Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good router, strong wifi connectivity
Pros: This is a beautiful looking router with fantastic Wifi connectivity. It is on one end of a 1700 square foot single-level house. The connection is still very strong on the opposite side of the house. No dropped connections thus far.

The options available in the firmware menus are also pretty great. The ability to switch to 3rd party firmware is also very useful.

It has NAT Loopback support which is an absolute must for people wanting to host gaming or web servers of any kind.
Cons: None that come to mind.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 11:38:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > FreedomPop > Free LTE Wireless Internet w 803s LTE Hotspot + Free Premier Service Trial- FreedomPop- Certified Pre-owned

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, so far!
Pros: Compared to the Verizon Wireless I have been using at this same Central CA location, this is much faster, both coming out of a dormant state and then with up & dwn data flow. Setup was easy, but may be a bit intimidating for a novice.
Cons: The available data plans are a bit confusing and they will automatically charge your credit card if you forget to cancel after the introductory period. It seems that they are counting on you to forget to search for a plan that fits your needs.
Other Thoughts: I have absolutely no problem that "free" may not turn out to be absolutely free. If you are expecting free with no strings or 'tricks' then wireless communications is probably not for you. From what I can tell, when I do settle on a permanent plan once the introductory period is over the cost will be much less then my current VZW service. Since I travel quite a bit my hope is that Sprint coverage comes close to Verizon.
Reviewed By:BobH,10/19/2014 9:24:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C2 AC750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, USB Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good but pricey
Pros: Overall -- modern bandwidth on a router with 2005 features. Unless you need to split the difference, I'd really say you'd be better off buying something much cheaper (without AC or otherwise less fancy) or much more expensive (with better features). This router is in a no-man's land and it does not successfully split the bill.

There are other brands that have routers in this price range or slightly higher with more robust, up-to-date feature (e.g. USB3.0). Try the Netgear R6250. If you don't need any of these features, you probably don't need AC either and can step down in price instead, in which case, a TP-Link product still might be right for you, like the TL-WR841N.

Here are the pros:

Dual band -- better speed, better load bearing, the praises of this are well sung by previous reviews, description, specs, etc.

Gigabit ethernet is a plus, although for this price I'd call it obligatory.

Relatively easy setup/interface. I didn't have issues using it, and based on other reviews most people seem to find it easy to use.

My connection / speed was nominal after swapping out my old router. I had no issues under normal use, and only some marginal slow-down under heavy load on the 2.4GHz channel.

The removable / replaceable antennae -- this is a HUGE plus. Do not overlook how nice it is to replace one or both of these with inexpensive antennae that are much better. You can get them right here on Newegg for a good price and they may boost your strength/coverage if that is an issue for you.

The 2 year warranty is good. Despite what the specs say, my box says "2 year warranty" right on it (including unlimited tech support). TP-link is a reliable brand, in my experience. Their customer service generally takes care of you. Online support and documentation is generally good.
Cons: The price point here is tough considering the cons I'm about to list. This is especially tough considering I get a router that's about as good (actually, probably better) for free with my cable internet. Lots of people do. I have a different router normally anyway, better than both of these, but if you're paying for this TP-Link, you'll want to consider if it's really right for you. Maybe it is, if you really need the AC and can't find a better router at a better price. There's nothing wrong with this router, per se, but it's lacking in a few ways:

It's a bit more sensitive to obstacles/walls than some other routers. Still fine for my living space, but if you have lots of walls, you might need to get external antennae (again, they're inexpensive) or find other ways of extending the range on this thing.

USB 2.0 only -- At this point, USB is expected, and for this price it should be 3.0. I tried it out and it's not very fast at all. USB shared drive support is terrible -- it will format your drives (I was lucky enough to notice this in other reviews and test it using something I didn't mind losing). But I tried it and it appeared to format a drive. Not sure what it's doing exactly, let alone why.

It doesn't seem to be supported for dd-wrt, which is a bummer for me. It has no automatic firmware updates -- Cumbersome manual firmware updating instead. FTP sharing is very limited and cumbersome too.

No mounting hardware (this is the first router I've ever had without it). I had to consult the manual to figure out where the WPS button was (on the back). I don't like the aesthetics, but that's just personal preference.

Another user pointed out, and I feel obliged to repeat: The remote management is NOT secure (https). I don't know anyone who uses remote management on a router, but if you do, this is NOT the router for you.
Other Thoughts: Range is good but not great. It's hard to say if this is a pro or con; it depends on your expectations. I think it's good enough for me and for many personal settings, but have no illusions, it will not cover your large two-story house corner-to-corner. There is a dead-zone in my kitchen next to the stainless steel fridge -- not a big deal, most routers leave a small swath of my kitchen uncovered and it doesn't matter to me.

Not clear how the guest network is configured, what are the security protocols etc. Is it truly firewalled from the regular network or what? The documentation isn't clear. I know with my dd-wrt setup on my normal router that it is secure. The documentation doesn't seem to explain exactly how secure the guest network really is.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 8:27:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WHR-300HP2D AirStation N300 Open Source DD-WRT Wireless Router IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A very good router!
Pros: Stable
DD-WRT installed.
Small footprint.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: How does it perform?
The performance is very good.
The connectivity is on par with other routers in this price range. I tested the WHR-300HP2D against the TL-WR1043ND v2.1. The TL-WR1043ND seems to have a stronger signal, however, both routers dropped the wifi signal at about the same point just outside the house, streaming to a smart phone.

I usually buy a Buffalo router when I'm looking for stability. Stability to me equals 1 or 2 reboots a year and practically no dropped connections. My last Buffalo router, the WHR-300HP fit that bill perfectly. Hopefully this one will be the same.

Newegg......thanks for the fast shipping!!!
Reviewed By:DW,10/18/2014 8:15:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6200-100PAS V1 Dual Band AC 1200 Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NETGEAR R6200-100PAS V1 Dual Band AC 1200 Gigabit Wireless Router
Pros: Extremely easy setup
Easily handles all household devices. 2 laptops, 2 desktops, 2 cell phones and a tablet. Seamless streaming on all applications simultaneously
I have not once needed to reset it.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Purchased this at full retail that came with a Motorola SB6141 modem which makes the net price of the router ~$60. Fantastic deal if you're starting a new cable subscription. The pair of the 2 products has been exceptional.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16825390001
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 4:59:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-691GR 2.4GHz N450 Wireless Gigabit Router up to 450Mbps Wireless Technology IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Am I expecting too much?
Pros: t's almost impossible to find wired only gigabit router at an affordable price, so I bought this instead. Almost gigabit performance - I get about 750 Mbps on the switch ports.
Cons: I have been unable to get anything beyond 230 Mbps when routing through the WAN port. The WAN port is connected to a ZeroShell router that I know can achieve 780 Mbps.
Other Thoughts: I know this is a consumer grade device, and the performance is beyond what most consumers would need, so it's good for the money.
Reviewed By:Elfen,10/18/2014 3:07:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900AC Wireless AC Dual Band Router AC1900, Open Source ready, eSATA/ USB 3.0 Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great router that might be better soon
Pros: The best/fastest router I have ever used. Really I bought this almost more for nostalgia than anything else (I've always been a big WRT54g fan) but was really shocked at the difference it made in my home network. Suddenly devices that were working "ok" before were speedy and top notch. No longer did I have to twist a bit to one side to get my phone to work in bed, I could hold it in my lap and still get excellent signal. My Chromecast went from "occasionally disconnecting and loading videos eventually" to "Perfection".
Cons: The OpenSource claims are currently all bunk. They haven't released the code needed for developers to actually write for it yet, so there's nothing out there besides the factory firmware.

Speaking of factory firmware, if you're used to the power of Tomato or DD-WRT, get ready for disappointment. Sure, it's got the basics, and they work well, but it's pretty limited.

For example, I have a bunch of kids that all have mobile devices that they should not be using at night, so parental controls are really important to me. Apparently whoever wrote this firmware only has one kid though since each parental controlled device has to have all of the settings set individually. Right, I'm going click each box for each hour during the week that each device is/isn't supposed to be used. And then type in each website they shouldn't go to (no white-list option) for each device as well.

Also, no way to set a white-list of parent devices, you have to white-list the kid's devices, so if I miss one, they get open access any time to anywhere. I'd really prefer the other way around.
Other Thoughts: If you're the kind of person that's looking for a really great router with really great signal strength and really great speed, but you couldn't care less about what firmware it's running. Don't think twice, buy this router. My 5 egg review is for you.

If you're a wrt54g fan planning on replacing the firmware on first bootup, give it some time. Consider this a 2-star review.

Why not 1 star? It's still really freakin' amazing. I can wait a bit for the features to come. Either through firmware updates or from open-source eventually. And honestly, if they never come, I'll still be happy.
Reviewed By:Epiktetus,10/17/2014 10:12:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C2 AC750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, USB Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent as Router ONLY
Pros: Works well as a router and fast. Comparable distance to name brands like NetGear and Cisco/ Linksys and looks nice doing it.

Like having at least 4 ethernet ports on the back which I have going to separate switches in different rooms.

5Ghz distance is the best I've found so far, but not by much.
2.4Ghz coverage is really good in 2 story home with very thick rock walls. Every router has issue in my home because of the construction. (Have cell phone issues because of this also)

Power button and WIFI disable button s are nice to have when going out of town or don't like pulling the plugs.

Video streaming off the internet works very well as does gaming (xbox, PC, Wii, Android, etc)

User interface is getting better with many features for an entry level router such as:
Cons: Multimeda support is weak, DO NOT plug a large USB drive into this device.

Biggest issue with this router is that it does not work well as a multimedia router to share larger external drives. In fact it formatted my 8TB movie drive losing all my movies. Having to run restore software which ran for 3 days and did not find the file names, but did find most of the files thankfully.

Not sure why in the world a router would have formatted the drive so I tested it on another 6TB drive with things I backed up. Sure enough it formatted that drive as well.

Firmware manually needs installing.

You lose a port on the LAN side if you want to bridge the device. My Cisco routers don't have this issue since you can use the WAN port to bridge.

UI could be more explanatory when setting the device up, but over all it's pretty easy if you know networking. (Ex. when wanting to turn your router into a bridge there is no clear instructions that you need to disable the DHCP then change the plug into a LAN port)

Would also be nice if you could access the router once in bridge mode, but for the life of me I cannot figure it out or it's got an issue.

No wall/desk mounting capabilities unless you get creative.

WPS button on the back between wires is not easy to get to. Would have liked this on the top where it would make it easier to synch up devices.
Other Thoughts: Overall I've been pretty happy with the TP-Link line of routers I've used and the only complaints so far is the lack of large multimedia drives.

Will be ordering some high gain antennas for extending the connectivity of this device and will update if I see a significant difference.

Does seem more stable than the big brother C7 that I've switch all my workload to. The C7 requires constant resets via power cable. Haven't contacted company about this but will definitely give them a call. They seem very responsive in the past.
Reviewed By:CalicoKid,10/17/2014 4:13:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR841N Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Inexpensive Router!
Pros: Received the package today. Tested it out, so far it works really well!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/17/2014 2:25:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7500-100NAS Nighthawk X4 AC2350 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Smart Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nighthawk X4 Really Flies
Pros: Setup was a breeze. Not confusing or time consuming. Just attach the antennas, plugin everything in, install Genie software, update firmware and off you go. Setting Port Forwarding and Static ip addresses was also a breeze and took just a couple of minutes.

The included Genie desktop software and available (free) smartphone app are a very nice addition. They provide a graphical network map, the ability to turn guest mode on/off, update firmware, and a litany of other useful functions.

I have used both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz wifi bands. Most of my older items in the home run on the 2.4 GHz. The speed has been as expected. I use the 5 GHz band to stream UHD to Netflix on my 4K TV. It performs flawlessly. However, the 5 GHz band does seem to fade in and out throughout different parts of the house. Luckily for me, I only use the 5 GHz in my living room and it works fine there, from about 30 ft through a couple of walls.

My DL speed from my ISP is only 30 Mbps, but where I can really see this modem shine is multitasking on my local network. I run a PLEX media server streaming HD to 2 or 3 screens at a time (and occasionally with Netflix streaming somewhere in the house as well) with no issues on either 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz.

Finally, the looks. This thing looks pretty mean...and it does so without being a fingerprint magnet. It does have a rather large footprint, so I'm looking to mount it somewhere.
Cons: Range of 5 GHz - but that's more of an issue with the band than the hardware.
Other Thoughts: I received this router free from Netgear through the Friends and Family product evaluation program. Regardless, I will still recommend this router to my friends and family and will be giving my old AC WiFi router away...the R7500 blows away my previous router.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/17/2014 1:40:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau