Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1200AC Wireless AC1200 Dual-Band and Wi-Fi Wireless Router with Gigabit and USB 3.0 Ports and eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stable, solid coverage
Pros: I experienced noticeably better wireless coverage than previous routers, even other Linksys models. It's got all the usual bells and whistles of a modern router - and the ability to run open source software is a huge plus to those looking for the most out of their router.

Speed is very good: Gigabit Ethernet and AC wireless running on some technically impressive hardware.
Cons: All cons were minor.

The apps are kind of lame. This router is also fairly chunky, and so is the power cord's plug. The built-in speed test didn't seem to work for me. I wasn't a fan of the new fancy interface, it wasn't as intuitive as previous Linksys interfaces I've used.
Other Thoughts: This is a great home router, especially for powerusers who want to install open source firmware.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 3:36:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6250-100NAS Wireless AC1600 Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty out of the box
Pros: Lan Ports Worked
Cons: Terrible Range
Awful speeds
Connection Drops
Other Thoughts: Having switched from a $40 router, when I first connected the R6250 the first thing I tested is the signal strength and range. I have a 50mbps down 25mbps up Optimum Online connection. The first test was performed 5 feet away from the router with a cheap $400 ASUS laptop. I was surprised to see that I was only receiving 50 percent signal strength. From 15 feet away line of sight I was only getting 35-40percent signal strength. 30 feet away through a thin wall the connection was unusable.On top of that when I performed a speed test 2 feet away from the router my max speed was about 3mbps. At this point I wasn't too worried as I had not configured any settings. I contacted NETGEAR just in case and they gave me a few tips on how to change and optimize the settings. After I did this I was looking at no improvement to the signal strength but improvements in speed up to 10mbps of my 50mbps. After a few exchanges with NETGEAR they told me to send it into Newegg to exchange it for a new one. I just returned it and got my money back.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 8:04:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87R Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Was apprehensive about refurbished, glad I was wrong!
Pros: Highest quality
Fantastic range and throughput
5Ghz wireless dropping issue was resolved via firmware recently
Over 200Mbps wireless throughput when only AC devices are communicating on the wireless network
Cons: UBS port in the front
Slightly large and space consuming
Other Thoughts: Was a little concerned about buying refurbished as I typically never buy such products. Already a reduced price with a coupon code knocked the price down significantly enough to lure me to purchase it. I was in a desperate need for a new router as my current router took a dive after a bad firmware update. As usual with Asus wireless products, the setup went extremely smooth and I was able to get this thing running in minutes. Was able to fine tune the wireless performance using the professional tab to achieve ridiculous throughput I didn't think was possible.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 6:04:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87R Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works out of the box.
Pros: This was purchased to replace an ASUS RT-AC56U. Quite an improvement from the previous version owned. It was finicky at first upon initial setup. Once configured, works well. Range is excellent. Setup is easy. Great GUI.
Cons: Runs rather hot to the touch, but this is the norm for all routers owned in the past. Can you guys please redesign these routers with built in fans/coolers? Looks odd having to place it on top of a usb laptop fan.
Other Thoughts: ASUS makes great products, I still have my ASUS CG5270 desktop computer running great. Added an SSD to improve speed.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 9:53:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-818DRU AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Router, DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great WiFi Router
Pros: Easy to install and make functional. Once available, each laptop, printer, DVR and cell phone sync'd up without any issues. Download speeds were verified as being very close to direct wire connection to the laptops. Easiest WiFi router to installed in my experience.
Cons: None whatsoever.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 6:05:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-811DRU AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Router- 4 Gigabit port,Broadcom Chipset , DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 "Broke" in a week, but fixed by upgrade
Pros: It was a bargain, easy setup, and very fast. So, so range.
Cons: It "died" within a week. It was running maximum 40-45kbps over the internet, but it was running normal speed between the LAN/WLAN connection. So, the hub/router function was fine but something was wrong with the WAN interface, it was super slow. It was even slow on the router's own admin interface, loading pages very very slow and giving errors (problem with request).

So, I upgraded from the original firmware of 1.0.2.0 to 1.0.4.0 to 1.0.6.x and those did not help, but 1.0.8.0 worked. It is now full speed.

The range looks the same but I need to test some more. Also disabling the 2.4 radio seems to have a little.
Other Thoughts: If you have the same problem, where the DL speed from internet is around 40Kbps, try the 1.0.8.0 firmware.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 3:43:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT1200AC Wireless AC1200 Dual-Band and Wi-Fi Wireless Router with Gigabit and USB 3.0 Ports and eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router!
Pros: An excellent router with a plethora of options to fit most any needs.. Wifi connections are fast, reliable, and it looks great. One of the best routers out there for the price, and the open source firmware just takes it to another level.
Cons: No real cons, though I would like to see better
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best routers I've had the pleasure of owning. It is replacing the Netgear Nighthawk, which is a great router in it's own right, however the Nighthawk had a tendency to drop wifi connections, and reboot itself at random.

With the WRT1200AC, connections have been stable for a week without a single drop or reboot. It isn't as fast as the WRT1900AC, but I am consistently seeing speeds at the higher end of the 1200 AC spectrum - plenty fast for streaming HD video flawlessly. Range is also very good! I'm actually getting a bit better range than the Netgear Nighthawk! Even in the backyard, I never drop below 3 out of 5 bars, and the connection remains stable.

The USB 3.0, and eSATA port provide the perfect option to stream audio/video from an external drive, or use an external hard drive to give your WRT1200AC basic NAS functionality.

Setup is extremely easy, with every setting grouped together appropriately, and clearly labeled so that everything is very easy to understand. The interface itself is very nice.

The alternative open source firmware really adds a new dimension of configurability to this router, and if the default firmware does not meet your needs, it certainly will.

All in all, I am very happy with this router, and consider it a must-have for anyone looking for a faster, or just more stable, wifi solution.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 3:06:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6200 Wireless AC 1200 Dual Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router IEEE 802.11 ac/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst router ever
Pros: Got my full 126Mbps for the few minutes the Wi-Fi worked.
Cons: JUNK! I've had it less than 24 hours and all I have done is fight to keep it connected to the internet and fight to keep the Wi-Fi working properly. Netgear will not take phone calls or live chat without a serial number which is blacked out even though I'm supposed to have 90 days support. Now it will not connect to internet at all no matter what I do so I'm returning it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 1:17:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-811DRU AC1200 Dual Band Wireless Router- 4 Gigabit port,Broadcom Chipset , DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 bad WAN port
Pros: Small size
Cons: Bad WAN port. Unable to test any further.
Other Thoughts: Disconnected my old working router and connected the TEW-811DRU. Configured the router using the wizard. The router was broadcasting the two bands but was not connecting to the cable modem. Troubleshooting with TWC and they could never detect any activity while the TRENDnet router was connected. Reconnected my old router and everything worked as before. Returning for a refund. QA/QC of routers being sold these days is terrible.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 8:42:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNR3500L-100NAS 802.11b/g/n RangeMax Wireless-N Gigabit router up to 300Mbps/ DD-WRT Open Source support/ USB x1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just as expected
Pros: Gigabit Ethernet
Compact Size
Wireless capable
Cons: Defaults to 145mbps (wireless)
Not Dual Band (you did read it wasn't right?)
Other Thoughts: I've had the chance to stay around and go through 2 different setups by roommates. 1st person had their own router (or router-modem?) and using wireless I've never experienced (gaming) lag like this before (from a private connection.)

2nd roommate used the ISPs Router-Modem (and had faster internet speeds) and while the situation improved a bit, still not quite up to when I used ethernet.

By myself with this router, TV & Laptop connected by ethernet (CAT5, CAT7 respectively), Wii U wireless all I can say is awesome. Either you need ethernet for reliable gaming connection or NETGEAR is yet to disappoint. Works better than 5Ghz and is an overall pleasant experience. You should also take the time to change passphrases and work with the utilities to prevent unwanted guests from logging in/using your wireless router.

Even though we're moving to a wire-free, more mobile world, ethernet/wired connections are still the way to go for performance/reliability (similar to desktop vs laptop.)
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 7:10:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.