Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black WD7500BPKT 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Hard Drive Failed 4 months after install
Pros: NewEgg is great company to order from
Cons: This drive failed after 4 months of use
Other Thoughts: always order from NewEgg, but don't buy this drive
Reviewed By:N/A,4/24/2014 7:18:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 5K1000 0J22413 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap and Good
Pros: It was cheap. It was tiny. HGST (Hitachi) Travelstar drives have shown themselves in the past to be reliable (for cheap drives). This is just large file storage (video) and does not need to be fast. The longer it lasts, the happier I'll be.
So far, this has been quick (enough) and quiet enough. I have purchased two and they are each now packaged in an inexpensive aluminum external case. Their power draw is also not excessive @ almost 900mA for startup and less than 500mA the rest of the time. So, my 2.5A hub can run them each off of a single USB port. Aaah, the joys of large capacitors!
Cons: Just that HGST is now a WD company. I hope they let their Hitachi acquisition continue to make the long-lived drives I'm used to. That's why I bought this drive.
Other Thoughts: I've only had one about a month and the other about a week. We'll see if they hold up. I'm betting they will. I'll check back and update the review if one fails.
Careful mounting them in the SABRENT EC-NU25K case. It's a tight squeeze - and you don't want to bend the drive frame. Cooling is good, though.
Mine are formatted to EXT4 and did that nicely and painlessly.
Reviewed By:Technophilos,4/23/2014 6:07:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD5000BPKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast shipping!
Pros: I ordered this item yesterday afternoon. I opted for the 2-day shipping. Paid with a debit card. It was packed and shipped within an hour and out of the warehouse in less than 4 hours. It was in my hometown before 5 AM today and tracked as out for delivery before 6AM. It was in my hands 21 hours after I thought about ordering it. My only question is: What happened to the other day?
Cons: I'm glad I didn't order it for expedited or next day delivery.

It might have arrived by TARDIS Express -- "When you absolutely have to have delivery before you order it!"
Other Thoughts: Newegg service and their shipping partners are absolutely a prime reason for shopping at Newegg.

This component was VERY well packaged and protected from any impact short of a WMD. Static protection and desiccant in heavy duty vinyl bubble tube pouch in a properly sized heavy box.
Reviewed By:Psiber,4/23/2014 3:51:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus XT ST95005620AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s with NCQ 2.5" Solid State Hybrid Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still Working
Pros: Replaced a Dell Laptop (Pentium M) drive with this about 2 years ago. It still works fine.
Once the SSD caching system starts to cache correctly, it does boot quite fast.
Cons: I would probably say unless you need the space, the Crucial M500 is far faster and is about $120 for 240 GB right now.
Other Thoughts: My brother's laptop (The Dell) is pretty fast with this drive, but it doesn't stand a chance against my laptop in terms of drive speed. The Crucial M500 240 GB in my laptop is wicked fast / will probably outlive this drive.
Reviewed By:ScottySeng,4/23/2014 2:35:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD7500BPVX 750GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works!
Pros: Exactly as advertised
Cons: Could have arrived faster?
Other Thoughts: So far, so good! I cloned my old HD on to this one and has done very well so far!
Reviewed By:JC,4/22/2014 9:20:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Seagate Hybrid Dying @ 2 months old
Pros: Seemed to boot marginally faster after the 10-12 consecutive restarts suggested. Not very impressive.
Cons: At about 2 months and 2 weeks to the day, I turned my computer on and got nothing..just the manufacturer start screen. HDD light flashed once, then nothing. Restarted several times, same sequence. Finally, the "mechanical" engineer in me came out and I hit the laptop several times as soon as I tried a power on. This worked!! I finished what work I had been doing and shut it down to see if it would restart correctly now. Nope. Tried the same drill of multiple power cycles. Again I tried the "get a bigger hammer" method and it started again. So for about a week I've been crossing my fingers every time I need to use the machine. So far hitting it several times as I power it on works.
Needless to say I'm exceptionally dissatisfied, but too busy to go through properly replacing the drive for a few weeks.
Reviewed By:BurnedBySeagate,4/22/2014 8:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 0S03563 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice Drive
Pros: Super fast quiet and was a good upgrade for laptop which had a hybrid in it. The hybrid was just slow with 8.1 But not anymore.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I wished I could thank the guy on the tip about Diskeeper. This software works and I can see what he was talking about. Hyper boot technology improves boot time clearly.
Reviewed By:Angie,4/22/2014 7:12:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST500LM000 500GB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD - Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Trusty little drives
Pros: These hybrid drives are great for laptops. Generally speaking laptops do not require the large hard drive you would want on your desktop, and you want the speed of an SSD. Well, here, you can it your way.
Cons: I really wish the caching routines could be better programmed. The access speed could be enhanced it they could be accessed by preset utility.
Other Thoughts: Most of my clients want more drive space than 120GB, and they really want the faster hard drive speed, so here is a solution which givees both at a reasonable price.
Reviewed By:SmithCom,4/22/2014 9:59:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus Thin ST320LT012 320GB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Harddrives
Pros: Is a very good drive for a lap top.
Cons: Haven't had any problems.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 6:34:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Hybrid drive
Pros: Works great nice update for my laptop. Easy on the budget for what it does. Also saw a marked change in battery life when doing common tasks.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,4/20/2014 12:29:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau