Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Runs very hot, unsuitable for many workloads
Pros: - These drives are a relatively good value for capacity, and so far have worked well with the UASP drivers on my arch linux install with kernel 4.5.7.
Cons: - These run HOT. A brief period into a linux "badblocks" test, smartctl reported them at ~60C, whereas the SMART "fail" threshold on the drive is at 45C. I was forced to point a fan at them to keep them below 40C.
- The drive inside appears to be a Seagate Archive series, which are not suitable for many uses.
Other Thoughts: Be aware that these are SMR disks, and as such are unsuited to many workloads where data is modified in-place or written in small chunks. I am disappointed that this was not mentioned anywhere in the item description, as it would have changed my purchase decisions. Advertising this as a general-purpose "expansion" disk is very misleading.
Reviewed By:Mitchell J.,6/24/2016 8:20:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives GreenDrive3 3TB USB 3.0 Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GD3000U3

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This Brand is great!
Pros: I have never had any problems with Fantom Drives. They are reliable and all mine are still working after many many years. The new 5TB is same quality. After some really bad experiences with Lacie Drives, I took a chance on this brand about a decade ago. Still happy with the quality and reliability!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This is a great product and I am a fan. Glad to know there is a reliable brand out there.
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,6/23/2016 2:02:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB2000300- CERTIFIED REFURBISHED

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Happy
Pros: Easy set up. Looks like new.
Cons: Nothing that I've been able to find.
Other Thoughts: Bought this to use as an external drive for my DishTV Hopper. Worked right off the bat. I buy quite a bit of refurbished merchandise and have been totally satisfied. Have never had an issue and I love saving money.
Reviewed By:Frank T.,6/23/2016 10:54:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Big honking drive.
Pros: These are reliable. I had 8 1tb in a server. This is faster and frees up 7 slots. For storage these can't be beat. I ordered yesterday and they are already half full today. Must have had them on the truck waiting for me to push the button.A+++++
Cons: For what it is it can't be improved. Sure there are faster drives but with this I can watch a movie across my network wirelessly and have no glitches. Buy a SSD for the C drive or an intensively used one and populate the rest with these.
Reviewed By:Patrick M.,6/22/2016 12:05:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 so far so good
Pros: Works fine.
Cons: nothing now
Reviewed By:Chen Y.,6/20/2016 11:12:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000300 (Certified Refurbished)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works like new.
Pros: Came with some international plug adapters.
Plug and play with the Xbox One.
Cons: One footie on one hard drive was missing.
That is the little rubber piece that keeps it stable.
Lucky me, I stole one off a dead toshiba external.
Mine work great. My old toshiba one did not work at all.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to upgrade your XBO storage, this is the way to go.
Mine never made it to my computer, but i see no reason not to pick this up for any home use.
Reviewed By:Nicholas T.,6/19/2016 7:35:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives G-Force 3TB USB 3.0 / eSATA Aluminum Desktop External Hard Drive GF3B3000EU Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works on DirecTV Genie!
Pros: Pertaining to the HDD:
Sturdy construction!
Nice black finish!
Ability to connect eSATA!

Pertaining to the DirecTV Genie DVR:
TONS of storage!
Improved picture quality!
Improved FF functionality!
Cons: Aggravating Blue activity light...
All I had to do was put some black tape over it. The tape blends with the black panel, and makes the annoyance go away.
Other Thoughts: I got this specifically to replace the internal HDD in my DirecTV Genie HR44-200 DVR.
((Any replacement external HDD for the Genie MUST be eSATA! Nothing else works!))
It tripled the storage space, and for some reason, I'm still shaking my head on this, the picture quality is much better...
The only thing I can think of is the Genie uses a small laptop HDD with a slow RPM.
The HDD in this unit is 3.5, and I think 7200RPM. Also, the cache could be larger, enabling the system to to translate the data in a better, faster way.
The FF seems to work allot better as well.
But the wonderful thing is tripling the storage capacity of the Genie DVR. The higher picture quality is just icing on this awesome cupcake!
Reviewed By:Donald R.,6/18/2016 11:24:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB Desktop USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Storage WDBACW0030HBK-NESN

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Used for 2 years, only attached to power when backing up data
Pros: -3 years warranty, which is the best in the industry
Cons: -Somewhat slow
-Need power besides USB
-Takes up too much space
-The back up software offered by WD was a joke, never touch that! Acronis, overrated software it was! I had to reinstall my windows after cloning for back up!
Other Thoughts: 3 years warranty, what else do you expect? This kind of thing rarely dies if you don't carry them around. And that's why they are called desktop external. Once it passes warranty period, or let say a year, the hard drive shouldn't have problem unless you stored it incorrectly such as dusty or overheat.
Reviewed By:Larry F.,6/14/2016 9:47:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent drive!
Pros: Slightly smaller than some older external drives. Fast. Reliable.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I have owned mine for over a year, and use it regularly to back up my desktop PC.
Reviewed By:Patrick W.,6/14/2016 3:53:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic product. Excellent look and extra ordinary space of 5TB
Pros: The compact USB drive has extra ordinary space of 5TB
Buying this made my life easier storing all data at one place
Cons: As it is a huge capacity needs external power supply
Other Thoughts: I would recommend to people. I myself will prefer to buy from Newegg at best price to give it for my relatives.
Reviewed By:Manish S.,6/13/2016 6:18:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.