Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim External DVD Writer Model SE-208DB/TSBS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Greatly priced and works what else can you say.
Pros: Shipped fast, and it does what it is suppose to do.
Cons: it is not made of gold.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 8:04:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray WriterModel BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value on a versatile optical drive.
Pros: Easy to connect and operate without any software installation, fast, quiet, and attractive. On my new build I went with a mid-tower without any full-sized drive bays so I needed an external optical drive for media and permanent file storage. This unit sits on top of the tower nicely and is relatively low-profile. I do wish it came with a better software package including playback software but that is just the nature of the beast these days. You have to chose your own multimedia software and, of course, pay for it!
Cons: The software included is largely useless. With the backup options included in Windows and with Norton it makes most of the included programs redundant. The CD ripping program looks interesting but you can accomplish the same tasks using iTunes or even the Windows Media Player.
Other Thoughts: A very nice unit for very little money. In the near future optical drives will largely be forgotten but that time is not quite here yet.
Reviewed By:Shrewless,9/28/2014 7:14:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Hisgadget Inc. > Esky® External Slim USB CD-ROM Drive For ACER Aspire One A110 A150 D250 D260 series

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DON'T BUY THIS
Pros: None.
Cons: It will not play any burned cd's. When I put the cd in to install the OS my AntiVirus said that it was a Trojan Horse. I dug into wanting to make sure and sure enough it's a well known Trojan (origin China) and most of the writing for the contents of the cd are in chinese.
Other Thoughts: The cd's I could get to work ran painfully slow I do not recommend this drive even without the Trojan issue. Requesting a refund.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2014 3:18:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 3.0 12X Blu-ray Burner Model BW-12D1S-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Quality, Fast, Price!
Pros: Great Item from Asus (of course) Fast, software easy to manage and friendly use... I giving 4 because the on/off button is a bit stiff to slide... but you get use to....
Cons: On / Off Button stiff a bit... you'll get use to.
Reviewed By:USAF - SFO,9/24/2014 10:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NB50

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Slim USB DVDWriter
Pros: Nice slim unit. Worked as advertised. Plug it in and away you go.
Cons: The cable is short. Really short. Like maybe twelve inches if that. I had to get an extension cable to run behind my desk to hook it up to one of my rear USB ports because I didn't want to take up one of my front ports. It only burns at 8 speed and reads at 8x because it runs on the USB 2.0 bus.
Other Thoughts: As long as you know what your getting this is a nice piece of kit. I decided to bail out on the traditional front mounted optical drive and I don't regret it for all the more I use an optical drive this unit makes sense. If I need an optical drive on another computer or ultra book I can use this drive if I have to. Its portable, its fast, and its inexpensive. You really can't go wrong.
Reviewed By:PapaHarry,9/24/2014 4:39:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 May not recognize older media?
Pros: Price, self powered, requires just one USB port, recognizes my Verbatim DVD-RWs.
Cons: Won't recognize my Verbatim CD-RWs, finger print magnet.
Other Thoughts: I really like the fact it only requires one USB port.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 2:33:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim External DVD Writer Model SE-208DB/TSBS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Could be better
Pros: Light, fast CD/DVD drive. Until it stopped working, no issues.
Cons: Lasted 1 year, 3 months. Apparently the female power/data connector on CD/DVD drive is either glued on or a stamp fit. Noticed the power to the drive was coming on and off, lifted drive and it was dead. Opened case to find the female connector from drive rattling around inside drive. This drive was not mis-handled, it sat on a desk. In my opinion, a design flaw. Looking for another brand, hopefully with better cable connectors.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/24/2014 11:10:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 External Super Multi DVD Rewriter Model GE24NU40

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Its a HEAVY mother
Pros: Heavy Duty. sits sideways with heavy rubber strips going around 3 quarters of unit. No mishaps, very reliable. Eject button easy to get to, tray holds Discs very solid. Its got that 2 something (buffering memory) and u cant get one that high anymore except blu rays are 4. So thats a big PRO over other units even the more expensive ones.
Cons: Very Heavy and power unit is also, but that doesnt matter to me, its really a plus.
Other Thoughts: You dont see too many of these that perform lightscribe, I still have the blanks 4 that and its great 4 me, the blanks were a little expensive, but worth it to me. Ive made alot of copies, not 1 problem.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 12:31:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 3.0 12X External Blu-ray Disc Writer Model eHBU212-08 LightScribe Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of Money!
Pros: Looks good. Promo from the company, from my experience, is empty hype.
Cons: Support at the company's website is virtually non-existent.
Other Thoughts: Worked at first, but then (after a few months), totally hosed up with Win 7 Pro(64), in my case. After that, never could get it to look like anything but a generic CD-ROM. Driver issues? Who knows? I won't buy from this company again, and my wife is Taiwanese - I love Taiwan, and I've been to Taiwan six times! Sorry about that...
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 1:09:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Check the contents.
Pros: The model I have of GP50NB40 is supposed to come with a dual usb cable and it came with a single. LG has been failing in the quality check department, and perhaps in their assembly line overseas substituted another cable. It is what has been giving me issues with the dvd drive itself not being able to recognize any type of cd or dvd and instead keeps asking me to "insert cd". The issue is not a software or the software of your own pc. The laptop I have has win7. Please check the box properly as this is something someone else may have to go through with LG.
Cons: I called LG at the request of Newegg and that company was of no help. The overseas operator clearly was having a bit of a chuckle after I explained to him that LG included the wrong cable. This customer representative was so adamant that I indeed received the correct cable that in saying so went further to say that if "I wanted another cable to pay for it", otherwise return the whole item as it is defective in his opinion.
Other Thoughts: I am very disappointed with LG's response, and also with their customer service implying I "want a new shiny cable" to substitute the one they erroneously packed in this box.
Reviewed By:MR76,9/21/2014 8:01:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau