Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Sign up today for a 30-day free trial of Newegg Premier
  • Shipping Destination: United States
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BT- ECES2 SATAII ExpressCard 2 x SATA II

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 BYTECC BT- ECES2 SATAII ExpressCard
Pros: Bought one of these from Newegg, open box. What a deal. Works with Windows 7 with Windows Update drivers. Will extend the limits of my laptop.when I hit the road.
Cons: None yet.
Other Thoughts: You do have to hold it when plugging in due to the push to eject function of the express card slot.
Reviewed By:AJ,7/22/2014 4:35:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Shen Zhen Hong Sen Technology Co. Ltd > 2 USB 3.0 Ports to 54mm Expresscard Super speed Adapter Converter Add on Cards for Latptop

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Comaptibility Problem, Non-Responsive Customer Service
Pros: - Worked, mostly (see below).

- During testing, the speeds seemed fine

- Shipped quickly. Newegg advertised 5-15 days. I got it in 10.
Cons: - My laptop will not post with the Expresscard installed...but it does work once Windows has booted. So, I cannot leave the card installed in the slot 100% of the time, which almost defeats the purpose of having the card. Obviously, this is an incompatibility between my MB and the card that cannot be remedied (my bios is up to date).

- Included mini-CD has no manual. It would be nice to know a little more about the power cord (when it is needed, for instance)

- As someone else mentioned, there are several sets of drivers on the CD and it is not immediately obvious which is the driver you need. Less-techie people may struggle with this.

- Customer Service is non-responsive. On the outside of the box, there is a note that reads "Please contact on us if you have any problem...". For some reason, the DVD drive of my laptop saw the mini-CD as being empty. I emailed globalsellCS twice asking for a download link for the manual drivers. A week later there was still no response. I did end up trying the mini-CD in an external drive and it was able to read it...but it is disappointing that globalsellCS's customer support was no help.
Other Thoughts: I am taking one egg off for my PC not being able to post, one egg off for there being no manual, and one egg off for the lack of customer service.

Would I recommend this to anyone? Possibly, but with some big reservations.
Reviewed By:Color Me Unimpressed,7/22/2014 9:54:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Shen Zhen Hong Sen Technology Co. Ltd > 2 USB 3.0 Ports to 54mm Expresscard Super speed Adapter Converter Add on Cards for Latptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Much Faster External HDD Transfers
Pros: The perfect way to give USB 3.0 performance (or something like it) to an older laptop.

I installed this device in my Dell XPS M1530 and tested it with a handful of devices. Most significantly, it delivered close to 3X speed improvements in large file transfer rates to and from an external hard drive.
Cons: As others have noted, the click-in click-out nature of ExpressCard devices poses an occasional problem. Inserting a USB connector sometimes causes the device to be ejected. But there's no help for it, and no harm is done. Just re-insert and you're away.

The driver disk offered no autorun installer. Win7 failed to find a driver automatically, so I had to locate the "splashed" device in Device Manager (twice as it's technically two devices) and manually direct the system to fetch drivers from the optical disk. YMMV.
Other Thoughts: On the above mentioned Dell laptop (with SSD), and using a Unitex USB 3.0 HDD docking station (newegg #9SIA2BP0T23951) and a Samsung ST2000DL004 HDD; I moved 53.4 GB of mostly-large GoPro video files to and from the HDD using both the laptop's USB 2.0 interface and this USB 3.0 interface. Results:

USB 3.0:
Write to external drive: 70.7MB/sec
Read from external drive: 75.9MB/sec

USB 2.0:
Write to external drive: 25.0MB/sec
Read from external drive: 30.6MB/sec

Note the HDD is not a high-performance model.

The USB 2.0 transfers were approximately what any standard USB 2.0 interface is capable of.

Technically the HDD and the ExpressCard device should both be capable of sustaining faster transfer rates than this test produced. The drive can supposedly read and/or write at 300MB/s on its 3Gbps SATA interface. The Unitek device claims to be capable of 5 Gbps speeds.

I'm unable to say where the bottleneck may be.

Nonetheless the speed improvement is considerable, and more than worthwhile for my purposes.

I would expect a faster HDD to deliver much more dramatic improvements.
Reviewed By:pchelp,6/17/2014 11:48:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech EC13942 2 Port ExpressCard Laptop 1394a Firewire Adapter Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works OK, important information lacking!
Pros: Basic functionality works
Cons: Lack of important information
Other Thoughts: Manufacturer does not state anywhere, even on their website, that an auxiliary power supply is necessary to provide the 1 amp current that they say it handles. Nor do they state or show on any photo that there is a little extra connector for that power supply included on the card. You find out these things when you open the box and read the instructions. Even then, no information is provided on a source for the power supply, or even the specifications of the power connector.

After purchasing and trying various power connectors, I found that a standard 1.3 mm DC power connector matches this card. I'd provide a part number and source here, but I expect that my review would get tossed if I did.

I removed two eggs for these issues.

