Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus 5400.6 ST9320325AS 320GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died after just a month
Pros: None, we don't recommend buying from this seller
Cons: Hard drive died just after 1 month and half. We won't be buying anymore refurbs from here. We tried emailing, phone and no response. Bad customer service.
Other Thoughts: Don't purchase any refurbished hard drive's from this seller. It seems they don't check their drives before shipping.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/10/2016 10:52:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent PS4 expansion drive so far
Pros: Fits perfectly into the PS4 and runs more quickly and more quietly than the original drive. It was a great deal on sale as well.
Cons: No complaints at this time; if it lasts a couple of years I'll be completely happy with it.
Reviewed By:Janelle G.,2/9/2016 5:49:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 huge capacity, quiet
Pros: Works will in a Vantec NewxStar CX case. I have 2 plugged in to a Beebox N3000, and they don't draw too much power.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Alan B.,2/9/2016 7:47:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Faster than expect. Solid as I need it.
Pros: - Faster sequential transfer speeds than I'd expected. Moving files to and from my SSD and this slower spinner is relatively quicker than I'd expected overall. I've had transfer speeds peak 100MB/s for a few seconds before dropping down to the 40-70MB/s area.
- Lots of cheap space.
Cons: - Random read speed isn't that fast. But that's kind of to be expected with a 5400 RPM drive.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm very happy with this. I bought two by mistake, but ended up keeping both. One I put in my Aorus X7 as a good reliable spinner, and the other I used for backup and, eventually, as a main drive for a linux box.

All in all, this would be a decent drive for anyone looking for a drive that would be slightly faster than most stock 5400 RPM drives. 2TB doesn't hurt either.
Reviewed By:Matthew K.,2/8/2016 2:05:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM000 500GB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great item, easy to install
Pros: Excellent shipping and better packing, very good price
Cons: None
Reviewed By:guillermo s.,2/7/2016 8:35:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great in a desktop
Pros: I have an HP desktop that's a couple years old, kind of strange, the second hard drive bay is for a 2.5 inch drive, not a 3.5 inch (the primary hard drive bay is a standard 3.5 inch bay). I wanted a second hard drive for back up and bought this one. I've been using it for 8 months now, no noise or other problems.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: If you have a desktop that like mine that doesn't have two 3.5 inch hard drive bays, but a 2.5 inch bay for a second hard drive, consider buying this drive. It's been working good for me.
Reviewed By:Stephen T.,2/6/2016 12:45:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 500GB Performance Laptop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 32MB Cache 2.5" - WD5000LPLX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as a replacement drive for Xbox One
Pros: My Xbox One's hard drive was slowly dying so I cloned the current drive with this one using Clonezilla.
Works perfectly and there's a noticeable decrease in loading and boot-up time and the lag I previously had while browsing the Home Menu is gone.
Took about 2 hours to clone.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This drive replaced a WD Blue 2.5.
Reviewed By:Clinton E.,2/6/2016 9:18:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD1600BEKX 160GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Few Months use...
Pros: - good price
Cons: - Failed after 6 months
Other Thoughts: Bought the drive 08/2015, and just failed first day of 02/2016... every other WD drive lasted years...
Was used in a home-built firewall as a simple boot device.
This is the last time I get cheap and purchase a "refurbished" hard drive
Reviewed By:Nick E.,2/4/2016 11:11:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product. Once appropriately installed, it works flawlessly.
Pros: Works faster than the previous drive. Nice to have the hard drive space.
Cons: Seagate installation software was cumbersome and ineffectual when cloning a hard drive from an HP Elitebook 8540w.
Other Thoughts: Installed on an Elitebook 8540w. Seagate DiscWizard was unable to properly clone hard drives with the necessary partition sizes...at least beyond my own abilities or time. Did myself a favor and used the software that came with an Apricorn SATA wire 3.0 (EZ Gig IV Cloning software). It worked like a charm, seamlessly.
Reviewed By:Darin B.,2/4/2016 9:34:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Game Drive for PlayStation STBD1000101 1TB SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Retail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Faster load times may not be worth the cost
Pros: This drive is a nice upgrade for the Playstation4. The SSD component of the drive does make game loading times faster. The hard drive installed easily. The drive was a drop in replacement. No modifications are necessary. Pop the back off the PS4, remove a screw to remove the drive caddy and then remove a couple of screws that hold the drive in the caddy. Reverse the process to install the hybrid drive. The load times were reduced 10-30 seconds per game. The hybrid drive itself controls where games are loaded and stored. When you first install a game, the game will be loaded to the spinning hard drive platters. The hybrid drive will then determine what content is moved to the solid state storage part of the drive. You have no way of knowing or controlling it.
Cons: You can back up all of your game data but you will need to reload the O/S onto the new drive and then you need to install of your games and then restore your data. It would be nice if there was a clone option to image the old drive and install the new drive.

While the drive is faster, there are other laptop size drives that will fit the PS4. This drive is labeled specifically for the PS4 Seagate has an identical drive that is not labeled for the PS4. There is no reason to pay more for this drive.

The warranty on this drive is only 1 year. Similar drives can be purchased with a three year warranty. It is hard to justify the more expensive cost for a PS4 branded drive with a shorter warranty.
Other Thoughts: This drive did what it said. Games loaded faster. The installation was easy. Backing up data and transferring it was simple although time consuming. You need to decide is 20-30 seconds is worth the cost of upgrading your stock hard drive. I tried the install a couple of times and load times were always very similar. Based on performance I would give the drive 5 eggs. The fact that the drive is more expensive than similar non branded drives makes me give it a 4 egg rating.
Reviewed By:Mark T.,2/4/2016 7:32:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.