Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • | Wish List
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All Warmed Up
Pros: I used the Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 to replace the 750GB hard drive that came with my laptop. I chose this option over an SSD due to the cost of getting an equivalent sized drive at that time ($450 vs $99.99). After reading several reviews (here on the Egg) I was aware that it would take several reboots before the value of the hybrid partition would pay benefits. I've read that it could take as much as 10 reboots before the drive would perform. Well in my case, it took a little longer; a lot longer. It took a while before there was any noticeable benefits. In my case, about 2 months of use. Using my not so scientific method of timing the cold boot to login screen use to take about 20 seconds, that time is now half of that, ten seconds.
Cons: See "Other thoughts" as this may be an issue that just pertains to me.
Other Thoughts: Why did it give it four stars versus five? Even though the drive is performing quite well (now) on boot up, it has a tendency to get very active even when there's no particular application running that requires and I/O. This occurs even though I've disable all power saving options to limit the up and down platter rotation speeds. Plus, I'm comparing it to the drive that it replaced. That type of action never occurred with the previous drive. Still, I'm very happy with the purchase and I would recommend it to anyone that is considering a hybrid drive.
Reviewed By:Mo,4/18/2014 5:54:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD7500BPVT 750GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None
Cons: DOA out of the box...still haven't received call tag yet for return
Other Thoughts: Dont buy refurbed stuff...
Reviewed By:bigkatpc,4/17/2014 2:29:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus XT ST95005620AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s with NCQ 2.5" Solid State Hybrid Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Meh
Pros: I thought I would save myself a few bucks buying this instead of a true SSD 2 years ago when I built my dream system. I should have sprung the extra cash for a real SSD. This drive is nothing special. I love Seagate drives. But I don't think "hybrid" drives have a future. All this is, is a mechanical spinning laptop drive (2.5") with a large solid state cache. I see no improvement in read/write times over tradtional hard drives. As with all the Seagates I've ever owned, it has not given me any mechanical failure issues or even any bad sectors or blocks. But a speed demon it is not. I recently ordered a true SSD as an upgrade to replace this. I will then make this the boot drive on my backup server or maybe replace the boot drive on one of my workstations.
Cons: A little pricey for basically a regular hard drive of only a 500 GB capacity.

Not any faster than a traditional hard drive.
Other Thoughts: My build in April 2012:

Rosewill BLACKHAWK-ULTRA Gaming Super Tower Computer Case

Thermaltake Toughpower Grand TPG-1050M 1050W ATX 12V PSU

Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E 3.2GHz (3.8GHz Turbo)

CORSAIR Hydro Series H100 (CWCH100) Extreme Performance Liquid CPU Cooler

ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA2 2011 ATX Mobo

Seagate Momentus XT ST95005620AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s with NCQ 2.5" Solid State Hybrid Drive

Patriot Gamer 2 Series, Division 4 Edition 32GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 15000)

SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 7950 OC 3GB 384-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
Reviewed By:Rick W.,4/17/2014 1:37:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD5000BPKX 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Bad on arrival
Pros: Good name
Cons: RMA ed, Read error rate of 6000+ after 1 day.
Reviewed By:l33t2nr,4/17/2014 9:42:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red WD10JFCX 1TB IntelliPower SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" NAS Internal Hard Drive -Bulk

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 RAID RAID RAID!
Pros: - SMALL form factor, perfect for my compact server. Perfect for setting up raid arrays.
Cons: - None!
Other Thoughts: I purchased two and set them up in RAID 1 in my server. I needed the 2.5 inch form factor because I have limited space available within my server.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 12:00:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD10JPVT 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Worked Great....for a while
Pros: Good price for a 1TB drive. Worked great out of the box. 2 Year warranty
Cons: Only lasted 15 months.
Other Thoughts: I bought this drive in January 2013. It has worked flawlessly as a backup drive for me over the past 15 months or so. Suddenly today it started clicking and beeping at me. Tried to reseat it in it's enclosure and tried it on different computers. Same result. I opened an RMA with Western Digital. Waiting on the replacement now.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/16/2014 11:42:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Hybrid Drives MQ01ABD100H 1TB+8GB(NAND Flash) 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This thing is awesome!
Pros: The Toshiba SSHD is very quick, far more so than a regular HD can be. I've had it about half a year with heavy use in a macbook, with absolutely no problems. Made in the Philippines (mine is, at least). Solid build with high quality housing.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I would purchase another with no reservations. Recommended.
Reviewed By:Johnny,4/16/2014 6:07:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA MQ01ABD100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My PS4 has more memory now
Pros: The drive works excellent. fit the ps4 perfectly. The drive sounds silent, i don't hear any clicking/noises. PS4 now has 860gb.
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:N/A,4/15/2014 7:30:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus 7200.4 ST9320423AS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good and fast
Pros: used this since 2010.replaced it over a slower drive in a new laptop. it is now April 2014 and still running great. several windows reinstalls, drops, and survived Afghanistan for a year. any piece of equipment that survives that sand and then keeps going for more years is great!
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Rad,4/15/2014 5:26:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 0S03563 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 High Maintenance
Pros: They are good fast HD that will out last most PC. We all have used these HD with just about all manufactures and are still shipped today with HP Toshiba etc. They run cool and WHISPER QUIT.
Cons: I would have gave this HD 5 egg However they don't hold a defrag. It's no big deal after you get used to it. How do you deal with it, turn on the defrag to run everyday and you won't have any problems. The best way to deal with it is to buy Diskeeper 12 its good for 3 PC.
Other Thoughts: I just bought a new laptop with a hybrid 1TB HD. The problem with the hybrid it came with GPT format and 5 partition. So in it made hybrid theory useless. So I installed 2 HGST It turn's out to be a good upgrade very fast boot up. I'm very happy. Diskeeper keeps the HD at top level at all times and it is SSD smart too. You can't go wrong with this HD as long as know about the high maintenance. By the way I use Diskeeper on all of my PC.
Reviewed By:Don,4/14/2014 7:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau