Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > Corsair > Corsair MM600 CH-9000084-WW Double-Sided Gaming Mouse Mat

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, Not Great or premium.
Pros: Aluminum with plastic vinyl-like surfaces means it should last nearly forever.

The plastic is relatively scratch and marring resistant. I scratched it with my fingernail and mouse in all normal manners and it resisted quite well with no apparent markings. I also rubbed my metal watch across it while on my wrist in and again no markings but I wouldn't suggest it as being fool-proof with a metal watch. So this mat shouldn't turn ugly anytime soon.

Fairly fingerprint/oil resistant. It'll definitely show up on the mat but it's not a magnet for it and it's not extremely noticeable.

Sturdy enough to be used on a soft surface like a couch or carpet, rubber pads aren't terribly lint attractive and on a soft surface this is about the only place it makes sense to have a HUGE mat. A dinner plate can fit on it for crying out loud...
Cons: Aluminum is a great way to make your hand and arm quite cold in the middle of winter. I guess it will be a nice trade off in summer, but it is definitely quite annoying if you keep your house somewhat cool (mine is at 68F) and it's something I wouldn't have even thought of being an annoyance until I experienced it. If your arm gets particularly warm this can also cause condensation


The price is borderline ridiculous, there's barely any machining done on the aluminum to warrant the high MSRP (And the grade of aluminum does not matter in this application), and there are also no fine details and touches included with this mat to make it feel premium besides being a slab of aluminum with plastic glued on, albeit well glued on. I normally don't like using pricing as a con, especially since it may change, but it's so egregious here that it must take the rating down since this is as barebones as you get for making a "premium" mat.

The plastic mat is well mated onto the aluminum block but it isn't recessed. This is the biggest fault and a critical fault at that. Because it isn't recessed this mat is very prone to damage from snags, like putting it in storage or to the side, or just from using your mouse. Either your mouse feet will get damaged over time or the pad may eventually chip or separate. Since I've had other pads and mats that actually do take the time to recess the mouse surface, this is the biggest con for me.

One might say avoid the edges but we all know that doesn't always happen, regardless of size. It would have been a simple machining task, especially for the price-point here, to make it so the plastic would nearly perfectly nest within the aluminum. So instead of having a premium, wonderful product we're left with something that feels and looks like a hobbyist pad, albeit higher end hobbyist.


Dual sided but it honestly offers little real difference in pointer control, just a tactile difference from the vibrations of moving the mouse. I tested an optical, laser and even ball mouse and they all tracked the same regardless of sensitivity settings, rates, etc. on both sides. YMMV here for sure, though.


A minor quibble but the packaging is downright annoying. It's put in a plastic shell that's all taped up and a pain to remove from without a knife. After all, how much protection does a metal mat need when graphics cards are often shipped in only cardboard containers?
Other Thoughts: This mouse mat is huge to a fault. I don't consider it a con since, well, if you can read the product page you know how large this will be but it's also worth noting how impractical it is to have a mat this large. It makes little sense as even when I used it for 3D modeling I didn't come close to needing even half the surface. So it's a bit annoying but at least you know what you're getting into before purchase.

Overall, despite being critical of the finer details this is a mat worth considering but I'd be extremely cautious at paying full retail for it as there is absolutely no craftsmanship put into it or premium touches to make it worth it compared to other mats.

If you want a no frills, seemingly sturdy and austere mat, this should fit the bill quite nicely for you.
Reviewed By:MJ,1/26/2015 4:57:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > Perixx > Perixx DX-3000LA, Gaming Aluminium Mouse Pad - 12.60"x10.60"x0.08" Dimension - Non-slip Rubber base - Micro Sand Blasting Aluminium Surface with Fast and Accurate Control

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 not good
Pros: great tacking surface at first and rubber grips very well had 0 movment when using it.
Cons: surface started to flake off after a month of use. also would leave a black residue from my mouse that I would have to clean off daily almost. I would recommended looking elsewhere for a hard mouse mat.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 10:31:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > ROCCAT > ROCCAT ROC-15-315-AM Apuri Active USB-Hub with Mouse Bungee

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not Needed, but Nice to Have
Pros: Gets the cord off the table. (You don't know what you are missing until you get the cord off the table from dragging around.)
USB hub.
Nice Blue Glow
Cons: Really not needed.
Other Thoughts: Got one of these due to a price drop, and thought, "Why not?" I'm glad I did buy it and it works great. It really helps smooth out mouse movement like a wireless mouse with no lag or worry of changing the batteries. However, if it was a bit more I wouldn't recommend it. It's very nice to have, but not a must have. If you have the extra cash you won't miss, then I say but it. If you won't be able to pay the bills if you bought one, you aren't missing much of anything.
Reviewed By:Jason E.,1/26/2015 5:24:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill RIMP-11001 Memory Foam Mouse Pad w/ Wrist Rest

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK, but issues
Pros: It's a mouse pad with a wrist rest. The wrist rest is a bit firmer than a gel pad. If this is OK, it's a good pad.
Cons: The pad and its bag have a strong sweet chemical odor. I wonder what it is, but it will probably dissipate in time (into the air I breathe.)
Reviewed By:Larry,1/25/2015 9:03:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > Kensington > Kensington Wrist Pillow L22801US Keyboard Wrist Rest - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great wristrest
Pros: Works great! Wide enough to also give you a rest when you're on the numberpad.
Cons: I wish it had a heavier rubber nonslip surface on the bottom, but as it is, it works well enough.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/24/2015 11:39:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > Corsair > Corsair MM600 CH-9000084-WW Double-Sided Gaming Mouse Mat

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice change from cloth
Pros: 3mm aircraft-grade aluminum
Extremely durable
One side for control
One side for speed
Good size
Non-slip rubber corners
Worked with optical and laser sensors.
Very stable on my desktop
Easy to clean
Cons: Takes time to get used to if coming from cloth mat
Could be considered expensive
Other Thoughts: This is an incredibly well built mouse mat. I was unsure if I would actually like it as previous hard mats have left me nonplused.

Currently I use 2 mice, the Cougar M600 (laser) and the Razer Deathadder (optical), with a dpi of 2000, so having a controllable surface for fine movement while gaming or editing images is essential.

The control side of this board was perfect with my Deathadder and slightly too fast still for the Cougar M600, the speed side was way too fast for me but will be ideal for a low dpi player.

All in all I am impressed, it has taken me a few days to finally get used to the control side with both mice and I can’t see me going back to my cloth mat anytime soon.
The build quality of this mat is superb and compared to the price of some cloth mats I have purchased recently; it’s not that expensive and will last a heck of a lot longer than any cloth mat.

Recommended.
Reviewed By:Footman,1/24/2015 8:29:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > RAZER > Razer Goliathus Large CONTROL Soft Gaming Mouse Mat

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this thing
Pros: Perfect size.
Nice texture.
Doesn't wear as quickly as hard mats.
Nice graphic on the face.
Cons: None that I've encountered so far.
Other Thoughts: This mouse mat is great for those games where you might use lowered sensitivity mouse settings (and some games where SHOULD be). With lower sensitivities, it requires you to move your hand/arm much further, but also provides you more precision and control; this mat provides you with a large coverage area, so you don't run out of trackable space. It also seems more resistant to friction wear areas, similar to what I had with the Razer Vespula. Those wear spots made the mouse lose tracking... The Golaithus is also a great upgrade from the common-use mouse pads that are about the size of your hand. There just is not enough space to move your hand for gaming, without jacking your mouse sensitivities through the roof, which "can" degrade precision.

I love this mouse mat, and recommend it to anyone in the market for a mouse mat that will complement their improving gaming style, espcially First-Person Shooters. It will not make you a better player, but will provide you with a tool to adjust your style in other areas that could lead

All that being said, this is the first and only large soft gaming mat I have used, so there may be other options out there. However, I have had nothing but a great experience with this mat, which I can't say for my previous Razer Vespula.
Reviewed By:Pokebreaker,1/23/2015 4:13:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > RAZER > Razer Goliathus Small CONTROL Soft Gaming Mouse Mat

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gaming Mouse Mat - love it
Pros: well, It's nice,
Nice colors and feelings
Not slippery
Over all it's excellent buy
Cons: no
Other Thoughts: no
Reviewed By:N/A,1/23/2015 9:28:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > RAZER > Razer Goliathus Medium CONTROL Soft Gaming Mouse Mat

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best Mouse Pad
Pros: High quality
Some friction but does not feel like sand paper
Not oversized and not super thick.
Cons: Does move a little bit on my ''ikea desk''
Other Thoughts: .
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 1:10:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mouse Pads & Accessories > XTrac > XTRAC PADS Ripper Optical Mouse pad

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good enough
Pros: This gaming pad has been quite good- no material seperation, very low debris/gunk retention, nice and slick. I've had no issue with either of my two mice tracking. It's large and offers ample space to tuck the edges under tower or keyboard, or operate with a deep portrait-style layout. Economical too!
Cons: Not as much padding as traditional mouse pads so some may find it less comfortable if not used to it. I've had no problems though
Other Thoughts: If you're looking to move from a traditional pad to a gaming pad to try it out, you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/22/2015 12:08:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.