Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 1TB Desktop USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Storage WDBACW0010HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead
Pros: USB 3
Cons: Drive lost connectivity after a year across any device. Drive corrupted and all data was then lost. Unrecoverable.
Other Thoughts: It had intermittent connectivity issues for months then finally simply stopped connecting at all. After removing the drive from the housing and installing it internally to recover the data that was on it, the drive was dead. Staggeringly disappointing for something that is primarily intended for back up use.
Reviewed By:Shy,1/21/2015 3:29:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBWLG0040HBK-NESN Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD 4TB replacing three Seagate 4TB
Pros: Seagate started making (more than usual) head noises, time to replace it. I thought I should spread my brand/time risk* and try WD, Seagate stopped selling the plain black book style and WD was cheaper. WOW the WD head is much quieter (motor about the same) and drive is cooler - replacing all 3 Seagates now.

*I bought all three Seagates at once, so statistically there is a higher chance of -another- Seagate drive failure. Mixing in other brands of different ages minimizes this effect.
Cons: 1 year warranty, but if you back up that should not be a huge con.
Other Thoughts: visually the WD I like better too
Reviewed By:N/A,1/21/2015 11:01:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Makes a nice Paperweight!
Pros: It's a portable hard drive.
Cons: After a couple of weeks it would stop working randomly. So after some troubleshooting I decided to remove it from the external enclosure as those are typically the first thing to go on external hard drives. Unfortunately, it would not recognize on my computer, nor my wife's computer. So I put it back in an enclosure and reboot when things go bad. The other day windows just kept connecting and disconnecting repeatedly randomly, after running all the diags I could, no errors found, I am pretty much giving up.
Other Thoughts: Bought two of these one for my wife and one for me. Her still works, but she uses it much less than I do, probably a total of five times, versus me accessing it every day for more than a month. In the end mine makes a nice paperwieght.
Reviewed By:Elucidus,1/21/2015 6:10:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STDT5000100

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible Drive
Pros: There really are not any.
Cons: This drive stutters and causes issues on any machine it is connected to. Most specifically it causes access issues on all other drives in my server when this is connected. I buy drives in matched pairs so I got robbed twice because they both behave identically.
Other Thoughts: This piece of garbage should be used for target practice and not sold to the unsuspecting public. What in the world is Seagate thinking???? We still seem to fall for these criminal business practices. I am so disgusted with Seagate as a company right now.
Reviewed By:MHzTweaker,1/20/2015 7:13:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Canvio Desk 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive HDWC130XK3J1 Black -Retail

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do Not Buy This Drive. Worse than Terrible.
Pros: None
Cons: My Toshiba drive started clicking and died after putting data on it. Now I can't get anything off it. The drive was only a few months old, but despite being new it died without warning. What's the point of backing things up if the backup does not work? What a waste of time and money!

The storage device was given to me as a gift, but Toshiba refused to honor its 3 year warranty because I could not give them the receipt due to the fact that I never had one. Fortunately I am backed up to the cloud.

The oldest review I could find on Toshiba's website was January 2013, meaning the entire line of Canvio 3TB drives are at most 2 years old. I explained that in any universe my drive would still fall under the three year warranty because this drive's very existence is under three years old. Toshiba insisted that without a receipt they would not provide warranty for the product. So beware: first, don't buy this drive, but if you are foolish enough to do so, hold on to your receipt, then be prepared to lose all of your data. At best they will simply send you a new drive that will certainly give you no confidence if you already lost your data once....assuming that you have any data left to lose after your first drive crashes.

Toshiba Corporation is attempting to survive in the hard drive storage marketplace against strong competitors. My advice: buy any of those other drives instead.

When checked today, even the Toshiba website shows this drive gets 1.5 stars out of 5 by consumers. Even they know the drive stinks. No wonder they do not want to replace it under warranty.

I explained to Toshiba that if they do not honor their warranty, my only remedy as a consumer versus a big corporation is to post this warning everywhere I see their drive for sale. Even that didn't seem to make a difference--my complaint fell on deaf ears with three different claims reps. Systemic problem.

Buyer beware!
Reviewed By:Small-Biz-Owner,1/20/2015 3:54:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG D3 Station 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STSHX-D401TDB Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Samsung D3 4TB Ext. HDD - Update, Drives Failing!
Pros: - Low Price on Sale
- Large Capacity.
Cons: - 50% Failure Rate after 6 Months Use!!
- Drive Enclosures are not as Sturdy as Seagate Enclosures.
- Drive Read/Write Speed is Less than Equivalent Seagate Enclosures.
- No Heat Sink in HDD Enclosure.
Other Thoughts: These Samsung D3 External HDD Enclosures have Seagate 4TB HDD in them. I had previously written a review of these enclosures when I had them for less than a month in use. I purchased Eight of these 4TB drives because I thought they were a great deal at US$109/each. When I first purchased these drives, my testing indicated that they were slower than the equivalent Seagate Expansion HDD Enclosures and that the enclosures were less sturdy but I gave them 4 eggs.

I have encountered Two Major problems that make these Samsung D3 HDD's completely unacceptable for use.

First is that the drives drop connection to the server/client PC when I was attempting to back up drives to these external drives. I was never able to write more than about 100GB worth of data to the drive at any one time without the Samsung drive dropping out. I would have to unplug the drive and re-plug it in to have the drive recognized by the network. Using these Samsung D3 HDD Enclosures to back up storage drives was impossible for me.

At the 6 month mark, these drives have started to fail catastrophically. By that I mean that the drives will just stop and drop off the network and fail to be recognized, or anything else. All the data on the drive is lost. I took a drive that failed out of the enclosure and mounted it into a server bay to see if it was just the enclosure driver board. Nothing. The drives were dead. So far, I have had 50% failure of these Samsung D3 4TB HDD's.

Fortunately, I have backups (and backups of backups).

These are literally the first Seagate HDD's I have ever had fail. I have Seagate Enclosures purchased before and after these Samsung D3's. None of them have failed or give any indication of problems. I purchased these drives in 3 separate lots to minimize the chance of failure from one particular batch/run of HDD's. All of them seem to have the problems.

This is disconcerting, to say the least. I have only had problems with the Samsung D3 4TB Drives. I have a couple of the Samsung D3 3TB External Drives and those seem to be working fine. So Far.

In conclusion, The price of these Samsung D3 External 4TB HDD made them very attractive, especially if you are purchasing quite a few. The high failure rate and dropping out when transferring lots of data make them completely unacceptable as storage media.

Spend the extra US$20 and buy real Seagate HDD's and Enclosures or spend US$30-US$40 more and buy Hitachi or WD drives. It is definitely worth it to buy better drives if it saves you the hassle of having to fix a bunch of failing drives and worrying whether you have got everything backed up immediately on multiple drives.

I will not be buying Samsung HDD's again.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 10:56:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Apricorn > APRICORN Aegis Padlock DT 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" External Hard Drive 256-bit AES Encryption ADT-3PL256-2000

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little product
Pros: Great self encrypted device. We require encryption on our backup devices. Windows bit locker works…mostly, for this but these drives take the complexity out of it. When recovering anything, the last thing you need is a harder process to go through. These are well built and instructions very easy to understand. We are not backing up VM’s to these drives, only hyper V hosts. So far they have proven reliable and very sturdy.
Cons: None that I can think of
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 3:46:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV5000100

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Over-packaged 5TB internal drive
Pros: With practice, you can pry open the shell without breaking any plastic
Use two flat-blade screwdrivers, one big (placeholder) and one very small (pry)
After removing the shell, you have a 5TB internal drive at a good price
Cons: Over-packaged
Warranty is very short
Check via USB that the drive isn't DOA before you remove the shell
Other Thoughts: High rate of problems with USB interface circuit board inside the shell
Bypass all those problems by extracting the internal drive immediately
Drive must be reformatted as GPT
Great for use with VeraCrypt
Reviewed By:Riesling,1/18/2015 7:52:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > FANTOM DRIVES > Fantom Drives Gforce/3 2TB USB 3.0 3.5" USB 3.0 External Hard Drive GF3B2000U Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update to my first review
Pros: I bought a new USB 3.0 cord and the drive works fine.
Cons: If i have any will this page let me vent them
Reviewed By:tony m,1/18/2015 4:04:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 4TB USB 3.0/USB 2.0 3.5" External Hard Drive WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome!
Pros: Work's Very fast when usb 3.0, for best I/O speed!
Cons: the constant parking of the drive heads can annoy you, but it to preserve the life of the drive. when active, alway's fast no prob.
the heads park after what seems 5 or 10 min, this keeps the drive cool and no physical wear to motor in drive and bearing's.
Other Thoughts: over all, I love this device, I have alway's loved WDigital, It is what you would expect from WD!
Reviewed By:SirTigAlot,1/18/2015 2:27:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.