Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

PremierTry Message.
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech EC13942A2 2 Port ExpressCard 1394a FireWire Laptop Adapter Card - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1394a Firewire ExpressCard Review
Pros: Excellent quality, worked flawlessly for my needs. It's nice that it came with a cable to transition from a 6 Pin to a 4 Pin. :-)
Cons: Have none, :-)
Other Thoughts: Wish they offered a card with both Firewire 400 and 800 in one card.
Reviewed By:Christopher W.,12/31/2015 1:30:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Brings life to older laptop!
Pros: - Flush USB sockets
- Plug 'n' play indeed (on Windows 10 Pro-64)
- True USB 3.0
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this product to others. I purchased this Expresscard to give some USB 3.0 life to my older laptop running Windows 10 Pro-64 bit . . . and indeed it did! Connecting a USB 3.0 external drive more than doubled the backup speed. Though some may not like the flush USB sockets, it works best for me w/o getting in the way of other items on my desk. I have used a USB 3.0 right angle adapter and connected my USB 3.0 hubs to this - terrific! The great price and super-speed shipping of Newegg puts this right at the top. Have a terrific holiday!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/23/2015 9:29:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-608 ExpressCard to CardBus Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adapter Review
Pros: It worked without issue. I had an acer laptop and needed to use it for some xbox modding back in the day. The size was a perfect fit and the device gave me zero issues whenever I used it. Literally is what it says it is.
Cons: I mean it never gave me an issue. The shipping was decent for the time (ordered in 2010) and it came a day before it said it would. Maybe if I was a stickler for timing.
Other Thoughts: The device worked properly and fit. It accomplished all i wanted from it
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2015 4:29:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Turns my Expansion slot into 2 additional USB 3.0 Ports
Cons: Did not install easily. Took over an hour of communication with technician to properly install drivers.
Does not provide adequate amounts of power to the USB 3.0 port for power-hungry devices (Microscope camera)
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 1:01:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works occasionally for USB 2, or slow device charger.
Pros: Good idea, I bought this originally for my Lenovo T510 to add USB 3 since I have several USB 3 flash drives. When it works the speed is excellent and fairly close to the built-in ports on my desktop (100mbps seq read). Sits flush with side of laptop. Has port to supply extra power.
Cons: When inserting a usb connector it pushes the card in and then makes it want to pop out. When removing a flash drive it will rip the card out of the expresscard slot. 90% I can't even get a flash drive to be detected by this card even though the card is displaying in device manager with no problems and latest firmware and driver. I think this is a physical issue though.

The port is really tight and the outside is basically just like the edges of some sheet metal. It is nearly impossible to get most of my devices to plug in, though my phone cable slides in easier.

Also, though this is not terribly accurate, I tried using included cable to provide more power. My phone did not show that it was getting anymore power when I had the USB A connector of the auxiliary power cable plugged into my computers USB port. It showed about 100mA. Then I tried plugging it into a USB phone charger-no change.
Other Thoughts: I basically have never used this card since I had never really been able to get it to work. I purchased it so it would be flush with the side of my laptop and I could leave it in. Now I wish I would have bought a 2 port card. Despite adding the extra bulk, I think it would actually work due to having the extra plastic to keep the card from popping out when inserting a device and it would allow you to hold onto something when removing. Oh, I have also tried using it in my T430 to add a third USB 3 port with the same results. Get the two port and plug it in when you need it--at least it will work.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 8:10:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-EXP15005 1x Serial Port ExpressCard - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than a USB serial adapter
Pros: works on the machines and PLC's that the USB didn't want to. I wish laptops still came with serial, only programmers and controls engineers like me still need this outdated tech.
Cons: Can't think of any so far
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2015 8:54:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adapter works well!
Pros: Provides USB3 capability to older laptop from 2009. Sustained hard disk transfer speeds up to 87.6 MB/sec.
Cons: You have to be carefull when physically disconnecting devices not to pull out adapter from the laptop's socket.
Other Thoughts: First tried to download and to use drivers from the manufacturer's web site. However, this didn't work out for me. Therefore, used provided mini CD to install drivers for Windows Vista. Once adapter was recognized and was working well I used IOBit Driver Booster 2 to update to the newest drivers. So far adapter works well, although I can connect only one USB3 hard drive at a time.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/6/2015 3:27:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nothing but a coaster
Pros: Does fit flush, looks like it should work. But...
Cons: Doesn't actually work. Also, gets very hot and weighs more than the space saver.
Other Thoughts: I've tried with two different laptops on two different operating systems, and neither one would recognize any flash drive/ hard drive that was plugged in. The documentation is nonexistent, and as others have stated you have to use the "just guess" method to figure out which driver from the CD is supposed to work with your system. Never worked on my laptop with Vista installed (wasn't even recognized); once I upgraded to Win7 the card itself would be recognized sometimes but would never register a device plugged in. No change using the supplied power adapter or the second USB line on my external HDD. No change either after I got the "newest" drivers from the website. Tried it on another laptop I have access to- same results. Forty dollars down the drain. I guess I could use it as a couple of extra USB 2 ports (don't know- haven't tried), but that's not why I bought it, is it?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 2:43:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for E6410
Pros: Works as advertised. Flush with E6410 laptop body. My laptop now has USB3.0 ports with faster than 2.0 speeds, just limited by express card controller speed.

Only brand that works as advertised. I tried a cheaper choice from another vendor, but that card never worked. This is double the price, but reliable.
Cons: You won't get full speed of USB 3.0 because of limitations of express card, but still 3x faster than my USB 2.0 ports tested.

Does pull out with the USB cable when removing accessories. Just make sure you hold the card into the slot while you remove your accessories.

Have to locate the device driver online instead of using the CD which doesn't work. Read through the comments in the reviews to find the link for the correct driver.
Other Thoughts: If using external hard drives, only 2.5" will run unless you provide additional power using the power cable included to draw extra voltage from your other USB 2.0 ports.

No driver conflicts or issues so far--2 months use. Do not know about Windows 10 compatibility yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 11:36:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Thing i ever Bought for an Older Laptop
Pros: Great Transfer Speeds
Instals on Windows 7 without Driver (for me At least)
Cons: Does not sit 100% flush in the laptop, not Star Tech's Fault, it probably HP's, it sticks out maybe 1/8th of an Inch.
Every Time you pull out a USB Drive from it, it Slides out with it, then you got to push it back into the spring (Still 5 Eggs)
Other Thoughts: Works with an HP Elitebook 2540p for those who want to know
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 5:20:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.