Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N56U Wireless Router Dual Band N600 Multimedia Ultra Slim Gigabit 802.11a/b/g/n support USB Storage, Print and Media Server

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Garbage. It's already dead after overheating from about two years use.
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Cheap
Other Thoughts: Garbage
Reviewed By:N/A,6/30/2016 4:23:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless AC3100 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Phenomenal Router! Update to the latest Merlin DD-WRT firmware to ensure stability.
Pros: Speed on 5GHz WiFi when it works. Options. 8 Ethernet ports. OpenVPN, DDNS, excellent parental controls, wireless 5GHz speed is phenomenal. Ready for 802.11AC type 2 upgrade.
Cons: Very large device.
Other Thoughts: 4/18.2016
Follow up: This router has become unreliable and unstable. I have to reboot it regularly and constantly check the settings. I would recommend looking for a different solution.

All I can say is, as an IT architect, I see many devices and have the skills necessary to configure and optimize them. Once I updated the firmware on the router using the DDWRT-MERLIN release, I had an infinitely configurable router with guest access having Intranet restrictions, DDNS from Asus, OpenDNS configuration and category blocking, etc. No consumer grade router I've experienced has this many options. This is a phenomenal choice for the family with lots of devices and gamers. The ability to use QoS to configure who has the most access and the least latency is a definite plus.

I've edited this review because after updating the firmware to the latest Merlin DD-WRT version, it's become rock solid and an amazing performer! I've delved into the parental controls, time restrictions and I regularly watch the QoS speed meters to see who is doing what. Overall, I've not experienced a better consumer grade router. Well worth the money and time to fully customize the configuration.
Reviewed By:Jason W.,6/30/2016 3:24:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC5300 Wireless AC5300 Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Over exceeded my expectation
Pros: Range, Speed, Configurability, Cool Looking, etc...
Cons: I cannot believe that I can going to say this, but none as of yet. I work in the networking field, but some might find all of the possible settings to be a little overwhelming. For those of you, leave the defaults initially and read the manual to understand what they do. :)
Other Thoughts: I had an Amped RTA15 that I used in a NYC apartment. And it worked fine. However, I moved from a 1 bedroom apartment to a 6000 sq ft house. As expected, the Amped router was not providing anywhere near the range that I needed. For example, the house (built in 1935) has 3 floors and a basement. I placed the router centrally on the second floor in a home office. With the Amped router, I could achieve 110mbs/second in the office and that is what I pay for. Once I ventured away from the office, the signal when to hell. I could only get internet in one bedroom and in half of the living room below the office on the 1st floor. Everywhere else was a dead-zone. So, I looked at getting an Access Point, but I figured that I should start with a new router first and then add an AP or 2 if needed. After doing a ton of research on the Netgear Nighthawk X8, the new D-Link AC5300 (which is STILL not out) and the ASUS AC5300...I obviously chose the ASUS once it released. After getting it up and running (within 30 mins), I started to walk around my house and run speed tests. After running multiple tests in each room (including the basement), the lowest download rate that I was seeing was 85mb/sec. And these test were used with a 2013 Mac Book Pro that has an N card and not an AC card (I still need to buy some of those). Translation....I do not need a single AP in my house. One other thing that I like about this router is that it supports 802.3ad (Dynamic) Link Aggregation. This allows me to use the 2 ethernet ports on my Synology NAS Filer and have them aggregated to 1 IP address on my network for increased speeds (2x). I am not sure how much benefit I will get from this, but I do use my NAS filer for streaming movies, PC Backups and I mirror all photos to the Cloud (I have a ton of photos and they are all in RAW format).

And yes, it is cool looking IMO. Large, but cool.

I hope this helps a few of you, but if you are willing to depart with $400 you will not be disappointed. Best of luck.

---UPDATE---
Now that I have had this router for 6 months, I still love this thing. I hear others complain, but it has been GREAT for me. The only thing that is sometimes annoying is that I have a 2TB USB 3.0 drive attached to it. I can always access it from any computer, but every blue moon, I cannot stream the content to a TV and it says there is no playable media. If I rename the USB drive name in the ASUS Router's UI, this fixes it (the other option is to delete the drive and re add it). Not a huge burden since it has only happened a few times and the fix takes seconds to complete. Other than that, this is just...plain and simply...a GREAT router. Like I said before..."you will not be disappointed."
Reviewed By:John R.,6/30/2016 9:18:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1900ACS Open Source Ready Smart Wi-Fi Gigabit Router Supported by DD-WRT, eSATA / USB 3.0 (WRT1900ACS)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Problematic. Poor WiFi signal since firmware update.
Pros: Nice shade of blue
Cons: wo firmware updates since I've owned it. (40 days) I'm one of the folks having the dropping to 2mbps problems. Every day I had to reboot it to get networking performance back. I just updated to the latest firmware. (1.0.0.172978) The speed dropping to 2mbps problem seems to be resolved with the new firmware. I now have a problem with WiFi coverage. It has been drastically reduced in WiFi range. Both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz range are reduced. This WRT1900ACS replaced an old TP-Link $45.00 router. The old TP-Link and my new $200.00 router now have about the same 2.4GHz WiFi range. I'm pretty sure I'm sending the new unit back to Linksys and installing my old router because the range seems better with the old $45.00 router.
Other Thoughts: I have checked with the official Linksys support forums. I'm not alone. Just google WRT1900ACS problems. You'll see. Also check Youtube if you're interested.
Belkin now owns the Linksys name. Yes it is a Belkin router...

I have owned a computer repair shop for 17 years. btw.
Reviewed By:christopher c.,6/30/2016 6:59:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR700N Wireless N150 Portable Router, Pocket Design, Multifunction, 150Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little pocket router for traveling
Pros: - Easy to use
- Works with any OS or network I've tried
- Greatly improved network connectivity at a few hotels I have had WiFi "issues" with
- Uses little space on the wall and leaves outlet above open to be used
- Tiny, uses little space and can keep it in a laptop bag or suitcase and it's barely noticeable
Cons: None really, except if the A/C socket is kind of loose, it will fall out of the wall, but that isn't really the devices fault.
Other Thoughts: I am not really understanding all the negative reviews, I had no issues with this product and every application I used it for it worked flawlessly... I am a VoIP network technician and stay in hotels a lot, probably 150 nights/year, and when my WiFi connection is poor, so my primary use of it is as a WiFi client and then connect my laptop via Ethernet to the device, it works perfectly in every instance. I use Linux on my laptop and for some reason my Intel 6235 WiFi adapter works poorly on some networks under Linux, but fine on most, unfortunately one of these that has poor performance is one of the hotels I spend 80+ nights a year in. I now connect this to the wall, connect it as a WiFi client, then plug my laptop into the ethernet port and it works great. I have even connected a small switch behind it and that works with no issues. I haven't had the best luck with a couple TP-Link products in the past, but this is one of the best $5 investments I have ever made.
Reviewed By:Steven S.,6/30/2016 6:38:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming (EA9500)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Linksys MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router: Great option if you can afford it
Pros: A 1.4 GHz dual-core onboard processor
Tri-band wireless with two 5Ghz bands
Eight external antennae that stay put when you've positioned them unlike others that tend to droop after a short time.
Eight Gigabit ports, a USB 3.0, and a USB 2.0 port
Beam-forming and MU-MIMO 5Ghz technology. Though MUM-MIMO only works with other compatible devices
Smart WiFi app allows for remote access to connected devices
A 3 Year warranty from Linksys
Cons: Finding a good spot for this huge router was the only real "con" for me. Has no screw holes for horizontal desk mounting or vertical wall mounting. It is heavy enough to keep it's positioning against light contact but will move and maybe slightly alter your antennae positioning when bumped.

Some may consider the price a con but if you are in need of this type of device then this one is worth the price you are paying.
Other Thoughts: The pros far outweigh the cons. The only cons I have even encountered are all aesthetic. The Max-Stream AC5400 delivers some of the best quality available to home users, though you are definitely paying for it.

4GB video file transfer from a USB 3.0 external drive averaged:
93 Mbps using 2.4Ghz and 259 Mbps using 5Ghz
Reviewed By:Marcus A.,6/29/2016 5:40:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stellar performance, if you're willing to pay
Pros: - Great coverage even in 5ghz band
- Consistently great speeds across network
- Some excellent features for home networking, OpenVPN, DDNS, USB for storage
- Straightforward interface with relatively easy setup.
Cons: - Requirers different SSIDs for 2.4ghz and 5ghz radios, depends on your preference if that's a con
- Can't change username for administration, which is a usual security measure I prefer
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you're willing to pay the price, this is a great router. Some stellar performance in the few weeks I've been using it. I can consistently achieve the max speeds from my ISP in speed tests on wireless. My cons are mostly preferences. I haven't had time/need to use some of the more in-depth features, but I'm glad they are there, assuming it doesn't die on me, this router will last me a long time.

Note: While these are my unbiased opinions, i did receive this product free from Netgear as part of a review and test program.
Reviewed By:Zack B.,6/28/2016 8:59:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-751DR N600 Dual Band Wireless Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 junk does not work ! trend will replace if i pay $12 shipping. in the trash it goes. never buy trend again! NEVER
Pros: looks like good deal
Cons: junk does not work ! trend will replace if i pay $12 shipping. in the trash it goes. never buy trend again! NEVER
Other Thoughts: junk does not work ! trend will replace if i pay $12 shipping. in the trash it goes. never buy trend again! NEVER
Reviewed By:Mr. m.,6/28/2016 12:21:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C9 Wireless AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Improvement over my old setup.
Pros: It has great range. I had a TP-LINK that died after two years. It was old and only Dual N so it was time for an upgrade. I decided to replace it with this. the router is in the basement. I never could get any signal in my upstairs bedroom with the old router. The new router has amazing range. I get full bars in that room now. Its been nice to have that boost. The setup was easy. I am using DSL for now. I set it up the modem as transparent bridge, setup the router for PPPoE and input my username and password and I'm running. Less than five minutes. I like the USB ports. I have an USB 3.0 hard drive attached. Its great for a little online network storage.
Cons: You can't wall mount it, least not easily, and not flush. The network ports are on the back in a way which would make it more difficult. It has be sat up on a desk or shelf for the most part. I also think the two usb ports should be placed together. I don't know why one is on the side and one is on the back. It makes it awkward for cable management.
Other Thoughts: I would buy it again. I'm happy with the range and the features. I would like to see a wall mount version of this with better port management and lay out. All in all though, I'm satisfied with it.
Reviewed By:Justin B.,6/28/2016 7:36:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I have a new favorite Router.. I feel like such a traitor to my previous one!!
Pros: 1.) I have a greater coverage area with this device. Chalk it up to the extra antenna, the new chipset, or whatever you like. This thing has probably added 30% to my range.. But more importantly, the areas where I had weaker signal, before, I now have extremely strong signal.

2.) This router doesn’t seem to need to ‘ramp up’ to get to it’s max wireless speeds… it still tops out at the max my ISP provisions me for, obviously, but instead of it taking 10-15seconds to get there.. It pretty much charges out of the gate at full speed.

3.) Storage performance. Ok, so I’m going to admit, I normally don’t care about attached storage speed to routers, instead I recommend people just just BUY a NAS if they want to have storage on their network. I’m not sure if it’s just this device, or what, but I’m starting to reconsider that functionality on routers. Obviously, you really can’t compare the speeds to a full blown NAS, but the performance is ‘Good enough’ to mention it to friends and family.

4.) Stability has been rock solid. If there’s 1 thing I’ve noticed over the last few years, is that I haven’t been able to find a router that can keep multiple weeks of uptime, much less a year…. So far, the 7800 is promising, in that it’s not rebooted on me since I installed it (after the initial firmware update, obviously).. And even more impressively, I’ve not lost wireless connectivity on my 3 ‘monitor’ devices since I installed this router… THAT shocks the heck outta me.

5.) Now.. one thing I’ve discovered, that I find somewhat curious, is the inclusion of a BitTorrent downloader.. Simply called: Netgear Downloader” Built into the router. I assume this is a variant of the transmission client.. And I find it’s inclusion VERY cool. Beyond a few tests, I’ve not used it a whole lot (I’m not really a BT guy, but I know there ARE a bunch of people out there that are… so give it a shot :)

6..) There’s a whole slew of other additions much of what you’ve come to expect from a consumer level router: Parental controls, QoS, WDS, Guest Networks, ReadyShare, ReadyCloud, printer connectivity..

7.) But there’s also some other things a lot of your current mainstream consumer routers still leave out.. Like ipv6 support, STATIC ROUTING, the ability to turn on repeater/bridge/ap modes…
Cons: So what’s the downside? I’m still not a fan of the ‘Genie’ applications that Netgear tries to convince you to use. I understand they’re designed to help the novice users setup and configure their devices.. But that whole thing about giving a man to fish vs teaching him to fish… I can’t help but think it’d be better for the consumer to learn more about how the technology works, vs just making everything overly simplistic…. *Shrug*
Other Thoughts: Full Review:

For the longest time, I’ve been trying to find something better than my current champion device, the Netgear R7000. I’ve recommended it to friends, family, co-workers, clients, and pretty much any stranger I run into on the street… but no matter what, I’m always looking for bigger, better, faster.. Something that makes me look at it with a giant grin, the way I’ve not had since I first encountered the R7000.

A sad day, however, has arrived. Enter probably the best example of what a ‘sequel’ to a piece of technology should be… the Netgear R7800 ‘Nighthawk x4s”... Which is quite a mouthful.

I could spend all day/night telling you the technical ins and outs of this router, but you’ve likely already read that. What you want to know, is real world performance, and in this case, I’m going to be comparing it, directly, to my R7000 series router...Which is actually running DD-WRT at the moment, that makes it an even steeper hill to climb.

For reference, I live in an approximately 1800sq ft home, constructed from mostly wood and drywall. I live in a semi-congested area, as pretty much all of my neighbors are heavily wireless. Right now, my current R7000 covers most of my home without problem, but there are some weak spots. Other than that, when you get to the back end of the house, and then into the backyard and woods behind, the signal degrades quickly. At the far end of the property, we have no signal.

Enter the R7800. I installed this device approximately 2 weeks ago, and I’ve been putting it through it’s paces… So how does it work?

Here’s some things I’ve noticed:

1.) I have a greater coverage area with this device. Chalk it up to the extra antenna, the new chipset, or whatever you like. This thing has probably added 30% to my range.. But more importantly, the areas where I had weaker signal, before, I now have extremely strong signal.

2.) This router doesn’t seem to need to ‘ramp up’ to get to it’s max wireless speeds… it still tops out at the max my ISP provisions me for, obviously, but instead of it taking 10-15seconds to get there.. It pretty much charges out of the gate at full speed.

3.) Storage performance. Ok, so I’m going to admit, I normally don’t care about attached storage speed to routers, instead I recommend people just just BUY a NAS if they want to have storage on their network. I’m not sure if it’s just this device, or what, but I’m starting to reconsider that functionality on routers. Obviously, you really can’t compare the speeds to a full blown NAS, but the performance is ‘Good enough’ to mention it to friends and family.

4.) Stability has been rock solid. If there’s 1 thing I’ve noticed over the last few years, is that I haven’t been able to find a router that can keep multiple weeks of uptime, much less a year…. So far, the 7800 is promising, in that it’s not rebooted on me since I installed it (after the initial firmware update, obviously).. And even more impressively, I’ve not lost wireless connectivity on my 3 ‘monitor’ devices since I installed this router… THAT shocks the heck outta me.

5.) Now.. one thing I’ve discovered, that I find somewhat curious, is the inclusion of a BitTorrent downloader.. Simply called: Netgear Downloader” Built into the router. I assume this is a variant of the transmission client.. And I find it’s inclusion VERY cool. Beyond a few tests, I’ve not used it a whole lot (I’m not really a BT guy, but I know there ARE a bunch of people out there that are… so give it a shot :)

6..) There’s a whole slew of other additions much of what you’ve come to expect from a consumer level router: Parental controls, QoS, WDS, Guest Networks, ReadyShare, ReadyCloud, printer connectivity..

7.) But there’s also some other things a lot of your current mainstream consumer routers still leave out.. Like ipv6 support, STATIC ROUTING, the ability to turn on repeater/bridge/ap modes…

So what’s the downside? I’m still not a fan of the ‘Genie’ applications that Netgear tries to convince you to use. I understand they’re designed to help the novice users setup and configure their devices.. But that whole thing about giving a man to fish vs teaching him to fish… I can’t help but think it’d be better for the consumer to learn more about how the technology works, vs just making everything overly simplistic…. *Shrug*

All in all, I’m happier with this device than I thought I would be, and I’m glad to say it has made it’s way to being my primary router, right now… Now all I have to do, is find a use for my old R7000… perhaps I’ll donate it to a friend that still needs to replace something their ISP provided them :)

FULL TRANSPARENCY: I received this router from Netgear, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.
Reviewed By:Shawn M.,6/27/2016 8:52:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.