Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > EDIMAX > EDIMAX N150 (BR-6258nL) Wireless Personal Hotspot & Travel Router IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Complete joke... just flat doesn't work
Pros: it's small and portable and cheap
Cons: it doesn't work at all.... that's kind of a biggy. I thought maybe I didn't follow the instructions right so went back through it and did a hard reset... nada.
Other Thoughts: There isn't a way to give if zero eggs...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2016 10:46:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good performance but accessing the GUI is problematic
Pros: Good speed, no lost/dropped wireless connections. All areas of my house are covered. GUI was easy when it worked.
Cons: Accessing the GUI. Out of the box, I was able to setup my network without any issues. After the initial setup, I had to go through a series of computer and router power-downs and reboots to get to the interface - if I was lucky. This thing is horrible to manage after the initial setup because I would not access the setup page on the router.

I contacted ASUS support 3 times, the first one was within the warranty period (Ref# N150298998). The proposed solutions didn't work. Unfortunately I waited until now (July 2016) to call back for help (Ref# N160717416). I was told the issue was my Xfinity cable modem wasn't set to bridge mode and it was blocking the GUI, so I changed the setting on the modem. After several attempts to restore the firmware (to v.3.0.0.4.376.3626) I was finally successful; however, the restored firmware did not resolve my issue. Further, the Reset button on the unit would not restore the unit to factory settings. When I called the support line back today I was told ASUS's next step was to send the unit in for repair. The unit is out of warranty now. When I asked the cost of the repair, I was told while they couldn't give an exact estimate, the average cost would be about 80% of the cost of a new router! The loss of use and cost of repair make this option unrealistic for me.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, even though the router works well as it's setup now, not being able to manage the router makes it worthless to me. I will be replacing the unit - but not with an ASUS product. Very disappointed in something I believed to be top quality.
Reviewed By:Douglas P.,7/26/2016 8:38:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 By far the best router I have ever owned.
Pros: Wave 2 Mu-Mimo
4x4 Quad Stream router
160mhz mode (5.0Ghz)
2600mbps ac router (1733mbps on 5.0ghz and 800mbps on 2.4ghz)
2 x USB 3.0 and 1 X ESATA ports.
1.7ghz Dual Core CPU, 128mb flash memory and 512mb DRAM
Dynamic QOS
4 x high gain external antennas
Netgear Genie software for Windows, Android and iOS
Beamforming
DNLA, Guest Network, VPN, Parental Controls
4 x gigabit ports
Easy setup
LED on/off switch
Easy to navigate gui with Ookla speedtest built in
Excellent range and throughput on both 5.0ghz and 2.4ghz
Cons: 1 year warranty only
Large router
No 160mhz mode clients available yet
Router Gui slow to respond and update
QOS not enabled by default
Was not able to run in 5.0ghz ac mode only
No wall mounting option

Other Thoughts (Needed additional space).....

Netgear have brought to market the finest router I have had the pleasure of owning, the R7800 Nighthawk X4S. This is a 4 x 4 AC 2600 router that uses a Qualcomm QCA 9984 chipset with a maximum theoretical throughput of 1733mbps on 5.0ghz and 800mbps on 2.4ghz. The stand out features of this router, in my opinion, are Wave 2 Mu-Mimo, that is supported out of the box, Dynamic QOS, and 160mhz bandwidth mode on 5.0ghz (although there are no 160mhz mode clients available to buy currently).

Traditional non-Mu-Mimo routers transmit and receive data from one device/client at a time, while other devices in the network need to wait in line. This process will impact network performance due to wait times and bandwidth sharing.
Mu-Mimo allows the router to send and receive data packets simultaneously to three Mu-Mimo enabled clients without the need for each to wait its turn. This improves network speeds and reduces wait times by as much as three times in comparison to non-Mu-Mimo routers.
Be aware that Mu-Mimo improves 5.0ghz downlink only by letting three Mu-Mimo enabled clients share the same airtime. Two or more Mu-Mimo enabled devices are needed in order to maximize the benefits of a Mu-Mimo enabled router. A traditional 3 stream router may ideally support up to 910mbps of total bandwidth but single stream clients will only be able to access a third of that. And this bandwidth will need to be shared between clients as each client needs to wait for its turn to access the router. Ultimately each device will have a maximum of 120mbps out of the original 910mbps! A Mu-Mimo 4 stream router can send and receive data from three Mu-Mimo devices simultaneously, so each device can now receive 3 times the data in the same time span!

Dynamic QOS is amazing and worth the price of entry on its own. Previously QOS was difficult to setup and often just linked to a specific application in the router gui like Netflix, Skype or Pandora and applied across the entire network, rather than to a specific pc or networked device. QOS was also static and did not reflect real use scenarios where device and application needs change constantly. Netgear’s Dynamic QOS is unique and automatically allocates bandwidth based on application and device type. It is easily enabled in the QOS tab in the router GUI where an Ookla speedtest can also be run. Netgear’s QOS handles priority both at device level and application level and can be set manually or automatically. Devices can be renamed and a bandwidth breakdown can be seen either by device or application. Dynamic QOS is provided with an automatically updatable database of streaming services and hundreds of applications are supported out of the box. Dynamic QOS can tell when applications are active and will change bandwidth requirements to meet real time needs and then reallocate bandwidth elsewhere when it determines that these applications have become idle. Genius.

Getting the router up and running was pretty easy. The cable modem was powered down and my current router was swapped out with this Netgear N7800. The modem was powered on and after a few minutes the router was powered on too. Going back to one of my wired pc’s to complete the setup using a browser was straight forward and simple. I usually set up my 2.4ghz network on Channel 1 with bandwidth mode at 20/40mhz (up to 347mbps) along with WPA2-AES encryption. The 5.0ghz network is set at channel 153 with 80mhz mode to fully enable AC (up to 1733mbps). The router was easy to adjust and supports AP and bridge modes although it was a little slow when saving changes. I was given the option to install Netgear Genie during setup after bringing up a browser, which I declined, as I prefer to adjust the settings manually. Netgear Genie is available for Windows, Android and iOS.

I use a few software applications to test my network speed, Totusofts Lan Speed (laptop/pc) and Wifi Speed Test (cellphone). These work by uploading and downloading 100mb files from one networked pc or cellphone to another either by Ethernet, wifi, or a combination of both. I also use a Netflix test clip to display real time resolution and bitrate in order to test Dynamic QOS by prioritizing the Netflix application on one PC and enabling and disabling Dynamic QOS in the router. Currently Netflix can only be played at 1080 in Microsoft Edge browser.
Other Thoughts: My office laptop sits 45ft away from the router location and the wifi signal needs to pass through 3 walls. The laptop is an Acer Aspire and has a Mu-Mimo enabled Atheros AC wifi chipset that is good for 300mbps on 2.4ghz and 867mbps on 5.0ghz. I also own a Nexus 6P and a Nexus 5X both of which are Mu-Mimo enabled. This gives me the chance to test throughput with Mu-Mimo enabled and disabled (laptop wifi client, Nexus 5X and Nexus 6P were all connected to the 5.0ghz band to test Mu Mimo).

Before testing the Netgear R7800 Router I ran a few tests with my TP Link Archer C2600 router using the same parameters outlined above.

2.4ghz speeds recorded were 77.50mbps up and 65.37mbps down with -60db signal strength.

5.0ghz speeds recorded with Mu-Mimo were 123.08mbps up and 144.96mbps down with -77db signal strength.
5.0ghz speeds recorded with Mu-Mimo disabled in router were 116.05mbps up and 119.49mbps down with -77db signal strength.

After swapping the router to the Netgear R7800 I re-tested.

2.4ghz speeds recorded were 75.83mbps up and 76.25mbps down with -60db signal strength.

5.0ghz speeds recorded with Mu-Mimo were 127.68mbps up and 151.34mbps down with -75db signal strength.
5.0ghz speeds recorded with Mu-Mimo disabled in router were 119.70mbps up and 121.05mbps down with -75db signal strength.

Testing Dynamic QOS was quite easy, I connected to Netflix on one of my networked PC’s and looped the test clip, recording maximum bitrate and resolution with Dynamic QOS enabled and disabled, while streaming Youtube videos and Pandora on other networked PC’s (Netflix was given priority in the router GUI).

