Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNDR4300-100NAS N750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router - Premium Edition, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 NOT DDWRT OR OPENWRT SUPPORTED!
Pros: It works as a generic router.
Cons: Newegg advertises that this is DD-WRT compatible and open source....IT IS NOT! WNDR4300v2 is NOT supported by ANY WRT open source software. I bought this router because it was advertised as a DD-WRT supported router...and when I researched it, I found that it indeed was...or so I thought. Only WNDR4300v1 is DD-WRT supported....NOT v2. Now I'm stuck with a router with the worst router Netgear software that has barely any capability of doing anything other than being a generic router with limited and restrictive software.

I am very, very upset with this and have wasted time, money, and effort on this that I would have completely avoided if the advertisement wasn't false.
Other Thoughts: I've always had bad luck with Netgear routers...mostly because of their horribly limited software (I've had dozens over the years), and I usually stick to Dlink and Linksys, but since this was advertised as a DD-WRT supported router, and had good reviews for v1, I was influenced by the false advertisement of this product and ordered it. Big mistake...will not happen again. Very disappointed.
Reviewed By:Thayne W.,5/26/2016 3:20:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C2 AC750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, USB Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap and works most of the time
Pros: Inexpensive gigabit switch with mediocre wireless performance

Antennae are 360 rotational, and the router can be deployed upside down to get better ventilation.
Cons: Wireless AC dropped frequently.
Default configuration picked a very crowded channel, and I could not ever connect until I went into the configuration and chose channel 6 on 2.4 and an upper channel on 5ghz. After that I could connect, but still dropped connections on AC. Changing to other channels did not improve anything. Since the channels are assigned during the setup wizard, it is a real head-scratcher. No tech-challenged user is going to have any idea that they can go in and set wireless channels manually.

The power brick is 1.5a and maybe not powerful enough.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend this router.

I struggled to make it work out of the box, and just could not ever trust it. I rebooted more than 5 times during the first day and a half of use. On day 3, I had better connections and only rebooted 2x over 16 days.
Reviewed By:Clayton P.,5/26/2016 3:02:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C50 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 good at the price, fast
Pros: TP-Link routers are for the most part stable with stock firmware and just work out of the box. This is no exception.
Wireless is plenty fast on both bands. Even when streaming, this unit did not stumble in my test duration.
AC adapter is large enough supply 2A.
Wall-mountable
TP-Link support is responsive and effective.
Cons:
Ethernet is 100, no gigabit. I understand that some people only use wireless and this is not an issue for those people, but why no gigabit? I found some decent budget routers that had AC1200 and gigabit for a similar price.

Antennae do not rotate 360deg so I can't place this upside down for ventilation purposes. Vent holes are on the bottom, and that means some heat will be trapped and shorten the life of the router. Of course, I can wall-mount the router and get some ventilation that way.


In 19 days, I was unable to reach the internet via N300 twice. Rebooting solved the issue.
Other Thoughts: Good for people wanting a dirt-cheap wireless router who have no concern for ethernet networking.
Good as a backup for your existing router.
Reviewed By:Clayton P.,5/26/2016 2:48:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA6350 AC1200+ Wi-Fi Wirless Dual-Band+ Router, Smart Wi-Fi App Enabled to Control Your Network from Anywhere

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product at current price
Pros: Failsafe firmware restores unit to original shipped firmware
Very fast Broadcom chipset supports 3rd party firmware
Setup gui is excellent for novices
Beamforming works excellently
AC900 is very fast and stable, thanks to beamforming


Because I got my wireless internet teeth cut on Broadcom chipset routers (WRT54G), I am extremely partial to Broadcom chipsets. I have over 50 still-working WRT54 units still in service among friends and customers. When people do want me to upgrade their router, it is ALWAYS because they want faster wireless and ethernet, never because the old Linksys and Buffalo models have failed. When I do replace them, it is always with a Broadcom based AC/Gigabit model. This unit is stellar when flashed to DD-WRT. It is a fantastic piece of hardware at its given price.

Beamforming has to be the best innovation to 5GHZ that I've experienced. This unit is an excellent implementation.

In 19 days' steady use, this unit did not require a reboot; it is stable.

Unit is preconfigured with security turned on, so this unit is very novice-friendly. I am able make very few changes to be able to just hand it to a customer or friend and have them take it home and plug it in. If you've ever explained to anyone the steps they need to take to make it a drop-in replacement for their current router, then you are familiar with the blank-stare-head-nodding look of most people who aren't tech-savvy. This unit will save them (and you) valuable time.
Cons: Antennae are somewhat fixed. In typical practice, I place most routers upside down. The ventilation holes are on the bottom of of this unit, so I don't want to trap that heat. In this case, I can't because the antennae have about 90 degrees movement side-to-side, and do not allow the unit to be placed upside down and still have positional antennae. This unit must be propped up vertically to get good ventilation.

There are only 2 antennae. I would prefer to have the 3 antennae required to run full duplex on both 5ghz and 2.4ghz.

The unit is very easy to accidentally reset when handling. In addition to that, the failsafe feature could wipe your custom firmware by restoring the rom-based original firmware. What an acutely painful experience it is to send this home with a client and have them find that the wireless passwords don't work, and nothing is configured to match their network!
Other Thoughts: This is a router that I can recommend to people who want
something pre-configured securely
has a decent setup tool that does not require any in-depth knowledge of networking
don't want to spend more than $80.

It is not for
someone who wants AC1750 and up
someone needing VPN capability.
Reviewed By:Clayton P.,5/26/2016 1:58:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great first 12 months... Then failure.
Pros: Used to have good range.
Used to be fast.
It looks nice.
Cons: Range is now limited to 20 feet.
Speeds are mediocre when it's not locked up and frozen.
Unreliable after short term use - a router should last and not break down over time.
Other Thoughts: Did full diagnostics. Firmware.
Wifi spectrum analyzer to check for neighbors.
I'm the only one running 5Ghz.
Used to swear by ASUS, now I'm not so sure.
I regret the past year of my families troubles and constantly having to help them out. So much time wasted.
Reviewed By:Jared W.,5/26/2016 10:25:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Router But ASUS AIProtection is NOT Included
Pros: Great parental control features! The ability to selectively turn off wifi to any connected device via the ASUS smartphone app, on-demand, is amazingly helpful to me as a parent! Also, the ability to schedule when wifi is available on a daily basis, by device, is wonderful! Wifi coverage within my home is excellent and the web interface is easy to use/understand. I highly recommend this router for parents who are trying to maintain control of their kids use of wifi in their homes.
Cons: Unfortunately, as of May 2016, this router has not been upgraded, through a firmware update, to use ASUS AIProtection. AIProtection appears to be an incredible addition to ASUS routers that makes them more secure and makes browsing the internet safer. I would give this router 5 stars if AIProtection had been included.
Other Thoughts: ASUS - please update this router to include AIProtection and I will come back here and give this router 5 stars!
Reviewed By:Dan B.,5/26/2016 7:29:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6050-100PAS AC750 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working after 16 months
Pros: Price was good. Also Netgear products were rumored to have a good reputation.
Cons: It ceased working after 16 month, and Netgear, through their website, stated that the router was past warranty (although Newegg's site seems to indicate that it has a lifetime warranty). If the warranty, lifetime or not, is done by 16 months, and the product has failed, that is pretty much the definition of a bad product.
Other Thoughts: I definitely do NOT recommend. Also, I think this is applicable to Netgear products in general. A router's warranty should always exceed 16 months. After all, it has no moving parts.
Reviewed By:Mark B.,5/26/2016 1:25:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-813 AC750 Wi-Fi Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For the money I dare you find another one better.
Pros: Cheap, works exactly how a AC router is supposed to. Very good features in the set up. OH YEAH AND FAST!
Cons: None I can think of. I got exactly what i wanted and a lot cheaper than I expected.
Other Thoughts: Listen. There are guys on here you see who had 3 motherboards rmaed, they'll 1 star anything they buy that they are not skilled enough to work with. Who is that unlucky to get 3 motherboards in a row that don't work? Who? Take these low rating with a grain of salt. I bought this a while ago. I didn't write a review when I first bought it because it was so cheap I wasn't expecting much. I set it up one time and it has never failed me yet and i have the worst cable company in the country. If anything goes wrong with my network it's always them. Like I said, I dare you find a better $25 AC router anywhere.
Reviewed By:Anderson .,5/25/2016 7:24:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6400-100NAS AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worked for 9 month.
Pros: it is fine when it works.
Cons: only last for 9 month.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2016 1:45:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-880L Wireless AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolutely horrible, stay away.
Pros: - none (never got it working)
Cons: - one antenna connection was completely loose and broken off on the inside
- scratches and stuff all over it
- would not power up
Other Thoughts: I understand that there are risks when you buy refurbished items, but I also have a reasonable expectation that a "refurbished" item has been inspected thoroughly and tested. This item was clearly a returned item that was then stuffed in a box without any inspection or testing. As a result, I will never know if the D-Link router is any good as I will never again purchase a D-LInk item.
Reviewed By:Erech M.,5/25/2016 1:36:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.