Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Dependable
Pros: easy setup, no down times, solid internet signal. the dual band even allows me to have a separate line for gaming.
Cons: Oddly shaped
Other Thoughts: Sammich
Reviewed By:Feroco,3/6/2015 4:31:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N53 Dual Band Wireless N600 SOHO Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, Fast Ethernet, 5 Guest SSID, Parental Access Time control to Each User

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Absolute garbage.
Pros: None.
Cons: Dual band, but the 5G Band is awful. ASUS actually had the nerve to claim that my device was out of warranty, despite it only being with me for a month! It comes with a 90 day warranty.

Customer service wanted $56 to fix an IN WARRANTY router. They also wanted me to send it out and be without a router for two weeks, which is impossible in this day and age. We have a ton of devices that connect wirelessly.

ASUS makes horrible products, and their customer service are not only liars, but they're inept. Avoid this company.
Other Thoughts: Frauds. Avoid them like the plague.
Reviewed By:Dylan,3/6/2015 3:57:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C5 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5Ghz 867Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lots of features for its price
Pros: +Supports dual band 2.4ghz and 5ghz AC1200, plus has gigabit ports.

+You can use the open source DD-WRT firmware with this router, or even OpenWRT.

+Good price for the features it has.

+2 year warranty

+Its low profile and nice looking, smaller than the R7000 router I have used also.

+The LED lights on this are not the annoying super bright kind, and are easy to see.

+The install instructions are easy to view and read.
Cons: -From what I can tell it does not support Beam Forming which would help it gain a little more range.

-USB ports are only USB 2.0
Other Thoughts: Overall I do like this router and am happy with this router, as its a very good price for all the features it has, and has worked well for me so far anyways in our home with 4 desktop computers, two Xbox One consoles and several different tablets. Our house is about 60'x30' with two levels, with an L shaped on one end of the house. I also had no problems connecting to it with different brands of tablets (iPad 2, Samsung, Some other generic brand).

The stock firmware is actually pretty good compared to the stock in some other routers firmware, as it has many options to set in the router, along with descriptions of what they do. During the setup I did have a few problems when I typed in its IP of 192.168.0.1 which happens to be the same IP of our cable modem. It gives the choice of using that IP or typing www.tplinklogin.net, or using the included CD setup wizard.

For range, in our house, we have a couple of bad locations that every router I have tried has problems with, although this router was slightly worse at one of those locations, but its not a big deal as we don't have to have access there. I don't know if the DD-WRT firmware would help with that or make it worse. I would also bet its lack of Beam Forming is the reason for that.

One gripe I do have with this router is that on their website they apparently have two versions of the same model (Archer C5) with different firmwares, which makes it confusing. Apparently the newer model is downgraded with only 2 antennas? From what I have read, this version 1.20 router with the 3 antennas has the same chipset in it as the Archer C7 v2.0 does, it just supports a lower speed.
Reviewed By:Timothy_C,3/6/2015 3:33:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Router
Pros: Great aesthetics - not an ugly thing you want to hide away out of sight.

Very easy to set up; my experience matched that of others - just a few minutes after plugging it in, everything was configured properly.

It's got a pretty well laid out and functional UI. Makes it trivial to do things like set up a DMZ / port forwarding / static IPs / etc.

Very good performance even at sub-optimal signal strength! At ~65% signal strength on the 5GHz band, I was able to achieve 15-20 MB/s file transfers over my network (that's using a wireless N adapter on my desktop in the opposite corner of my house).

My old router was a TP-Link N600, which was a good router, but I had to use a range extender to achieve those same types of transfer speeds. Now I don't need the extender - I am impressed!

Ability to prioritize network traffic easily is a nice feature. I've got about 8-10 devices online at any one time depending on who in my family is doing what, and it's nice to be able to prioritize the computers which need it.
Cons: Two minor things worth noting: Price and AC compatibility.

This is a relatively high end router for home use. It IS worth the money, just be sure you actually need the higher bandwidth on your home network. Remember, unless you have something like Google Fiber, it is likely that your internet connection to the outside world is not fast enough to need more than Wireless-N (or even G).

Also, wireless AC is still in early adopter stage, and it is likely that not all your devices will benefit from it. Just know which of your devices are AC compatible, or at least which are compatible with the 5GHz spectrum. This router isn't going to do any performance miracles for you if all your devices are 2.4 GHz 802.11g.
Other Thoughts: I'm very happy with this router. My old TP-Link N600 has been my go-to router for several years, and this is the first router I've used that I preferred. Several other AC routers I've tested were buggy or just felt incomplete. This is the real deal!

I recommend this router very highly to anyone who has use of the excellent performance on their home network (stream movies / games from one PC to another, move large files around, etc).
Reviewed By:JLM,3/6/2015 3:31:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Decent Router
Pros: Decent WiFi speeds even with stock firmware on it. Range seems to be good in an older 60's home.
Cons: Parental Controls - Decent but are lacking.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/6/2015 10:52:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C8 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 450Mbps+5Ghz 1350Mbps, 1 USB 2.0 Port & 1 USB 3.0 Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works very well
Pros: I am really enjoying this router. It's very to set up and very simple to configure. It has a lot of features but they make it very easy to configure. I have tested most features of the router and haven't had an issue with one yet. I also like the design of the router. The wireless speeds are nice and the dual band is a neat feature. Some of my devices connect to 2.4ghz, while others utilize the 5ghz range. It also has USB file sharing, so you can use it as a media server. Port forwarding is very simple. It has parental control features with scheduling. It also has native dynamic-dns support, which I use and love.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:reddog,3/6/2015 9:55:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E8350 AC2400 4X4 Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router, Optimal for HD Video Streaming and Lag-Free Gaming

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not worth the premium price.
Pros: 5ghz channel works great.
Setup can be performed by anyone.
Cons: 2.4ghz channel is spotty and slow. Seems to have poor collision detection and recovery with competing streams.
Very limited configuration options.
Cannot Turn WPS off.
Firewall is not configurable.
Does not support open source firmware.
4x4 is not yet enabled, so speed is actually 1750.
Other Thoughts: There are better products out there for a better price. Skip this one unless you are getting it free.
Reviewed By:Mark,3/6/2015 8:00:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA6500 V2 AC1750 Wi-Fi Wireless Dual-Band+ Router with Gigabit, Smart Wi-Fi App Enabled, Open Source supported

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great, But useless for me.
Pros: This product is fantastic in almost every way, the 5Ghz is especially fantastic giving me 100+mbps down-stream to my mobile devices, and the GUI is intuitive.
Cons: No NAT-Loopback feature
Other Thoughts: Useless product for me, I cannot hold it against Linksys specifically but when paying $150+ for a product you expect features, features that this product did not supply, As a web-host it is incredibly important to have a feature known as "NAT-Loopback" allowing internal access from your outward facing (WAN) IP address, something this product and all other AC routers I have tried do not allow... for "Security" reasons... it is ridiculous to not include it as a option on new equipment

Let us professionals have an option to manage our own security loopholes instead of shutting important doors in our face.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Jeffery,

We appreciate your time in reviewing our product and providing your detailed feedback. Your suggestion about the NAT loopback has been taken and we'll have this relayed to the relevant team. Feel free to contact us at LinksysCares@linksys.com for questions, suggestions, or Linksys assistance. Please include your contact details and the link to this review for reference.

Regards,

Linksys Support
http://support.linksys.com

Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 8:19:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Router
Pros: Out of the box the set up was supper easy. It seems that Linksys makes more and more products where they take the best parts of pervious device and integrate it into the design. The three antennas that come off the router don't make it super ugly so having the router in plain view will be no issue. The GUI is very well set up for the most part. The media prioritization is a nice radio button that is very clearly labeled so setting up the streaming settings was very easy. The background colors were very easy on my eyes - that is a huge bonus for me if you look in my cons you will see that I spend lots and lots of time in the router menu and the fact that it's not yellow on white is so refreshing plus it's a soft version of Cisco The device set up is also a nice feature that allows you to add a pin to a Wi-Fi device that you add to the network. Simple Tap was not flawless with my phone, it had a bit of lag and I just did not like it but I kept it as a pro because the router has it and most don't. USB storage is a good way to back up your settings. The device list is the easy to see host routing table. The seven major radio buttons will cover the average user and I personally believe that if you're not looking for a professional switch that you can't go wrong with this nice router. It's easily mounted to the back of my desk and is slim. It does have a lit logo on top of the router. . This router has a built in speed test that works well for me. I think that will vary from location to location but I would start there if you're having speed issues. The wireless set up was ok, I really liked that I can see both the 2.4 and 5 GHz network information in one location without having to scroll down or look in separate locations. Over all I am very happy with this router and would recommend it to a friend or a client. I really like the power button they added on the rear of the router. It is easy to locate and operate.
Cons: I really wish that they would have shown the host routing table in the MAC filtering section of the setup menu. As it is now you have to switch between two locations in the menu to see the routing table to and the MAC filters so if you're going to be monitoring traffic you have to have your MAC addresses written down so you know what is what. I also did not find any way to just select an address from the routing table to monitor the traffic. In the MAC filtering section of the Wi-Fi I really disliked the fact that I was unable to name the connections. I can see if you only have three connections its not a big deal but I am trying to manage over thirty and it's a big pain in my booty some times to keep tract of that many devices in the table. The media prioritization should have also had a host routing table in it as well and it did not. One thing that really bugged me is that the troubleshooting radio button did not drop down so I could see the solutions; I have to open the menu to see the options. My Biggest gripe is the Smart WiFi log in app. I have tried to use this app over the past 6 months on my other Linksys router and this one and neither of them worked flawlessly in fact neither of them work well I will even go as far as saying that the app was just above useless. you have to sign in with your email address and a password that you created when you logged into your router for the first time. not huge fan of this wifi log in and they really need to rethink this Smart WiFi log in. The price point is a big down fall for me in general I think that routers are becoming over priced as a whole
Other Thoughts: I never do any kind of speed test of any routers that I review just because the speed that I get will always be different than the speed you get and it makes the review subjective and I would rather give you an honest overview then lie to you.
The Firewall and DMZ setup could be a bit better I wish they would have combined the two intro one screen.
Reviewed By:Willisp,3/5/2015 6:09:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C5 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5Ghz 867Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 I like it, but...
Pros: This was a nice product to review! To start things off, it had good packaging, complete with resource CD and comprehensive starting guide. The device was a bit larger than expected, and barely fits in the “router” spot on my desk. The LEDs on the front are large, and bright - maybe a bit too bright if you game in the dark. They flash for activity, but not flicker. There’s an actual power switch on the back, which I enjoy (no more dropping the power plug behind the desk!). There’s also a WiFi switch, which I highly recommend turning to OFF for initial setup. The WiFi is on by default, with SSID broadcast, but secured with WEP2 by default (key is printed on the bottom of the router). The configuration page is comprehensive, with all the features I enjoyed in DD-WRT firmware existing in the manufacturer firmware such as MAC cloning, DoS protection, bandwidth control, and diagnostics page. It even re-directs to the new IP address if you change it!
Cons: It has a fairly large wall-wort power adapter, that gets in the way of other plugs (vertical). I was also surprised to see that it’s 2.5amps (matching the router), which seems fairly high to me. It seems to be taking ~1amp on average. More than previous routers I’ve had, but still acceptable.

I wasn’t really a fan of the guide referring to a URL to configure it, rather than a standard IP address, but either works to load configuration page. However, it’s default is 192.168.0.1. Just minor gripes. The default login is admin/admin, so there’s no variation or added security there - anyone on your wired LAN to hijack setup before you complete it. There’s no secure way to configure this device - there’s no https option and all configuration data is sent via plain text. But, what ultimately pushed this to lose 1 egg is that the configuration page automatically refreshes (on all browsers) after a few seconds - if you aren’t quick to save your changes, it’ll refresh and lose your fields! Very annoying if you’re looking up routing or MAC tables while entering the data… If they fix this, and perhaps make it one-click to set-up MAC access and routing tables, it’d easily be 4 stars.
Other Thoughts: USB 2 does perfectly fine for all of my applications, and I’m happy with it for this product. It’s more than sufficient for printers or external HDDs.

I delayed some in writing this review, as I seem to have had some problems with my ISP. The WAN connection seems to have dropped twice in the first few days of having this device, and the router never reconnected until I cycled power. But, it’s working fine lately and I can’t be 100% sure this is the router’s fault, so I’m not listing this as a con.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/5/2015 3:14:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.