By the way, there are support brackets available that attach to 34 mm cards like this one that steady them in 54 mm slots. Otherwise, the cards are unstable, just as other reviewers have said.
Reviewed By:Dave,5/14/2014 2:32:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Shen Zhen Hong Sen Technology Co. Ltd > 2 USB 3.0 Ports to 54mm Expresscard Super speed Adapter Converter Add on Cards for Latptop

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works but has issues
Pros: Works, gives faster than USB 2.0 transfer rates.
Cons: Unplugs easily when just trying to remove USB device. not as fast as native USB 3.0. Got about 55MB/s copying from one USB 3 device to another. Another laptop with native USB gets around 70MB/s. Connected a 2.5 2TB WD external and it sees it OK but looses the drive as soon as you try to copy data to or from drive. It then re-detects the drive. Using the supplied cable to get power from another port makes no difference. I know the built-in port I connected the cable to has enough power because the drive has no such problem when connected to any of the built in ports.
Other Thoughts: I have had problems in the past connecting 2.5" USB HDDs to tower computers not having enough power. All of my Dell laptops seem to put out extra on the USB and it has never been an issue with them. Why would they include a cable to get extra power but then have it actually do nothing to help? I used a voltmeter to verify that the end that plugs into the card had 5v. The card just does not seem to pass that power on to the drive. It would be noce if there was some way to lock the card in the slot - maybe a push-in/push-out button that locks it into the side tracks or something.
Reviewed By:a2chris,4/24/2014 12:59:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-EXP15010 2 x Serial Ports ExpressCard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: I've been using this frequently for two years and it works great for any application that I've tried. I use it with CentOS which recognizes it without installing drivers; no special configuration needed. I've used it to connect to server or Cisco consoles, data collection from laboratory equipment, PIC programming and telescope control. The price was reasonable when I purchased it, and it looks like it is a bit less expensive now. At first I thought the housing seemed flimsy, but after two years of carrying it in a laptop bag and using it in the field I have had no problems with it. I highly recommend it.
Cons: None, as far as I am concerned.
Other Thoughts: It would be great if there were a four port version.
Reviewed By:mikeu,4/15/2014 4:03:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works well with updated drivers/fw
Pros: Full USB3 speeds. Short profile means it is flush with the end of my expresscard slot
Cons: Did not automatically pick up the correct drivers.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for a Lenovo X220 running Windows 8.1. I plugged in the card and installed drivers, but my laptop acted quite funny. The mouse wouldn't track smoothly and video on the screen was choppy. Also, USB drives I plugged in wouldn't be detected. Things would work properly after a reboot, but after letting the laptop go to standby, the issues returned. I checked in Device Manager and saw that Windows was using the built-in Microsoft drivers instead of the Renesas ones I installed. Right-clicking and saying "update drivers automatically" told me the best drivers were already installed. So I went back in and manually selected the Renesas drivers. Lo and behold, everything works much better now :).

Also, if you go to StarTech's website, there is an updated driver to use. Inside the folder, there is also a firmware update. I applied it.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/29/2014 1:27:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Shen Zhen Hong Sen Technology Co. Ltd > 2 USB 3.0 Ports to 54mm Expresscard Super speed Adapter Converter Add on Cards for Latptop

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SUPERSPEED, yes!
Pros: Flush mounting in 54mm Expresscard slot. Was able to get over 100MB/s transfer speeds to and from my USB 3.0 externally powered HDD. When I hooked up my USB 2.0 externally powered HDD to the new ports, I saw a 10MB/s increase in transfer speed over my laptops built in USB 2.0 ports. That was an unexpected benefit!
Cons: Driver disarray.
Other Thoughts: Using the driver specified in the installation pdf on the little CD failed to function in Windows, in fact, after install, Windows said no driver was installed. I went back to the included CD, and began trying all the other (they include drivers for ALL of their products on the included CD!) drivers from top to bottom that said 3 in their file names. Didn't have to try hard, the one with a 1042 had an Asussetup exe, which worked like a charm for my Fujitsu Lifebook. My computer won't do system restore after migrating to my new SSD, so I will just be happy with the performance. if I could restore any problems, I would toy around with finding better drivers, but 100MB/s is pretty acceptable for me. :)

Also, my package from China arrived exactly one week after placing my order.
Reviewed By:Paul Anderegg,3/24/2014 7:25:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-EXP20057 USB ExpressCard 1 x USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware - did not work for long
Pros: worked for a few days before dying
Cons: Stopped working after very little use. I probably only used the unit 5-6 times over the first few months of ownership. Unit simply stopped working. So cheap its barely worth the hassle of setting up return. Purchased because I needed more USB connections on laptop and it had an expresscard slot.
Reviewed By:jm5806,2/19/2014 12:45:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-EXP20057 USB ExpressCard 1 x USB 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed
Pros: Good price for USB3.0 card.
Cons: Within a week of using this card, it began to have issues with windows disabling it.
Other Thoughts: This is the second Syba USB3 product I've purchased and both failed within short order. I'd suggest to avoid this brand.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,

Perhaps there was an update that needed to be applied to ensure compatability.

Please ensure that the device has been properly seated into its slot and that the system is
updated.

Thank you for purchasing on of our products, and for leaving us your valuable feedback.

Please feel free to contact us @ sybausa.com if you require further assistance.

Regards, SYBA CST 02062014

Reviewed By:N/A,1/15/2014 1:09:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau