Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Back2School
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nothing but a coaster
Pros: Does fit flush, looks like it should work. But...
Cons: Doesn't actually work. Also, gets very hot and weighs more than the space saver.
Other Thoughts: I've tried with two different laptops on two different operating systems, and neither one would recognize any flash drive/ hard drive that was plugged in. The documentation is nonexistent, and as others have stated you have to use the "just guess" method to figure out which driver from the CD is supposed to work with your system. Never worked on my laptop with Vista installed (wasn't even recognized); once I upgraded to Win7 the card itself would be recognized sometimes but would never register a device plugged in. No change using the supplied power adapter or the second USB line on my external HDD. No change either after I got the "newest" drivers from the website. Tried it on another laptop I have access to- same results. Forty dollars down the drain. I guess I could use it as a couple of extra USB 2 ports (don't know- haven't tried), but that's not why I bought it, is it?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 2:43:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for E6410
Pros: Works as advertised. Flush with E6410 laptop body. My laptop now has USB3.0 ports with faster than 2.0 speeds, just limited by express card controller speed.

Only brand that works as advertised. I tried a cheaper choice from another vendor, but that card never worked. This is double the price, but reliable.
Cons: You won't get full speed of USB 3.0 because of limitations of express card, but still 3x faster than my USB 2.0 ports tested.

Does pull out with the USB cable when removing accessories. Just make sure you hold the card into the slot while you remove your accessories.

Have to locate the device driver online instead of using the CD which doesn't work. Read through the comments in the reviews to find the link for the correct driver.
Other Thoughts: If using external hard drives, only 2.5" will run unless you provide additional power using the power cable included to draw extra voltage from your other USB 2.0 ports.

No driver conflicts or issues so far--2 months use. Do not know about Windows 10 compatibility yet.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/24/2015 11:36:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S11 USB ExpressCard 1 x USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Thing i ever Bought for an Older Laptop
Pros: Great Transfer Speeds
Instals on Windows 7 without Driver (for me At least)
Cons: Does not sit 100% flush in the laptop, not Star Tech's Fault, it probably HP's, it sticks out maybe 1/8th of an Inch.
Every Time you pull out a USB Drive from it, it Slides out with it, then you got to push it back into the spring (Still 5 Eggs)
Other Thoughts: Works with an HP Elitebook 2540p for those who want to know
Reviewed By:N/A,7/23/2015 5:20:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S22 USB ExpressCard 2 x USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cost effective USB 3.0 express card
Pros: Easy install, adds USB 3.0 ports to older machines. Driver installation is easy if you understand which driver on the CD disk is required. The Renesas chipset is a proven good USB 3.0 performer. Good value for the price.
Cons: None, assuming that you understand the USB 3.0 power limitations and the driver topology.
Other Thoughts: Some users will criticize this product because they do not understand inherent limitations [power, drivers, etc.] of installing a USB 3.0 interface into an express slot.
Reviewed By:Sam,5/20/2015 3:30:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECESATA254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm eSATA II Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This provides eSata connections, NOT USB!!
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts: Other reviewers are saying this provides USB ports when this is a card which provides 2x eSATA II Ports.. If you're trying to plug a USB cord into this, you're doing something wrong...
Reviewed By:Acecool,5/15/2015 10:48:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PCB-SATA SATA PCMCIA Card 2 x SATA

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update to my earlier review
Pros: file transfers are expeditious; I incorrectly gave lower initial review on 04/06/2015. See Other Thoughts.
Cons: no where near as fast when imaging 320 Gb hard drive as USB 2.0
Other Thoughts: In my original review, I said it was really slow. That was based on imaging a 320 Gb notebook hard drive. But subsequently I noted that files transfers are expeditious. So improving # of eggs. My apologies.
Reviewed By:MisterBigBubba,5/13/2015 5:59:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S11 USB ExpressCard 1 x USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love the card
Pros: I just ordered the card for my 2 laptops. I filled my 2T drive with 1T of data using the slow USB2(25/mbs). This card took it up to 125/mbs. I did not need the extra power cord. So it gave me an extra USB port.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: I have a Dell M6400 and a Lenovo Thinkpad W520.
Reviewed By:Russ C,4/17/2015 12:55:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S11 USB ExpressCard 1 x USB 3.0

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine with Linux Mint
Pros: Windows 7 found the card, and a quick test showed that a file transfer from an external hard drive took less than half the time as with USB 2.0 Then in a quick test with Linux Mint 17.1, the same file transfer took less than a third of the time as with USB 2.0. Tried a couple other Linux distros, but they didn't find the card. Go Mint!
Card does what it promises, a nice inexpensive upgrade to a laptop that lacks USB 3.0.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/14/2015 7:12:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Brings USB 3.0 to your older laptop!
Pros: Pops in nice and easily, new drivers and firmware installed practically automatically. SPEED!!! Unobtrusive design. Comes with cable for additional power, if necessary.
Cons: On my laptop (Dell Studio XPS 1340) it doesn't sit totally flush and sticks out slightly.
Other Thoughts: Does what it's supposed to do! Pops in easily, adds USB 3.0 to your older laptop, and could easily help you delay buying a new one. My 500 GB Western Digital Caviar Black drive showed it was on its last legs, so I replaced that with a 256 GB Crucial SSD, and grabbed a 1 TB Western Digital 2.5" external USB 3.0 hard drive for my stuff. Thanks to the SSD, my laptop is faster than ever, and because the drive runs on USB 3.0, it feels just as fast as if it were an internal hard drive when I need it!
Reviewed By:N/A,4/9/2015 8:15:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PCB-SATA SATA PCMCIA Card 2 x SATA

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 NOT eSATA speed for sure
Pros: was properly recognized by Lenovo T400 Win 7 Prof 64 bit
Cons: slow, very slow, slower than USB 2.0 by far
Other Thoughts: apparently other reviewers had a better experience, so could be my ancient Lenovo T400 refurb; the T400 has the old PCMCIA, not the newer Express Card
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

We apologize for your dissatisfaction with the quality of this PCMCIA card.

Our tech support team is more than happy to provide any information you may need when determining the compatibility and specification of a device.

Our tech support team may also assist you with installing and configuring this device for your system.

We are more than happy to provide all of our customers with a prompt exchange whenever a product becomes defective.

SYBA offers an online RMA form, the user can easily fill out the form and submit it for a quick RMA return and exchange. It is SYBA's policy to answer all customer inquiries within 24 hours (M-F).

Thank you for purchasing one of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

-Regards SYBA CST 04102015

Reviewed By:MisterBigBubba,4/6/2015 4:54:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.