Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Cheap But Has Poor Warranty
Pros: Cheap!
Cons: One year warranty is shameful. C'mon, Seagate, show some confidence in your product!
Other Thoughts: If you get one of these because it's cheap then there's no point complaining when it fails prematurely, is there?
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,9/29/2016 9:01:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > LaCie > LaCie Porsche Design P'9230 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive LAC302003

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great so far.
Pros: External hard drive being used for backup of my computer and various other files. Had previous good experience with a LaCie external HD (lasted 6 years!) , so wanted to continue to purchase from a company that hasn't failed me. Very sleek looking design makes it stand out on my desk which I rather do enjoy. Comes with proprietary software for backups which is nice - though I do arrange backups on my own.
Cons: Quite heavy and once set up you'll need to make sure it's in a place you won't move it from too often.
Other Thoughts: I can't say how long this one will last me, but I do hope for at least the 2 year mark. Seller was really quite good in terms of delivery time and packaging - thanks guys! All in all I'm satisfied with my purchase and hope to see it live as long as my last LaCie drive.
Reviewed By:Mohammed J.,9/28/2016 9:15:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Element 1TB 3.5" Black External Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still going...
Pros: Still going strong...
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I've moved from PC to Mac (thank G-d) and have moved my computer/electronics purchases from Newegg to Am4zon. Sorry, Newegg, you were fine back in the day, but Am4zon Prime can't be beat.
Reviewed By:Jerome K.,9/28/2016 5:33:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV4000100

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 3 years of moderate use and counting
Pros: -Lots of space (used this as a local copy of my large DSLR photo library)
-cheap
-did not die
Cons: -Could use some more ports - really though I have no complaints.
Reviewed By:Peter B.,9/26/2016 5:42:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL6000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seagate Backup Plus Hub 6TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives
Pros: My wife likes this drive for it's ease of use. It is easy to set-up and use. It is the only brand that works consistently for my wifes Mac.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I have to thank Newegg for getting this drive to my wife in less than 14 hours. Our drive failed on Friday afternoon at 5:30pm. I looked for this drive at all the local stores and nobody had it. I ordered it from Newegg and it was here, at my house by 11am the next morning. Thanks Newegg!!! You saved me several days of grief. You are the BEST.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/26/2016 3:30:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STBV3000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 lasted less than 3 years ...
Pros: - lots of space for the money
- reasonably fast
Cons: - died in less than 3 years
- poor warranty (I was shocked that the drive was already out of warranty, what happened to 5 years?)
Other Thoughts: - I believe that this generation of products were heavily affected by manufacturing issues (fires, floods, etc.) in the far east around the time I purchased, so I cannot recommend the 3TB models just in case, however it appears that newer models are more reliable and so I will try again with a 5TB or larger unit as Seagate continue to be price / performance leaders
- very disappointed that Seagate no longer backs their drives for 5 years
Reviewed By:Kim L.,9/26/2016 6:55:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 16TB My Book Duo Desktop RAID External Hard Drive USB 3.0 - WDBLWE0160JCH-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: The enclosure is easy to use. Drives will spin down when not in use. Fan inside. Quiet.
Cons: Will only work with WD and HGST drives of any size. My Seagates would not work.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/24/2016 8:02:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect so far! (4 TB)
Pros: - I've owned one for just shy of 2 months, and it has worked perfectly so far! Just placed an order for a 2nd one
- My boss has been using Seagate ext. drives for a long time (I think the same "Expansion" model, but 5 or 6 TB), and he swears by them
- I picked NewEgg over competitors such as Amaz-n because NewEgg has a very clearly stated warranty; Amaz-n is vague and seems to be hiding something
Cons: - None so far
Other Thoughts: I reluctantly jumped ship from my old standby "WD Elements 3TB" (which I own 4 of, and served me very well) because I wanted to go up to 4 TB, and at that time - if I remember well - 4 TB was the max size for that model (now they have 5 TB); I steer clear of the max size of any model.

- For the benefit of some people: TB = Terabyte = Trillion bytes (using powers of 10.) Most computers show sizes differently: they call it "TB" but that's sloppy for "Tebibyte (TiB)" (using powers of 2.) Those units differ somewhat; you're NOT getting ripped off with a smaller drive!

- For the benefit of some people: ANY storage device can fail without warning. Make people with always keeping 2 copies of everything that matters, on 2 separate drives.
Reviewed By:julian w.,9/23/2016 10:42:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 3TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB3000100 Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Autorun didn't work.
Pros: For such a sparse "quick start" guide, it would have been nice if the installation/setup program worked. Maybe it's just Win10/64 bit that it doesn't like? I was able to find enough information already on the drive to get to the appropriate Seagate website and register the drive. After that, a format got me ready to go. Did a complete backup of my computer without incident.
Cons: So far none but the installation & setup.
Reviewed By:Gordon A.,9/23/2016 10:45:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD 4TB My Book Desktop External Hard Drive - USB 3.0 - WDBFJK0040HBK-NESN

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cant turn off hardware encryption
Pros: Mine had a WD blue WD40EZRZ. Better price than buying just the internal drive.
Cons: You CANNOT turn off hardware encryption.
Other Thoughts: Hardware encryption is always on, whether you turn it "on" with a password or not. If the enclosure dies, you will not be able to recover your data as it will be encrypted. This is a very poor idea.

Bought one of these in a brick and mortar store. First one had bad sectors within 60 hours of use.
The replacement is randomly disconnecting. Im going to return the second one for fear of the enclosure dying.
Manufacturer Response:Hey There Anonymous,
Our apologies for this abnormal drive behavior, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We take our customer’s data security and accessibility seriously. Therefore, encryption can only be enabled (Turned-On) via our WD Security utility. If you have concerns about the health of this drive, it’s best to run the diagnostic tests from the WD Drive Utilities software.
“How to set up and use WD Security & WD Drive Utilities”: http://support.wdc.com/KnowledgeBase/answer.aspx?ID=10408

We would appreciate the chance to assist you further. You can contact us by phone or Email below. Be sure to mention this Newegg review on your initial contact in order to direct you to the proper team member.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/21/2016 11:50:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.