Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Kanguru > Kanguru USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Drive Model U2-DVDRW-24X

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: none...doa
Cons: off brand and arrived doa....beware
Other Thoughts: arrived doa.. no retail packing... had previously been opened...do not buy
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 4:32:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Plextor > PLEXTOR USB 2.0 6X Blu-ray Combo Model PX-B310U

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cyberlink Blu Ray software is expired
Pros: None. Blu ray player will play dvd's.
Cons: This product is worthless without blu ray software. Cyberlink continues to put out software which expires. They do not give updates or patches when new security features are added to blu ray discs. Instead, they make Cyberlink PowerDVD8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15, etc. You have to buy the new version for $100. As soon as I installed the supplied plextor software (powerdvd), it told me I had to buy new software! Mine was already outdated. Cyberlink goes on A****n to respond to negative comments like mine, but never answer why they force you to upgrade every year. They get really aggressive and asinine about it. You might as well go buy a new (tv) blu ray player that automatically updates via wifi for free or a used Sony playstation 3 for the price they want for this software. Software is THREE times what I paid for this bluray with a coupon code I got on SlickDeals.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 2:06:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Hewlett-Packard > HP USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Writer Model dvd1270e LightScribe Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 HP DVD1270e, a good deal
Pros: The HP external drive was tested as a DVD and audio player on a PC with Windows 8.1, and on a MacBook Pro with OSX Yosemite, without a hitch. On the Mac, it was necessary to toggle the On/Off power switch at the back of the drive to eject media from the drive.
Cons: The device is big in comparison to the slim drive units, but I wasn't looking for a portable device. If you are looking for a device for a Mac, I was unable to write to a DVD when interfaced to a MacBook. Not really a con, since this device was designed for PC type computers. FYI
Other Thoughts: The write features and included software was not tested on a PC that the drive was designed for; since what was needed was a media plaver for a MacBook .
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 11:46:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Hewlett-Packard > HP USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Writer Model dvd1270e LightScribe Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Can't beat it for the price!
Pros: Worked well on my Windows 8.1 Laptop
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I purchased this drive so I could backup my files onto DVD+Rs. It worked perfectly. Some people complained of it's size, it is not a slim drive and it is not listed as such. I was also able to install DVD based programs with ease.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2015 2:21:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 External CD/DVD Rewriter With M-Disc Support (Black)-model GP65NB60

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For the money - great for laptop!
Pros: I am very pleased how well this drive has worked so far. Powered completely from USB connecter. Burnt DVD's without any coasters. This is a great price effective CD/DVD rewriter. You can watch movies from it, burn CD/DVD without any hassle. It is very slim and light weight.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I was worried that it would need an external power source, even though I could not find any documentation saying it was needed. Other CD/DVD writers I have had needed the external power or second USB port. No need to worry about it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 6:11:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 Slim External DVD Writer (Black) Model SE-S084D/TSBS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed quickly
Pros: Portable and slim as advertised.
Cons: Very unreliable. Only used it once or twice and the unit malfunctioned. Technical store's reply was that the optical reader head was not working well.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 2:11:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Plextor > PLEXTOR USB 2.0 6X Blu-ray Combo Model PX-B310U

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 blu ray beginner
Pros: just received this today and plugged it in with no problems on a macbook air, and played the blu-ray of mongol(great film) using some free player software from apple store.

great first drive for friend or family who needs to play discs once in a while and their laptop has no drive.

sturdy construction. good power/open button. led is a nice blue. transparent stand. included software on a cd. I didn't try the software. don't plan on burning anything at present. I try to avoid using software from included cds. The version are usually old and outdated.

would like to get another for the good promo price of $30
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: kind of bulky to take with you on the go, but hey, it's not for that
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 2:46:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer 6x Silver External Slim Portable USB 3.0 BD/DVD/CD Burner Model BDR-XD05S

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quandry (future purchases)
Pros: Nice quality construction. Seems to work reasonably well.
Cons: Documentation leaves something to be desired. They offer a download utility for modifying operational speed but program DOES NOT work. It cannot find the "target." And their website sucks. Very difficult finding what you're looking for. For a premium product line, somebody is falling down on the job.
Other Thoughts: The unit appears to be doing speed changes (for quiet operation). So if the download is unnecessary, tell us!! I've always regarded Pioneer as expensive but worth it. However, their technical support is terrible. Just goes around in circles.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 9:23:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Memorex > Memorex USB 2.0 External Multi Format Slim DVD Recorder Model 98251

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 quick drive, happy with purchase
Pros: I got this on sale for $15. Hooked it up to my iMac and it rips DVDs quickly. I am very pleased with it so far.
Cons: I wish it didn't use two USB slots, but it's not a huge deal.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/22/2015 6:59:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External Blu-Ray 6X Writer with BDXL Support Model SBW-06D2X-U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 bery good
Pros: very nice price
Cons: very nice price
Reviewed By:N/A,7/20/2015 8:00:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.