (30 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 1.76 MB/s, Write = 1.07 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 10 ms, Read = 17.69 Mbps, Write = 8.47 Mbps

Wireless Connection 5 GHz (5 Feet from Extender) (30 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 3.24 MB/s, Write = 0.467 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 10 ms, Read = 25.38 Mbps, Write = 15.37 Mbps

Wired Connection (5 Feet from Extender) (20 feet from Router)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 5.29 MB/s, Write = 2.66 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 26 ms, Read = 44.40 Mbps, Write = 20.87 Mbps

Power Consumption (Wi-Fi)
• Idle: 2.4 Watts
• Load: 3.2 Watts (Speed Test)

Power Cons
Cons: Overall the interface looked nice but wasn’t very intuitive and the initial setup was nowhere near as easy and quick as I would expect for a device that is made for travel.

In the repeater mode you can only repeat one wireless band at a time. So if you are using 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz and want to extend both, it can but done but you have to extend each band at time rather than doing both at the same time like other repeaters.
Other Thoughts: To sum things up this little travel router wasn’t really all that impressive as shown by the performance information. Mainly by the fact that despite being a Wireless-AC capable device it can’t even saturate Wireless-N 300 speeds. Thinking about it in regards to hotels though which is what it’s made for, this device does its job and is plenty good enough.

Server and Internet Speed Full Capacity: Wired Connection (1000 Mbps)
• Server (100MB File Transfer): Read = 113.53 MB/s, Write = 102.87 MB/s
• Internet Speed Test: Ping = 12 ms, Read = 211.07 Mbps, Write = 21.74 Mbps

Firmware: 1.0
Router: Linksys EA6700
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 7:47:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA9200-4A Wireless AC3200 Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 50-50
Pros: Once the router was configured, it's stable and fast. There is a lack of features - but for most users this will still be more than enough for you. Tecchie people that want to watch each bit pass thru should avoid it.
Cons: Wow.. I'm a 20 year full stack developer that did net admin for 5 years. I built a cloud configuration for the place I was employed at a couple of years ago.

It took an hour for me to get the router up and working.

As soon as I plugged it in to my comcast connection, the router said to unplug it and wait for two minutes, then plug it back in for two minutes. Skipping past the seven hard resets finally got me to a screen where I could skip the web configuration and actually config the router without a wizard. The first config required a hard reset since I changed more than one thing at once. Once I changed one thing, saved it, changed another thing, saved it - it finally worked after I got the configuration. done. Then I updated the router, lit locked up and stopped working so I had to do a hard reset, then configure it again.

Had I just had an option to go right into configure it locally, I probably would of been done in ten minutes. . I didn't like having to use an email to set the router up, but since they accepted my EULA by replying to belkingacceptsrayseuala@ I am not bound by their EULA. .
Other Thoughts: I like the router, hated the setup wizard and so far it's working fine. I hope Belkin changes the setup to allow techs to go straight into configuration, and drops the silly registration stuff.

Of course, as they accepted my EULA, I get one million dollars tax free every time they annoy me now :) Aren't End user license agreements GREAT!
Manufacturer Response:Hi Ray,

We appreciate all your feedback for the Linksys EA9200 and thanks for taking your time in letting us know about the challenges you've encountered. We understand it has caused you some inconvenience, but we're glad that you were able to properly set up the device manually. Rest assured that your inputs and well noted and will be shared with our development team. If you have other suggestions or recommendation, feel free to send it to LinksysCares@linksys.com.

Regards,

Linksys Support
http://www.linksys.com

Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 6:24:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N56U Wireless Router Dual Band N600 Multimedia Ultra Slim Gigabit 802.11a/b/g/n support USB Storage, Print and Media Server

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Got It Today
Pros: It works great so far
everythings fine laptop/phone/lan whatever is running fast and smooth. idk about running hot like some reviewers said but maybe in time?
i like the looks too!
Cons: none so far
startup kind of acted whierd but i got after unplugging and plugging in some things
Other Thoughts: runs good enough for what i got seeing as idt i'll ever have internet speeds close to what the caps are.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 5:42:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-811DRU AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Router- 4 Gigabit port,Broadcom Chipset , DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works Well
Pros: Works well, could provide more features. AC1200 for $19.99 was a tremendous deal. Read reviews and updated to latest firmware first thing.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: Runs Very Hot.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/2/2015 5:30:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.