Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great for everything
Pros: using this on a laptop that is so small that it no longer has any optical drive is a wonderful thing and it really is rugged enough to take in to the field i have dropped mine about 10 times off the hood of my truck and it works just fine (NOT RECOMMENDED LOL)
Cons: would be nice if it had bigger rubber feet on the bottom
Other Thoughts: don't drop it
just because i have not broke it yet
Reviewed By:Russell C.,7/28/2016 2:45:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 / USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray Writer Model BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works out of the box, almost perfect!
Pros: Unpacked, plugged in to power, plugged usb into usb 3 hub. works perfect and fast. Glad I bought it. BTW, I did not get it to burn DVD's or Blue Ray so I really do not know how that part works. I bought it to read DVD's and Blue-Ray.
Cons: Too much bling, the big blue 'gem' light on the top is unnecessary, and the top is not flat, it just weird, so you cannot stack another device on top of it, or even set papers on it because the slowly slide off. See no reason for it. More function, less form please.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely get a second one if I needed it. Would have given it 5 stars except for the weird top.
Reviewed By:Richard R.,7/27/2016 3:17:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 / USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray Writer Model BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great!
Pros: I've burned several blu-ray backups and had no problems. It's also pretty quiet
Cons: I don't like the blue LED - I would prefer a straight black case
Other Thoughts: I wish the case wasn't glossy, I feel like I need to protect the finish but that's a personal preference . . .
Reviewed By:Mary G.,7/25/2016 7:38:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The best for gaming tower
Pros: not too loud (20-30$ range)
Do the job very well
i have high end gaming tower with no dvd and this is the solution
Cons: don't know the quality and life ...
Reviewed By:jonathan p.,7/24/2016 2:24:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 / USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray Writer Model BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great performance. Rediculous LED...
Pros: With most machines I end up working on these days optical drives are becoming less common, but I wanted to keep an external usb optical drive on the bench for convenience of always having one available to use without having to dangle out sata and power cables from the case or to use on a laptop..

I have had this for about 8 months now, and have burned and read many discs of all types and brands and have not made any coasters yet, or had any read issues that weren't cause by scratched or damaged discs..
Cons: The stupid LED on the top. It is wwaayyy too bright, and is under some crystal looking window jewel thing or whatever, and it disperses the light all over the room.

When you power off the PC it is attached to the drive does not sleep or power off, the stupid blue light is still on and the drive fully powered up, no matter if the USB is plugged into a computer or not.

The light is always on unless you reach behind it and manually turn off the small sliding power switch (which feels kinda cheap and akward)..

Piercing Blue LED? Hello 2001!!! Ugh... I eventually took it apart and removed the LED. The room upstairs it is in when looking at the house from the street you could see a blue hue lighting the whole room through the closed blinds at night, it looks like a TV is on in the room. It really is that bright and annoying, no joke..
Other Thoughts: It's quite large, but I knew that from the specs and reviews I've seen on it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/22/2016 11:44:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS ZenDrive Ultra-slim External DVD Drive Model SDRW-08U7M-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It Works
Pros: I bought this to rip new CD's I buy. It's somewhat slow compared to internal drives but it gets the job done. My new system in it's NZXT razer case does not support an internal drive.
Cons: After ripping a few CD's, the "safely remove hardware" icon disappears. This means I must turn off the PC (and possibly switch off the PSU?) before unplugging the drive. Bringing up the dialog box to safely removed hardware gives the following message: The "ASUS SDRW-08U7M-U" is not removable and cannot be ejected or unplugged. I guess I can just leave it plugged in, but I will go weeks without using it and I'd rather keep it dust free in it's box.
Other Thoughts: 1) The cable it short and requires two USB ports.
2) It works on USB 3.0.
3) I have not used it for it's MDISC capability and cannot comment on that.
Reviewed By:Max G.,7/22/2016 2:07:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Does Not Work In Legacy IDE Systems!
Pros: Great price!
Cons: The fact that the drive uses a 'USB' connector is misleading to a great many purchasers. In reality, the USB connector acts as a bridge to an unused SATA port on the computer--- and if the computer does not have an unused (or does not have a) SATA port, the drive will not work.

With millions upon millions of legacy IDE systems still satisfactorily functioning in the world, I cannot understand why Newegg does not state in the system requirements that the drive requires an unused SATA port to work.

I had to return mine--- with the restocking fee and return shipping eating up 50% of the original cost!
Reviewed By:Johnny M.,7/20/2016 2:24:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 6X External Slim Blu Ray Combo with BDXL Support Model SBC-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good product, bad rebate processing?
Pros: Drive worked fine on my Windows 10 laptop. Lenovo yoga
Cons: I just received a rejection email on my rebate saying that it was not postmarked in time. I called and the escalation team is looking into it with no guarantee. The thing is that they give me a link which shows my actual envelope and the rebate form and packing slip. Apparently the post office does not always put a postmark stamp on the envelope, but there is some type of bar code.

If I just got the mail today and I mailed it around June 1 they must have received it on time. Even without a postmark, they should know when they scanned the envelope, I can't imagine it was the same day as the rejection email!

I wouldn't have bought it without the shell shocker deal price after rebate.
Other Thoughts: If asus fixes the rebate, I'll update the review.

Update: I did get email back that the rebate has been accepted, haven't received it yet though. Just beware of this. Not sure if it's worth going to the post office and explicitly ask them to put a postmark on it.
Reviewed By:Philip T.,7/19/2016 12:46:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NB50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great.
Pros: It's light, easily portable, and looks great on my desk.
Cons: No cons.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/17/2016 10:34:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 6X External Slim Blu Ray Combo with BDXL Support Model SBC-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Awful: doesn't work.
Pros: nothing
Cons: didn't work
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/17/2016 1:24:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.