Without Dynamic QOS enabled; max bitrate 1050kbps and max resolution 640x480
With Dynamic QOS enabled and Netflix priority given to test PC; max bitrate 1050kbps and max resolution 960x720

I quickly tested file storage using a 64gb USB 3.0 Flash drive that I connected to one of the USB 3.0 ports on the router. I mounted it as a network drive and tested speed with Intel NAS Performance Toolkit. Read speeds measured an excellent 68mbps and write speeds measured 42mbps. I streamed a HD movie from the attached flash drive and noticed no stutters or hitches during playback.

While this router is not cheap, it is categorically the fastest router that I have tested and used to date. It has a terrific range and throughput and completely covers my 2600 sqft office space. My Mu-Mimo testing was limited, but it appears that Mu-Mimo is working out of the box. Dynamic QOS is a game changer (IMO), providing terrific functionality and allowing anyone to easily prioritize traffic across their network.

Router sales rely heavily on ‘marketing’ to take advantage of gullible buyers who want to believe that the new generation of router will solve all of their network issues, providing the ultimate range and throughput and functionality. This is the first router that almost delivers on its promises (no 160mhz clients) and has finally pushed me to permanently swapping out my Asus AC1750 router. There are some caveats to be aware of here, it is extremely unlikely that anyone will be able to take advantage of the 1733mbps available on the 5.0ghz band and the 800mbps available on the 2.4ghz band, even my Mu-Mimo enabled laptop chipset can only take advantage of a maximum of 300mbps on 2.4 and 867mbps on 5.0ghz. Few devices have Mu-Mimo and no clients can currently take advantage of 160mhz bandwidth mode. Dynamic QDS works and everyone can take advantage of this router functionality, it just needs to be enabled in the router first. If you have a large house/office, have Mu-Mimo clients, or a lot of network traffic then I recommend this router without reservation, if you have a small house/apartment and less than 4 connected devices or just want to surf the internet and send and receive email then AC 1200 (300mbps on 2.4ghz and 867mbps on 5.0ghz) will suffice, after all, your internet speed is based on the level of service that you subscribe to via your ISP, and even a speedy 65mbps down and 25mbps up can be handled by a cheaper router.

Bottom line, for me this router provides the best range and signal strength of any router I have used/tested to date and the best throughput (with or without Mu-Mimo). It comes with some future proofing, if you believe that 160mhz bandwidth mode will be the next best thing for routers. My only complaint is the relatively paltry 12 month warranty period. For a router of this price I would expect 24 months at the very least.

I am impressed; RIP AC 1750.
Reviewed By:gregory b.,7/26/2016 8:12:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER604W Small Business Wireless Gigabit VPN Router, application control, Multi-SSID and guest network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Okay multi-WAN router, poor wireless
Pros: multi-WAN
Cons: wireless, freezes often, drops connections
Other Thoughts: This is simply an okay router as long as you can deal with the possible issues it can present. I have owned this past the warranty period and to simply state it, this thing freezes to the point that you have to un-plug it to reset it. Other times, only the wireless will stop responding. Some times, it just won't let some devices connect wirelessly or will drop some devices randomly while keeping others on and active.
When it was new, it was mostly great, but as time has gone on, the little issues have continued to grow. We are now unplugging the router once a week at home and a few times a week at work.
So, unless you can living with random freezes, this is not a great solution for a wireless router.
Reviewed By:Benjamin S.,7/26/2016 3:19:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Difficulty connecting
Pros: Fast, no lag
Cons: Initial setup issues
Other Thoughts: First, I received this item through the NETGEAR First Look Review Program. I've had this router connected for about a month now and so far so good as far as connection speed. The reason I gave this 4 eggs is because the initial setup was difficult. Prior to this router I had a different Netgear router connected. This should have been an easy switch. Doing the initial setup ended up taking a couple hours because the router and the modem were not communicating with each other. But after the initial setup was complete there has been no issues.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/25/2016 10:54:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer C5400 AC5400 Wireless Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good!
Pros: -Strong Signal. Purchased it because my Steam Link signal was too weak/slow to stream from my PC with my old ASUS router. Now it's running great at 28ft away through a wall. Took my Note5 down the street and still had internet browsing fine at ~200ft through two walls as well.
-Configuration was easy! I was able to setup wifi/guest logins within a few minutes, as well as configure static IPs and network a drive quite effortlessly.
-Haven't had connection issues so far!
Cons: -MU-MIMO will need a future firmware upgrade to be enabled according to documentation. Currently this doesn't impact me, but it's surprising to not ship with it enabled as it's one of the largest advertised features.
Other Thoughts: -I did purchase this router when it was on sale, and for the price it was a great deal. Obviously YMMV but it was very worth it to replace my old router with this.
-Though it's made out of plastic, it does have a premium build feel to it and a thoughtful design/layout and a useful software package. I haven't felt lost because I didn't have DD-WRT or Tomato installed anymore.
-Will update this review should longevity or any other issues arise. Hopefully that won't be necessary!
Reviewed By:Troy O.,7/25/2016 4:58:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I love this router
Pros: Fixed all of our connection problems
Cons: Little pricey
Reviewed By:Kimberly T.,7/25/2016 1:15:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-811DRU AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Router- 4 Gigabit port, Broadcom Chipset, DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Seems easy to get going... but then the admin threw me off...
Pros: Followed the instruction verbatim and the router will connect to the internet and your computers and phones will connect wired or wirelessly.
Cons: 1. Tried from http://tew-811dru to change password of admin --> http://192.168.10.1/login.asp spun the beachball
2. Jump backward to the tew-811dru page seemed connected, tried to update firmware, it appeared that it was updating but never rebooted the router...
Other Thoughts: Maybe a hard reset and do over? What is sequence?
Wait for Adrian's support so average experience for me
the router seems to run hot, and all the talk about repaste the heatsink?? Can someone post a picture of how it is done?
Manufacturer Response:"Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you experienced an issue with the N600 Dual Band Wireless Router, TEW-752DRU. If the TEW-752DRU is still accessible you can update it with the latest firmware update to see if that helps. Please also try changing the channel on the router. You can change the channel on the Basic > Wireless page of the web based GUI. If it is not accessible at all please email adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative assist you with warranty services. Please include a link to this review.


Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support
"

Reviewed By:duc n.,7/25/2016 12:49:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Monster Router
Pros: Un-boxing this unit revealed what appeared to be a monster router. The physical construction seems very good, the whole top is covered in ventilation holes. Setup of the unit did not take too long, I think I had it up and running with all the bells and whistles in under 20 minutes. The status lighting on top of the unit is very subtle. During my tests, after the unit was updated and configured it ran like a champ, no reboots were needed nor were there any lock-ups even with 30 wifi devices connected to it at peek points during my testing. The unit is very feature rich.

Quick Points:
- 8 Gigabit LAN Ports on The Unit
- 2.4 Ghz & 5 Ghz Radios
- Dual Core CPU
- Very Fast and Stable with Multiple Clients
- Fairly Easy Configuration
- Well Made
- USB 2 and 3 Ports Allow Sharing of Storage Devices
- Intuitive Management Interface
- Option to Manage Unit Remotely via SmartPhone
- Very Good Wifi Coverage
Cons: quite massive, it will take up a decent amount of real estate wherever you put it. It does run a bit warmer than I would like, but I can forgive this a bit given all the power and radios packed inside it. The lights on the top of the unit could be more verbose and give you more information to what the router is doing instead of just being lit up constantly after the unit boots up. The setup was just a bit weird with having the integration of the remote management via Linksys, good idea though as long as it is secure.

Quick Points:
- Runs a bit Warm
- LED Display on Top of Unit is Not Verbose
- Unit is Physically Large
- Remote Management May Take Time to get Accustomed To
Other Thoughts: I have been running and testing the unit for over a month and I have nothing really bad to say about the performance of the unit. I have had multiple friends over with the addition of every wireless device I have in my house using this unit without a single hiccup. I didn't get the test the 5 ghz band very much, but it worked with my phone and was running pretty quick. The wireless from this unit covered my townhouse very well from the basement even with the unit sitting inside a metal networking rack. I am very impressed and happy with the unit's speed. For the place I live in this unit might be over kill, but it handles my 50 mbps internet connection with ease, allowing multiple devices to stream and game without any trouble at all. I have no major complaints about the unit and have enjoyed using it so far.
Reviewed By:Joshua M.,7/25/2016 7:52:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link GO-RT-N300 Wi-Fi Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Reliable enough for business use
Pros: Reliable, ease of setup and inexpensive
Cons: The firewall has very few settings compared to $300 -$500 routers.
Other Thoughts: Reliability is important in business settings that rely heavily on Internet. I have rarely had problems with these. I keep some in stock and will continue to use them. I have also used these as wireless access points only.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2016 6:01:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.