Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far it is a good router
Pros: 1. Good price with the promotion code.
2. Well built and feature rich software.
3. Strong range on 2.4Ghz but average on 5 Ghz.
Cons: 1. Average on 5 Ghz.
Other Thoughts: I am a Cisco network engineer and work with network equipment all the time. I like this router. Not only it looks great but it also working good so far. I updated the latest firmware right after I received the router from Newegg. So far it did not drop any connectivity, either 2.4G or 5G. I will leave it run for couple months before I would install open source software. I will give update on this review.
Reviewed By:oboy,5/4/2015 12:54:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: bad Ethernet cable, but otherwise works great, and is compatible with my ChromeCast
Cons: bad Ethernet cable, but I had a spare
Reviewed By:MikeV,5/4/2015 12:04:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Router!
Pros: Extensive stock feature set, good range, easy setup.
Cons: Need to have done research before installation and setup. Needs a couple of settings changed from default to work well.
Other Thoughts: This router replaced a Linksys WRT1900AC. The Linky was constantly dropping connections and spontaneously rebooting. The Asus has been rock-solid so far...stable and reliable, even under heavy load (multiple HD video streams and gaming). Two important things to note, as some others have said...the Smart Connect implementation is new and not really production environment stable at this point. I turned it off and manually assigned clients to radios. Also, set network key rotation time to 0 instead of the default 3600 seconds, or clients will momentarily disconnect every hour when the key changes. Setting key rotation to 0 disables the feature and the client disconnects. With these two changes, I currently have 45 connected devices, stable and fast connections. In a large house, I also have excellent range...even on the 5Ghz bands. So far, I am very impressed with my Asus RT-AC3200 router.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 8:03:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-890L/R Wireless AC3200 Ultra Tri-Band Gigabit Router, AC Smartbeam technology

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not for Advanced Users
Pros: Simple Interface and set up for the average user. Smart Connect seems to work.
Cons: The interface for this router is very simple and does not allow for advanced configurations. You can not add by mac or ip address. The only way to even manipulate a device is for the router to see it first and then you can add it to preferred. You can't adjust bandwidth for different devices
Other Thoughts: I like the look and specs of the router but I want to be able to go into it and do some advance configurations and set up my network how I want it. This is fine for someone who wants to run the wizard and run with the defaults, but for advanced users I would not recommend this router.
Reviewed By:Tech,5/4/2015 7:22:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid router
Pros: Fast and reliable, this router is awesome. Great range, far better connectivity over my last Netgear router.
Cons: This refurbished unit has the serial number blacked out. I fail to understand why they would do this. Nevertheless that doesn't effect it's functionality. I just hope I don't need any support anytime soon.
Other Thoughts: It's always a roll of the dice with refurbs, but if you get a good one it's well worth the discounted price. I guess I got lucky, because I love this router.
Reviewed By:Nighthawk,5/4/2015 7:05:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WXR-1900DHP AirStation Extreme AC 1900 Gigabit Dual Band Wireless Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Connected
Pros: Price of this router was one reason I purchased it. The quality of Buffalo routers and their warranty rounds out the top 3. Has no compatibility issues with my internet providers modem. Easy to connect and setup.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is my second Buffalo router. Wanted to upgrade to an AC model. Buffalo is the only company that has warranty that they stand by for years not just 90 days. Great products!
Reviewed By:Sanaci,5/4/2015 6:42:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR AC1750 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Router R6300-NAS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 When they work they work...
Pros: This is a very fast and powerful consumer/home router.
And when it worked it gave great performance, having a supped up NAS on hand I was able to peak my LAN loads to the 1Gbps limits on several machines.
Cons: I have had this thing for almost a year (probably on-line and operational for about 310-320 days), and it has failed. The LAN and WLAN network portion of this router is still functional, but it does not seem to recognized or communicate with anything that is plugged into the “internet” port.
Over the course of the year that I have owned this I have had lots of lockups and internet connection drops with this router, most of which were easily fixed by restarting or cold-starting the router. I have tired several firmware updates, however none seemed to fix the problems of dropping the internet connection.

I have given Netgear a good try over the past three years, and have gone through three different routers (all three were different models), each router only lasted about a year before failing. I am not all impressed over their reliability or quality.
Other Thoughts: I think some of the problems could be related to heat. I had installed a 40mm fan inside the router (when I noticed it was getting rather warm) to draw air onto the CPU and that seemed to slow down the frequency of internet connection drops from 1-3 times a day to 3-5 times a week. Drops seemed to be inconsistent with internet/local network traffic loads.
Reviewed By:Nova2,5/3/2015 11:21:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C5 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5Ghz 867Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Consistent, Reliable, and Solid
Pros: Packaging – Recyclable materials used, except for the shrink wrap.
• Setup – Easy to configure the most basic of settings. Out of the box, plug-in and go. Easy. The included quick-start guide contains images and text that is clear and in perfect, grammatically correct English that makes sense. Kudos on the instructions.
• Range – Range is great, not exceptional, but great. 2G and 5G signal strength is respectable and better than comparable leading router brands.
• Speed – File transfer speed is great when connected via g/n/ac. Web pages load quickly and without error.
• LED indicators are bright (blinking at times) and useful. Better than the average solid green/red led lights that you see on most routers. Well done.
• Storage sharing is automatic and easy to use via Windows PCs
• Media Server is easy to use and the throughput is quite good. Accessible via Android, iPhone, Windows
• Connections are solid and aren’t randomly dropped. After 2 months of use, I had to reset it ONCE. I can't say that about other routers.
• 2 year warranty is good and the support is relatively responsive.
• Ethernet throughput is as expected.
Cons: Power supply transformer is huge and could take up not just two, but three plugs on a power-strip. Very poor design.
• Design is not made with saving space in mind. You must orient it on a flat surface.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it’s a good device with many bells and whistles that other leading routers do not offer. As a home office user with 12 computers and another dozen devices (phones, tablets, gaming,etc.) it’s imperative that everything is able to get a signal that is strong, consistent, and fast. This router meets those requirements.
• I could knock this device for the design, but I’ll leave that up to the buyer who should know full well that it isn’t going to do you any favors in the space saving department.
• There is an included resource id that one can use for the router setup. This is only included if you cannot connect to the router directly via Ethernet or Wi-Fi. I don’t see the point in providing the CD, but TP-Link is covering all the bases.
• Two USB ports for media sharing, local storage sharing, and printer sharing. It’s USB 2.0, and not 3.0, which is in the better router in the Archer series 1750. Regardless, having two USB ports is handy when you want to setup a shared printer AND a media server.
Reviewed By:Tim In PA,5/3/2015 1:46:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router R4500-Factory Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Buyer Beware
Pros: Fast internet
Cons: Not what you think you're getting. This is NOT the WNDR4500. It is the big box store, discount knock off R4500. That means no firmware updates, and no Apple compatibility. On top of that it's a refurb, at the same price as the refurb WNDR4500 mind you, which means only 30 days of support from Netgear.
Other Thoughts: I'm just disgusted. If you don't really, really, really do your homework this will bite you. If you need TimeMachine compatibility or other cloud compatibility look elsewhere.
Reviewed By:Mike,5/3/2015 12:53:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > Netis WF2416 Wireless N150 Pocket Size Traveler AP Router Repeater with Wall Plug

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Wifi at last
Pros: Compact. Easy to configure. The AP worked seamlessly with my existing electrical outlet network. Enabled full 25/10 wifi network within 5 minutes. Now back of house and patio has strong wifi. Good sale price.
Cons: Gets warm.
Reviewed By:Mrburns,5/2/2015 6:36:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.