Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2
Pros: - Fast
- Easy setup
Cons: - Runs hot
Other Thoughts: I gave it 2 star because it was actually fast when it is working. With 3 computers wired in, 2 mobile phones, and a Chromecast, the router seems to shutdown when all 6 devices are making some activity at the same time. What is interesting is that this happens when 2 more devices are connected to the router.
Reviewed By:Mark P,1/29/2015 3:54:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router –Asus Certified.

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Fast when it works
Pros: - Fast
- Easy setup
Cons: - Runs hot
Other Thoughts: I gave it 2 star because it was actually fast when it is working. With 3 computers wired in, 2 mobile phones, and a Chromecast, the router seems to shutdown when all 6 devices are making some activity at the same time. What is interesting is that this happens when 2 more devices are connected to the router.

I have also updated the firmware, rolled back to a previous one, and installed the Merlin firmware. All of the firmware resulted in the same demise of overheating. I have also turned off many of the promising features included in the firmware to alleviate some of the stress from the CPU but it all concludes to the same issue.

I have been happy with any Asus product except for this one and I would highly recommend anyone to look for another router beside this.
Reviewed By:Mark P,1/29/2015 3:49:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C8 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The perfect choice
Pros: I've gone through a lot of routers, and I use the internet a LOT. I mean I stream games and I play games. The two most taxing things one can do on the internet. This router handles it all like a champ, along with 6 other PC/tablet/phones also trying to use the same router and internet.

I never lose connection, the speed is lightning fast, the setup is plain and simple and the router still has a ton more features I can bury myself inside of just in case I need them. TP-Link knows how to do routers, and I will be coming back to them.
Cons: The antennas only. I figured we had moved past the need for antennas, they just seem clunky and cheap. I wish the router was made of something other than plastic, but they have to make their money somewhere, just don't drop this.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 10:12:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Amped Wireless > Amped Wireless R20000G High Power Wireless-N 600mW Gigabit Dual Band Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 performed a firmware update turned it in to a brick
Pros: The router worked great up to the firmware update, great reception and transfer rates. It's a good router BUT!
Cons: firmware update failed and I'm over the 1 year point for return. So I'm the proud owner of a brick
Other Thoughts: I've had to do resets now and then. Until this last couple of days it wouldn't stay connected to the internet for more than 5 min. Checked with amped and they had a firmware update and loaded new firmware. After the update and letting it reboot on it's own all the lights stayed on. I tried to access the router to check all my settings and couldn't access it. Tried a reset with no luck. I contacted Amped for help and they replied some how the update failed and turned my router into a brick. And since my warranty is expired I have to purchase a new router. JUST GREAT! and I've learned that other routers have a reset to the basic router function so you can recover the router and try the firmware update again. Just a little basic function to the router that could have saved me some dollars.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 9:48:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Feature Rich, but buggy GUI and unreliable wireless
Pros: This router is aesthetically beautiful and sleek. Even the box that it comes in makes you feel like you really purchased one of the best routers ever manufactured. The LED lights are a nice blue, but aren't super bright like some other router brands or devices with blue LEDs. The GUI is simple enough to navigate and offers a wide variety of features that most normal users probably won't even touch. Wireless devices absolutely scream when the signal isn't dropping out on you. LAN speeds and connectivity are awesome, and this baby can handle multiple Xbox Ones, my FTP and seedbox servers, and Netflix streaming with ease. Asus is constantly pumping out firmware updates for this router to increase stability and add additional features.
Cons: As pretty much every other review has stated, this router still has major stability issues with the 5 GHz radio. I am constantly seeing my Galaxy S5 and iPad disconnecting/reconnecting from all different areas in the house. I often also see that my devices are connected to the 5 GHz network, but no traffic gets passed which forces me to disconnect/reconnect just for it to happen again an hour later. I had this same issue with my AC66u when I first got it and the only remedy was flashing Advanced Tomato instead of the stock Asus firmware. A shame that there is no 3rd party firmware for this router that offers the same features that the Asus firmware does. This router has been on the market for almost six months and Asus still hasn't been able to iron out the bugs, which is concerning because the predecessor routers experienced the same exact issues. Get it fixed Asus. Also the GUI English translations have been notoriously bad for several generations of routers ('Are you sure to log out?) and its kind of embarrassing that it hasn't been fixed. I know thats a stupid gripe, but with how often firmware updates are released, you would think they would clean this up.
Other Thoughts: Before Asus support chimes in, as soon as I unboxed this router I updated the firmware (3.0.0.4.378.3885) and factory reset via the button on the back TWICE. This thing couldn't be any fresher, so there is no way that there are any leftovers from the previous 'buggy' firmware. If anyone is contemplating upgrading from a previous generation router (AC66u) and you are satisfied with wireless performace, I would stay stick with what you have. This router isn't a huge upgrade aside from the wireless (which is partially broken anyway).
Manufacturer Response:Dear SD1337,

Thank you for posting this review in this website. I understand the frustration because of the unstable connection in your router. I want to help you fix ths issue. I just need some information first, can you please provide me with the firmware version and please email it to me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N1501102095 in the subject line for your reference.

ASUS Customer Loyalty are dedicated in helping you and all other ASUS customers.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:SD1337,1/29/2015 9:24:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Unreliable
Pros: Nice easy to use interface, three antennas a good plus. Sleek design. Installation is a breeze.
Cons: Installed and configured the router. After running for a couple of months I noticed the router stopped working. Modem was working fine but no internet connection on router. I updated the firmware and reset to factory defaults and started working again. A few weeks later same thing. I messed around with the router and finally got it to work. Then it went out again after a few minutes. Absolute Junk...do not buy
Manufacturer Response:Dear RK,

First thank you for posting this review and I understand the frustration since I also encountered it with my wireless router. I want to help you with your problem but first I some information. For a speedy troubleshoot please provide the following: config file, and router system log, and the firmware version you are currently using. For further assistance please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N1501102116 in the subject line for your reference.
ASUS Customer Loyalty are dedicated in helping you and all other ASUS customers.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:RK,1/29/2015 7:59:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C5 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5Ghz 867Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 IMPORTANT review update
Pros: decades of spending a total of thousands on wireless routers, this is the only one to work for me. simply astonishing stability and speed with the lowest latencies ever

please read other thoughts for the security on this router surpasses my ASUS ac66u AND THIS TP-LINK ROUTERS SPEEDS OUT DO ITS SPECS
Cons: no real cons considering, just nit picking. took a firmware update for port forwarding to work properly , out of hundreds of routers I have installed this one has the most complex static ip addressing and I still not able to get it to work. but this is the first router that I don't have to static ip addresses on my network, it just works
Other Thoughts: after my first review where I updated its firmware and yet still had a hard time getting port forward to work. thought after getting it working it was more stable then anything I ever tested, so I forgot the new password I put into this router, I did a hard reset and setting up port forward and all setting just works the first time around. :)

important ; working in the computer field for over 3 decades and fixing friends infected computers at home.

I have had security issues for ever. even my asus ac66u got infected with a virus. but this router has it all , you cant copy past anything like ip addresses or mac id like I always have with this router for security reasons.

simply put this router is braking new grounds

look testing new hardware and firmware for ip cameras, every morning I had to reset all my ip HD cameras and my old asus ac66u router just to see the cameras on the phone wile I out and this was the best out of every new top wireless router I tried .

no more . everything just works . ALSO the wireless speeds are faster then wired and all I use is cat7 since they est faster then cat6, I am reviewing the TP-LINK ac1750 pci express adapter and connection link are 1.1Gbps, that's faster than the specs are for this router and YES in every test its even faster than the onboard Ethernet wired connection, a onboard Intel Ethernet, yet the wireless card uses half or less of the cpu that the onboard Ethernet uses

got to love technology

thank you tp-link and thank you newegg :)
Reviewed By:N/A,1/29/2015 7:39:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Monster Bad*ss!!!
Pros: Easy Setup - Including Advanced for users like me

Works with all existing equipment including Ethernet over Powerlines

Fast, steady connection on all bandwiths
Cons: So far, none!
Reviewed By:markkjacobs,1/28/2015 7:12:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 The good and the bad
Pros: Ran for a bit over two years flawlessly, no glitches whatsoever.
Cons: The 5 GHz stopped radiating at about 2.1 years, just out of warranty.
Other Thoughts: However, the good news is it still perking, as I disassembled the unit (A tough task, they do NOT want you inside!), reseated the cables from the circuit board to the antenna connectors, and now running like new.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Jim,

We appreciate the review you posted in the website. We're glad that even though you have problem with the unit you still gave us a positive feedback. It's good to receive a positive feedback from our customer. Regarding you problem with the 5 Ghz I want to help you fix it. Can you please try to do a hard reset on the router just make sure that you save first your settings by going to the GUI page then to admin and just click save. For further assistance please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N1501102158 in the subject line for your reference.

ASUS Customer Loyalty are dedicated in helping you and all other ASUS customers.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Nuke,1/28/2015 7:06:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nice router, HORRIBLE Asus support
Pros: Fast, bought the Intel 7260 laptop nic at the same time here on Newegg. My old router didn't even have gigabit ports, my wired speed benchmarked 50% higher, my wifi speed from my old N router is now 5-8x faster with the new AC card.
Cons: I have no choice but to return it. I had my port forwarding for my camera system working just fine for several years. I cannot get the new router to forward it, even with firewalls off, and the DVR IP in the DMZ. Verified latest firmware, got everything else working just fine.
I called Asus tech support and was connected to an absolutely horrible call center. Called three times. They're best at making you repeat things you've already told them, and repeatedly saying "Please hold while I look **something** up".
I then tried over and over to reach an on-shore call center, no go.

I've purchased several Asus products, mainly motherboards, over the years. Their customer service made this a real let down.
Other Thoughts: If I could have gotten the help I needed, I'd keep it and this would be a perfect 5-star rating.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Jim,

Thank you for posting this review and we appreciate it. I understand that you have issue with the unit and I want to help you with it. For a speedy troubleshoot please provide the following: config file, and router system log, and the firmware version you are currently using. I'm here to help you and all others with these issues, as our customer loyalty department dedicated to bringing a resolution to all issues related to our products. For furthet technical assistance please email me at customerloyalty@asus.com and put case # N1501102247 in the subject libe for your reference.

ASUS Customer Loyalty are dedicated in helping you and all other ASUS customers.

Thank you for choosing ASUS.

Regards,
Mark
ASUS Customer Loyalty

Reviewed By:Jim,1/28/2015 5:54:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.