Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E1500-NP Wireless-N Router with SpeedBoost, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died in less than 6 months
Pros: Given my experience, none.
Cons: Wireless transmitted died within 6 months of moderate usage. When I attempted to contact Linksys to RMA the unit I was told that I would have to pay $40 for a trouble shooting session before they would RMA the router. In essence you have to pay Linksys $40 before they will let you return defective products under warranty. I will never by a Linksys product again!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 3:56:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68R Dual-band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome Performance
Pros: I'm surprised with all the low ratings. I've had no issues so far with my refurb and the performance is fantastic compared to my 3rd and 4th gen Apple routers. I would say the performance is at least double and sometimes quadruple when using an iPad 3rd gen (with no AC). In in a week I haven't had to restart once, so it would appear to be reliable, but we'll see. The range is also superior to my Apple routers and even when the signal appears to be weak, the throughput is still better than a stronger signal from one of my Apples.
Cons: I can't think of any, honestly. It's still pricey, but compared to the newest Netgear, it is a bargain.
Other Thoughts: I bought to be able to use the AC mode on my new laptop and upcoming phone. Performance has exceeded expectations so I'm happy. Hopefully it lasts. You never know, and buying refurb can be more of a gamble but so far, so good.
Reviewed By:MUTigerJon,8/19/2014 1:12:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 FIRM UP THE FIRMWARE!!
Pros: Looks
Speed when working
Cons: Drops internet connection
Drops mapped drive connections
Sporadic speeds
Duplicate IP errors
No more range than the NETGEAR WNDR4500/N900
Other Thoughts: I have a rather complex network in my home and purchased this for increased speed and range.

What I'm getting so far is a giant headache for all the reasons mentioned above.

A huge waste of money at this point. Should have waited!!

Hopefully Netgear will firm up the firmware and soon, or I'm out.
Reviewed By:PBusardo,8/19/2014 8:43:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Western Digital > WD My Net N750 HD Dual-Band Router - Wireless N, 4x Gigabit LAN Ports, 300Mbps & 450Mbps, Dual-Band 2.4GHz/5GHz, 2x USB 2.0 Ports WDBAJA0000NWT-HESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NEVER EVER BUY THIS
Pros: 1. Look and Feel
2. Easy setup
3. router administration can be done from any device including over WiFi
4. Dual band
Cons: Here we go:
1. Weak signal (yes I’m sitting pretty close to the router in my 1 bed room apartment)
2. Zero Reliability
a. Repeatedly internet connection drops! And had to restart router
b. Internet slows down all of a sudden! And had to restart router
c. Vonage phone calls drops! And had to restart router
d. Youtube breaks! And had to restart router
3. QOS settings are not self-intuitive. Setting it up only breaks internet…
4. Dual band for name sake
Other Thoughts: If all your devices works on internet, don't buy this. Ask for refund if you can.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 7:05:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N16 Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps DD-WRT Open Source support with USB Storage, Printer And Media Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Ditto - 2 years and died.
Pros: Good range. Steady signal. Never had to reboot.
Cons: I've never replaced a router due to device failure. This is my first. This router was over $100 new and failed within 2 years.
Reviewed By:Dallis,8/19/2014 6:48:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Kit!
Pros: Beautiful interface, FAST, easy installation, USB ports for cloud hard drives, built in media serving.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: I bought this as a bundle with the edimax n300 wireless access point. I am amazed at the speeds I'm getting wirelessly with the access point and this router.
Reviewed By:ElectroSmokers,8/19/2014 5:18:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-752DRU N600 High Power Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 TEW-752DRU
Pros: Much faster than my old Dlink. Easy setup. Good price for what it does.
Cons: 5Ghz not working at all. Work the first day than the signal was non existent or one bar at best. Newest Firmware was installed but still nothing.
Other Thoughts: Can't give a broken item more than one Egg for the rating.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2014 2:15:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Again
Pros: Connects to pc
Cons: wont connect to printer wireless or wired
Other Thoughts: Spent hrs trying to get it to recognize my printer, hooked up my 6 yr old router and printer works no problem. Spent $200 for a router that I cant even print with
Reviewed By:dacordes,8/19/2014 12:34:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Wireless-N Home Router (DIR-601), N150

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: goo price. I mean cheap.
Cons: Very bad signal ranging. I can only get a good and fast enough signal within the same room or without any blocking wall. So, it is not good for a house, which makes this a piece of junk. I have to buy a better ranging router.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/18/2014 11:49:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > FreedomPop > Free LTE Wireless Internet w 803s LTE Hotspot + Free Premier Service Trial- FreedomPop- Certified Pre-owned

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not what I hoped for.
Pros: Faster than my AT&T U-verse. Top speed at my home was 6.02Mb download, .95mb upload. Most websites responded well: email, stock market websites, YouTube.
Cons: Disappointing performance with streaming video websites. Disappointing performance when connected to my cellphone. Alarming rate of data usage. I used 1Mb of data in 72 hours using my normal routine. At that rate, I would have had to select the 10Gb plan at $70/month. It was cheaper to stay with AT&T. I returned the product for a refund.
Other Thoughts: I currently have an account with AT&T U-verse: 3Mb download speed, 1Mb upload speed. I was hoping to substitute my current Internet service with this Freedom Spot 803S. It uses the Sprint 4G LTE network and it is supposed to be faster than my U-verse connection. I currently have a FreedomPop HTC EVO 4G cell phone which uses the Sprint 4G WiMax network.
My FreedomPop cell phone, unfortunately, has poor voice quality through the WiMax network. When I heard that this hotspot device uses the 4G LTE network, I was excited and was willing to give it a try. This is what I found out:

The speed varies throughout the day. The best speed that I received at my home using the Freedom Spot 803S (according to www.speedtest.net) was 6.02MB download, .95Mb upload. The slowest speed I received was 3.34Mb download and .40Mb upload. My AT&T U-verse connection provides (again according to www.speedtest.net) 2.72Mb download, .49Mb upload speed. So far so good, I have a faster Internet connection. Then I put the Freedom Spot 803S through my normal internet routine. I checked my emails, my stock market websites, YouTube, and some streaming video websites. The regular websites operated normally. YouTube came across good. But the streaming video performance was very disappointing. The picture quality was poor, choppy, sometimes spotty, and distorted. The video had to pause every once in a while before the video could continue. Oddly enough, my AT&T U-verse connection, at half the speed, provided vastly superior performance on streaming video usage.

My FreedomPop cell phone has the ability to connect to a WiFi router and I connected the cell phone to the Freedom Spot 803S. Since my cellphone now had access to the faster Sprint 4G LTE network, I was hoping for better voice performance. I called my brother to see how the phone performed. He told me that the voice quality was distorted, sometimes completely garbled, and there was an annoying, repetitive beep in the background. I was hoping that the new 4G LTE network with a faster upload speed would improve the voice performance of my cell phone. I was sadly disappointed. The Voice performance of my cellphone actually seemed worse using the Freedom Spot 803S.

The most alarming problem that I have discovered was how fast I was using the alloted data plan. Within 72 HOURS, I used 887Mb of data (according to the FreedomPop website). The Freedom Spot 803S device also has a data counter and the device said I have used up 960Mb of data. I must admit my ignorance. I did not realize, in this day and age of internet usage which integrates graphics, video, and music, how LITTLE 500Mb of data can be. During the activation process, I signed up for the 2Gb data plan for $17/month thinking that this amount of data should be more than enough. I had NO IDEA how inadequate that data plan is. I decided to return the product to Newegg. This device is meant for picnics or some other temporary usage. It was not what I hoped for.
Reviewed By:Stephen Smith,8/18/2014 10:46:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau