Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND Ultimate Wireless N300 Router, Gigabit, 300Mbps, USB port, 3 Detachable Antennas / IP QoS/ QSS Button

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Constantly loses connection
Pros: The only thing impressive about this router is the web-based config page. Lots of options and nothing flashy.
Cons: Cannot handle many devices (at least I think this is the problem). Routinely I will lose connection with my laptop (Thinkpad) when another device usually a phone appears. There are about 8 devices in total that may be connected at any given time.

TP-Link support tries but, does not help. I had already tried all the tasks they had me do (change channels, power, etc.).

The only way I have been able to continue using this router has been to offload some devices to an old WRT54G connected to a LAN port on this router. Without my trusty Linksys I would have taken this thing to the street and run it over with my car!
Reviewed By:Joey,8/1/2014 4:22:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation N600 (300 + 300 Mbps) Dual Band Wireless Router - WHR-600D

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 N Capable & Gaming On A Budget!!
Pros: *Small in stature - easy to tuck away / Position
*Great Connectivity
*Absolutely Solid Reliability!
*Great Features and good range!!
*Throughput is excellent!
Cons: *It's small - depends on how you look at it
*User Interface is no where near as nice as it's bigger brother the AirStation 1750 - but still navigable.
Other Thoughts: Purchased for a friend of mine who was on a budget to get as much connectivity as she could without breaking the bank. As I have been over the moon with my AirStation Extreme I figured the little brother should do a very good job as well. And it does!

For years now this friend and I could never connect on Xbox Live. We'd always have to have a friend invite us to a match, but could never host / connect directly. However, the problem seemed to develop out of no where, along with her Lag & randomly dropped connection. As we used to play online with no problems. We concluded it was her Belkin router had to finally start kicking the bucket. She stated it was 7 or 8 years old by now so... Finally she had enough and asked for help and after a bit of research I settled on the Buffalo AirStation N600. Was a great bet!!

Not only has her NAT status upgraded to Open on all Xbox Live games she's had great wireless performance (as her Xbox was in the basement, router upstairs) and tells me her other devices have a stronger connection as well. She's excited to be able to game with friends again, and it didn't cost her an arm & a leg.

Here are some stats from when I tested & configured the router before shipping it to her.

Living Room -38 dBm (10ft from router)
17Mbps Download / 4.5Mbps Upload

Bedroom Bathroom -74 dBm (50ft away - most walls) 11Mbps / 4.5 Upload

End of Driveway -84 dBm (100ft from router) 2.5Mbps Download / 4.0Mbps Upload

So range and throughput for a 40 dollar router... I'm impressed. This is going to be my new defacto recommendation for users / gamers looking to upgrade. Great Job Buffalo!!! We can now resume shooting at each other over Xbox Live!! :)
Reviewed By:DarkMikaruX,8/1/2014 3:12:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA3500-NP SMART Smooth Stream Gigabit Dual-Band Wireless N750 Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good, but nothing special
Pros: Pretty user interface, plenty of options, nothing special
Mobile app lets you change settings easily, but seems pointless
App does let you control access to specific devices (parental controls)
Cons: Setup CD requires internet access, automatically disconnects computer from current wifi without warning. As usual setup doesn’t work right in off nominal configurations.
No mounting hardware included or mounting holes
No USB 3.0
No 802.11ac
Other Thoughts: This router is a pretty standard, run of the mill router for its price. Its user interface is a little prettier than most, but the features are pretty standard. The only added feature I felt was notable was the smart app, though it depends on your own use case how useful it will be. Linksys provides a mobile app (iOS or Android) which lets you control the router remotely. It requires you to create an account with Linksys online, where presumably they handle all the secure connection with your router. It allows you to change router settings, enable/disable guest access, and see devices connected and such. For me, I don’t see this being terribly useful and there are equivalent routers at a lower price point which don’t have this feature. If you feel the feature is worth the extra cash then this could be the router for you. Linksys touts an “app store” in its advertising and suggests many future devices that will take advantage of the SmartLink, but it’s hard to recommend a router based on future claims.

The setup disc is a standard CD size which is nice, although CDs are a dwindling media nowadays. Following the instructions led my computer to automatically disconnect from my current wifi and connect to the router, leaving me without an internet connection. If you don’t currently have an internet connection, the setup instructions do not work as given. As with most routers you can browse to the 192.168.1.1 and use admin as the password to get in.

Hardware wise, again this Linksys EA3500 has nothing noteworthy. It maxes out at 802.11n, which is a bummer with several 802.11ac products coming out. Also a downer is the USB port only being 2.0 and not 3.0. At this somewhat higher than standard price point, it should definitely at least provide a USB 3.0 port. The included four gigabit ethernet ports is good, but also somewhat standard nowadays. There are no mounting holes or hardware included, so if you want to mount this router, you’re out of luck.

Overall this is a good router, but there are many comparable ones at much lower price points. If the parental controls and mobile app access are worth that price difference, then this offering from Linksys would be a good option.
Reviewed By:Chuck C,8/1/2014 11:51:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Amplifi HD Media Router 3000 (DIR-857) Wireless N900, Dual-Band, HD Fuel QoS, Gigabit, USB SharePort Mobile, SD Card Slot

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Really disappointed
Pros: Wired throughput is fast. When it works, wireless is pretty fast also.
Cons: I must reboot this approx. every other day to connect Apple devices to it wirelessly. I have tried every combination of WPA/WPA2 on this and it craps out on my iPhones and iPads. It also happens on both the 2.4GHz and 5GHz bands.

I am at the latest firmware v1.4.I have researched everything from Apple boards I can to fix this.

I get that it must be something to do with Apple, but a router should connect to devices. I can't have multiple bad iPhones AND a bad iPad Mini AND a bad iPad. I don't have the same problem with either of my Samsung Tabs.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2014 11:43:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Support Nightmare
Pros: Their support for routers is a nightmare, im on my fifth call and still unable to get a solution to my non working router.
They send me to the Estore for warranty on a power supply, Estore doesnt cover warranties, they made me do 5 diferent tests on each call and they ask me to call back, i requested a supervisor and it never called me, im an IT manager so im fully qualified.
This happens to me to try to change verndor, i will stick with Linksys as i was very happy with them and they take care of the customers
Cons: fast if it works
Reviewed By:Jacan,8/1/2014 8:20:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WDR3600 Dual Band Wireless N600 Router, Gigabit, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5GHz 300Mbps, 2 USB port, IP QoS, Wireless On/Off Switch

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works good as a wired routrer.
Pros: Competitive price for the specified features.
Gigabyte
Looks good hanging on the wall
Has been running 24/7 as a wired router for about 5 months without so much as a hiccup.
Cons: Non so far
Other Thoughts: The one star off is not for the product but because I have not used it as a wireless router so I cannot review it's wireless capabilities
I have had good luck with TP-Link. network equipment and the prices are usually quite competitive. There is a TP-Link older dual band wireless router as an access point and a TP-link 5port switch on the same network and none have had any real issues.
I have found the TP-Link Tech Support responsive if not always quite effective.
A quirk that tech support was not able to resolve is that with multiple TP-Link routers on the network with PNP enabled Windows has difficulty identifying each . I just disabled PNP as it is a security issue anyway.
Reviewed By:2cents,8/1/2014 8:05:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 really good
Pros: design. 3 antennas. Very nice wireless signal range. Was able to get wifi phone signal on opposite corner of house downstairs while the router is upstairs opposite corner.
Very nice software, lots of options and features.
Has a nice internet data traffic readout so you can keep track of data outgoing and incoming.
Easy to setup. Very nice interface.
It is compatible with DD-WRT.
Cons: runs pretty warm.
Other Thoughts: the professional reviews highly recommend this router and so do I. Buy it.
Reviewed By:sirderpalot,8/1/2014 3:46:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not that good
Pros: Good range, easy to set up, steady connections
Cons: Wireless wont go over 50 mbps, wired test steady at 94.8 to 95.3mbps, wifi 48mbps in 2.4ghz and 44 mbps on 5ghz
Other Thoughts: Spend 5 hrs on chat with expert from netgear and nothing, bought 2 different ac adapters thinking that might be the problem and nothing. Im unable to recommend this product to anybody
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2014 9:42:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big step up
Pros: Three separate channels - 2.4 GHz (2) and 5 GHz make this unit a real burner - it can handle many simultaneous sessions (how many? don't know yet - putting it into a very busy environment next week and will see). It's possible to name each cannel separately (a long-time feature of many WAPS, so not really new) and set the security independently (also not new).
Excellent signal range - can pick this unit up at the end of my block using my Windows Surface and get 2.5 Mbps down/1.25 MBps up. With the Surface within 15 feet of unit I get 6/3.2 - very nice for a wireless connection.
Cons: The case is plastic and the mounting is not impressive - there are two mounting holes in the back of the unit and, given the orientation of the narrow part of the hole the unit is intended to be mounted with the labels on the lights (of which there are many - a litttle more bling than I need...) are upsidedown. Since I have it mounted on a cieling this is not a problem but those wanting to mount it vertically will have to learn to read upside down lettering.
The biggest con is lack of POE - this unit, with three radios and lots of processing capability, probably pulls more current then the Netgear designers felt comfortable puting on a POE circuit but....EVERYTHING is POE these days - seems like there is a little rush to market here when perhaps a less power hungry processor and fewer LEDs would get them under the POE wire.
Other Thoughts: This unit has a lot of potential - three radios, one of them running at 5 GHz, should give lots of bandwidth for all those wireless devices wandering around (and getting hit by cars, bikes, cats, etc.).
I have high hopes for this device to solve some serious congestion problems at some of the sites I manage - will keep you up to date as things progress.
Reviewed By:sixscrews,7/31/2014 7:40:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA6500 Dual Band AC1750 Gigabit Wireless Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Fast speeds on occasion.
Cons: Speeds my vary. I'm constantly having issues connecting to my router. The app's for android worked at first but not any more. The router is a pain to configure and does not work most of the time. Junk
Reviewed By:Joseph,7/31/2014 7:18:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau